(2003) Brides of year 2003

priviledged

I've been on a diet since March!!! A very slow one and often prone to 'cheating'.

People have noticed I've lost weight, and my clothes have been getting looser. So I'm happy. It's been relatively painless.

oy

hi Nofuss,

Yes, I know what u mean by Nicole. She was a nitemare to deal with but we are actually hv our dinner banquet held at the Capers Restaurant & not in their ballrooms so we really wanted that since the atmosphere is so different & relaxed. We also had to fork out $1200+++ rental chg to use their restaurant. I think if it wasn't for that we would forget abt using the Regent since we were the ones always looking for Nicole & not the other way around!!! Anyway, I saw Conrad as well & was really nice too but unfort we couldn't meet their minimum no. of tables!

Koala

cherubies

Hi nite gal,
ya lor, july 03 very quiet... here more active..
at least u've got one stuff settled...
can't comment on dang and bv cos i've not been there...

mine design session is next mth with TWP...

flowee,
drink more water...
apply the camomile lotion as much as possible... that's what i did the time i had chicken pox (5 yrs ago)... got one 'pop' on my face on my cheek... just don't scratch and peel the "aftermath" ok?

rest more...

elaine,
how have u been? how was your fitting?
the length of ur train ok?

sam, welcome!
don't worry. u will find a boutique u like... and a grand venue...
as for your hair, yap, u've got one year to grow your hair.. cheer up, ok?

sam

Hi nitegal and sue,

it's really very competitive for the banquet venue. When I called up a few of the hotels that we shortlisted, 80% of them were booked or tentatively booked on the day that I wanted. i.e. Sun...so we are left with our subsequent choices...and it's also so hard to decide where becos' got to take into consideration the location..whether convenient or not...then the food..whether nice or not..then the ambience..whether grand and romantic or not...gosh...at one stage, we even thought of not throwing a banquet..but without it also feel like something is missing...

Hi Cherubies,
hope to settle on banquet soon. then i can move on to bridal boutique..is ur wedding next july then? guess one, becos' u mention u go into july thread

Y

yi

hi flowee,

hope you are feeling okay liao.
me busy for the past few days wif projects so no time to get into the forum.
like what the gers say, remember dun scratch hor! good gal.
me never had chic pox b4 coz my mum asked me to get vaccinated 2 years ago coz doc warned her that old get no good lor and in my house, only me haven't get so my mum sponsor lor! hehehe

btw, you say someone asking abt j&c package? where hah?

hi kk mei,

glad that you have got your wedding date liao!
cheers! guess you and me also busy with studies but you so lucky, last day tomolo liao and can rest till jan 03!

me have to slog till end oct then can enjoy my wedding preparations!

hi all gals,

good morning and hello!

Y

yi

hi j&c bride,

O, I got more pics because at tat time when I signed up, j&C is having a promotion wif merchant court i.e. those who signed up wif merchant court will get 5% discount from j&c and I actually convert the discount into more pics lor!
tatz y!

wat happened is that i'm lucky as j&c is tailoring a new teadress so i asked cynthia to let me try and c if i like it or not lor! if i dun like, i wld just take one otr lor! itz not actually tailor for me lah!

hi cherry,

thanks for your concern.
but i dun even have the time to sleep leh, me every nite do project until 2am and next day still got to work! Hiaz!!!!!

nvr mind, another less than 2 months, I wld be free!!!!!!

howz your preparation?

hi peng,

u must take care too hor!

o, you just went for a wedding dinner at merchant court? glad that i make the right choice. i fell in love wif the place at 1st sight!
so I'm glad that mike let me decide on the venue!

we were actually thinking of grand copthorne waterfront which was initially my fav but me fickle-minded, fell in love wif merchant court b4 seeing grand copthorne liao! hehehe

we are gog for another fitting next friday so itz another round of fashion show! hehehe

piggy

hello everyone!

Piggy here. v surprised to c this thread..tot i was v early to get prepared for wedding in Oct03 liao...but there are so many kakees here...hehe..

for me, FH and I getting ROM this coming Oct'03. got our keys for our new flat liao. Juz getting busy in the renovation. Our customary will be next Oct'03 lor. Cant get the same date as ROM le...my ROM is on a weekday. My mum specifically wants my customary to be on a weekend. so, bobian lor. Placed a booking fee with Noble house after checking good dates for marriage in the Tongshu, lunar 9th of Sep(Sat)....anyone with the same date???

havent do my detailed research on bridals yet?...any good recommendations, gals?...Budget within $3.5k lor...muz be everything in one..kekeke...not much money left after reno liao....kekekeke

flowee

yi

the j&c bride is in ur Jan 2003 threat...

sue

yah i remember u...
since most gers oredi 'branch out' 2 their respective threats, m surprised u still check the postin here from time 2 time...

nite gal

tks 4 ur concern...
feelin better oredi...

elaine

feelin better oredi...
onli felt bored @ home dun koe wat 2 do???

cherubies

'pai seh' becoz of mi the appt was cancelled...

sam

@ least u hv a weddin date...
mine is still hangin in the air...
onli koe it will b either sept 2003 or nov 2003...
mil she did proposed mar 2003 but then my guy is still takin his part time course...
so we din go 4 tat mth...
waitin 4 my in laws 2 get a date 4 us...

u mentioned abt bridal shop...
4 mtm gowns u can sign up 9mth b4 ur weddin...
as 4 otr 6mths will do...
hope the infor is useful...

vin

Hi May,

You got lotsa things from the philps carnival ler..

Hi Jan2003 and Sue,

Ya lor.. really kill me then. Very very very tired. I didn't try out all their gown, if I do so, I think at least need one or 2 days over there.

Ya, JWN didn't return all the negative, just return those you choose, but if you choose most of the photos. Your friend manage to took away 10 photos when they were not ard? They did not notice about that aft they go through the photos again??? SHould I try then?? Kekkekek

I haven't ask contractor to revonate our room, should check ard a few b4 decide. Seems like not much time for me..
banquet not confirm yet so that cannot get the wedding card as well.

By the way, me going to take my PS in nxt week..
any suggestion where to go? We haven't discuss with our photographer. Will do so in next week as well.

And my wedding, hectic, have yet decide what to make...

shook

Starts of the 8th moon, can start to buy stuff relating to wedding n new house liao.
Went to choose ROM dress yesterday

Good that most of u got your bridal package booked. I m going to book hotel banquet this Sat

May
Wow so envious that u got so many things from the Philips sale. Presume you got your house renovation done rite?
I haven't get any furnishing for my house yet
. My bf said dun get stressed. One thing at a time.

Jan
If u r looking for a bridal package below $4k inclusive of rental of bridal car, White Link has a package for that. U may think dat I m kinda pushing u to take up bridal package with White Link. Seriously dat is not my intention. It's juz dat I like their service n gowns very much, so like to share with u.

priviledged

Hi Sweets,
I wasn't really fat to begin with, but my family doctor (who's my cousin) found out that I was getting married so he gave me some advice...

Whatever you eat, enjoy it, but eat 20% LESS. Of course, stay away from soft drinks, sugar, cakes, pastries, fat. Avoid gravies and too much soups. No snacking in between.
If necessary, eat just one plain cracker or slice of fruit in between meals.
But the 20% less rule applies to everything else you eat. Basically, you're taking in less carbo and calories generally. Weight loss will come naturally.

I was appalled at first because I have a low metabolic rate and already eat quite little. Now I eat less than my 3 yr-old niece,
and my mother says I eat like a mouse. It's hard at lunch coz I've been trained to finish everything on my plate. So I try to ask the stallholders for less of everything. The stalls I frequent now know I'm on a diet too!
Initially, I did feel a little hungry, but after a month or so, if I ate more, I'd feel really bloated.

I 'cheat' about twice a week on average because sometimes I go out to eat or attend functions. My future MIL likes to give me lots and lots to eat, but now she's more used to my lessening amounts.

poki2412

Flowee

Itz me (tong xiang)...... Do take good care & rem to drink more water..... email me when u back in office hor.....

F

fiona koh

I haven't been here for some time...busy at work and with the new flat...pimples popping out too

I just confirmed my booking with Mandarin Hotel yesterday. Hope I didn't make the wrong choice!

jan2003

Shook: Nonsense, i don't think that way. it's always good to share around if we know there is good deals. defeats the kiasu and selfish singaporean's attitude. it makes us feel good when we share. white link and jawn will have to wait. i very busy now.

Vin: if you got way to get rid of tummy let me know. both fiance and me also got tummy. lucky, his bigger than mine!
hahaha!
as for renov, you might want to start soon. i heard contractors say alot of them are malaysians so they want to go back for holidays too. if you wedding in jan 03, got to start soon i guess. cut down on number of contractors to visit. as long as the workmanship is there, price ok, i think should be ok. i also doing the same. try IMM at jurong east. they got many shops!

Sue: Pan pac sure change fast. but i guess they only want to get those who have not booked banquet to go lor. sales is like that one. they got quota to meet. me in finance industry lor. peak here, peak there. every month is peak to bosses. they have so many requests!

SLK: what sue said got point too. dec like a bit too tight you think? photoshoot in march, meaning only got apr and half a month of may to get your album out for your wedding at month end? you might want to check with them again.

me me me !!! mine is 9th day of lunar 9th month!

huh? how u manage to get keys even before your ROM? I had to ROM first ... ROM on saturday, on monday immed collect keys already.

Anyway, welcome to this thread!

3.5?
my fren signed up with Graceful image during their show at the Oriental recently. $3.3k for 1 photograpjy, flowers, make up, 1 bridal gown, 1 evening gown and 1 suit. The suit is rental, but the pants can take home. For the bride, choice of 1 MTM gown (for keeps) and the other is Off the rack.

kk

yi jie,

but i guess these 2-3 mths very siong for me also. Need to do difficult term paper and case studies.. i compile the whole report for my team.. siong ah!!

i have managed to get another tuition assignment so now i am doing 2 tuition

Hope to find more!

poki2412

flowee

Aiyo! u forget me oredi har
?? We are in the same clan.... can recall?? same surname.......

kelsey

Hi Koala, you've got the same wedding day as me! I'm having about 120 people so I had a headache looking for a place too. Most of the hotels needed min tables and the restuarants we were looking at were all too small and very expensive! We fell in love with Fig Leaf but it was way above our budget. I was so relieved when we finally found a place we both liked and fitted the budget. How much did you have to pay for per person at Capers?

Hi No Fuss - did you get a wedding dress? I paid only $400 for mine but it's more of an evening gown which was where most of my savings come from. But of course, once you add up all the little extras....it starts to come up to a fair bit.

piggy

is it!!!!!.....wat have u planned liao?..booked for ur banquent liao?....

yep...actually we wana get ROM on our anniversay one(date we are "officially" an item), but cant drag that long le...got our keys in Jul...die die muz produce cert within three months to HDB to prove our status lor......so, the latest date would be in Oct.....

wow, quite good hor..MTM for keeps le....hmmm..think i can cut my budget on this liao...kekeke...hubby will be so happy to know that!.....told him abt my fren who spends almost $8k for her bridal package, plus additional photos....his eyes BIG BIG...show me that kind of face, telling me "DUN U EVER THINK OF IT!"

i am rather on the big size one lor..1.7m le...somemore, got additonal "meat" on me..dun think i can get anything off the rack le...kekeke....

Anyone using Fame Bridal (tampines) & Yvonne Creative?...Comments, ladies??...

read my earlier contribution on this thread.
basically i settled the important ones already, such as banquet, gowns and actual day photographer.

just finish reno, so i got a big load off my mind. phew ...

Y

yi

hi flowee,

yap, found the j&c bride liao and replied to her liao lor!

sian staying at home or not? how i wish i can stay at home and rest coz these few months not enuf rest, always rushing for assignments. Hiaz!

hi kk mei,

ok wat, you not wkg after tomolo liao leh so can concentrate on your term paper and case studies mah!
me still got to stay up till 2am everynite till nov. Hiaz!
aiya, y i always complaining hah! hehehe

guess wat, i told hubby i want to pursue my MBA after BBBA and my hubby says "SERIOUS AH?" hehehe
he see me so stressed with BBBA so cannot imagine with MBA!

vin

Hi Fiona,
you confirm your banquet with mandarin Singapore? May I know how much is the package?? Actually me decide Sheraton but MIL claim that Mandarin Singapore is more well known, maybe because her friend is working inside as a food & beverage manager, she highly recommend us to have our dinner there.

HI Jan2003,
For the tummy problem.. everybody have a small tummy (at least)... this is what bridal shop ppl told me laa... Well, for get rid of tummy.. I am not very sure ler.. for my case, if I take lesser dinner, the tummy will reduce a bit laa... but for my bf.. ahem... he is bigger and both us have a bad habit, that is eat a lot of food and both us enjoy eating.. that's why.

If you wearing ball gown ( can can type), your waist will look smaller).. kekke...
so maybe can consider it to hide your tummy yaa....

For my PS, I took one ball gown, one a-line cut and one normal ( a bit fairy). And for my evening gown, 3 are those fitting type. Let's test how good is my photographer to hide my tummy laa... hahah..

My friends try aerobic not, then some go to beauty centre to get rid the tummy.... or maybe you can try the cream by Clarin's

ah ling

hi "comrades"

i m another guilty one who was supposed to go on diet n start exercising regularly since mths ago?! hehe.. n worse thing is that i begin to develop a bigger than usual appetite a few weeks ago n can hardly go to bed without a full stomach! priviledged, tks for sharing yr secret recipe with us! i shall start immediately before any extra inches decides to become "permanent resident"! THANKS!

F

fiona koh

Hi vin

I only know the price for the weekend package. For 8 course dinner, it is $660+++ and 9 course dinner is $689+++. There is free flow of beer though! This is 1 of the main reason why I decided on Mandarin

Your wedding in Jan 03, still plenty of time....don't worry! Hey, I just remembered that my colleague told me that the food at Sheraton is good.

nofuss

Hi Koala,
wow.. u also feel the same abt Nicole, for a moment I felt bad abt being a wet blanket bcos I said that Nicole's attitude was bad. But no matter what, I think you made a good choice by having the wedding celebration at Capers Restaurant. But the rental is very very expensive, not forgetting that it is $1200 +++, could add up to quite a bit as GST next year is 5% already. I also had a problem with a few hotels bcos I have only abt 200 guests, so I cannot even meet the minimum number for a wedding dinner on Saturdays. After negotiating with Conrad, we decided to book the ballroom for a buffet lunch instead. Anyhow, I still think Regent is a classy grand hotel.

Hi Knowing,
the contact for Mabel Lee is 96193220. She has her own home page as well. It is at mabelleephotography.com you can check it out.

Hi Kelsey,
I paid $1000 for my wedding gown (rental) & $600 for my evening gown (to keep). As I am not exactly thin, I decided to go for both made-to-measure gowns so that I won't have to source around too much. Yeah I agree that once you add everything up, the final amount is quite substantial, thats also why I try to buy everything this year as I am subject to the 5% GST next year. Have you bought your shoes yet ? Tangs designer corner carries this shoe brand "Caparros" that has the most lovely designs, you may want to check it out. But different season got different designs so must pop by once in a while to see if got any new stocks.

Gals.... btw if you know of any good & cheap florist, can pass me the contact so that I can get a quote from them ? Thanks !!

Seems the few of you also not doing the conventional wedding thingy.... I got company now..... ;)

Take care yah & hope to hear from you all soon.
Nofuss

elaine

Flowee - You can ask your hubby to buy VCDs for you the watch, especially la bi xiao xin
part 8 just came out
hehehe... or have u watch liu xin hua yuan, if you've not watch them.

Cherubies - Me busy now, my fitting is ok, trail is veri long 40" & heavy. I think you better make yours organza coz it'll be lighter.

shook

Hihi Jan
Good to hear that u dun feel it dat way.

In my humble opinion, dun choose mermaid gown, it cups out the shape of the hip n tummy. I bet the professionals from any bridal boutique will help u to choose gowns dat hide your shortfall n brings out your strength. Not to worry.
Wow u work in Finance line, a very stressful job

Hihi Vin
According to my ex-colleague aerobic is a no no
. Though she said she loose weight from aerobic, however she blew up like a ballon after she stops. It is because she ate a lot after aerobic to make up for the energy lost. Her stomach got used to dat amount of food intake. So, it needs more effort to control her diet after dat.

Hihi Fiona
I attended a wedding dinner in Mandarin last year. The food was fairly good. Like the marching aisle. It is fairly long. Dun worry, be happy

oy

hi Kelsey,

For our Capers Restaurant a table of 10 costs abt $888 nett per table. We could only get a minimum of 20 tables otherwise it could be cheaper if we had more guests.

As for the other Valentine's Brides,

Hv u all got your gowns measured and stuff? My bridal shop said no need until the mth before the wedding..rather strange. But they said our weight usually fluctuates alot so that why they prefer to measure brides one mth before.

What colours are your evening gowns? Mine is deep red burgundy. Wasn't sure of what other colours to decide on....

Hi Nofuss, can't help out on the flowers part since mine is a package...hvn't discussed that even.

Koala

F

fiona koh

Hi Shook

I was told the food at Mandarin is usually not bad...but my ballroom has pillars
no choice coz limited number of tables...Hope everything else will "compensate" for the pillars!!!

Y

yi

hi flowee,

take this opportunity to have a great rest coz by the time you recover, probably itz time to clean up your new place liao.

btw, howz your reno gog along?

i koe how boring it is to stay at home yet cannot go out shopping. for me so busy that i have no time to go shopping too although tangs having sale. hiaz! me sian too!

hoping to meet up wif you gals soon leh.

hi kk mei,

so far shortlisted any banquet locations liao?

hi elaine,

i agree wif you. my wg is duchess satin and its real heavy although the train very short only. so whenever i have my fitting, i like my eg more coz its lighter. hehehe

kelsey

Hi No Fuss - I've heard that Far East Florist is very cheap as they do wholesale flowers. Not sure whether they will help you tie up the flowers or not. My friend recommended eflora. Their website is www.eflora.com.sg But for my case, I can pretty much forget about getting really cheap flowers. I went to a few and because it's the day after Valentine's, they said it will be very expensive especially for roses and calla lilies.

Koala - I bought my dress 1 size bigger as that was the last one left. Thinking of altering it in early Jan as my weight is like a yoyo now. As for evening gown, have not decided whether I'll change into one or not. If I do, I'll be wearing a short purple dress or a french lace dress which I bought from Australia ages ago but no occasion to wear it. Can't think of a better ocasion than my wedding!

slk

Hi Sue/Jan,

Ya lor, Dec sounds really late. But they assured me that i'm in time. I will prob check with them again.

Me super busy at work again

Hi Fiona,

The last I tried, the food at Mandarin is not bad
Don't worry, I'm sure this is a good choice

vin

HI Shook,

Me will not try aerobic, lazy!! A few of my friends try out this...hope they will slim down then...

HI Fiona,

The price is ok... how's the ceiling of the ballroom that you are taking? Pillar is ok laa.. as long as the deco and the food is nice. Coz is the only things that ppl remember (especially for those elderly).

Agree with Shook, never choose mermaid gown if you wish to look slimmer on your big day. Even you are slim, it will make you look fatter if you choose mermaid cut or A-line. Right now me still consider what to choose but very high possibility that I will choose ball gown.

HI All,
What favour you all gv to your guest?

priviledged

Hi Ah Ling,
Hope you'll be successful too.
Be patient with yourself, but persevere. Results will show after a month or two. Just slightly at first, but that will spur you on. Drink lots of water.

Try not to binge if you do 'cheat'. Be moderate. You have a few months.
If you want to lose weight faster, then just cut down more calories and exercise. But don't starve yourself. It's not worth it! It could cause health problems too.
Eat a balanced diet at every meal if possible.

All the best!!

lyne

I am back!

My 1st fitting for WG & EG is this Sunday.

Photoshoot is the following Sunday.

Fortunately, my house reno finiahed over the weekend. Managed to get all my orders delivered at the same time too.

Now that the house is done up, can concentrate on the wedding preps

Yeah!

cherry

Hi Lyne,

Wow you're taking your photoshoot so early huh?? I thght Yi will be the earliest. Have you done your trial make up already?

Yi - My 2nd fitting on will be next friday. I will see my lining of EG then but i'm still not very sure abt my EG. Very worried abt how it will turn out to be.

Gals, My hubby will be collecting his suit next saturday, is it too early? since my photoshoot will only be in Nov. Wow next month will be a busy month for me already!

oy

Hi Kelsey, you do have a good point abt being Valentine's Day....the flowers will cost a bomb...unless maybe u go early morning & pick any leftovers after Valentine's Day...possibly sale?? Wishful thinkg

flowee

gd mornin gers

elaine

u n ur xiao xin again???
the part 1 also hvnt completed u r tokin abt part 2 oredi... :p

liu xin hua yuan i caught it in vcd b4 shown in tv... :p

u mentioned ur train is 40"...
r u usin ur own WG n EG 4 outdr shots???

yi

yesterdaz called my id...

this sat they will acid wash the whole place...
next wed the kitchen cabinets will b up...
the capentry will b up by end this mth...
veri soon will b able 2 c my love nest...

gonna ask max 2 head dn 2 sim siang choon 2 make the payments soon...
n also 4 my air cond...
both we onli paid deposit...