(2004) Brides of year 2004

fencnef

ello rabbit..

wat bz u doing har?
r u an instructess or something..?? u like v.happening & active abt health-sports related activity leh..

jul

It depends on whether u like B&W / colour. Photos r very subjective, very personal. But one thing to note : For film, u have to decide whether u want that photo to be in B&W or colour at the time that u take the photo, coz they must use diff films. So ur photographer will be carrying 2 cameras. But if digital, can take first, later then decide whether u want B&W or colour.

That's why I chose digital for actual day. Dun think the photographer got time to slowly decide B&W or colour.

jul

Hi Jan,

I think some shops sell very nice dresses. Can buy them for tea dress.

Ever & silver,

Since u're having a garden/outdoor/casual-chic setting, u can get those dresses as simple EGs too! Tres chic! *hehe*

yvonne

Hi Jan,
Kee kee... at least ur stl CLEAR MINDED while ur sick! Thanks for forwarding the email......

Hi Jan&Jul,
You gals take good care, must drink lots of water ya!

Hi Yan,
Yeah I agree with you. Thk collage in b/w is nicer than color! Looks really classic n coolz...

jul

Hi Yan,

Thks for your concern
I'm taking leave on Fri & Mon, coz I'm getting my keys on Fri. Then Mon is my fiance's bday. Haven't decided what to get for him yet. Any recommendations?

We can arrange date to go Bs together. Spare the bfs & hubbys *hee* But then u gals have been to some shops, while the others haven't. How ah?

cubby

hi onee,
yah actually still a long way to dec. u wil only e-file sept right! wishu luck!
so i reckon u ROMin lah... will be even easier...just go for lunch or hi-tea canliao! any idea on wher to eat anot?
me thinking of Pan pac, rendezvous or GCW at the moment. will be viewing GWP, traders and mandarin on fri.
me not sure almanac confirm out anot, will call to check on fri..

hi fantasy,
i think the anniversary is your ROM date, as customary is only a chinese custom. however some couples do celebrate both, up to individual!

yah me prefer on the same day so easier to remember hehe
me looking for hotels....thks for the suggestion!
i think Mariott, Marina mandarin, Hyatt, Hotel Intercon is out of my budget. me already viewed Crown prince, pan pac, otani. gonna see traders, GWP and mandarin fri.
meanwhile, me shortlisted, rendezvous, GCP and pan pac

yah...me got to make tentative bookin soon
think abit late cos only 10mths to go.
for bridal, my budget is ard 4000 incl extra pics...any suggestions?

yan

for those shops that u have been to, just tell them that you are there for a second look... before making final decisions.. usually will let u try one la, especially with so many potential customers around..

yvonne

Hi Jan, Jul & Yan,
Thk u gals go along tanjong pagar can try plenty of gowns liao... so many BS over there!!!

Jul, you intend to treat him a sumptuous meal or what?

I find holland V got this stretch of italian/french restaurants very cozy and romantic. But bear in mind... alot of angmo dining there... kee kee!

Also, mt faber got 2 restaurants (Altivo & Mt Blisto, if i spell it correctly)... hee hee!

Hmm... what abt jap food ? Haru at 1 fullerton is very nice, but abit on the X side!

Actually lots of places to dine in... depends wat food u want and the atmosphere!

onee

cubby : Ya lor, still "ga li lor" lah
So now solely plan ahead for wedding rather than ROM, just a procedure lah. Planning a sit-down luncheon cos both parents never met before, despite that we've dated for 8yrs, haha... Moreover Daddy flying in solely for ROM, that's the only opportunity for them to sit down and discuss wedding before he fly off again... sorry, how many tables are you looking at har? GCW and Pan Pac sounds nice

cyn

ino..
ur CS is almost done huh? how's the beadings? did u take pix of ur CS? share leh...

my PS next mth too.. hoping to lose some weight.. but like difficult leh.. if i got the $$, i would ve gone for slimming course. hee..

i went for my EG 2nd fitting yday.. =) like it leh... wil be gog down again on fri to see the beadings... hopefully my designer can finish it b4 she go... fri is her last day leh =(

sagi

still remember me or not?? my pc gone kuku again.......so unable to log in.......

so many msgs........dun think i can read all.....think more than 4 archives...*faints*

yan n jan,
can u all email me ur pkg from david too??cos might be interested .... he got make rom gown too?? thinking of something like evening gown...hehe...since wld only have the rom reception in spore...... dinner wise wld be in m'sia

tell u gals, maybe i got a change in wedding plans again.... have rom in spore first, most probably next yr.....then customary(in m'sia) later.... maybe yr after...
hai...dun know lah....very confused now

fifi

Care to advise what preparations to start planning for wedding. Now in the mist of dun kn how 2 start.

sagi

hey

count me in for the bridal shopping ok?? i wait for my fren wait until neck long long liao......till now still havent gone any yet.....hai......

fantasy

Sorry ladies, but where's GWC and GCP.

Cubby,

If I'm not mistaken, Marriott is cheaper than Pan Pac. You may want to double confirm on that.

As for bridal, I cant really help as the ones that I've viewed are all above your budget. My hubby complaining very siong liao haahaa.
Think you can try fame at Yishun and universal at Toa Payoh. My frds are using em but not too sure how good as their customary are not over too. If you can stretch your budget a little, you might want to try silver lining too. Jit's pkg about $3800+ if I'm not mistaken.
Hope the above helps

ocean

Wow, <FONT COLOR="119911">Smurfy</FONT> saw that you had been helping to raise our country GDP and GNP!! Kekkee
Good good!
26887.gif

Recently, me been doing nothing.... seventh month mah.... But will be planning to go to my bridal shop end of the month!! Afterall, must start selecting the dresses and then buy shoes!!

Really impressed by you all!!

yvonne

Hi FiFi,

Got to do homework for banquet venue, bridal boutiques and studio photography. ASs for bridal boutiques, normally they need to have at least 6 months prior to your studio shoot to tailor made your gowns. Start doing homework, by then, you can decide which one to take up.

fifi

Actually I've seen New Oteni Hotel. But dun kn how's d food and service there. As for Bridal package, Hve u gals heard of X-zen sumwhere at Bugis there? Hve send them enquiry thru mail. But no reply ler.

Hve u decide which bridal 2 take? Any recommendation?

yvonne

Hi Sagi,
Hello... long time no hear!Another member ON for the bridal gown fitting! Hey, so planning which date for ROM oreadi? ROM veri fast one, just book online 3 months in advance to yr selected date!

lin

hi Pebbles,
Don't think i need anything from singapore. Wow..excited already rite for PS.
Now the uni changed a lot. Got 1 more extra cafe now. It's called cafe Angazi. You should drop by there too.
They've extended the place too. I think you would enjoy yourself very much here too. Remember to bring your own personal camera as well to snap photos.

poohbear

aaahhhhhhhh.... wedding in 5 months time....!!!!?! getting very kan chiong and stressed out - how about the rest of you girls?

how come thread so quiet? No Jan brides interested in talking? All the other Feb-Jul 2004 threads have so many postings. Is Jan an unpopular month for weddings because of CNY?

pebbles

Lin,
hey no worries, if u last min want me to bring any bridal magz can just drop me an email..
i would expect more changes to the uni, when i went back last jun, there was already so much changes...think Curtin getting very rich ah...

oh, how's the weather like now??? is it very cold..??

lin

Hi Pebbles,
Yeap, now got more students from europe like norway etc. And more handsome guys to see. hehe
And they're getting more money from the state government. I was reading the newspapers, they're getting $6 million this year for funding.
It's winter now. But not as cold during the period when i was sitting exams. During that time lowest was 1 degree. Now the lowest is around 6 degrees and temperature during the day around 16 degrees.

silver

Hihi...

Hey is there something wrong wif our thread or my computer cos when I click under 'last 12hrs' I dun see ours? Hmm...

Lovelydolphin,
You can email to [email protected]

Ever,
You mean $45 for centerpiece? Err cheap meh?

Jul,
Thanks for appreciating my crazy ideas hahhaha

Dun think my gf ve to pay $800 for the artwork leh. She just selected her photos recently. Initally she choose total of 40 photos but was that it's bu san bu si as cannot do artwork so in the end she selected 50 photos. I will check out for you.

Ya ya I want something not too formal for my EG but yet to find a design I like. Btw, I think I am the oni one outdoor rite? Ever is having hers at ballroom leh.

Jan,
You better take care. Me been feeling feverish on n off too. Must drink alot of waters.

As for trying of gowns that will depend wat type of gowns you like leh. Hey make appt n try Divine gowns lah hehe

Yvonne,
Oh IKEA sale not till next wk huh? I must ve remember wrongly.

My sis not yet lah. We were having dinner at marina sq so drop by n look see look see hor.

Wat kind of wedding favours GCW provides? My bf suggested magnet n I am thinking of small bottle wif sand &amp; sea shell n wif our names &amp; wedding date. Dunno ve such thing or not hahahhaa

I will prefer mixture of color n b/w. More interesting.

Yan,
Thank you thank you. Me n my boliao ideas hehehe

Hey you like kelvin's collage album too? Me too but very X leh. How you find his studio n outdoor huh?

Sagi,
Of course remember you lah! How ve you been?

ever

silver, my flower arrangement can be used for my new house too, so i guess $45 is quite reasonable... someone quoted me $120 for a flower centrepiece!! but that's using real flowers... still too exp!!!

you mean yr fren got artwork album free by selecting 50 photos?? she only paid for the add'l photos?? how much for each photo?? guess it'll all adds up to approximately the same amt... juz that diff shops hav diff ways of charging for their artwork albums hor....

hi sagi!! of course we remembered you!!!

silver

Hi ever,

Oh ok. So you can choose the design of centerpiece?

Ya just pay for the addition photos selected. YC also charge for additional photos oni. Talking at YC lately so much complain from the thread on the photographer. Read liao also scare...

jul

So many msgs again, read till a bit blur, esp after lunch :p

Yvonne,

Tanjong Pagar got too many shops already. Very hard to leave one shop &amp; then pop into its neighbours right? Dun think I'll treat my fiance to meal. We're both not the high class type of pple, will feel weird sitting in expensive rest. Think we'll prob eat something like pizza, or Jap food etc.

Hi Sagi,

Long time no hear! How've u been, classes started? Wow, ur wedding plans are very fluid. Everytime u log on, u tell us something different

Hi ever,

Actually I also find $45 reasonable, considering that it can be reused. Fresh flowers are sometimes a waste. Pay so much, &amp; they die after a few days anyway

Hi silver,

Yes, yes! Pls chek out for me what ur gf paid. Is she the same one who disliked the in-hse makeup artist, &amp; got some Chris guy to do her makeup? I wanna go try Divine gowns! Heard so much abt them, but nvr seen them. So curious...

ever

silver, me bought the flower arrangement from concourse... hope you didnt get the wrong idea... its for my ROM, not the banquet leh...

thought YC's photographer is quite good?? guess we dont hav much choice... juz keep our fingers crossed loh..... dont worry!!

silver

Hihi...

Nothing much to contribute so just drop by to say hello hehe

Rabbit,
Replied ur email liao.

Ino,
No problem. Thx!

Forest,
Wat's ur email?

yvonne

Hi Silver,
GCW is giving fruit cakes or choc for their wedding favours but im thinking of changing it! Not sure they hv anything NEW besides that? Anyway, hvnt negotitate with them formally cos just make a tentative booking only. Guess their new ballroom is going to complete soon, will go check it out and make my final decision by then... hee hee!

Oh, shd go WL at Kaki bukit more gowns and albums i guess.

Hi Ever,
I thk $45 for the centerpiece is cheap... Can re-use it some more so is pretty worth it!

Hey, how u gals try the gowns huh? Just pop in and said wanna try gown like trying clothes! Will these people entertain if so many of u go in n try at the same time?

silver

Hi Jul,
Yup yup the same gal. She is having her wedding this Oct. Will find out for you.

Hi ever,
My bf n I find yc photo not bad. At least not cheena type but the gals r complaining that the photographer very tempermental lah, service no gd..... At times I wonder are all of them real yc brides or some of competitors.

silver

Perhaps you can neg wif them before placing your deposit.

Kaki bukit very inconvenient leh. Will go down if my sis decided to use them hehe

It's best to make appt n let them know that you want to try their gowns cos usually if walk in n they ve customers they will not entertain or allow you to try.

yvonne

Hi Jul,

If you like pizza then go for Spagettis at Tanglin Mall/Millenia Walk, delicious &amp; cheap!!! My bf loved the olive olive... Hmm (Not sure if i spell it rite?)

And NYDC, got nice cheesecake and pizza over there!

As for Jap, can go Suntec Mall Level 3 this jap restaurant (some sort lik Marche kinda of style), very economy also! Love this dish (don noe call what?) which burn on the paper one? Hee hee...

Hi Silver,
Don worry too much... sure got complained every now &amp; then. But we just see for ourselves lor! Individual's experience and expectation might be different rite?

silver

You are making me hungry

Yalor tats why I nv post much in yc thread.

Hi Jul,
If you n ur bf like pasta can consider the on at Bugis. Reasonable too.

As for Jap if you ve budget you can consider Goodwood park buffet but dinner quite x. If you guys taking leave, go for their lunch buffet.

pebbles

Hi Lin,
REALLY ah!!!! why dun have handsome guys for me to see when i was there ah...6 million is alot of money for funding ah...this year weather seems to be really cold...hope it won't be that cold when im there cos i dun intend to bring too many thick clothes...and i think i will freeze in my WG during my ps..ahaha...

jul

Thanks for your recommendations
We like Spagheddies &amp; NYDC too! I think the paper burning thing is yakinabe or something. Sounds quite rude right? *hee*

Hi silver,

U're also making me hungry, adding to Yvonne's recommendations
Pls find out for me from ur fren abt the photos pricing. And the other time u said she used Chris who? as makeup artist? What abt the photographer? Did she get MTM / OTR? Me very kan cheong spider lah

smurfy

Heehee.. no choice... more to come.

Hopefully they don't increase the GST next year, else got to contribute even more
26898.gif

yvonne

Hi FiFi,

Heard that the food at New Otani Hotel is nice, is from Taiken restaurant, sichuan food.

I'm not sure about X-zen, you can always look up from the bridal boutiques thread about this bridal boutique. Is better to shortlist some of the bridal boutiques before making your final decision. You can always browse through some bridal magazines and look at what type of gowns that you prefer. For me, I shortlisted 5 bridal boutiques which are Flamingo, Silhoutte, The Wedding Present, Divine Couture and The White Link. I finalise with Divine but not yet taken up the package, waiting for the October promotion. Is better for you to make an appointment with them and went down personally to look at their gowns and have a try on them. You can ask them questions that you are doubted. From the 5, i personally think that divine, silhoutte and The Wedding Present is good. Don't take up White link as i feel that they are hard-selling themselves. See what do you prefer. If you like crystals, Bridal Veil is the one. Embriodery will be Silhoutte. What is your budget?

forest

i'm back!!

pebbles,
ya lor.. me also kaypoh only.. cos' no progress for my own wedding mah.. kekekek
no worries abt the msn.. we know lah...

rabbitwsk, silver,
u can email me at [email protected]
tks!!

wendylee,
welcome back!!!! good luck for ur papers!!!!

lin, pebbles..
hear u gals talking abt oz.. make me miss the plc leh... haiz.. wish i cld b back there!!!!!

yvonne

Hi Jul,
Haa haa... the name "Yakinabe" sounds veri FUNNY... keeps making me laugh!

I'm surprised u said "Kan Cheong Spider" sounds veri familiar cos tot only heard from my bf's mouth...... haa haa!

Yeah, alot of good food around in spore! Is quite fun go food tasting over weekend! Since you got a large appetite rite?

Btw, hv u sign up the gym package at PF wif Silver's bf?

Hi Silver &amp; Ever,
How is yr gym/aerobics so far? Got tone up anot? Hee hee... mine goin to end soon, prob another 4 more lessons to go... I'm going for HI/LO today, very ONz huh!

fencnef

hey fifi...

pleased to see u around here, hope u enjoy ur stay in this thread..

i can help u in terms of photography, there're couple of photographers around such as the compass photographers group, picturebox,utopia,imagegarden,benny ang etc..these photographers are tied with some of the bridal boutiques which yvonne has shortlisted..
remember dat both gown and photography is important for u to decide whose service you wanna engage wif..and customer service is oso a point u shld consider loh, have a heart-to-heart talk with the wedding coordinators whom you will be approaching to at the boutiques..
personally i'm with the wedding present and imagegarden..

silver

Hihi...

I just went to cook maggie mee, too hungry

Jul,
Hers is MTM WG &amp; EG. Err.. forgotten which photographer n makeup artist. Erased the msg after I told you hehe

Yvonne,
You really ON huh? I tried to make it a point to go twice week. So far only tried Yoga, Pilate n Body Balance. Still prefer body balance class hehe. Sometimes I only go to use the machines think must go n try the rest of the classes.

eggie

Mine is tentatively on 9th Oct. Might change as we are flexible with date as we had not booked anything. sourcing out for church and banquet at this moment.

fifi

Thx for ur vaiuable advice. I've actually went 2 a couple of bridal center which think they're hard selling their pdts 2 me. Dun really like dat at all. These centers juz insist me signing up d package base on their said package. So wld like 2 kn, can d gown b tried on b4 signing up any???? me vri puzzle ler..... Actually my budget ard 3k, but it seems dat after they change dis &amp; dat, it'll comes up 2 abt 4k+.

BTW, hve heard fm my col, whitelink not vri gd. dan my frenz recommend GHW &amp; even going JB 4 d package....

Hello pebbles,

while popping in, got to know that you are intending to have your photoshoot done ovs..i presume australia here..

wow...that's something that i'm very tempted to do too...
so did you get the package from local or is this a personal trip?
Wonder if anyone in SB tried getting photographer from there?

yvonne

Hi Shanice,

Welcome! I might be a Dec bride too. I have not fixed the date yet too. Either be at the end of Nov or early Dec. What is your budget for banquet and bridal package?

fencnef

hi fifi..

for both wedding and banquet, i booked during the wedding show(which was in june and jul)..probably u wanna check out wedding shows to have clearer picture of what the boutiques are offering..
i help to lookout if there's any wedding shows coming along..i got many infor frm bridal mags..and oh yes, bridal mags are good sources of infor..

there's e walking cat which u may be interested with and fits your budget.. http://www.ewalkingcat.com/services.htm