(2004) Brides of year 2004

twinkleglint

i am new to this thread. hope i m welcome. i m also a 2004 (Dec) bride. still a long way but would like to read abt commends.........

coolgirl76

hi girls

I am Dec 2004 bride too.... I tried to book my wedding dinner at pan pac but was fully booked...i guess some of u are very lucky to get pan pac....they having promo now $638 for ocean ballroom.... both ballroom are taken up fr sept to Dec 2004....except first 2 weeks of AUG2004( should be chinese 7th month) now i am searching for others hotels........ thinking of merchant court but i didn't meet their min tables for weekend. Merchant court food is nice! My Ex boss just held her wedding there....food is nice and i love their desert!

chenoa

Hi people,

I'm also an Oct bride. Just confirmed my date to be 17 Oct 04.

Yet to confirm wedding banquet but my bridal is Yvonne Creative.

catura

Hi coolangel

U've started looking out for hotels already? I havent even started looking for anything yet.. Feeling a lil stressed now.. :D

nnyl

chili..
envy u, cos i can't do anything abt the hse, no news yet when i'll be getting keys. Keep fingers crossed it'll be around jun. What i can do is to plan and settle as much as i can for wedding first such that can minimise workload later on. Very excited abt the whole event but also worried how much damage it'll ne for my bank account. :p

forest

bonjon,
no worries...

amos,
ggggrrrrr... y u pick on me har???
i'm sure she knows some of our number lah.. we had a mailing list gog around prior to this mah.. it was consolidated by our dear pebbles!!

welcome twinkleglint!!

so, hve u decided ur hotel, bridal studio, etc? hee.. for me, i hvent decided mine yet!!!

smurfy

I finish my PS liao !!!!!!!!
I am back in the office already today.. got tons of work to finish but got so many things to tell you all..

Just some tips:
1) bring a pair of sandals for outdoor PS (very impt!!!!!) I wore my sandals all the way for my outdoor PS and don't feel tired at all. I can run and jump in it and also save dirt from getting onto my new shoes

2) bring own lunch. Well, if you decide not to eat too much, better to bring some light snacks for own lunch
3) Don't be late for PS cos I was late for 1 hr in the morning, so photographer said just take 3 outfits for indoors (WG, EG, Kua), 4th outfit (CS) saved for outdoor.. i should have chosen my CS and forsake my Kua for indoor, i forgot that I spend so much on my CS, should have taken more pics... sigh..

We went to the following places:
1) Red Brick house near the entrance of Sentosa. Photographer showed us a pic that he taken prevously, looks like its in foreign ctny,.. anyway we feel that he should know best places
2) Canterbury road. Got a greeny patch of grass.. oso recommended by photographer
3) Kallang Riverside Park, cos I wanted someplace with water.. sad to say that yesterday sky wasn't very blue. He said that photos will not turn out nice.. so we didn't got Changi and Sentosa. By the way, he told us that the hanging bridge at Sentosa had been torn down..
4) Paranakan Place @ Emerald hill for my CS. I think this will turn out nice because the settings is very nice and matching for my CS

Really, no matters its PS or AD, there sure to be hicups here and there... I enjoy my PS alot.. but I feel that certain things can be done better (for instance, my hair lor, don't like the way its styled). Anyway, hope u gals will be better prepared than me for your PS

gerlynn

Hi gals...

i havent been in this thread for quite some time...seems like a lot of new faces..

after so long, im finally shd be confirming my AD to be on 23 sept 04..its a weekday...hai my MIL cant seem to get a weekend..sobz...

girl80...my wedding just 2 days b4 u...are in born in 1980???

twinkleglint

hi forest

yap, i book PP for my WD and Whitelink for BP. beta be fast cost alot of Dec'2004 brides nex year. hear fr friends that 2004 is a good year for marriage. but my dad not very happy cos i made my own decision, moreover he thinks i still have years ahead, so should concentrate on my career.......

tianyun

Initially planning to hv my customary in Nov'04 now change to Dec'04 instead. Wow...so fast ppl 'snatch' the date already?

shinde

Hi eVon,

ya...you'll be surprised tt ppl has started asking for packages as early as 16 mths before their weddings..

Opps...forgot to intro, I'm new here and also a Dec 04 bride. =) Hope we can share and exchange knowledge to enhance our wedding experience.

blurq

hi chilli,
I think Merchant court not bad.I like their ballroom alot and it's cheap too...

I din go to Sheraton and Amara..my hubby and i juz shortlist a few hotels, and make our decision within 2 wks, wants to settle this thing fast..hey, y dun u try PP?
as for the reno..shd be finishing soon..abt 1 to 2 more wks..what abt u? where are u staying?
Haven't get my package yet..still looking ard..very fun trying on the gowns at diff BS...

hey Lynn,
yes..try to finish as much as u can..cos' i think reno is even more tiring than wedding.
Have u got ur floor plan already? Can start shopping for ID if u want..and after u got ur keys, can straight away start ur reno..and be prepared to spend lots and lots of $$$..me too..now my bank no $$$ liao..:p

jatling

Me also will be DEC 04 bride......but have not do anything yet.
I will have it in wkday....finding restaurant or hotel should not a big problem right?

Hi Evon,
Nice to have u here and same customary mth as me!!

marker

I went for my first selection of EG at the boutique... everything went on well and I manage to get my ideal gown within an hour…heheheh.

Smurf - thanks for the tips, show us your PS when ready leh

tianyun

Hi Shinde,
Really? gee...then I better start working on my guest list then book my tables fast...

Hi Jatling,
Hehehe...nice to see you here...both of us same mth ROM and same mth customary...
You better work fast too cos your's will be on auspicious day rite?

jatling

Hi Evon...

Ya.........same mth for ROM & Customary..heehee
Ya..will act fast...
yesterday still try to convince my mum for not having dinner but still cannot......
So must check out restaurant liao.
Ya mine will be auspicious date.......

girl80

Hi Gerlynn,

Yes you are right, I am born in 1980. How abt you? My MIL actually got 2 dates and both falls on Sat. But now busy sourcing for venues..as we have a tight budget coz spend quite a bit on our new home liao...how abt you? Have you book your venue? Any great ones to share...Since our dates are some near, think we can plan & share together...

kokopooh

HI GIRL80,

heheh..my wedding is on the 28sep04...i'm 3 days after u & 5 days after gerlynn...hehehe

hi Gerlynn,

Have u got ur dinner venue cfm?

coolgirl76

Hi Catura

I am looking ard now..... Went New otani, Holiday Inn, Riverview, Royal Plaza this sat going down to Grand Parkroyal to see their Bridal Show. They will be having lucky draw at the same time 1st prize is $10,000 cash rebrate for yr dinner booked with them. Bridal show is fr Irene's Creation, if you interested can call them at 64325517,5649 or 45.

Might be going to M hotel too.

gerlynn

Hi girl80..

Im born in 1980 too!! heee hee...we are same age...n gettin married at the same time...heee..

ya...i bet u muz be really broke after spending so much on ur new house...but its worth it...im not getting new house yet till beginning 2005 where my fiance can sell his flat...so we are not as tight in budget...hmmmm mayb u can consider concorde??? think ard 650nett?? wat is ur budget...

hi kokopooh...
cool...our weddings are all near each other's...so nice..im now considering hyatt...coz since my wedding is weekday, i will have to give up my original plans at sentosa...how abt u??? booked venue liaoz??

kokopooh

Hi gerlynn,

Mine will be at Sheraton Tower...& it's also on a weekday.. 28sep04 fall on the mooncake fest(lunar calendar 15/08)..

wendy_aw

Hello gals!!

Long time no see huh! Welcome newcomers!!

Aiyo...stupid dial-up at home is soooooooo slow thats why I always get so fed up when I want to come into this thread. Halfway thru I'll usually just give up. HEhehhehe....

So how's life everybody?? Guess we'll be meeting really soon.

gerlynn

hi kokopooh...

ic...i dun meet the min no. of tables..so really headace finding the venue..btw, i heard from the "sheraton' thread that there is this outdoor waterfall patio place great for solemnization...and this lady "gnny" intends to have her wedding at the dining area...sounds cool...im hoping that she can inform me abt the package...:p

hehe...so sweet to be on the mooncake festival huh..shd be quite an auspicious date oso la...

ask u hor..so during the day, will ur relatives be present for the tea ceremony etc?? coz since its a weekday, so every one will be wkg rite?

girl80

HI gerlynn,

Great!Yah, its great to have our own home. Can spend more time together as a couple...hehehe
Thinking of concorde but just attended my hubby frds wedding & thought that it will be very awardard to hold our wedding there next year...so got to give it up. Thinking of Club Chinos but max. table is only 32 tables....dun think it is enough for us....As for Pan Pacific, the date is taken up already...sob sob...so now still sourcing around...Our budget is abt max 650nett...Any good offers to share?

So hows your preparation? Which bridal hse did you sign up with? I have sign with Golden Horse Awards...

Hi kokopooh,

Very special day for you. So how much are you paying for the Sheraton package? I think the weekend package is quite exp. right. Me really having headache now coz on very tight budget..

tianyun

Jatling: I also told my hubby to do away with the dinner but he said must stand in my parents point of view since I'm the only child. So I guess this dinner cannot run liao...

Twinkleglint: Any idea which dates are good?

jatling

Hi coolangel.....
Wow looks like u have gone thr alot of venue.....wow that's not easy man!

Hi twinkleglint.....
No choice lor...if really no dates.....even for wkday..den postpone to 2005 liao.

hi Evon,
My HB is the youngest son......still wanna dinner...so sianz.

kokopooh

Hi gerlynn...

ya think so too, the man gave us 2 days 1 on wkday & other on weekend but he say this day is better for us.. so we take it lor..
hehe I'm not sure also, will c how when the dates is nearer...

Hi girl80,
i think is about 750+++ for table of 12... since u r on tight budget, y don't u try new otani hotel, their ballroom quite nice & no pillar ...

gerlynn

Hi girl80...

i decided to just post here instead of going to antoher thread to reply u...:p

ya...get what u mean by ur frens' wedding n u dun want to be the same...coz im feeling the same too..coz of that, we didnt choose pan pac n four seasons...coz frens' collegue held there, good fren some more...so its like sian already rite?? hee...

huh, grand plaza so XX??? not very worth it leh...aiyoo...how abt grand corpthorne waterfront??hotel new otani? hmmm....really tough to decide hor...

me oso had took very long to find my venue..have been searching since august...hee hee..

mee sign up bridal with camellia houte couture...nuttin much to do now except to confirm my venue...

coolgirl76

Hi Jatling

No choice....actually I am Nov 04 bride call up some hotels and rest. My date was already taken up by other couple. Thus, got to act fast if not date taken up again

girl80

Hi Gerlynn,

Thks. Yah loh...glad that you understand how I feel..hee hee..

The weekend package for grand corpthorne waterfront is very grand & nice but again $719+++ for weekend....

What do you think abt River View Hotel and Novotel Apollo?....Will call Hotel New Otani to find out more...

So you will be holding at Grand Hyatt? The food is quite good and setup very cozy...Wah...you so fast, started sourcing since aug...me only started recently and quite worried as many dates for Year 2004 has been taken up liao...

How much did you pay for your bridal package?

gerlynn

hi girl80..

hee me started early but till no havent booked..hee..most likely shd be hyatt...currently looking thru the contract b4 we sign n pay...we love the set up too...

river view is at clark quay isit? novotel at bugis area? think quite ok..but never see the ballroom b4...as for hotel new otani..not bad..think shd be below 700 (after all taxes)...n the ballroom is big n pillarless...

mine bridal 2888 coz signed up when there is a promo...v worth it...how abt u??

gerlynn

by the way...go check out the Hotel new otani thread...there is pictures of the reception area n dinner set up there..not bad...think its 690 nett, include free flow beer some more...quite a gd deal...

another one i heard not bad is furama..newly renovated...did u check it out?

tweetie

HI,

I am also a Dec 04 bride. Just booked with RTP. Seems that next yr is a hot yr to get married... When i asked Eunice, the banquet officer, she say Dec weekends about 80% snapped up oredi. I also dunno true or not or they trying to be 'kua chang'.
But better check out fast...... if not.. even if u hv dates, the ballroom could hv been snapped up.

mee_mee

Got bitten by the flu bug...so resting a home today. For my makeover, I did not really bother abt what to bring coz its a short shoot. Maybe Smurfy can share on what to bring, other than straw?

I went for my final fitting and must say I was quite taken aback by the final product. It's exactly what I wanted and looked good on me... aiyo... now so tempted to buy the gown. ke ke..
Any of u thought of buying your WG?

Graceful Image allow me to pick an additional EG and WG(for outdoor shoot). They are both quite ok.. Must say so far so good for the boutique that I've signed up.

I oso had the trial makeup. I have signle eyelid but the makeup artist managed to create double eyelids for me. I wasn't used to having heavy makeup but my FH kept telling me I looked good.... hmm... maybe have to wear the WG to see the full effect.

Guo Da Li stuff is not expensive lah.. after i buy them, will let u gals know the estimated cost.

stay happy...

mee mee

catura

Hi Tweetie
U've booked with RTP? May I know how many tables u've booked and which ballroom did u get?

Hi coolangel
I wont be able to go to any of the coming bridal shows cos I'll only be back in SG early Dec...

Havent done any preparations not even decided on the date... I know I have heaps to do but nothing done.. *sigh*

coolgirl76

Hi Jatling

Mine is on weekend... my uncle who is fengshui master gave me the dates. Nov is out so i left with Dec.

Hi Catura
Once you back, you better start planning...you might get yr dates but not hotels/rests.
Good luck

Wish all of you the best and be the most beautiful Dec 04 bride....

voice_0229

hi smurfy

can u elaborate abit on what kinda sandal are you referring to? flat open toe sandal? Do you mean not recommended to wear high heel sandal for outdoor shoot? I have a 2.5 inch sandal which i'm intending to wear for my outdoor PS. Indoor PS, I'm going to wear 3 inch.

Could you advise on this? Thanks!!

amos_aw

TWINKLEGLINT,

Families tend to take a back seat once careers are on the move. My POV is that i'd rather get married now, form a family as soon as finances allow it, and then concentrate on my career. That way i don't have to put my career on hold halfway. I think Wendy will agree with me on this.

Perhaps your dad has some valid reservations, i don't know. Parents tend to want to tell us to do things without explaining why. Perhaps a heart to heart talk with him might prove enlightening. Parents will always be parents, and kids will always be kids. Are you the youngest? Perhaps he can't bear to see you go. We never grow up in the eyes of our parents...ever. We'll always be their little girl/boy.

Just a shot in the dark. My apologies if i've gone off on a tangent. It's 5am now and i just got back. Hehe.
(Oh no. Wendy's gonna kill me.

smurfy

I kinda couldn't sleep for the past 2 days. I wonder if its the "hangover effect" of the PS. Very worried that the pics will not turn out nice. Or maybe becos I stress at work.. Can u imagine that I reach office at 6.30am today on a saturday?? I must be mad...

Hi Mee Mee,
Do take care of yourself, drink more water.
I can't think of anything that is impt to bring ...

so glad u got something u like

Hi Tiny Voice,
The flat-rubber-soles sandals I wore is not those sporty sandals, more for casual wear and shopping, not for beach type. Maybe I shouldn't use "sandals"... I mean just bring along a pair of comfortable shoes (one that you can run, jump, do anything in), preferably no track shoes (my opinion). If you feel perfectly fine doing all the above actions in your 2.5" sandal, then just go ahead and wear.. the most impt thing is to feel comfortable and not tire out from the walking ..

Another warning, if u are short (like me hor), and you are wearing flat soles, remember to fasten your ken-ken higher than the normal position (maybe higher than your waist).. the problem I face is that I keep stepping on my ken-ken becos my outdoor gown too long and i am just wearing my flat-soles sandals.

By the way, which photographer are u brides-to-be engaged with?

pageup

Hi Smurfy,

Poor you, still have to work on sat. Don't worry about the ps lah, I'm they will turn out fine.

Thanks for the tips. I agree it is good to bring a pair of comfy shoes for outdoor shoot. That reminds me, I ever saw a bride wearing a pair of slippers (those which we wear to wet market) during her PS at botanical garden. I guess I will do the same

I have also chosen my outdoor shot wedding gown and specify that I don't ken ken... afraid I will fall as I'm a clumsy person.. hahaha

which photographer are you refering to? Actual day? I booked Alan Dai and Eric as my photographer and videographer.

Will be going to ted collection to see the completed CS today. Rick said it look very pretty. Hope he is not "mai hua zan hua xiang".
Keep you gals updated

onee

I went to HUE, CK Tangs and Isetan Scotts. Din see any nice covered toes wedding shoes. Any other recommendations?

HELP NEEDED :
Anyone knows what is the latest limitation for visitors / guests to attend ROM ceremony in the Registry? I understand from website that it's 18. Tried calling but can never reach a staff ! My guest list exceeded the limit
My galfriend suggested that I opt for outdoor solemnisation(outside ROM premise). What should I do, I've registered online for the date and time of ROM ??? Can I cancel it and make alternative arrangements? Should I search for a JP? Any recommendations?

tweetie

Hi Catura,

I got the stamford ballroom as i have ard 60 tables (max.) How abt u? How many tables are u looking into? The ballroom looks fantastic, i should tell u...esp when the lights are dim.

Tweetie

smurfy

Hi pageup,

Do remember to bring your digital cam. So curious to see how the beading is done
Rem to check the hook (if you have one) at the end of the train, mine nearly came off

ya, when Apple called me, she oso said very pretty.. hahaa... I guess they told the same thing to every customer..

Ooops, I mean which photographer you gals use for PS? I use Andrew Tay from The Edge..He is such a jovious guy.. if i weren't out of budget, i would have engaged him for my AD too.

cyn

wow.. 2 more newcomers... welcome twinkleglint & girl80.... have fun chatting...

forest... i'm fine with town area...

anglebb.. long time no see.. stil go to the gym? must join us for the gathering ok...

hi wendy... how's life back hm? heard from forest tat u have settle yr gowns... u're fast =)

amos... are u stil alive? kekeke... it's 5am yet u stil ve the energy to login.... wow... i'm amazed...