(2003) Brides of year 2003

j&cbride

hi yi,
sorry for intruding...i happened to be a j&c bride, same as u...but i noticed u mentioend previously abt having 25 15R for your package...mine is oso $3888 but only given 18 15R
...how did u manage to negotiate for so many?? wonder if i can ask cynthia for more....

n can i know wat u meant by brand new tea dress?
sorry, can't help comparing ur package to mine...u seemed to have gotten better deal...

ah ling

hi kiroro,

i m surprised that u chose 6 june not becos of geomancer's advise .. is that a meaningful date for you? *wink* ;) for my case, we wanted another date in sep initially then at the same time my sis also "declared" she is getting married ard the same time. in the end, my parents brought all our ba-zhis to let the geomancer advise.

but still we quite like 6/6 since easy for my FH to remember our anniversaries, u know guys they are most forgetful.. actually in mandarin you can call it "liu liu da shun".. translated means "six six very auspicious" so it must be a good day lah!! tho' weekend is a bit troublesome for the guests n i m afraid the dinner will start late.

dun envious us on the early preps, late also got its advantages. this mth got a lot of bridal magazines, all the bridals coming up with their latest new fall collection! quite fascinating designs.. very glam, u can take a look.

smiley

MIA for a while.

Glad that the day is going to be over and weekend is approaching. So tired today.

May,

Happy to hear that you had a good experience at Jawn yesterday. Have to agree they make me feel like a princess too when I try on their gowns ( A big one thou

I have to agree too. Actually we don't have much time. Jan buck up and start moving.

I have already bought the latest copy of Female Bride. Quite interesting. Tan Yoong gowns are really so different and you can see the ad for Bridal Veil and the details of the show.

Another point to note: I heard a lot of bad comments of Dayspring. My friend was one of their victim one year ago so whatever it is please make sure that they document everything in B&W. Even their photographer say that they didn't tie up with them, indeed very fishy...

Does ever after take actual day or studio photography. What is their package like.

All of you have a nice weekend.

slk

Hi Sue,

No I don't work on Saturdays.... Thank God!

Hi May,

Glad you've finally settled with Jawn. I understand the feeling when things are finalised...

btw gals, I will be going for the philips sale too

Have a great weekend gals!

jan2003

yes, finally weekend is here. even though i have to work tomorow! yes, will buck up.

Smiley: so u and May the same? Jawn?

SLK/May: enjoy yourselves at the sale. last time i went. i bought a 29 inch tv. shocked my dad. just see and buy on the spot. very crowded though. but quality ok. the tv lasted us many years! lucky for me or my dad would have even me a good talk!
i will check out the female magazine before buying.

ok, all have a good weekend!

sue

Hi May & SLK, ever since I'm on this 5-day job, never tot of working on Sat again. It gives me lots of time to run my errands.

Hi Jan, one of my friend who works on Sat only goes in to the office to read newspaper, drink coffee and chit chat. Basically, she said most of them have no mood to work.

To lose weight, u can start exercising moderately and eat more vegetables & fruits. That's how I managed to shed the extra kilos. U'll be motivated by yr wedding to stay trim. Most of my friends lost weight before their wedding so I believe you can also do it.

Just browse thru Her World Bride & Female bride @ bookshop. I feel that Female bride has more infor & Her World is full of adverts. There's quite a lot of nice evening gowns & tea dresses featured in Female bride as well. Dun intend to buy, just borrow from my friend.

blaa

Hi May,

I also find it quite wierd since Albert (Everafter) personally told me he didn't tie up with Dayspring. Hubby and me will be meeting him next Tuesday, I'll check with him then come back to you all for latest updates.

Smiley: Everafter does both actual day and studio photography. His digital "studio photography" are quite interesting.. the outdoor beach pictures that we saw at the gown sale last weekend are actually considered "studio" shots.. something different. You can check out his website... (aey any knows why I cannot type Everafter's website on here?)

Yup.. me also just bought Female Brides.. very nice. got lots of things to read.. they are doing a wedding show at Raffles the Plaza, me quite keen to go see see.. anyone interested too?

~ Blaa

cherry

vin - i think you shld book your venue fast, it's only like 4 mths away?? As for your WG, don't worry, me too!! have only gone for 1st fit....nothing much done on that part yet, guess it's still early. I only have WG and EG for photoshoot so nothing to choose.

Yi - glad you like your make up! don't be too stress up by your projects, you've got to be mei mei for your photoshoot next month, so better rest and relax more if time permits, else sleep in more if possible.

taddess

Hello

Nice to meet all of you...I am lso getting married in June. Am so shocked that many of you have already gone for your first fitting...for me my bridal studio says don't need so early, sometime in December can already??!!! SO will it be too late...

priviledged

Hi taddess, when's your wedding? Can add to the list so far...

6 June - Kiroro(Conrad), Ah Ling (PanPac)
7 June - Beibei (Marina Mandarin)
14 June - Astrud
15 June - Pooh (Holiday Inn Park View)
22 June - Cutie (Oriental), Wabbit
28 June - Priviledged(Regent), Sweets(Conrad)

Don't worry. I'm not even designing the gown til early November. Right now I'm just waiting around and trying to settle any little nitty grittys like catering for the church wedding, guest lists etc. Who's your gown package with?

sweets

hi priviledged

thanks for updating the list
hehee....
wah...with taddess (HI!!!), we have 10 of us liao!!! wooo hoooo!!!
Dec is not too late taddess....dun fret...

wabbit

thanks for d warm welcome, cutie & kiroro! my wedding venue is imperium and bridal package with j&m.
will be collecting keys to my new place these 2 weeks. expected to be bz with reno & furnishing thereafter. also looking forward to my trial makeup on my ROM day next month, so i'm trying hard to lose weight now!

nofuss

Hi everyone.

just wondering why there are no March 2003 brides around ? My wedding is in March 2003. This thread is the closest I can find, so I would like to join for some discussion & sharing of opinions.

My wedding is on 29th March & I already booked the hotel & bridal package. Nothing much to do now until end of 2002.

Cheers...

Nofuss

sunshinekid

Hi all! Nice to meet fellow Feb 2003 brides.....

Hi to you Nofuss! Unlike you, I haven't booked ANYTHING. I'm beginning to panic a bit. My big day's on 1 Feb (solemnisation + dinner), and I haven't booked my venue! I'm not too worried though, because 1 Feb is the first day of Chinese New Year, and I think hardly anyone gets married, or even hold functions on that day. But I'm a bit worried about all the other stuff that I haven't booked. I don't think I will book a bridal package, thinking of getting a seamstress to tailor-make my gown. I also need to find a makeup and hair person.... sigh....

So, how is everyone coming along in their preparations? Let's share! Hope to hear from you soon.......

taddess

My date is 10 June cause the geomancer says so...my bridal package is with bridal zone...don't know good or not but the salesperson was very friendly so we decided to trust them...now i can only cross my fingers and hope for the best...I don't have to do anything now and I got kind of worried when everybody's so busy and I am not???

nofuss

Hi Sunshinekid & the rest of the gals..

Since your wedding day is on the 1st day of CNY, I think you really shouldn't worry abt the availability of the venue.. however you may want to do some calling around now as you are only 6 months away from the wedding day.

As for the other stuff... perhaps you can start looking around as some make-up artists, florists, photographers etc may take a break during CNY.

I have also not settled for my flowers etc as I did not sign up with any bridal shops for a package. Mine is a la carte style so we also had to do some sourcing around.

Cheers .....

Nofuss

kelsey

Glad to see this thread livening up. Me and Melissa will be glad for some company.

Sunshinekid....I also haven't booked yet but have at least narrowed down to a place. I also did everything ala carte style so it's abit more work. I haven't booked my photographer and makeup artist yet!Hehehe...also panicking. It's hard to try to get everything organised when my job takes up alot of my time. I think you better get to a tailor ASAP. I went down to a tailor today to ask about making a cheongsam and she's already got 50 orders!!!! The earliest she can attend to me is November. I think alot of people normally tailor their clothes around this time because by Nov and Dec, the tailors will be very busy because of the holiday season and CNY. Plus prices will go up. Have you thought of just buying a dress off the rack? I bought mine from BCBG.

NoFuss - which photographer and makeup artist are you going to use? I'm still trying to settle for one. Choon Huat from Fast Soup seems to come very highly recommended by quite a few brides here.

lim

i am new here . my hubby and i are think of getting marry next year. i need some help. till now i am very confuse

elaine

Hi Flowee,

u better take care & dun scratch or burst them as u'll have a deep scar after tat.

take this time to rest
2 weeks

Cherubies & Ling - have u gals had chicken pox before?

flowee

popples

orh i will try nt 2 scratch lor...

u gers also drink lotsa water hor...
take care ok...

mi will rot @ home 4 the next 2wks...

elaine

Hi Flowee,

I guess I was late
,came back about 11.15 but I think you left liao. sorrie...

You also better drink more water. If veri itchy, force yourself to sleep, then u'll forget the itch. You got fever? Which part of you got more spots?

Remember the more u scratch, the more itchy it goes & the more scars you get. 'ren'

Dun eat chicken & black sauce. Take care of your health. Rest more, watch more TV & surf more net, try to keep yourself occupied so tat you forget the pain & itch.

Take Care!

peng

Yi,

I'm fine...thank you!
Quite busy with my work..now having a lot of training cos our company going to use a new system this coming beginning Oct. Training + work make me crazy!

Glad you like ur makeup. Remember to rest more, sleep more, don't be so stress & drink more water. But don't drink too much water especially after 8pm on the night before ur shooting. Heard many people saying our face will become swollen the next day if we drink too much water last night.

Glad that Mike look smart on his suite.
Last night just when merchant court to have dinner with my husband. The place look grand!
I think u make the right choice!

slk

Good morning gals!

Jan/May: May, did you get anything from the Phipls sale? Soooo crowded ya? Jan, I got a kettle, iron, vacuum cleaner and 2 Xenia DECT phones. Wanted to look at the TV but it was so hot and crowded, we decided to give it a miss.

Sue: Got a call from Mian on Friday. I arranged my first appt with her on Dec 3. She said our PS should be march. According to her, as Kim and Chris uses digital camera, we will be able to see the pics the very next day after the PS. So we have more than enough time.

flowee

elaine

sorie i left the chatrm though i promised 2 wait 4 u...

last nite after wakin up a couple of times...
i finali enjoyed few mths of gd rest...

tryin veri hard nt 2 scratch...
tks 4 ur 'jia you'...

u gers muz drink more water n take care hor...

knowing

Me jus went for my selection of gown yesterday

I booked my banquet in a restaurant, nw lookin
for actual day photographer, any lobang?
nt so x one huh, cos broke after renov liao
thxs

oy

I'm Feb 2003 bride too. My wedding date will be 15 Feb 2003, Sat.

I've booked Inspirations at the Delphi Orchard...my package was abt $2300 including w/gown & e/gown, bouquets etc, makeup, hair

Photographer - abt $1500

Dinner venue - Regent Hotel.

Hope your plans are coming along well. I can't wait to get this over and done with! So sick of planning & waiting...getting tired already!

See ya later,
Koala

mei

OH dear Flowee! did u get any medication from doc? Better take the med at least will not have so much!!

I had chicken pox b4 and it was a terrible experience for me.. I had so much blisters everywhr!!! It took me 3 weeks to recover. My mum made those liang cha for me saying it's good for me so that all the toxins will come out! I really regretted drinking cos REALI A LOT came out!Sigh... now got craters on my face as a result... veri difficult not to burst them cos wen u r sleeping, u'll toss n turn...

DUN look at the mirror. It'll make u feel worse if u have a lot. My brother said I look like elephant man the othee time. Guess how frightenin I looked?

Take care hor n remember to stay away from chicken n seafood.

vin

HI Gal,

Me went down to bridal shop tried my PS gowns, so tiring, stayed there for 5 hrs to choose the gown...

Think PS day will kill me then.

Sue / Jan : got a few items from Philps sales? Is that a very best buy?

flowee

mei jie

yesterdaz when i was smsin u regardin abt ur id oredi seen the doc 2 get medication...

i asked 4 5 dazs tablets 2 minimum the chicken poxs on myself...
though my guy nt happi, its my face n body i went ahead with it lor...

still able 2 take the ugly looks when i face the mirror...
anyway nt pretti so no prob with tat lor... :p

tks 4 ur concern will take gd care of myself...

may

Smiley: you also signed up with Jawn? Yep, i also try the big princess gown that made my waist look so small...ha..ha...

Vin: I bought a kettle, coffee maker, shaver, hair dryer, cd player with radio, a food processor at the philips carnival. Nearly bought the 32 " flat screen TV that cost S$1999 but abandon the idea eventually. I think it was really worth it. Went with my sis and she bought a wet and shampoo vacuum cleaner, grill oven, cordless phone, dvd player, remote stand fan and kettle.

We actually went there on Sat AM and Sunday PM. My car was so overloaded. But very happy at the end of the day...we defintely save money...i have already checked out the retail prices...almost each item you can expect a saving of at least S$10-20, some even more.

Did anyone go for the Casa warehouse sale near Singapore Discovery Center. I went after Philips sale but did not buy anything. Thou was very tempted to get the 53" 100 HZ LG projection TV for S$ 2899 and LG Platinum Fridge. Unfortunately they have no 0% instalment plan and not sure if LG brand good or not.

dew

Hi fourSeasons & Hi Linsaw

First you will need a specific date !

Then decide whether you are going for the ambience or food or both (like me ... greedy greedy *hee*) that may help you decide to start looking for hotels or restaurants.

Four Season looks good, and heard that the services & everything abt it is good. If yr budget allows, 4Season is not a bad place =)

Of course, if both u and yr partner are free, drop by at some of yr preferred venue to take a look. What i've encountered when i visit them on weekends is that the banquet sales staff are usually off duty already. So i'll pick up brochures and if possible, have a peep at the proposed venue. I think the latter is impt as they may/ may not look the same from their brochures/ over at the Internet.

If u sort of like it, u can negotiate to book the date tentaively. However, the hotel/restuarant usually want u to make a deposit. U may then negotiate with them to ask for more time ... coz once u pay the deposit, u'll not be able to get them back if u change yr mind. Usually abt 1 - 2K + GST

ling

flowee

it must be feeling horrible. Having chicken pox means cannot eat al ot of things.

that time on sqare biscuits , milo and porridge for 4 whole mths.

the rest of the things all cannot eat.

Think you should follow as well and do not scratch ....

Then you will not be coming for friday class already???
take care.

yan

hi to all of you 2003 brides,
i am linsaw here, my hubby and i are planning to get marry in end of next year. yestersday i went to paris , i see not bad, any suggestion or advice?

flowee

linsaw

nice 2 hear from u here...

as 4 paris u can read under the paris threat...
there r many unhappiness happenin among some of the paris brides...

i hv frenz who sign up with paris but in the decided 2 forfeit their deposit...

sam

I am also a 2003 bride...in fact in Sept.

Haven't settled on my banquet venue, bridal boutique. In fact, nothing confirmed except the date...haiiii...it's such a headache.

And guess what, I just had a haircut over the weekend...and now my whole office is freaked out with my new hairdo...cos' it's terribly short and my fringe is even sniped off...
so sad...

just need to come in here and vent off...lucky I still have 1 yr to grow my hair back...else I will really freak out...

ah ling

hi taddess,

dun worry, u r not the only one.. i feel quite free also.. after booking the hotel n bridal, like nothing to do until first trial probably dec/jan. esp so since my house wont be ready until end 2004.. just enjoy n pamper yrself from now till the day.

taddess

Hi Ah Ling,

Thanks...so now got to concentrate on looking pretty...:p Hope its not too difficult a task to achieve...Anybody here needs to go on a diet???

jan2003

SLK/May/Vin: i didn't go to the sale. no place to put if we buy so have not started buying stuff yet. maybe in december. all of you seems to have made good purchases. good for you.

vin: 5hrs? that's long. you must be dead tired.

May: haven't sign up yet. super busy. no time to go to jawn.

SLK: good buy you had. too bad for the tv. nevermind i heard that thomson may have sale near end december. any updated news on GH?

ok all, i have to go home. tired. already 11pm, going home to grab a bite and then sleep. super tired.

nofuss

Hi Kelsey,
nice to know tat you are also doing it a la carte style.... bcos when I add up all the costs, I realise that I am paying a lot more for a la carte than the usual package, but again now is too late for regrets...
I am not having any studio shots at all, as we felt it was not necessary. So we got the actual day photographer & videographer instead. My photographer is Mabel Lee & the videgrapher is an associate of hers. Saw her works & I liked the vibrant colours, besides she was also recommended by a friend.
Like yourself, I haven't booked my makeup, flowers and printer. But will be looking out for them nearing the end of the year.

Hi knowing,
you may want to contact my photographer - Mabel Lee for the actual day photos. I find her charges reasonble.

Hi Sunshinekid,
I agree with Kelsey, better start looking around sooner than later.... with the festive seasons coming up, there will be a mad rush for the tailor to complete all the orders

Hi Koala,
welcome... ! I am also very new to this thread. I know how you feel abt the planning etc, it is very draining.... esp when we are working fulltime. Btw, I also considered booking Regent but the Director of Sales - Nicole was terrible, she didn't return our numerous calls nor reply to our emails, so we were quite pissed with her attitude. Instead we booked at Conrad. But I am sure you had a better experience with Regent than we did.

Cheers !!
Nofuss

beibei

hi taddess!

Glad to know another Bridal zone bride!!
me already had MTM my WG and EG in late aug
and gowns shd be ready by early nov and
will take my photoshoots by mid nov!

quite kiasu ah?though my wedding is 7th June
next year..

true enough...now only wait...wait...wait..

nite gal

hello gals!

It's been a while since I came online.

Cherubies, seems like this thread is more happening than our July thread! Will come to this thread to tok tok next time. Me still haven't decided on the bridal package yet. Only thing confirmed is the banquet at Swisshotel Merchant Court. Need to buck up to confirm my package liao (still deciding between Dang and BV). Sam: I can share your headache in this respect!

Elaine! Remember me? Think I asked about your July ROM a couple of month back... Sorry that I went MIA after that. Didn't spend too much time on the net subsequently. My ROM went ok lah - simple affair and the pics turned out alright. Kelly did a good job for me that day

Flowee: Sorry to hear that u're down with pox. Do take care and hao hao bao yang..

Big HI to the rest of the 2003 brides too!

sue

Hi SLK, Dec 3! sounds very far away becos Colin said tt our 1st appt shld be Oct. I read frm Chris Ling website tt photos can be viewed the nxt day becos he's using digital cam. But it takes abt two mths to get the wedding album ready. I only hope the album will b ready for my wedding.

Guess what! I got a call from Pan Pac inviting me to the BV show. Said that they called me becos I've placed a tentative booking with them. Anyway, I've cancelled my booking with them long time ago when I confirmed with Conrad. When I told them I've cancelled my booking with them, they said that they will not send me the invitation card. 180 degrees change in attitude! By the way, I've not receive the invitation card from BV.

Hey Vin, U must be dog tired after trying all the gowns. Previously when I was hunting for bridal package, I got tired just trying one to two piece/shop. U r with JWN right? They don't return all photos and negatives so one of my friends managed to 'take away' about 10 photos during the selection when JWN's staff were busy serving other customers. I din go to the Philips carnival, May went & she got a gd deal out from it looking @ the things she bought.
Right May?

Jan, you worked until so late. Take good care & rest well before yr wedding. Dun mind me asking, what r u working as? So busy! I used to work late almost daily until I fell sick for few days in June. From then on, I told myself that I'll leave the office on the dock. Now, I'm feeling better though still stress at times when there's unfinished work.

sue

Hi Flowee, remember me? I've been active in the May03 thread but do read the postings here as well. Read that u got chicken pox. Just wanna tell you to take care & hope you'll recover soon. I've got it before & know how uneasy the feeling is. But, better have it now than next yr.

Hey Sam, u r not the only one. My friend who is getting married next Sept has not confirmed anything except her wedding date. She is busy sourcing for banquet & bridal package now. Luckily, her wedding is on a weekday so less competition.

Hi Nite gal, I'm not sure how Dang's package is like but I have booked mine with BV. I find their package very comprehensive compared to other boutiques.

elaine

Nite gal - Ya, I remember u. Are u the one who had the same rom date with me? I remember there's 1 but forgot who liao.

Flowee - It's ok, I know u need to rest more. Dun worry about tat. Anyway u must look after yourself well. Chicken pox cannot eat alot of things but just treat it as a 2 weeks healthy & diet programme, try to think postive. Then u dun feel bad. Is your hubby look after u too?