(2003) Brides of year 2003

yan

hi flowee,
ya loh now have to shop for furniture very tired , so when you be going back to work...
going back to work very sian right!!!

hi all pals gers,
any advice where to get nice furniture not very expensive one , now broke liao...

thank you

flowee

hi gers

ling

nod nod will attend sarah last lesson...

haz

oic thot tats call 1st fittin oredi...
pai seh hor... :D

elaine

photoshot nt far from nw...
muz b lookin 4ward lor...

yan yan

will b back in office next mon...
veri happi this sat can go out oredi...

wat kinda of furniture r u lookin @???
i bought my sofa from white collection @ parkmall...
cost us ard 2k...
a l-shape sofa with a ottoman...
f.o.c 2 pillows...
payin by credit card installation...

hv a great lunch gers...

yan

hi flowee and gers,
i am actually looking for something simple , L Shape sofa too... and a rectangular dinning table.... and a queen size bed... and etc...

you going back to office so fast....i think you wil complain when you are back to office....

hazel_77

ling, maybe early next year than ROM.

elaine, oic! hhehe...but still couldn't see, couldn't d/l the quicktime..
next time meet u then see!

ding dong

Hi No Fuss

No I have not ROM yet. Just bought a resale and am appealing to HDB to defer the ROM. Now dunno if can or not. If cannot, then have to ROM first lor.

This is quite an interesting thread cos it seems like many of us are DIY-ing our own wedding. Me too. Bought my gown from Irene's Creation when they were haveing a sale in March in year. Did my photoshoot overseas cos it was cheaper. This website is really very useful cos I got lots of contacts for make-up, flowers etc. Now I am still looking for actual day photography. Very tight budget, so hope to find one that doesn't burn a hole in my pocket. Pls let me know if you know of such contacts.

wei

I am also a sept 2003 bride. My wedding is on 4 Sept 2003 and my home will be in Ponggol 21 Blk 638. Have booked banquet dinner, bridal but not actual day photographer. Any recommendations?

flowee

yan yan

u can shop ard lor...
melandas n cellini r some of the brands ard...
mayb u can check out white collection by novena...
we din shop also...
id brought us c furniture n we like the sofa so we order lor...
din c any dinin table we like so askin id 2 proposed lor...

yan

oh ya... my id actually told me that he wil bring us to see the furnitures too ... but we want to see on our own first to prepare and actually want to know what we want ma

yan

really ok take your advice , then i can rest now haha...but we have to see refergirent and washing machine.... did you ever use a front loading washing machine before?

sept03bride

Hihi everybody....
as my nic suggest, i will be having my customary wedding+dinner in sept 03.. is there any guideline as to when i need to do the following tingies?
1. selection of hotel banquet
2. photograph takin (heehee abit plump)so tis process will take generally longer

sam

Hi Wei,

we will be nearby neighbours then. My blk is in 648 PG21 too.

And my wedding is also in sept, but banquet, bridal boutique, everything not booked yet

flowee

erm r u stayin b4 ur weddin???
well i hvnt purchase any washer nor fridge yet since will b hangin out @ love nest durin the wkends onli...
money pretti tight over reno lor but oredi shortlisted my ideal fridge n washer...
subject 2 changes also lor...
its a top loadin washer...
dun intend 2 go 4 front loadin ones...
cant help u sorie....

michele

Hi Shook,

Nice to know u too... My actual day is May 10. Dunno when we are doing the studio photography also... hehee... both hubby and I very busy with work!

Actually we (his Dad, my Dad, me and hubby) have a lot of businesss associates... not so many friends (coz we share quite a few common friends) hehe... anyhow, already reduce to 400+ pple already so hopefully not such a big headache. My sis had 60 tables too and the dinner dragged to 11+!!! horrible!

yan

no i will move in after wedding so it ok, cos my id they want to know the dimension ma... headache tooo... me oso veyr tight..... $$$$ no enough la

yan

you good la... you should be resting at home not sitting infront of the computer the whole day my dear frd...

smiley

was quite busy recently. Couldn't catch up with you gers already.

Michele,

Wow, dragged till 11+. I guess by then u will see people start leaving already.

Jan2003 and Lynnie

How are you? Have you started your engine to look for your Bridal Shop yet? Don't wait anymore?
jia you!!!

Shook,

Losing weight is really such a task. Must do this, cannot do that and also cannot do too much...... Sigh!

Very tired. Looking forward to go home.

sunshinekid

Hi Ding Dong,
Me too, looking for actual day photographer. if you get any contacts, do let me know, and vice versa
I'm planning to do my photoshoot overseas as well, probably in the middle of next year, and that's why I'm not taking up a standard bridal package, since I think the bulk of the package is made up of the photography package. I also won't be having a wedding car (not doing the usual chinese customary wedding of fetching bride etc), so don't need their decor. We won't be getting any help at all from parents to pay for the wedding, so really need to watch my budget.

Hi Kelsey,
Wow, a really sexy cheongsam.... I also want!!
But I'm quite short and the fleshy sort, I think a cheongsam won't look nice on me, so I think i'll stick to a regular dress.....

Take care all!

fluffy

Hi Cherry!

Sorry long time no reply.... me down wif flu bug. Hope I get well b4 photoshoot on Monday.

I signed up with Silver Cloak Couture. And yes..I will be having my photoshoot at Alkaff. Might as well take photos there as it is complimentary. I heard that if you are not holding your function there, Alkaff will charge $150.

Where will you be doing your outdoor shoot?

nofuss

its good to know that most of us are planning the weding the DIY way. I am having second thoughts abt the evening gown I ordered MTM style from my bridal boutique. It costs me $600, so now I am thinking of sourcing around for an off-the-rack dress at other boutiques because I think I may get something cheaper & I am also worried that the dress won't turn out according to my expectations.
What do you think of a slight over the knee dress versus a long one ?
As I am having a western style buffet, I don't want to look too formal wearing an evening style gown. I think I will check out Icon and some of the other boutiques ? Any where else to recommend ? I have looked at Daniel Yam, Celia Loe & Song & Kelly. But nothing caught my fancy yet. I am not the skinny type .. quite plump now & rather fleshy too as I put on 10 kgs since I met my hubby. Hope to hear from you all soon & your updates.

Nofuss.

nite gal

flowee...

yap.. i 'know' knowing...
Gotta tok to her from the thread for bukit batok flats.

btw, gals.. i've tried Bridal Veil gowns - love them and the service!! should be going to their show in october.. anyone interested in going as well??

sue

Hi Sept03Bride,
1. Most people will book one yr in advance if they want those more popular hotels. If yr wedding is Sept next yr, you can start hunting. I book mine 1 yr in advance & I've known of brides who booked 1.5 yrs in advance. Where do you intend to book?

2. Generally, the photoshoot is 3 mths before the wedding. However, I've been to JWN & they said that they will send the negatives to Taiwan for processing therefore will have to take pixs about six mths before actual wedding. This one can take yr time to shop for one that you like. I just confirmed mine last mth.

Hope this help.

kelsey

Hi Sunshinekid, I'm short also and have HUGE hips but I've worn a cheongsam for my ROM and got alot of compliments which gave me the confidence to wear a more daring one this time.

No Fuss .....my cheongsam is a short one. At first I was concerned that with a short dress, I might be outshined but it all depends on the cut of the dress and the colour. I wanted a short dress because I would be more likely to wear it again. No point paying lots of $$$ and just keep it in the closet.

Check out these shops...Avana at Shaw Center is supposed to have some nice gowns but I think they are on the expensive side. Also check out BCBG. My bridesmaid bought a gorgeous gown from Metro Paragon. The brand is called Monsoon. The gowns are on 50% off.

elaine

<FONT COLOR="brown">Hazel</FONT> - ok, next time then I bring out the vcd.

<FONT COLOR="red">Flowee</FONT> - Not really looking forward to the photo shoot yet...still early. Hehehe...now making more money is more important
but now got alot of pimples liao
last wk many late nights + stress.

How's your chicken pox? Should be drying up liao...remember dun peel hor...peeling will definately leave a hole, deep hole infact. Just let it drop when it's completely dry-up. Just remind yourself...next yr becoming a bride...must look pretty

shook

Hihi Michele
Hmm... your dad, father-in-law, hubby n yourself must b business man/woman huh.
Wow, dinner dragged till 11+. Guess your sis spent the entire night going round tables to take pictures
. Her leg must b aching like anything.

Hihi Smiley
Yeah, can't agree more. Lossing weight is not easy, er...I mean in my case too. Must have very strong determination. Now mid-autumn festival, look at those tempting mooncakes.... Ctrl ctrl ... I always tell myself. I can eat anything I want, anytime next time. Marriage is once in a life time, it is more important dat I control my diet now to look mei mei

Hihi Sept03bride
1. Banquet
U may like to go to the link
http://www.singaporebrides.com/banquets.htm
n shortlist the few hotels according to your budget n the capacity dat suits your requirement. Then go to wedding banquet forum to read the comments of the hotels u shortlisted. Visit the hotels n judge for yourself which one u n your bf like best.
Generally, hotels give better offer during bridal shows held in their hotel.
2. Photo taking
Do u mean selection of bridal boutique??

jan2003

Been busy so didn't log in.

Vin/Shook : Thanks for all the exercise tips. i guess at the end of the day, it all boils down to control! this word easy to say very difficult to practice especially when i have boxes of mooncakes at home waiting to be eaten and cleared off the table!

Smiley : no, i haven't settled my package yet. yes, have to step on it. pretty tight lately at work so everyday after work i just want to go home, eat and then sleep. How's things on your side? it slip my mind, when is your wedding day? diet is a tough job. all the good food cannot eat. i try to eat still. if i tell myself no and then the bubble burst, i know i will end up eating more. that's what happens the last time i diet. didn't last more than one week! end up eating alot of rubbish to make up. terrible experience, that's why i think i wil just try to walk up stairs. at least still got some exercise.

Michele : happy! my wedding date same as yours!

caroline

Hihi all,
i'm new to Sgbrides, have been introduced by my fren. Like u guys, my wedding bells will be in Sept 2003. Need some advise rgding wedding banquet, What are your opinions on Marina Mandarin? Is the food there yummy?

blurydoey

hi gals good morning!!!
I just came back from leave, yesterday office off...
hi yi,
I went to buy furniture last weekend. I also bought furnishings at Novena.
Hi Flowee,
Hows your cp? I was bored to death yesterday at hm n no pc, I chged my moving date to this sunday,the contractor didnt finish his works on time...

smiley

Me too. Seeing those boxes of mooncakes lying there. I just couldn't resist myself and it doesn't help with the whole world tempting me telling me to start after mooncake festival

Jan2003,

My date is on 22 June. Had already went down to Flamingo and Wedding Present, still prefered Jawn happy ever after. Will be going down to settle my package soon. So glad, at least something off my mind.

cherry

Lyne - looks like you are VERY organised! We have not even sit down and talk abt the guest lists! I have no tea dress but i'm using Kua as my tea dress. Shoes, have not buy yet, most probably have to make 'cos i can't wear heels.

Hi Jenny - welcome welcome....hee...glad to know another bride in Jan, your actual day is 2 days after mine....i can't believe that you'd actually taken your photos!! so early!!!!!!!!!!!! which bridal shop are you with and where's your dinner?? you must be very "xin nang" now rite?? only left the dinner and guo da li stuff...any photos to share with us??

Yi - you are so fortunate your hubby's helping you with the preps....my hubby always just say "anything" alamak....

Fluffy - hope you are feeling better now....drink more water these few days and aviod drinking too much water on sunday. I have no idea where will i take photos for outdoor, what abt you?? anyway i'm not taking studio so i'll have a few places that i can g

stranger

Hi all.

I am new here. I have been reading all your postings and sharing the joy, anger, bitterness, happiness shared by all of you.
I am going to be a bride-to-be too. Wish I share the same kind of joy you gals have. Sad to say, I regretted about choosing to get married. Cos of the frustration I go through.. money issues and different views and opinions with FH. so many problems and I got so sick of talking about wedding. My good buddies (and supposingly Ah-yi to be) are unattached and they dun seem to be able to understand the anticipations and worries I have. feel like giving up..
Glad that things are smooth for you gals and best wishes to you all for your preparations and blissful marriage. Do stay happy. :')

Y

yi

flowee,

guess my neighbours are busy with wedding preps too! hehehe
din c them when i went back last nite.

wld be staying at love nest most of the time since my 1st sis gave birth and staying at mum place. but me gog back to see my 2 beloved nephews tonite. so happy! mike says i siao! :p

yan yan &amp; blurydoey,

I bought my dining chairs and L-shaped sofa from melandas too. expensive but nice.

got my bedframe and dressing table from barang barang and miscellaneous stuff from ikea.

ding dong

Hi Sinsinekid,

Ok. Will keep each other in the loop for actual day photographer. And my budget also very tight. Like you, my parents are not expected to pay for teh wedding. Not even for the house. I can fully understand what you face. :) But take heart, wedding is still but a one day affair. AFter the fanfare, its the marriage thru the years that will matter.

So at which stage is your planning now? Is your wedding in Feb? Where do you intend to do your photoshooot?

Let me know if you need any contacts for flowers ,wedding favours (I got nice keychains for a cheap deal), makeup (Sandy's helping me.), wrist corsages from Chlorin, most probably.

Y

yi

hi cherry,

my hubby knows that i'm busy wif my studies mah! I have told him i wld only care abt wedding stuff after my exam, if not i stressed lah!

it is only after my papers then i think i can really relaxed to plan my BIG day.

luckily, by the fotoshoot time, my lessons have ended and only preparing for exams!

hi fluffy,

you must take good care and be mei mei for fotoshoot hor!

oy

Hi Ding Dong,

I'm lookg for wedding favours too but can't think of anything. Do u hv the contact for the wedding favours? Roughly how much did your key chain cost? U can e-mail to me on [email protected]

Many tks,
Koala

dew

Hi Piggy,

welcome to the thread =)

i've got a friend who uses Yvonne Creations.
I'm impressed with her works ... the MTM gowns looks unique and good on my friend (the bride).
that's all i can contribute as i've not yet look at bridal studios yet ...

i've also wanted Noble house initially ... but b'coz my boyfriend's cousin had his at the same venue, we somehow dun wan to have ours at the same place. love Noble House's high ceiling, making the place look big and grand.

dew

Hi 1027,

i've seen Graceful Image's creations and the show at Oriental then .. not too bad.
Unfortunately, i didn't get a chance to speak with the designer ...

However, i've spoken to a man which i think is the photographer or Ops person. Tell u , i can't stand his breath !!!!

In addition, they are quite rigid with their package. I asked if i can remove photography but retain all other items in the package and thus reducing the package price. He said cannot, can add this and add that to the package. They have to die die stick to the $2088 or $3088 kinda package.

blurydoey

yi, your neighbour also getting married ar, whoa so many good happenings around your floor,go buy 4d or toto sure very lucky one...

I dunno whether I want to put a dessing table in my room cause rather cramp I was thinking of getting a full length mirror instead....

wei

Hi flowee,

My colleague used "Vividshots" for her wedding and I liked the style and finish of the photos. The current price is S$800.00 for traditional package (8 rolls) and S$1,200.00 for photojournalist package (12 rolls). Any comments or other recommendations?

Hi Sam,

Great to know we are neighbours. If I am not wrong your flat is under S29 is it? How is the progress? I think you should start finalising the banquet venue and bridal boutique cos September is always a hot month for marriage. In fact my banquet manager told me that most of the weekends for Sept 2003 are booked already.

Hi caroline hing,

Welcome! Well I haven't been to Marina Mandarin but I think should be ok. Have you met up with the banquet manager for discussion?

Hi dew,

Haven't heard from you for quite some time now.

So far i know of 2 people who've signed up with Graceful Image, and the comments haven't been fabulous so far.

It's not BAD BAD BAD until buay tahan, but their service is nothing to shout about either.

So how? have u shortlisted any bridal boutiques?

flowee

nite gal

u interested in b.v ah???
hv u signed up with them???
i supposed u had checked them out oredi lor...
well i din hv a veri gd experience with colin then... ( he asked wat can he do 4 mi since i hvnt fixed my weddin date then... )
might give them a miss though i find their gowns elegant...

yan

no lah u aint naggy lah...
juz showin ur concern mah...

elaine

well i also think money nt enough especiali when it comes 2 weddin expenses...
since u koe u r prone 2 pimples poppin out due 2 late nites try 2 sleep earlier if possible...

c.p r dryin up oredi...
some i burst them coz of my carelessness...
sure leave a mark one...

blurydoey

which novena u visited???
my sofa is from white collection by novena...
they r located @ parkmall...

c.p r dryin up oredi...
some i burst them coz of my carelessness...
sure leave a mark one...

yi

wow u excited over ur new nephew...
next time u give birth 2 one lor...

hv a great lunch gers...