(2004) Brides of year 2004

yvonne

Good Morning Gals,
1 more day to go before weekend is here...

Hi Jul,
Wow... serious the whole house flooded? Hmm... prob is the window nv shut properly tht's why the rain slipped in?

Hi Silver,
I thk you can qualify for wedding planner... hee hee! If not, team up with dos gals n set up a bz so each specialist in diff fields (eg. venue, florist, photographer or bridal..etc)

Ok, will keep each other inform of the Aug sales of flat!

Hi Jan,
Better get some rest at home... take care!!!

Hi Ever,
Y'day was asking my mum to go check out the TONGSHU and she said is not OUT yet!!! Hmm... she also mentioned something like lunar 7th month dos SHIFU nv see marriage/auspicious dates one???

ever

Hi yvonne, so its true that lunar 7th mth cannot check auspicious date??!?!? ai ya, dont care liao... wait until my mum / future MIL feel like checking, then they can go and check... no point nagging at them...

wanted to get the tel no. from you yday, cos i forgot to register for the lesson... luckily, the class wasnt full... you finishing amore package soon?? intending to renew or join PF??

jul

Hi Ever & Yvonne,

The windows were closed. But they were floor length, & were not sealed properly. So the living room was flooded after a storm.

*sigh* Can't concentrate on work. No mood already. Keep counting down to weekend

Has Jan gone to c the doc already?

ever

Hi jul, keep your fingers crossed that your flat will be fine loh... the family staying in that flat already?? oh no... nowadays, their workmanship damn jialat... wanna cut costs, so sacrifice the workmanship!! sigh..... me keeping my fingers crossed for you!! tell us good news on tue, k? or if you're very excited, can post during the weekend to share the happiness!!!

jul

Hi ever,

They were going to start reno, then saw the flooding. Then later when they were vacuuming the window sill, the silicone came off! *sigh* I really doubt the wisdom of all these lowest quote systems.

Yeah, if I can't contain my happiness will post a note for u gals
Also gotta update silver, yan & yvonne abt the white tent :p

poox

hello welcome eighteight and worry

if u have not settle your hotel thingy my advice is to do so asap.

for a start, work out your budget. then visit this forum under the hotels to get a feel of the comment on these hotels. shortlist a few, email them to get the quotation, if they fit your budget then arrange to meet up with the banquet manager pref if there's a wedding setup u could view. Then u decide which one you're really keen and start your negotiation.

if u already have a budget in mind, can let us know so we can help u narrow down your choices

as for bridal shop, i think it'll also have to dep on your budget. visit the threads in this forum for comments then visit the shops to chat with designer or staff, try on the gown and decide. If you have a particular style u have in mind and budget, i'm happy to share my views with u

enjoy!

doreamon

Hi cin_p,

No...i am starting a small biz on that. U interested?

I can show u the website.
But u need to email me becos' cannot post here otherwise consider advertising. :p

yvonne

Hi Ever,
Thk leave the checking to the older people cos veri troublesome one... did u giv all the particulars to yr mum & MIL? My mum asked me dos weird weird qns like his block, which floor, unit nos, door/window facing east/west...etc. Dun noe why she need all these info??? Try give them few dates to choose from, easier for the SHIFU.

Yeah my AMORE package gonna end soon, 3 more lessons to go! Not sure whether to renew it or not???

Hi Jul,
2molow is the KEY DAY liao mah... bear with it ya! I also CROSS MY FINGER for you... be optimistic ok!

Kee kee... oh ya... the white tent again!

pebbles

postpet2,
hi, u also interested in taking pics in oz ah, which part are u looking at??? i have a list of contacts which i source when i went down last year but im not sure if i still have the list or i deleted it lah but i look for u then let u know..
i will send u an email later..

fencnef,
oh i thought u used to study in oz too, my wedding is next year may and so far have settled most of my stuff liao then just went to my bridal to select my gown for ps..
i think not many pple like the lifestyle in oz, for myself, i like it here,my hubby and me was there for 4 yrs and kind of like it there and it's so much better than spore

A&W,
i guess u will miss it more when u r not there, i always look forward to coming back home cos family and frens are here but then i know i will really miss the lifestyle and weather there, and true enough, i really miss it there, somehow have to go back there every year...ahaha, like my second home...

Lin,
i selected my gown liao, my rom dress which im bringing is a tube, the WG is spagehitt so i hope it's not too windy else i have to be super woman liao...ahhaha..
oh can check with u ah, u know of any good place where i can do mani and pendi there else i will do it in spore before i go over cos think it will should be able to last me for a week..

ever

Hi yvonne, gave our birthdate, birth-time and parents' chinese horoscope to my mum last time... huh?!??! why your mum ask you about his flat stuff?? ask in general, issit?? not for choosing auspicious date lah.... never heard of pple using flat details to choose dates!! hahahahha..... me give them two mths to choose from... any date will do....

maybe can visit PF and see if you like it... if not, then stick to Amore loh...

ya ya!! jul, white tent very impt!! hahahaha...

jul

Thanks for the crossed fingers. Hope everything will turn out ok. Think I won't be able to sleep tonight

Ever & Yvonne,

This choosing date business sounds complicated. I guess u'll get a fixed date only after 7th mth is over right? It'll be great if the 'fortune teller' gives u the same date that u want

yvonne

Hi Jul,
Yeah hoping the dates that we choosen is suitable. Mainly they see if our chinese signs CHEONG with our parents or ourselves signs. Also, most impt is the timing to fetch brides and return... veri complicated la!

Hi Ever,
Are you interested in PF? Not sure exactly how much is the package... Thk I'll wait for you / Jul then we can all go together ya... hee hee! Btw, PF got how many branches huh? Noe there are one at Suntec and Raffles Place, where else?

yvonne

Hey Gals,

Heard from my ex-colleagues a WL brides too. She engaged WL photographer for her actual day. Pretty cheap $500 for 8 rolls of film. But no montage/collage nor B/W pixs... what u gals thk???

trixie

Hi eggie,
Glad you found it useful.
It does help to shortlist banquets as you get to see everything at a glance

Hi fencnef,
yeah, patrick asked me before where my banquet will be. Cos think if it's at restaurant, it's not suitable to go for a big gown with long train etc. But i more or less know the type of design i want liao...think if it's a not too 'unique' hotel setting, most gowns should do fine

poohbear

Hi Bubbles,
i don't feel very settled at all! Decided not to have videographer, got actual day photographer already.

Just wondering, any of you have met up with your banquet hotel/restaurant to discuss things like the decoration or is it too early to do that? Have you decided things like the design of your wedding card and what is going into it, or does that happen much later?? What about all your march in and dinner music?

Not sure what we are supposed to be doing when... I'm going for my EG second fitting next week, quite excited. Going to be more busy with the house as we're getting keys very very soon.

Berry, where are you at in your prep??

jul

So what happens if your birthdates cheong the parents? Dun get married??? Or can select timing to cheong the cheong? Wow, sounds lie a great subject of study in itself.

My bridal shop is also charging me $500 for 8 rolls. But I wanted all the funny stuff, & digital, so rejected lor. Do you like B&W a lot? Or like montage? Coz some pple dun like B&W, or even montage. But bear in mind that u gotta tell the photographer to restrict taking, or add rolls. If u sign up with WL, make sure u write down additional rolls how much, B&W how much.

cubby

hi onee,
wow u dated so long liao...really time to settle down..me and BF only 3 yrs...heehe but he quite old liao...so need to settle down soon...:p
goo...so an opportunity to get things done when ur dad is here...otherwise difficult to arange meeting.
me only 22-25 tables. ya..both also quite nice...but me still wan to see somemore first..actualy rendezvous also quite nice!

hi fantasy,
GCW is grand copthorne waterfront and GWP is goodwoodpark

really meh? i tot mariott quite expensive one? anyway me sat goin to pan pac. but think wont take mariott also cos heard service not tat good.

i think u look for designer ones rite? me willnot wan to take neighbourhood one...cos frens told me standard not tat good. i will only pay increase my budget if i take designer ones..

anyway i'll leave bridal later...now banquet more impt...only 10 mths left hehe
me also thinking of silverlining...will pop bhy one day
thks for your suggestions!

bubbles

I think it's still too soon to discuss such things to the hotel. Things might change or your manager may forget. Better to settle this nearer to date, maybe Oct or Nov. Anyway your hotel would also call you around that time to settle.

For the music, I think should start compiling now, since we will need to use a few songs.

Why don't you draw a timeline, easier to plan this way.

fifi

Afternoon every1... Hope u all hve a nice lunch...

Hi Trixie,
Can share wif me ur list 2? my email : [email protected]. Thx!!!

Hi Fencnef,
I heard dat Toshiba not bad ler... mayb u can consider. But mayb abit ex if u dun mind.. :')

Hi Rabbit,
Wld b glad if u cld share wif me ur contractor detail. But mine will only b minor reno. Hope they won't mind dat...

BTW, gals, any recom 4 Air-con? izzit true come wif inverter can save alot in later part???

rabbitwsk

Good days ladies

Fifi,
preparation is on the way... wanna cfm dinner pl first, like wat Trixie mentioned as it matters in design of ur WG. Since so many gals here from WP, maybe i pop by n see, these few days.

u need my contractor no. since u hv not yet decide for ur reno.

I think if can make it, u can choose to ROM at home. (Save $ also)Ur new nest is a special pl, right
u can deco the hse to watever style u wan. I can recommend u my JP, he western style one. We stand to thru the whole solemnization.

yvonne

Hi Jul,
If the dates that we choose cheong with either of our parents then not so good la... therefore, got to choose another dates lor!

Hmm... I wana a mixer of b/w & color on the actual day! Montage/Collage I like... but X lor! See if my photographer can do it cheaper anot? Don noe hw they do it one hoh? Can ask outsider to do it anot maybe it will be cheaper???

ever

hi yvonne, me still thinking if i shld sign with PF after my Amore package finished... you wanna wait for me?? that'll be in dec!! hahahahha.... think jul can go with you after she start her reno....
think there's another branch at Great World City.

ya, choosing dates very troublesome... havent get to the auspicious timing part yet.... think my mum can take care of that... guess my date shld be fine, unless we die die want a Sat... cos my date was chosen by a SHIFU, juz that my mum dont really believe him as he chose it without next yr's tongshu....

guess most BS's freelance photographers charges about $500 for actual day.... but, must see their portfolio.... donno nice or not.... guess they can do B&W... but not montage.... these freelancers usually use conventional cameras, so do montage very troublesome.... unless our BS do for us.... that means $$$$$$$$$....... hahahaha....

rabbitwsk

Abt TV...

Fenc, buy those with progressive scan, 100Hz . Better and clearer pic quality...The one that I bought is 100Hz, DR series from Sony. Its the entry in the Progressive scan range. Good buy as i got it at 1400 (incl delivery). i think by the time u wan to buy, px wld hv drop more... Pana is not bad too cos my mum pl using Pana. If u go to sales fl, everyone sure ask u buy Pana cos they give better incentive to sales person :p Dep on bgt, Toshiba also a good choice.

Fifi, u refering to toshiba model 29inch? According to my understanding, for 29 inch, Sony is the most ex followed by Pana.
My contractor no is 96183791, uncle hua... small reno also biz to him mah
he is ok one!

I took Toshiba aircon w/o convertor. If u do not switch on aircon often, then w/o convertor is ok. u wan aircon contact i also hv...

fencnef

trixie..

wen are u having the gown design with patrick? do during dec lah..so our timing with the making of gowns the same..
dan we can gif each other ideas..

fifi..
i like toshiba too..!!but its abit way out of my budget loh..

rabbitwsk..
check it out at twp..my colleague signed up wif them, and he had a great experience dats y he recommend twp to me..
patrick's gown designs are lovely..heehee..cant wait 2 go for the designing..

forest

A&W,
hahaha.. i wasnt in oz for very long... but i already fell in love with the plc... in fact.. i love melbourne the most... very fun plc to b in!!
But.. aft u've left a plc for some time.. i'm sure u'll also miss it later... jus how deep u feel lor... in any case.. its a plc full of memories for u and amos, rite? ;)

Pebbles, Lin,
hahhaa.. ya.. wish i can go back too!! all the cafes, restaurants, shops.. r still remembered very vividly in my mind... cant forget the plc!!!

fencnef,
u can consider visiting the other states of oz.. personally.. i find sydney to b quite boring... *oops* .. cos its sooo similar to singapore... so, my love is still with melbourne lor.. tho' i hvent visited perth, cairns..

doreamon,
sorrie.. me not so familiar with the pricing of flowers.. so, cant really give u comments on wat u posted...

btw.. u do scented candles ah?? do u sell in non-bulk?? i.e. for personal use?? can u send me the link to view the items? can email me at [email protected]

fencnef

hey rabbitwsk and fifi..

thks!!
we can get panasonic tv cheaper dan toshiba or sony frm my dad's contacts..my family is a staunch supporter of panasonic loh..
hehe...so far it didnt fail us yet..

yan

ever, u mean when we go to the shifu for the dates, he or she will calculate the auspicious timing as well??

u know of any good shifu to recommend??

ever

hi yan!! think they can tell you the good timing to leave house.... but not sure if they will tell you other timing, like going home, etc... can check with them loh...

I went to a shifu in AMK, but donno if he's good... pass you the contact tmw....

did I email you or yvonne a shifu's address some time ago?? cant remember who i emailed to... that's my fren's shifu... or you want that??

Hello pebbles,

yeah lor...me quite keen to take my PS overseas...
but so far the only ones that i've seen in SIN is from the branded groups like Chris Ling,etc...who organise trips overseas at a stipulated time..
the cost is quite high leh..

so i tot if i can find someone there with a style that i like, i think the cost should be quite affordable..cos i dun have to pay for the photographer cum assistant cum makeup artist air tix + lodgin mah...

its based on this logic tat i want to do a little bit of reading up and asking lor..
but then my hubby is not quite keen as he feel that we are not familiar with that place compared to sin lor..

both of us like OZ very much..its our first ovs trip together.
we went to mel last year too...and really enjoyed that trip...
so wanna take our PS there lor...bring back wonderful memories i believe.

so if you dun mind, can share with me your reasearch?
thanks..

can reach me in pte at [email protected]

jul

Oh, so the date has to match everybody's birthdates. I see, I see.. So complicated yeah?

If u want B&W, got to use separate camera & film (unless u choose digital). If u want montage, better get digital, or it'll be very difficult to do, but still possible lah. Dun think u shd get someone else to do the montage, if he's not the photographer. Will be more expensive coz it's not packaged together.

silver

Hihi...

I just back from cycling class. Wow not easy ya? But quite fun lah. Very tired now hehehe

Jul,
You mean the contractor did not do a gd job? But whole room flooded is very serious leh!

Hey you too gan chong, nv sleep well so not feeling gd too issit hehehe

Yvonne,
Hey I ve 2 diff set of news re punggol flat. My gf's friend went to check n said this mth will be Buangkok n some sk exe but my friend very sure that this mth there will be selection for punggol but it will not be wis as they foresee the response will be too gd so it will be something like balloting (but they will not call it as balloting - complicated rite?). He claimed his very reliable news. So guess we just ve to wait n see.

Hey $500 is reasonable. But you better ask them to show you their portfolio n see if you like it.

PF has 3 branches - suntec, great world n far east sq. Agreed wif ever that you shd go for the trial n see if you like it.

Yan,
Hey so ve you cfm wif david liao?

Jan,
You shd ve gone to see doc rite? Take care ya!

Ever,
Looks like u ve no choice but to wait till lunar 8mth...

jul

Hi silver,

U went for spinning issit? *envy* Must be nice to have control over ur hours. Can go gym, shopping, spa...*drool*

Yeah, the HDB contractor had shoddy workmanship. Quite scary right? That's why I insisted I didn't want full length windows. Dun trust the bangla workers to lay the windows properly. Dun wanna lean, then fall 19 floors!

I think I'm getting more excited & less worried abt defects already. Now I'm just counting the hrs to weekend, & trying to clear the urgent stuff b4 I leave

yvonne

Hi Silver,
Wow... good news for us! But Buangkok flats oreadi taken up rite? The other time me & bf went to see the showflats only left lower floors units!

I thk WIS for Punggol will be a "Disaster"!!! Can you imaging so many ppl queueing overnites there and sure come out from the NEWS!!! Then can see Silver, Yan and my sleepy face there... haa haa!!!

lin

Hi Pebbles,
There is one mani in David Jones in the city which is not bad. It's opposite woolworths and diagonally of Myers. Charges around $30. That one is alright,quite good. There's a few boutiques here that do mani & pedi too. However, my friends tried and they told me it's still not as good as in singapore. Hmm..so advice, do in singapore for mani & pedi.
But in case of emergency, can go to david jones for mani.

jul

Hahaha! U 3 can take turns to q what. Can work in 3 shifts : 8 am - 4 pm, 4 pm - 12 am, 12 am - 8 am

Yvonne, Yan & Silver,

I read in another thread that a few flats in PG are under book lice attack. Go take a look k? Wonder if it's the area being close to the sea & too damp, or it's the HDB contractor eat money again.

silver

Hi Jul,
Ya I enjoy my flexible hrs but irregular lor n must prepare to work at nite n weekends. So gd n bad lor.

Huh book lice attack? Aiyo! Sound scary leh

Ya ya cannot imagine the Q meh! Guess we just ve to keep a look out on the news!

ino

hi poohbear,
yupz...agree that it seem really quiet...
my hotel have not called me up yet...guess it's still about 5 months to our wedding *gasp*. i think they usu calls us up 1-2 mths b4 wedding.

which hotel are u wif?

i hv started compiling my song list...
and also thinking of "special" item to present to my FH during the dinner....hehehe

what other things are there to do? i think u r better prepared than me leh...at least u have yr EG fitting. my bridal shop is giving me my first fitting only in late aug. ;-(
now, looking for ROM venue as well as sourcing for wedding bands. THink i'm going to Fairy's Inc to customise my wedding bands...

keann

Hey all,
Sorry for missing in action....well well m back in action now..at least for these couple of days... Being busy trying to coordinate my PS here in melbourne...ps should be end sep..can't wait...hehehee.....am quite excited about it..will update you all more abt it..

So pebbles, where did u get your shoes? is it pricey?

jul

Hi silver,

I guess each job has its gd points. But I still think ur job is better than mine! *hehe* Must be the grass is greener on the other side syndrome.

Yup, those disgusting small things that crawl in old books. *yucks*

poox

wow....all of you doing your PS so soon :p

i have to wait till oct to start designing my gown :p i think feb then ps.