(2003) Brides of year 2003

ling

flowee,

wow. you still got proposal leh. for me dun have. just that my bf kept asking me like every other day to marry him until i'm immune. so there are no surprises. He also always give my favorite flowee ( tulips) everytime so i also used to it.

but the thing is "THERE IS NO PROPOSAL". He just started searching the net and find out the 4cs of the diamond and we went shopping around for the idea ring. however, we ended up with the earring and necklace as well. next thing is he ask the date for ROM and we are there enrolling for the dates one fine saturday.

AND WE ARE GETTING MARRIED NEXT YEAR ....BUT TILL TODAY, I STILL DID NOT GET ANY PROPOSAL.

padre

Yo pple,
Me and and my wife are getting married Nov 2th, booked our banquet at Grand Copthorne Waterfront already, but still looking at bridal

abrinas

Hi Wabbit

Jan might be a little late if you MTM. If OTR, then it's ok.

For the ring pillow, Ya, same reason as you, it is quite expensive to buy, that's why I wanted to make it. I am doing a cross stitch pic on top. The remaining fabric (the back) maybe satin (still hv not decided on fabric). still in process of cross-stitching - just started a couple of days ago. Will make it into a heart shape. Got the heart shape from a book which I bought from Amazon.com, through the internet. After wedding, can use it as a normal pillow. Just need to buy thread (ard $25), cloth (shd only be ard $10 - buy from spotlight), stuffing (ard $5 - also fm spotlight). Think come up to ard max $50. Cheaper to do on own but it takes time. But I find it meaningful.
I like to do such stitching work.

meow

welcome padre to our family too. Looks like its getting bigger.

Sunnyling, think we should updates all info soon...

joyful

Hi Abrinas,

Thanks for the tip. Guess it's good to make it if you have the interest.
BTW, it was me that asked you abt the ring pillow and not Wabbit! Have a nice weekend!

clyne

Hi Sunnyling,

WG fashion roughly abt the same but not for EG.. Me still dunno what type of EG shd I wear..scared wear the same as my guests..quite malu leh..so must choose something that guests won't wear to wedding dinners..

serene

Hi to all,
Bride2003: Hmm, I also hope to slim down more on my arms cos my frens said that tube top kind of wedding gown is nice...so will be nice if I have slimmer arms

Angel: Envy you, me trying to lose more weight..but dunno wat gets into me,...eating more tibits, last week had several rounds of buffets cos of wedding dinner and birthday celebration for frens...hehehee..try to drink more milk if you want to gain weight, preferably before you sleep..think should be able to see some effects in a mth

Now thinking of my wedding gown...have you gals decide on the type of wedding gown you want..no clue..have been flipping through wedding magazine to get an idea but so far none yet..I booked package with Paris (Tanjong pagar) ..got MTM shoes and gown.

Anyone wedding same as mine on 24 Oct??

Serene

dolphie

Hi abrinas,

yes am having a church wedding too! Mine's at Kampong Kapor Methodist.

And thanks for the tip on ring pillows! Heh heh, another project for me!

mich

I finalized my gown design oredi. Very excited now... can't wait for the first fitting to see the actual gown..

Vin, can I see you pics too? [email protected]

Will be doing my PS 1st week of Jan. Hopefully will have lots of time? Now have to frantically try to lose another few kgs so that I can fit nicely into the bustier gown!

mich

actually i also have to top up $500 if i want to add a layer of lace. so in the end i decided to go with a simple duchess satin gowns... bridals shops ah... try to 'gotok' us... everything also must add money one.

i tried to ask them if i can exchange for a montage picture if i do not want the actual day photography service and the portrait in my package and they still ask me to top up $600! so horrible...

bride2003

I am not prepared at all to wear tube type gown leh.. kekee.. coz my shoulders very broad as i was a swimmer last time. Las time when i went to IMM to look for bridal shops, the advice i get frm most of them is that it is not advisable for me to wear those lor. It is better for me to wear something with sleeve or something else but not tube or even spaghetti straps :p

i have picked some designs from magazines already. Think will bring along those magazines on my next visit to the bridal shop.

U booked with paris? Paris got many nice tubes i think

I won't be getting MTM shoes lor, coz only wear once. So i just go hunting for shoes when the time comes

hi oct,

Great! we have the same wedding date!
kai is good in embroidery? I think her gowns pretty classic

i signed up with fame bridal @ tampines but they have shifted to upper serangoon and renamed "wedding affairs"..pretty good svc

hi 1027,

i am always excited to go to my new house on fridays.. kekee... we will spend the whole weekend there... i will make desserts and do cooking on sat and sun.. it is fun!

abrinas

Hi Dolphie
Are u engaging anyone to do up the church for u? Thinking of getting someone to do it but seems quite expensive. 8 to 16 pews, 2 large arrangements on stands, 1 for reception table total cost ard $500>. Any suggestions? Feel like doing on own but FB says might be very tiring for me.

Hi Joyful
So r u going to yr bridal shop earlier to look at the gowns? R u going to MTM or OTR?

F

furlin

hi Padre,

hey! you have the same wedding date as mine
GCW was one of my choices when i went round to choose hotel venues with my fiance but we ended up with Pan Pac....GCW has a great promotional package with citibank, u sign up for that??

serene

Hi bride2003,
I am still considering my gown

Izit? Didn't notice that there are tube gowns when I went there to get my ROM gown
hehee
Hmm..do you have MTM gown?

starry

I am also a March 03 bride! I had a hard time following this long thread.

My wedding is on 22nd Mar (same as Ding Dong!!).

Joy2003.. we know each other (star fm TWF, but need to change my nick cos there is another star in SB).

My EG & WG are done up and jus taken my wedding shoot. So fun... not tiring as wat other say.

bride2003

hi serene,

i attended a wedding dinner before and my friend's wife's gown is a tube type and she signed up with paris lor. that's how i know

yes, i have one MTM WG in my package. Will try out OTR gowns first, then once decide which neckline, etc is the best then get one MTM one.

When are u going to select gowns?

sweets

hi abrinas & Dolphie, nice to know other Methodist B2B too... We'll be having ours at BRMC...pretty excited!!

Abrinas, I was also thinking abt DIY-ing church decor, maybe using silk flowers...do you think its tacky though ? need comments!

fishball

Hi everybody!

I've been reading the whole thread cos there hvnt been an Oct03 brides thread. Thnx 1027 aka cody. ;p

For me, I've booked my banquet and bridal package at the same wedding show by Concorde last Sat. The bridal package is In Weddings. Signed up cos I tot quite good value. Tot of signing up later after 'doing research' from this forum. But now, quite regret and scared cos the comments abt d bridal shop not very gd. Cham liao. Hv 2 wait n c. Otherwise, d px quite value. Got 2 MTM gowns+tea dress (all rental)+ 25 8"x15" shots+car rental+ so on.

Also, thinking abt changing date cos I booked last day of Oct, which is 10th month of lunar. Still prefer 9th month. Sounds nicer, like chang chang jiu jiu...heee...me Cantonese, dats y...

24 Oct keeps coming up as very good date for weddings, but not suitable 4 my FH cos 'chong' with his animal sign. So bo bian. I wanna play safe even if he said he dosen mind.

Sorry...I miss out in joining this thread...dats y so lor sor....BUT really excited lah..

bride2003

Hi fishball,

welcome to this thread!

Looks like u have picked up not a bad deal from In Weddings. My package includes 1 MTM WG, 20 15R photos, car rental, etc. Dun worry, everything will turn out fine and u may find it ok, who knows rite?

Both 10th mth and 9th mth are good. Did u get the date via fortune teller, etc? As long as u find one date that dun clash with u and ur hubby and both side parents then can liao lor

Yah, i agree with u. If "chong" then better dun want. Better be safe rite?

We are all very EXCITED here too!!

So when are u informed when u have to drop by to select gown and for PS?

fishball

Hi bride2003,

Yr package oso quite good. Din noe abt their package...cos din do enuf 'research'...
I alwiz pass by their place after work (in a bus), find their stuff v enticing, but only window-shopped cos dat nite wen I makan nir there, only all guys inside..paiseh to go in..

We din go 2 a fortune teller cos my parents not particular abt d dates. Only based on 'convenience' factors, like my mom wants a Fri, dats y I'm looking only at Fris, so only 4 Fris to choose in Oct (minus 24th)...

I dunno whether IW will inform me abt anything, though they told me to try out gowns 6-8 mths b4 actual day. So hv 2 back-count myself. Guess I will go earlier, in case 'things' happen, can hv time to amend. Again, hv 2 play safe cos of the comments abt them.

Guess I hv 2 start clipping designs fm mags like u...

joy2003

Hi Starry (Star)!!

It's great to see you here! Still used to calling you star..
I have also confirmed my WG and EG design just this week too! So happy
Where did you go for your outdoor shoot? So how's your preparations? It's just 5 months away...so fast!

Hi Juzme,

Thanks for your sharing. I heard about this from one of my girlfriends, she's a carrier but not her husband, hence doctor said it's alright for them. Good that you are clear of it!

starry

HI Joy2003

U can still call me star... I jus change my nick to avoid confusion with the other star in SB.

I went to Bontanic Garden and Sheraton to take my photo... we had so much fun in ST bathroom when the photographer tried to take mirror shoots.

So what's yr WG anf EG design.

pucca75

has anyone thought of wat flowers to use for ur bouquet?

anyway...juz rem something, can we have 2 different types of designs/flowers for phototaking session and actual day? i.e. mayb rose for ps and tulips for actual day

bride2003

Hi Fishball,

Happy Sunday!

My package cost $2988, excluding actual day photographer. Actual day photographer is another $580 for 8 rolls of film.

yah, if not particular about date, then dun bother to find fortune teller at all

If particular, then everything must be done neatly lor.

Friday is good. Actually we dun like Sunday coz somehow Sunday got that kind of "Sunday Blues" coz monday got to work. But we asked for a date and it happen to be a Sunday. So no choice lor

Yah, 6-8 mths is the norm. So u will be going to try ur gowns around feb lor

Yes yes, me also will be going for gown selection and PS earlier, instead of normal time count. Because i want to schedule my PS in June (the only weekdays i am free for PS), so hopefully i can go for gown selection in Jan. maybe u are going around this period too? kekee...

yah, i guess it is good to mark out designs from magazines. Coz when u visit the shop, most likely they start by asking what we like, then from there narrow down the search

flowee

ling

mayb he thot oredi romed no need 2 propose oredi lor... :p
i m sure he treasure u a lot since he had been askin u 2 marry him all the time n he also check ard 4 the diff grades of diamonds...

dun think so muz abt the past...
relax n b a pretti bride 2 b...

btw u mentioned u get freddie 2 do ur makeup???
mi 2 but dun koe amanda confirmed 4 mi yet... :p

kk

hi flowee jie,

*sigh* actually we did not want the dinner at malaysia but my pils want it. What to do? But we will not be involved in it, meaning we will not hunt for restaurant, etc. My mil will take care of everything. My hubby also bochap coz in the first place, he dun agree to having one dinner at malaysia :p

As to what i will be wearing, just casual wear lor :p

veil

Me back.. thanks for all the reassurance abt the pain.. me will go and do it.. hopefuly soon.. me terrified of the pain... aye.. yes, me will take the blood test to see if I ve the immune against it first..

Nofuss, thanks for checking.. do let me know ok? I will check my email ..

Starry, welcome.. wow, your wedding and ding dang is one day after mine... hm.. since we are using nicknames, not sure if you are my friends, scarly... I ve 2 friends who are geeting married on 22 March too.. and me sad actually cuz they cannot attend my wedding and i cannot attend theirs..

for those who are around themid to late march, i see your have taken photo shoot already.. or at least even go for fitting.. me think i super slow.. and last miniute.. my shoot will be in Jan, and no sign of fitting so far, and no concept for EG s far, ve not even gone for trail make up yet.. argh!!!!! *panic* *panic*

gee... now me a bit panic.. thk i better act fast to confirm my actual photographer.. scarly cannot find..

Can anyone pls advise me on the trail make up? me ve super sensitive skin prone to breakout or rash if use the wrong products.. will it be incessantly rude if i ask the make up artist if she cleans her brushes? and do your know if anyone use their own make up foundation to make sure skin is 'compatible' with the make up? if yes, then the foundation I use also not the last thru the whole day kind, can the make up artist do anything to make sure it will last? Can those who ve gone thru trail advise me please, me lost.. and dunna look like me very fussy to the trail make up but me v. scared.. cuz my shoot is in Jan and wedding in mar.. scarly major outbreak, i die!!! heeeheee..

ok.. talk to you gals soon.. aye..
ve a fun time doing all the shoot, selecting pics, planning the house or reno..

hey, the furniture is at Just Anthony.. me lost the card, it is at Upper Paya Lebar.. urm, they sell those antique Chinese furniture, mainly woody kind..NICE.. Promise to find the add and post it here ok?

Veil

shook

Hihi Jan2003, Sue
Sorry I missed your earlier posting. I m going 2 take my studio photo so early bcoz I wanna avoid the additional 2% GST 4 additional photos dat I choose mah.

Hihi Sue
thx 4 4warding Vin's pictures to me. I recieved them nice n clear.

Hihi Vin
Wow u got 5 outfits rite!! Dat's nice. I like the wedding gown wif little flowers on the stripe the most. Woman u look like a few TV artists u know.
- zhang qi fan, huang xi yun, another compere fm Taiwan can't remember her name. The darker pink gown is very sexy, n u gotta asset to carry it. Design of the lighter pink gown is very unique. Which is ur MTM gown? Personally prefer u wif ur hair bun up.
Ur bf cute cute chubby chubby
U thin thin

cool

guess wat.. i m a March 22 bride too. I m currently still renovating my house... as for my gowns, the evening gown is MTM - only juz confirm the design n colour over the weekend, with WG OTR. Phototaking in early Jan 03 - hope that the monsoon season is over.

I m glad to know that there are so many brides in Mar 03, and a few others on the same day as me.. so many happy brides..

dolphie

Hi abrinas,

I have not thought of the church decor stuff, to be honest. Hoping my cell group can help me out on that! :p
One of the gals in my cell group did her flowers DIY, with help from the rest. So I'm hoping to do the same, but still need to get the details from her first.

Hi sweets!

So you're having your wedding at Barker Road! I have not done my pre-marital course, was thinking of either Barker Road or Wesley. Have you gals done yours yet?

pucca75,

Eeps! I have not thought anything about flowers. Jia lat. Better find some flower book soon to look!

flowee

kk mei

since u mentioned ur pil will b doin the arrangement, juz attend lor...

huh u wont b dressin up durin ur dinner there???
then u wont look like a bride liao...

@ least rent a EG 2 wear thru the dinner mah...
juz my thots...

minmin

hi hi everyone!

i have shortlisted my list down to kai, silhouette, tan yoong and ted wu... going to drop emmanuel, cos i find that the EG are not really what i want .. too simple! i like kai and ted wu .. but these 2 are really ex! is 6K really too much to pay for a package??

sue

Hi Shook, dun mention. Got nice things must share share mah. I never tot of the extra 2% GST, slip my mind!
I find Vin looks more like Zhang Qifan. Yeah man! She looks so sexy in that red evening gown.

Hi Mich, Vin is with Julia Wedding News. You've got a bustier gown, is it a full satin one? When will u be going for 1st fitting? I hv not started my design yet, will do so only in end Nov.

sweets

hi Dolphie!!
....We have not really done PMC yet as both of us are not stationed @ home...so trying to work things out also with the parish....Recently only managed to confirm the minister who is officiating our ceremony...moving very slow hor....we did do some counselling with another pastor...dunno...its very luan situtation..heee

Pucca....dunno about flowers also....you have chosen yours for your PS already ??? WOW!!! errr....I tink I betta buck up also.....Dolphie...let me know what research you found ok ?

jan2003

Vin: my pc cannot open your pics.don't have application to support it.
from what the girls said, i can imagine you must look gorgoeous. the names they mention, all celebraties!

Shook: no problem and thanks for the reminder. aiyoh, got to factor this in. i totally forgot about it.

May: you back from one week break?

SLK : Calling for SLK! What happen? MIA!

serene

Hi to all

Bride2003: Thinkig of selecting my gown in Feb or so..cos MTM, might select of the rack if the design is nice

Just purchased my sofa set yesterday at Suntec Exhibtion ...mu hubby like it cos it is L-shaped...he said can lie there and watch TV( his fav is soccer lor)..hehe..Are yr fh/hubbies soccer fan/craze?

Hi Fishball..welcome to the thread, I am new here too!! chanced upon this website...

Seemed like alot of things to purchase..buy one thing at a time
Now keeping a lookout for other furniture..One year seemed like a long time but when I think of the things to do...seemed like not enuff time...hehehe

faye

Hi coolcitrusbasil,

welcome!! so glad to know there are more people getting married on 4 sept 2003. so how's your preparation coming along??

sunnyling

Hi Padre

Welcome Welcome

Clyne

Ya WG more or less is the same but think there are still abit of different here and there yearly so I also dun want to commit myself so early later regret.

Meow

Ya our group is getting bigger liao good the more the merrier

bear

Good mornign to all

I wld like to seek some views on kua

I m not a cantonese but can i wear them ? I thought that it wld make my grandparents happy to see me in them.....

I am late for photograpy... my wedding is in march 2003, indoor photoshoot next mth ( Nov). outdoor in Jan

coolcitrusbasil

me ah...only booked the banquet. But havent cfm my bridal, photography and etc...still sourcing here and there. i tot still a long way to go but time passes very fast!! how abt you?

kk

flowee jie,

yah lor, i have thought of getting a simple gown to wear for the m'sia dinner. I will check it out with the bridal shop and see whether they can let me have one FOC. If i need to pay, then i might as well buy one from outside.

bear,

of course u can wear a kua even though u are not a cantonese. I think a lot of brides doing that nowadays for tea ceremony. We deem it as more traditional

How come ur indoor and outdoor photography so far apart? Just curious to know

bride2003

hi serene,

yah, me thinking of gown selection around feb period too. But me having ps in june, so might be choosing in jan lor, see how first.

oh, now L shaped sofa is popular. Last time i thought of getting that too. But my brother wants to refurnish his place, so he gave us all his rattan furniture - sofa, coffee table, side table, etc. So we saved some money

My hubby is a die hard soccer fan.. hahaa.. if he have the chance, he will catch all matches on tv. He supports the Liverpool team

Hey, true u know. We always think 1 yr is very far away. But as the date draws near, we may realise not much time left :p