(2004) Brides of year 2004

catura

Hi tweetie
I heard that the stamford ballroom's really beautiful!
but i wont have so many tables.. max ard 35 I guess... Havent really tot up the guest list yet.. :p So I guess RTP might be out of the question.. Was looking into Conrad as well. But read alot of comments on the quality of food.. so...

Hi coolangel
Yeah.. I feel a little stuck now cos all I can do is look up info on the net and not be able to physically go ard..

Hey girls
Any advice on how early in advance should I look for a bridal studio? I hope not as early in advance like booking for dinner?

girl80

Hi Gerlynn,

River View is near to Clarke Quay and Novotel Apollo is at Havelock Road...River View weekend is abt $580 Nett at their ballroom and Novotel Apollo is abt $670 Nett for their ballroom....maybe will arrange to go down and have a look next weekend is there is a wedding going on...will also consider Club Chinos if we do not exceed 30 tables as their wkend package is abt $640 Nett plus the food is very nice....

What does your package includes? Mine is $3388....and ite MTM....

Hotel New Otani date has been taken up when I call this morning...a couple is on tentative booking....

As for furama, their weekwend package exceeds $700 so got to give it up...

amos_aw

cin_p:

Yes, very much alive and kicking. You'd be surprised what one can do once bedtime is past and you're still awake. I figured I won't have the chance to see Singapore between 11pm-6am much when i'm working, so this is the best opportunity for me to be out and about at that time!

pageup

Hi Smurfy,

Do you mean that you have detachable train? Why is there a hook?

My photographer is in-house photographer from the bridal shop.

Upload the photos of my completed cheongsum in the same link.

http://photos.yahoo.com/sjhm_04

Not sure if you can see the details of the beadings.

chillipadi

Hi Blurg
Staying in Telok Blangah, got it during ballot ex in Mar this year. What is PP? Today went to 3 shops: dang, Lezen & Camelia Haute Coulture. Very fun hopping into the dresses.
My comments about Lezen: Simple, airless and frank designer Cecilia, gowns so-so
Dang - high side, lots of beading and cheongsam, friendly Cindy
Camelia - Nicole young and friendly too, personalised service, 1man show...gowns mixture of beading and emrboidery, long train, more European style, have more chemistry with you. Most probably will sign up with her as more comfortable

tweetie

Hi Catura,

If max abt 35 tables, i think u can consider Grand Hyatt or Merchant Court. ITs very beautiful as well. Heard MC dates snapping up like hot cakes.....a lot of my friends weren;t able to book for june n sept 04 at all.

kokopooh

Hi girl80,

I'm also a sep04 bride...hehe mine will be 3 days after yours. Maybe u can try hotel like Shangri-la's Rasa Sentosa,traders, Amara & New Park hotel.etc.. if not u can try out some of the restaurants & country clubs... have u sign up for BS liao...

coolgirl76

Hi Catura

You need at least 8 months to book your Bridal package....... Made to Measure (MTM)gown need abt 3-4mth and you still need to take photos and take abt 2-3 for the photo album. If you not happy with the photo you still be able to retake or re touch up. At least not so rush. I took the Bridal Package early cos i need them to provide me with my ROM gown and make up so I dun need to spend money and time looking for one. My Rom was on Jan this yr.

gerlynn

hi girl80...

wah so fast hotel new otani is taken up?? wah...

ya agreee club chinos not bad...think u shd try to come up with ur guestlist so that u can decide where to consider...better be fast esp since urs is a sat...

my BS package oso both WG n EG MTM...but no car included...coz i oso dun the mercedes...hehee...

hi amos leong n wendy...i noe that im not new here..but all i know is that amos n wendy are a couple, amm i rite? hee..seldom see couples in a thread..so sweet...so is amos wkg in spore? or overseas? can someone enlighten me?? heehhe.....

gerlynn

hi girl80 & kokoppooh..

hello...so we moved to this thread now?? hehe....

hi sept'04 brides...i used to be under the "wedding in 2004" thrread...can i join here too???

sneaky

hi Oneeu,

yes, the limitation is 18 pax in the room. if you want to change the venue, just give them a ring and tell them your intention. you have to pay $15 for the cancellation.

they'll ask you to look for a JP and get him to sign the consent form and fax back to ROM. when you collect the certificate about 5 days before your ROM date, you've gotta make additional payment of the $15 mentioned earlier.

i did mine at my hubby's house...had more than 30 guests who were treated to a buffet lunch reception....much better than doing it at ROM, i think...

sweetgal82

bUgz Hi... welcome to this thread. As you can see, i used to be here last 3 months ago. I'm also a sept04 bride. So have you chosen your date yet?

kc_sunshine Hi... So have you chosen your actual date and venue yet?

girl80 Hi.. Wow... Your actual day is the same as me. Mine is also fixed on 25th Sept 2004. So where's your venue for dinner?

kokopooh Welcome.. So have you actually fixed your wedding venue already?

gerlynn Welcome... Why Not.. So when's your wedding date?

catura

Hi Tweetie,

Read alot of good comments abt MC! Might email them for more details... Thanks girl

Hi coolangel,
8 mths ar.. hmn.. I hope I have enuff time then... Abit headache cos I hope to be able to take my bridal pics here in Sydney... But with sporean photographers.. cos I dont really like the style here... BUT I think it's gonna be quite expensive..

smurfy

Hi pageup,

hmm... the hook is at the end of the train. Its for you to to hook to your finger so as to make walking easier (for instance, when taking table to table photos during AD).. funny, Don should tell u abt it. Have u brought it back? Maybe you can check if the hook is there.

I can only see the details at the front (chest area), it VERY NICE! Where else are the beadings??
BTW, how much did you pay for this EG? I forget if you told us before

doremon

Hi Gals!

Wow! this thread is back to "life" again. Posting too fast...difficult to catch up. :p

Hi all newcomers!

Welcome to this thread.

A quick update on my side: Got my customary dates on sunday already. Two dates given and now we have to decide when.

BS booked already, PS to be done in March 04

oceans

Pageup, saw the pix and really find that with the beads, the gown looks nicer!!
Previously really cant think of how they going to add in the beads!
Kekee....

Ur hubby so sweet, came in and openly praised you!!

Mee Mee, glad to hear that you are happy with your gowns!
Buying the gown.... Nope, never thought of that, but if you have the extra $$, can consider.
By the way, got pix to share??

By the way, when are we supposed to print our Invitation cards???

blurq

hi chilli,
PP means Pan Pac, a lot of the gals are holding their wedding there too.
Hey, having a gd time trying the gowns, rite? Same here, tis wkend, I also went to a few more bridal shops.Maybe i shd also state some of my comments.
Kai - nice gowns. Katherine is very nice lady. dunno why, the gowns that i tried on not so nice.

Kevin seah. - very nice gowns, gd cuts but very very exp. his package is MTM, but if u choose an elaborate gown OTR, u may need to top up more $$$.

Le galleria - gowns okie.the package consider ex for the gowns.dun like the lady a bit of hardsell

Dang - nice bustier gowns, cindy very friendly, uses Swaroski crystals on the gowns. but the place a bit small, think they have too many customers coming in at the same time.

grin

Hi, I'm getting married in Dec 04 too! Booked Regent hotel. Actually wanted Oct, but got long queue already, so pushed back to Dec. Anyone went to the wedding shows on Sat?

girl80

Hi Gerlynn,

My father has already come up with the list of guest...approx. 20 tables including my friends...Hubby need abt 5 tables for friends & still waiting for my MIL to provide us with an estimation.....Looks like I will have to forgo Club Chinos....signz......

Anyway, hope that I can get the venue settle soon and will keep you update...if you happen to came across any good lobang for weekend package...got to update me ok? Btw, have you view the Ocean Ballrooom setup at Pan Pacific before? How is the setting like?

My package includes the car and also simalar to yours...both WG & EG MTM...but think I got to start my diet now....need to slim down urgently....hee hee....Any good way to share....

Hi cin_p,doremon and bread

Hows your wedding preparation going on?

girl80

Hi kokopooh,

Thanks. Will check them out. Hopefully can get a place within my budget....I have sign up with Golden Horse Awards....you??

Hi Gerlynn,

I think we moved here better....hee hee

Hi Marilyn,

So coincidence...hee hee...so have you found a venue? Me still sourcing ard....as it falls on a sat and I have a tight budget to meet, so abit difficult.....really headache....

pageup

Hi Smurfy,

Yah, now you reminded me. Rick did told that he will add a hook to the end of my gown during my 1st fitting. But I totally forgotten abt it. I think I have to go home to check,

The beadings are mainly around that area although they add tiny shiny red beads all over the gown, which can't be see clearly on photos. Actually I expect a bit more beadings but i guess that the most I can get for $800

Ocean, I think it is better to start printing invitation cards after confirm number of guests. I think there is a clause in most banquet agreement that we have to commit a certain number of guest before they give us free printing of invitation cards.

kokopooh

Hi gril80,

u'r welcome, hope u'll get a place soon, so there do u have in mind at the moment? I've sign up with Bridal Veil & as for dinner I've sign up with Sheraton Tower.

marker

pageup - saw ur pix too. The CS look nice and it looks perfect on you. To be frank, I always tot CS will make ones look old-fashioned or too mature (no offense)...heehee..sorry!...but after viewing your CS, I changed my perceptive. Your CS is well cut by having it in silk, beads and adding a see through long train at the end of the gown do make you look modern. Overall you look elegant. Personally, i find the beads look fine... too much beadings don't look good beside i'm sure you are going to shine on ur big day with or without the tiny red beads(just my comments). btw is ur CS costly???

smurf - beside stepping over the ken-ken do you face any other prob of having long gown? i'm consider having long gown for outdoor shot too.

mee mee - same here, i kena flu bug too... u take care ya!

shinde

Hi Catura,

if you are really interested in MC, you had betta contact them soon. I'm not exaggerating but they are REAL HOT! For 2003 Sep, they were not booked for only 2 days (wow!!).

I tot their packages were pretty reasonable; nice ambience too.. so good luck... =)

smurfy

hi pageup,

Precisely, I expect more beading than what I am actually having for $800. The gowns they shown us, those showcase at the shop and those that we saw other brides wearing had so much more beadings... I wonder why mine is so little
33639.gif

TCL,
eh... pageup already mentioned that her CS cost $800.

Problems related to outdoor gown:
besides the one mentioned, I don't really have any other problem with it

catura

Hi Shinde
REALLY???? I emailed them already but no reply yet... I cant really do anything atm cos I'm not in SG.. having this terrible feeling that I'll have to postpone till 2005 now... since it seems everywhere is snapping up like hotcakes... *sigh*

tianyun

hi jatling,

my hubby also the youngest but i'm the only child....and me so panic now when most of the brides to be told me the dec dates are all 'chop'....

pinkapple

Dec is as usual the hot wedding month mah.. other than Nov and Sep.

I was a Dec bride too. =p just come n kpo kpo cos quite bored in the office.

catura

Hi eVon,

Have u tot of wat u'll do if there arent any dates left? Which hotel are u looking at?

Hi pinkapple,
Dec is hot wedding mth ar? :D I didnt know tat.. I can only have my wedding in Dec 2004 or Jan 2005.. if not i need to wait till Dec 2005..

amos_aw

Gerlynn:

Wendy and I have been unemployed, since we both returned to Singapore just over a month ago. Our wedding date is set for April 2nd, and we're RARING TO GO!

Ironically, I started posting in the forum first before introducing Wendy to it. ;)
Indeed, i thought it would be nice for the both of us to post here. Afterall, it's OUR wedding!

(OK. All the hubbies are gonna kill me now...)

gerlynn

hi marilyn...

my AD is 23sept04...hehhe...so urs the same as girl80...so u found ur venue and bridal liaoz?

hi girl80...so i guess ur table ard 20-25??? thhen u muz start searching for venues that accomodate to those numbers ya...how abt Tradeers?? think ard 698 nett for saturdays and so far heard quite good comments abt it...

gerlynn

hi amos leong...

haha seems like u r really into this forum than wendy...

hi bread...welcome..soo have u booked ur venue and bridal??

hi doremon...so when is ur wedding?> u havent booked ur venue la?

angelbb

Hi girl80,

Since you're checking out Club Chinois, can check out Imperium as well. Min 25 tables, max is 72. 2 projectors free, seat covers free. KTV rooms free... No corkage for wine & liquor, Less then $650 for lobster salad, abalone, sharksfin, marble goby... staying at Ritz Carlton too...
Got some other perks, but I think you have to speak to them. Can look for Norman...

Hi cin_p! Hahah... gym ah.... :p still got go lah, but now only about 2x a wk... now got another "jian fei" way liao. Just started serving in my church as Nursery teacher... heehee... taking care of children smaller than 2 years old. Feeding lah, rocking them to sleep lah, gotto change diapers too! So now, will be getting lotsa exercise on Sundays... hahahah... leg and arms now still aching from yesterday loh... hahahaha... but this exercise, i reali enjoy... the children just makes my day! :D Soooo cute!

Hi forest! okie, i will buzz you!
must remember to key in your numbers on my hp though... wait forget.... :p

amos_aw

GERLYNN:

Wendy's really game about this forum, except that dialup is really a pain in the butt for her. We were using cable internet (like i am right now) back in Canada, but we're no longer living together in the same place, so she's stuck with using dialup till we get married. Hehe. I seriously feel her pain. ;-)

blue_lake

halo everyone!

pageup... yr CS is very nice with the beads... i dun think the beads are too little. it's very nice already. i like the photo when u sat down and the train arranged nicely on the floor. wow.

i wonder how much can we save if we print our own invitation cards. just brought a new printer. keke. but must go and find the correct paper to print on....dunno shd i do it myself....

anyone know the printing cost of one card?

bread

My wedding preparation almost done now waiting for my PS date... Venue and BS had decided and paid deposit liao...

forest

welcome bread!

so, where's ur venue n BS then??
looks like u r all prepared!!! good for ya!!

angelbb,
ya... must join us... rem to key in our numbers okies!!

twinkelglint,
well, i suppose i understand y ur dad thinks tt way lor.. but so long as u think u r ready.. then no worries!! yeah.. understand tt next yr is good yr... but cant make decision yet... hee hee... i'll def shout when my details r fixed man!! kakakak...

girl80,
hope u settle ur venue soon...
understand tt it can b quite a headache... i've been to a few places myself... n till now, also dunno which one i will go with....

btw, no more takers for our outing next fri, 17th oct??? location n time of outing will b announced next wk!!!

shinde

Hi Catura,

I guess they are generally busy...tat's y no reply yet. Why dun you give them a call personally? Respond would be faster... =P

doremon

Hi GERLYNN and girl80,

I am not going to have banquet so no worries on that. So far, what i have done:

1. confirmed BS
2. confirmed PS
3. confirmed AD photographer

tianyun

Hi Catura,

Most likely I will take OCC if the date is taken then will have to choose other venues instead. Ya I already with Shinde maybe you should give them a call personally...

bread

Hi forest n others ladies....

WOW... u all still organize outing.... hmmm.... not bad...

Well, i will be having my dinner at Wang Jiang Luo due 2 tight budget, my BS had decided on Sliverlining and AD photographer tentative Kalyedoscope...

poshies

Me new here.... can I join in....
my wedding is on 21 Feb....
seem like still tons of thing not do....
need advise....
I had fixed my venue and brida shop... that all

catura

Pinkapple,
No.. Havent booked anything yet thats why abit stressed.. :p

Shinde,
Maybe u r right.. But the thing is I'm in Sydney atm.. and I havent got the dates yet as my MIL hasnt gotten back to me on that..

eVon,
Pardon me for my ignorance but what's OCC? I do hope u get the venue of your choice!

Hey girls! How abt BS? Have u girls chosen any yet? From what I read and seen online I do like Bridal Veil very much.. And also J&C (cos a friend of mine did hers there)...

tianyun

hi catura,
OCC = Orchid Country Club...
Thank you so much, I do hope so too...

I've chosen my BS and my rom dress also from there. I'm with GHA

coolgirl76

Hi eVon

I been to OCC, nice place you taking the ballroom or rest? i think you need 40 table to book the ballroom. Do you know that if u book thier ballroom they will also take the food fr the restuarant? The food looks delicious.

actually thinking of holding my dinner there but find it inconvenient for those who dun own a car. No doubt that they have shuttle service fr Yishun MRT but when your dinner end, your guests have to rush for the bus including the staff. Heard the staff also take the shuttle service.