(2004) Brides of year 2004

girl80

I have came back from my hotel hunt...hee hee....Went down to see the Novotel Apollo, River View Hotel and RELC International Hotel wedding setup yesterday....Really fall in love with Novotell Apollo setup....Very grand, high ceiling,pillarless, long march and cozt setup....
A bit disappointed with River View Hotel as the Banquet Sales actually forget that I have an appointment with her and make me and hubby wait for her for half an hour and was not very interested in showing us around...setup was ok but short march in plus very cramp...stage very very small and setup very simple..nothing special....
As for the RELC International Hotel, very cheena setup and typical restaurant setup...guess I am only left with Novotel Apollo to choose....What do you gals think?

I have tentatively booked 25th Sept 2004 and was given 1 week time to consider...rates was abt $578+++ and no free flow of beer....How should I go abt asking for more things before I sign the contract? Anyone can give me some advise?

marker

Hi hi ladies,

I'm back!!! Juz a few day and there's so many posting. Have been vry busy recently & I went for my gown selection over the weekend and glad to say that everything go smoothly. I had such a great time … … tried on many gowns. Also booked my PS mid Nov.

Hey pageup, saw your ROM pictures too. You smile was radiant and your hubby and you look compatible mah. What a lovely couple! Yup lor your hair style look good on you. Congratulation!

Ocean - e insert of pics brighten up the day! ..heheh....vry cute leh!

sneaky

hi bread,
ok...i'll post it then remove it later...kekekeke

happy watching...but dun laugh at us hor...the quality not so good...cos i shrank it...
34005.jpg

please continue with the rest of the pictures hor...don't sarbo me...okay...

straw_beri

lynn,

ya lor all wkend booked. mine is under tentative bkg, praying hard can get it lor.
if not i wl book concorde, the b/r too bad oso.
u r pp bride rite! oso taking ocean b/r? so lucky

twinklebelle

Hi Hi
Wonder if anyone can advise me what to bargain for before we sign up for the wedding dinner
e.g. More cards,
more parking coupons,
more ppl for the food tasting,
more waiver for corkage charges,

any PP brides who have already signed up for the Ocean Ballroom packages? Which dish is nice / recommended by frens?
e.g. What is yr choice of fish? How abt dessert? Is the pipa duck or the roasted chicken nicer?
What abt the dessert ? Can we make a choice ?

I am thinking of holding my AD at PP too.

blurq

hi lynn,
thanks..i din know that we got to start the MTM so early..will try to settle the bridal package asap.

hi straw_-beri,
as what lynn had mentioned, all wkends for the ocean ballroom are fully booked..but since ur date is on a mon..think shd be alright. Btw,are u first in the queue for the tentative booking? If not, it's quite dangerous leh.if someone in front places the deposit, then your chance of getting the date is gone. If u r really interested in PP, do book it fast..as least one load off ur mind, rite?

hi twinklebelle,
Which date are u looking it? Yes, basically, the perks that we can bargain for hotels are exactly what u mentioned..maybe additional barrel of beer + seat covers included if ur hotel does not provide these..

blurq

straw_beri..oppss..my mistake, think oct29 is actually a wkend..u sure PP is still available? Think it's gd that u book it fast..

smallonion

after booking of bridal package & dinner, we can rest for sometime before slowly getting start again next yr Mar? or did i miss out anything, wat other preparation do i need?

nnyl

Hi strawberi

I nearly couldn't get PP too. The first choice i wanted was taken when i called them up. We have to bring forward the wedding as a result. Luckily it's still the same month. :p Y not u tell your coordinator that u are willing to place deposit now? at least, that will 'clear' the queue for u, force the couple to make a choice now, instead of holding onto the date. If they really want the date, they will pay the deposit and for u, u can make other plans.

Hi blurq
so u have decided to MTM? I know that for some designers they can do it within 2 mths, but it's always gd to give ample time so that u dun have to 'take' the gowns, no time to alter.

Hi twinklebelle
think blurq has answered your qn. To add on the part on menu, PP's cantonese cuisine, prehaps this might give u an idea which dishes to look out for? Sorry, i'm not cantonese, can't help much in this. I take the menu as given, din make top up to make any 'upgrade' like fish to soon hock etc.

kite~

hi smallonion,

so nice u have already settled for everything. aiya i m still searching for my wedding banquet. seems like most of the dec 04 brides has settled their wedding banquet?

fairymoss

sneaky,

can remove it afterwards meh? Coz i also dun want to post it here for so long. how ah? then i can post it here too if can remove after that. appearance never mind one lah. it's the inner beauty that matters. my hubby is like tek-ko but i still love him for what he is.
i tried to fatten him up but no matter how I tried, still can't work leh. Soak him in oil also cannot put on a single gram.

fantasy,

U need to do lotsa homework!! must look through the mags and put tags on the designs and cuts u like. then show to your designer so he/she knows your preference and would conjure up something u like. Some designs which u like may not look good on you, so u need to let them see the pics then they can explain to you why u can't take a certain cut or fabric. You do not want to blame your designer if in the end, he does not let u wear something u like which u can't carry it well.
Communication is very impt when u discuss with him. Do not hold back any qns, ask, ask and ask. U may need to ask abt the veils, gloves and whether they charge u for that. Veils that are too long or with embriodery or if made from organza may cost more. So need to enquire abt this. Do not assume that it's free unless it's in the contract. Ask what material they provide for the gown and EG/teadress. some shops charge for hand embriodery or extra beadings or crystals. Also u need to tell them whether you are someone who put on/lose weight quickly that sort when taking your measurements. If you want, can also tell them what color theme is your ballroom, so that the designer can propose a color that do not blend into the background. Aiyoh, i sound very naggy leh. think that's all i can think of at the moment.

girlfriend,

u lucky, get a lady designer. Mine's a guy, think he knows all my vital stats liao, so paiseh. My PS not this year, it's ard feb or mar so my fittings not so soon complete.

Fantasy,

FBO i dunno how to see the threads, not very user friendly leh. So seldom go there also.

julieg

Dear cubby,bread,fantasy and the rest of the ladies here,

Thanks so much for welcoming me...me feel like interrupting into this forum..but i very thick skinned so came in and try luck.

I ROM last year on 12/12/2003 and going through my customary on the 05/06/2004. Pretty excited...cuz it's the first wedding in my family and the last wedding in my hubby's family as he is the youngest and only son. He has two elder sisters.

All of you like very early like that leh...preparation start liao .....i called up my bridal studio and she says that i should make an appt only in Dec..but i feel that like very late like that cuz like no time...cuz i am a teacher and i will only be free during the vacation...was intending to go this month like see the design and stuff but she say better to go in Dec...what do all of u think?

regards
julie

sweetgal82

Hi Ralphine,

Yeah.. Cause my actual day is 1 day before yours... :)

Hi kc_sunshine,

Well same here, i also just pick the date myself with my hubby and get approval of my in-laws, never really go to the fortune teller too.

Hi dae,

Welcome to Sept04 thread... ^_^

Hi girl80,

I went down to River View Hotel before and also feels that the Banquet Sales is not very friendly and helpful too. And the setup and ambience never really impress us. Well, i went to Novotel Apollo Hotel a few years back for my cousin's wedding at the Venus Ballroom. The cocktail foyer and the setup was quite grand. Well, if you are hunting for more hotels, maybe you can try Concorde and Furama Hotel too. Keep us updated of your last decision.

ralphine

Hi KC_sunshine
I din choose the date. My mum went to someone and ask them to choose for us. She said all they need is both bride's and bridegroom's chinese horoscope, tats it! Fortune telling ones more complicated... U might have to avoid this.. avoid that for auspicious. For my case, all we want is an auspicious day to get married! My parents-in-laws were fine with it too! Well, we were given Sept and Nov'04, hubby and I tot, since our birthdays in Sept, our ROM in Sept, why not have our wedding in Sept too.. one month celebrates everything! *LOL*

Marilyn

Gals...Anyway, just curious, are you gals particular abt attending someone else wedding after u get married until 3 months after?!?!?! Chinese tradition believes that married couples are not allowed to attend each other wedding until 3 months later... Else.. bad luck or something.. any comments? Just curious :p

girlfriend

Hi Fantasy,

For me, I didnt bring any cuttings from the local magazines cos' I cant see the difference in the featured gowns (& they are made for skinny pple).... actually I went to a few BS before confirming my BS so I have a rough idea which style is flattering for my built. Then my designer also show me & let me try the different styles available, from there we eliminate the unsuitable style and conclude my WG design.

For EG, I flipped thro' the foreign magazines in my BS. I tell my designer which one I like, including the material, from there we dervive my EG design. Pretty straight forward!

fairymoss,

I also think its better to have female designer. I feel uncomfortable if the male designer "touch" here "touch there" heheeh... bt i heard male designer has better designing sense.

Hi Julie,

Gee I am in the same situation as you. Itz the first wedding in my family & the last for my FH cos' he is the youngest (bt not the only son).

You r a teacher? Such a concidence, my FH also a teacher. That is why we planned our PS to be in Dec cos' he will b v bz during term time, very difficult to arrange PS unless in March holis.

Mayb you wan to plan your PS to b in Dec too at least you have some time to plan for other things.

cubby

hi ladies!!

wah so many postings!!! me had a great time reading!!

so most postings are on WG ya..hehe...me just signed up my bridal finally!!! after much much and lots of consideration...i decided to go for Milan cos its within my budget and their gowns are nice...so i dun have to headache over designs hehe...

my PS will also be in dec cos jan their office in taiwan will be close...but i haven fixed the date...
jus hope that everything turn well can liao right??

hi sneaky,

thks 4 sharing ur ROM pics!! its so nice of u!! a little bui bui nevermind lah..my FH also abit bui bui haha... so long the love is there can liao right??

hi bread,
i think u should also have ur PS ini dec...expain your situation to ur BS, then arrange your gown fitting in nov instead of dec..cos will be abit later if PS in dec..

girl80

Hi sweetgal82,

Yes, you are very right...she gave me a take it or leave it attitude.....Most slightly will be taking Novotel Apollo as I am rather impressed by the setup and prompt service....Have got few more days to think over it....hee hee....

Not going for Concorde as just attend my hubby NS frds wedding so felt quite awardward if we were to invite them there again....

As for Furuma, the weekend package is above my budget...so got to let it go....

Will keep you inform soon.....

sneaky

hi all, thanks for the encouragement...

seems like everyone's starting to prepare for their PS liao huh? i think i'll only do it in feb after chinese new year cos my hubby will be bz during the festive season.

really looking forward to the PS, cos i can see myself mei mei...

i try to remove the photo now...see if it works...if it does, i'll teach you all how to do it...

Julie,
hope you enjoy your stay here with us..... :D

blue_lake

pageup!! saw ur photos... wah.. u and ur husband have fu1 qi1 xiang4. so sweet....

poshies... i've not decided where to have my photo shoot.=( thinking of sentosa... but seems like lots of ppl going there too... hmm... singapore is so small.. everywhere is a common place. =(
u leh? where are u thinking of going?

Just a tiny voice.... i wanted to have it on 29feb too. cos my and my husband's birthday fall on 29th. and ROM on 29th. this time no 29th anymore. dun want to celebrate once in 4 years. must have present every year. no excuses. haha!

forest

gathering details for this fri, 17 Oct:
---------------------------------------
time : 6.30pm

i will call to make an appt..

any1 else wanna join??? do leave a note!!

mee_mee

Yah... pageup, your ROM photos are very nice... nice make up and hairdo.

I just did my photoshoot. I chose Labrador park and fullerton/explanade area. Hey... better dun choose Labrador park, they are re-doing the place and its quite difficult to move down to the bridge that extend out to the river area. I was quite unlucky with Fullerton too. There were quite a number of police officers cording off the area there. There must be some big shot in town.... :p

But the indoor shoots were quite fun. We also took some pictures within stamford house becoz Graceful Image's studio is there and they have a contract with the owner of the building to allow them to do so. Otherwise, outsiders are not allowed to take picture within the building.

Remember to bring a powder puff to dap the oil/perspiration off your face for outdoor shoot. i find that more effective than tissue. Blotter is not advised.

ok.... think no more advise to offer. Today on leave because the photoshoot yesterday drained so much energy that i needed to re-charge today.

Voice & Poshies, my boyfriend's place is near to Lakeside MRT station. : )

cheers,
mee mee

fantasy

Hey sneaky,

No problem. I will b with you. Me planning PS to be in late feb early march too...
Let us know if you are able to take away your pix if yes, we will be able to know who are are taking too soon... so excited!

Hey ladies, have you guys started preparing mei mei for the big day?? What I meant is stuff like workout regime, facial treatment, body treatment etc... anything to share??

voice_0229

hi bluelake

oic...actually good wat... not many ppl will choose 29 Feb and i just booked my dinner venue 2 days ago. hee...hee... nobody fight with me.

I told my hubby, we can celebrate on 28 Feb & 1 Mar! And every 4 yrs, have a big bang celebration.
Actually my ROM date is Sept 7. We will celebrate based on our solemnization date.

fantasy

My hubby's company D&D is just round the corner and the theme of the dinner is aloha.
Me at a loss of what I can wear. Anyone has an idea?? Got to be mei mei as this is the first time that I'm meeting his colleagues and boss.

sneaky

fantasy
i got kaki liao (PS around the same time). well, i tried ridding the pic but cannot cause it's over 20 minutes of posting....how about testing on this post and removing it before 20minutes...

i have not done anything...still eating away...i need to lose at least 4kgs leh...how ah? as to facial, i'm beginning to do it liao, but once in 2 months then once every month from next mth onwards. don't ask me where...i'm still bumping around. i tried Adonis last month...and the price is a killer...so looking for another one, which uses fruits and vegs as masks...it's only $65 per facial. the beautician told me that using fruits and vegs would whiten your skin and marks and scars would not be visible right after facial...therefore, no need to rush home after that...can still go gai gai...i'll try it this weekend. it's just steps away from my home...kekekeke

sneaky

yeah...i managed to remove the pic....just go and edit then remove the whole uploaded sentence...

WARNING: must do it within 20 minutes from time of posting...

straw_beri

Hi Lynn,

i cant do anythings now. juz have to ask them push the couple infront of us. This is also not my 1st choice.

Hi Blurq,
Hv u cfm any BS oredi?
I chose my bridal is OTR so dun hv to bother to crack my head for MTM. Initially looking for MTM type but aft view my BS n found tt OTR quite nice.

Hi twinklebelle,

have u booked pp? as u koe PP is really hot in oct.

coolgirl76

Hi Kite

Sorry busy with work. Yes I had confirmed my booking with them. I have abt 30 to 32 tables. Should be taking the short aisle cos they told me the same thing. My co-ordinator is Priscilla. She is very friendly.

Actually Grand Plaza Parkroyal ballroom also not bad. Quite grand and no pillar.

twinkleglint

hi forest,
sorry, didn't reply cos really busy.....anyway i also cannot join this fri cos having someting impt to do. u haven tell us ur AD hor....pls update us on what u girls have done aft the meetoing this fri..,...

bonjon

smallonion,

Mine Jan'04. Your's still a long way. But it's better to get things done early, booking of banquet. Get your fav place available for your big day, BS and the others can be done at a later day.

smallonion

bonjon,
urs coming soon, must be excited about it already. ya, mine still along way, so after settle banquet, can relax before moving on next yr. So when is ur banquet & BS at?

chillipadi

Intiatially shortlisted Amara, Sheraton & Swissotel. But hubby had bad experience with Amara last Sun, they found cigarette bud on one of the dishes...urg..so it is out. Now looking at Oriental as the last 3 options.

Went to TWP & Flamingo. Did not get the chance to talk to Patrick of TWP but got to talk to Shan. Anybody know how Patrick islike? Both Flamingo and TWP package is quite comprensive.

sindylee

I am also going to be a Dec bride next year... For restaurant need to book so early???

I ask my FH.... he say no need so ks... but now hearing these me scare scare....

nnyl

Hi strawberi,

Keep fingers crossed. Think by end of this month, u shld know the outcome. We can't hold on the date for so long. Y not u tentative book other hotels first, as a backup?

Hi Chillipadi
Only been to TWP. Sort of spoken to Patrick, was there with frens for their fitting. He's ok. Din heard anything bad about him from that fren too. They have very high standard one, so think Patrick shld be fine.

amos_aw

Hello smallonion! Welcome to the thread! I'm the resident guy here. Wendy_aw is my WTB. Would you be free to meet up with (almost) everyone this Fri??

Our wedding date has been set for April 2, 2004.
Ceremony - Chijmes
Dinner - Conrad
Photographer - ?

cubby

i've also started my series of facial...this month is already the 2nd time. i think better start a little early....so can prepare mei mei for PS also...but for those who has very clear skin...can start later

i also planned to go for some scrub session...but think not so soon...maybe before PS...then before AD also...

as for sliming...me quite okie...so just got to do some situps to get rid of the tummmy fats...maybe some jogging will help also

hi sneaky,
so veg and fruits will help to lighten huh?? like tat maybe i can try also hehe

kite~

hi smallonion,

hmm just tentatively booking with holi inn, but most likely i will confirm with Regent hotel cos now got promotion.

Hi coolangel,

it's ok. so hv u settle ur bridal studio?

Hi Sindy,

it's better for you to search earlier esp if u want a weekend date. most of the wkend dates r gone cos some events like dinner & dance will book the res or hotel. are u looking at res or ballrooms?

grin

Hi kite,

you're here too!
Have you decided on regent? Pity you didn't book during their wedding show. They were having a promo for that day only- $30 off per table. Quite worth it!

kite~

hi grin,

oh really! $30 off per table. so did u entitle to 1 free table for every 10 tables and 1 free bottle of wine for each table? btw when is ur exact wedding?

sweetgal82

Hi Ralphine,

Well, for me and my hubby we are not really particular about attending someone else wedding within first 3 months after you get married but my in-laws wouldn't allow cause they are quite particular with the chinese tradition.

Hi girl80,

Ok hope to get your reply and decision soon.

blurq

Hi lynn n straw_beri,
I have not choosen my BS yet. Anyone know if it's possible to go down the second time to try more gowns? If I could get nice gowns OTR, maybe I won't be MTM.

Hi ChilliPadi,
I went to both TWP and Flamingo, think both left me a very gd impression. I have spoke to Patrick, think he's a nice person. But somehow, got the feeling that he's not very sincere. However, the evening gowns are nice..

As for flamingo, I am really impressed with the svc provided by Shirley. Eg. if the gown you try on doesn't suit u, then she'll tell u on the spot and she'll bring more gowns for u to try on.

If you got the time, can do more shopping, then you will know what type of gowns that u prefer. Eg. do u focus more on the EG or WG? Cos' my hubby said Flamingo is stronger in their WG and TWP is stronger in their EG. Eventually, it's really personal preference.