(2003) Brides of year 2003

jbride

haven't been posting for quite sometime...

piper, that's a nice wrist corsage! must 'tuo shi'...count me in if u guys r going to arab street or asking piper to conduct a class to teach us
30025.gif

anyone know's how to make ring pillow or where to buy nice ones?

teatree, i'm utopia too...my ps is on 1st sept...will be meeting travis on a week b4 my PS for discussion...i'll keep u update
30026.gif

micky4550

Hi Piper

Your wrist corsage is so nice...
Must also count me if you are teaching.

stressed

Hiyah Jady,

For me desperate case already dun care whether 7th month or no month, things just have to start. Bor pian! Just do it quietly. Try not to tell the elders lor. U see they only complain but really, do they actually help? NO. We have to do the planning and executioning. We have to rush like mad!

Wanted to tell u, I don't fancy Westin coz no xing xian gan. Maybe we should roll down the hill from Bt Timah Nature Reserve. Like that journalists will come! We will be famous!

Thanx 1027 for reminding us that we have 7 weeks left *fainted*

dk

Meow / Shirlynn,
Avillion is a good choice! The room is superb & very big. Do check wif the front desk if the room they're giving U will unable you to see sun set & sun raise. It's a nice place to pamper yourself.
Oh !If dun drive & would rather to stay within the hotel to dine in the ...pls be prepare to pay hotel rates like U would in S'pore. But not to worry though cos the dinner buffet is pretty value for money & looks good.

Do let me know if U guys need any info....Hope i'm not being KPO.

besse

Wedsoon..

ya, we using whitespace.. will let u know outcome.. if you keen, can also visit.. but we doing mainly carpentry.. they are quite nice so far

Yve,

I have a bunch of gold thread and silver thread.. u want? can pass 2 you.. ermm but we muz buy red ribbons..

Meow..

Hmm.. Elfa right? tot is quite ok? maybe just the batch of tiles they use suay suay kena your hse.. hmm.. *patpat

bibip

helo 1027, yup! my wedding falls on the same day as yours.. hehe... can't wait for it to be over.. hmm, maybe when it's over, you will feel so lost, cos nothing to get bz with liao..

and matka, for me, i will be wearing the traditional kua, cos i could not find anything nice fm my bridal loh.. and i dun think i can get another chance to wear the kua... unlike normal gown and cheong sum... anytime can wear mah... your bridal not providing any tea dress for you?

teatree

hi cutiechar,

ps in orchard road is a great idea! think there aren't many couples taking pictures in orchard.

hi jbride,

oo you must be excited now cos your ps date is v near. how are your gowns? are they ready?

piper

me not conducting class lah...coz me only know how to make 1 pattern. If i teach that pattern then all the Dec brides' jie meis will be wearing the same corsages....kekeke...

heya bibip, my package does not include the tea dress. I had the option of wearing the kua but i think it's too drama for me. heh. It's not very me. Anyways, I've taken a couple of shots in the kua so i think i can dispense with that on the actul day
Hard thinking abt what else to wear tho!

shirlynn77

Sorry for so sotong.. if I would like to book Port Dickson... where should I go about to book it. There is no contact number on the website which I can call to ask... Pls help....

bibip

hi matka.. hmm.. maybe buy a nice dress? actually i saw one on mags loh.. the model is wearing a knee length flowy dress with big flower designs.. very nice.. but in the end, i opt for kua loh..

are

DK... u mistaken lah, its me and shirlynn who r going to avillion, meow been there liao. shirlynn still considering, me definitely going! ;P wld love more info frm u!

meow... did u drive anywhere else? hubby thinking of renting a car & driving up to KL 4 shopping but with the recent robberies, we quite scared to drive a s'pore plate in lor.

pris... welcome back!!! hows boy-boy doing??? so when are u due?

cookiecorgi

why you gals dont like kua.. i think quite fun leh... you will NEVER EVER get to wear it in your life anymore.. hahaha... for me... kua included in the package so jus wear lor.. hee

cookiecorgi

From bibip"7) for red wine, i have bought mine fm a wine shop in toa payoh. my hubby looked at the prices and told me very reasonable. and we ordered 5 crates liao. if you have not got any supplier, i can give my contacts to you.. but need to be fast, cos if the wine need to freight in, you need to get one month in advance, but if delay, then uh oh... "

Can I have the contact for the wine shop in Toa Payoh? How much are you paying for a bottle? Can gimme more details regarding the wine you bgt? I am also looking at wines now... Thanks!!

bibip

hi cookie, the shop is called EuroLink Wine and spirits. the address is blk 85A Toa Payoh Lor 6. Sorry, dun have the no. offhand.. you might have to check directory liao..

i'm getting california carlo rossi at $16 per bottle.. getting 5 crates of 12 btls each..

btw, they are on consignment..

leo29

Augus,

Have you collect your cards? Are you going to let them print for you? Actually i wan the gal to fax me their printing charges but she said they have different price for different cards. So troublesome..., have to go down 2 look at the design, decide, ask them for a quote but can't let them print becos still need to check out others printer charge. Are you aware that we can only collect the cards 3 days later after we confirmed the design if we never let them print.

cookiecorgi

Thanks Bibip... Can help me get the phone number for Eurolink?

They are all on consignment, so we can return all unopened bottles? Good leh.. They dont req us to commit any min bottles? I will prob need about 5crates too!!

bibip

hi bonnie.. yup, you can return the wine to them, if it's still unopened. but the down side is, you have to pay everything by cash if you intend to return loh... they will refund you cash too..

helo cookie, the no. is 6255 7271. i dun think there's any min bottles rule leh... and the wine comes in the standard wine bottle.. not the kind on the website, i think that is more for cooking..

meowie

Besse,
Yeah its elfa alright. Damn angry ah, he told me if i want to have 45-50% off from the contract, he so call threaten say he'll give me 50% but will terminate the contract and ask me to find someone else to do my house. I feel tat they are so irresponsible. I regreting introducing friends to the, and i make sure i won't!

Are,
Yeah, we drive there. Went to explore on the town nearby. We eat there too and there's 'The Store' there too. Really must ask around and you'll be able to find it. If travel back towards to the express way, turn left which is a wide turn then you'll reach the town. Never try driving to KL, i'm sure to get lost. Their roads are so messy.

Shirlynn,
You can do a search on Avillion Resort from search engine, and you'll be able to find the package they offer. Make a comparison before booking lor.

annmelody

HI gals,

WOW..a lot of you talking about kids already...how's the animals goes like...i only intend of having one maybe in another 3 to 4 years time...

The resort pic shown looks great but must drive to KL....no other means of transport?

For the printers, me also lloking for one...you gals happen to know the rates for these as well?

yve

Ann, gng to call my printer tomorrow to check. It is recommended by the banquet pple. Jasvy at Kallang Bahru. I was given 60% of tables means 168 only. Have just counted and I need about 200 invites. So may have to buy more from them at $1 per piece. Will let u know their rates after I have checked with them..

Was at plaza sing spotlight in the afternoon. Very crowded. Got more materials for corsages and also a glue gun. So ready to make the extra corsages any time now. Have nearly finished the ang pow box. Wrapped up the bottom half. Only need to add flowers to decorate it.

Been doing some running around looking for tasmania tour packages.. Seems like will have to do free and easy lah.. Not many packages to there. Chan Bro has a pretty good offer at $1350 for 5 nights with 4 days car.. should I wait till their fair on 24 Aug? Or for NATAS fair? ???

besse

Yve

No prob.. i bought the gold and silver threads sometime ago. meant for some craft, but never use.. since you need it.. can pass to you.. afterall, my hotel provided the ribbons we need.

YOu need information abt Tas? We did F&E there 2 years ago.. if you wan, can help u with the planning.. don worry, Tas is a v tourist frenly and easy to drive place
just look out for blue i sign and go get help ..
I had some of the most memorable times in Tas although oni there for 5 days.

Anyone interested in going down to People's Park Ctr to look for craft stuff.. eg, red ribbons gold threads etc... much cheaper there than spotlight...

How abt we go down this week for people who's keen?? I need to get my red ribbons for the trousseau stuff..

dk

Are & Shirlynn & Meow,
Sori for being so Blur!Hee!!Sontong Me!
Driving up to KL from Port Dickson is pretty near.
On our 2nd trip to Avilion, my hubby drove up to KL for a late morning shopping had lunch there & came back to Port Dickson in the evening.
Safe or not sometimes is a gamble lor...but if you're not to "flashy".. wear simple & try not to drive expensive cars, keep low profile...then U might not be the target.

If U like some seafood, it's pretty cheap there at PD. But do beware ask the prices before ordering if there's no prices on the menu at the seafood restuarant. These ppl know U're not local form the way U speak or dress...or from the car plate license "S'pore car". Be sure to know much "$$" U're ordering if not they'll "Kan Cai Toh".

Hey, if U dun mind street hawker food....Me & Hubby will never miss Ramlee Burger! If U like juicy burgers....they're better than BK Wooper...or our Pasar Malam burgers...most importantly only RM2.20. (But most Ramlee Burgers stall starts for business in the evening...4 to 5 pm.
Where to get supper! There's a night market not far for the hotel. Jus bring enough money to buy some snacks... not much shopping to get at their Palsar Malam. U can perhaps get some good Teh Tahlei there....
I'm getting to long winded drop me an emial if U want some more info [email protected]

dk

Anyone know whether i can get Poeny flower in August!
The florist tells me nowadays its pretty hard to tell the blomming season of flowers...

dk

Gone for my 2nd fitting & my Hubby 1st fitting on the friday, 2days ago.
Today when to Kingsmen make another shirt for my hubby.
Our last fitting B4 PS on 29/8 will be on 21th.
Oh! I need suguession on type of flowers & colour for my bouqet for my PS...Pls help!

Now we're also looking for :
Actual Day photographer...
My actual day on Weekday i hope not too late to find one rigtht? Any recommendations?

meowie

DK,
You wanna try Nick?
I think i'll get Freesia with ah forgot what name liao.

Besse,
You mean golden dragon store at people's park right? What you wanna get from there? If you wan to get the gold ribbon jus to tie the cards hor, get from bras basah. 1packet think at least 10m or more about $5+. What's red ribbon gold thread? For what? Clothes?

shirlynn77

Hi Meow,

The problem is that I do not really understand their packages.. does it includes meals and any activities...( like clubmed)??

Would like to call them up to check more details but no contact number on the website...

Hi DK,

How is the driving and your trip to Avillion?? Which route did you take?? Appreciate if you could drop me more details as we might be thinking of going there but as my hubby never drive to M'sia b4.. a bit worried.

Yeah, me also same as Meow took Nick as my AD photographer as he promise that he will be able to present the morning things as a presentation highlight at the banquet in the evening.

yve

Besse, i have done some reading on Taz already.. Will be gng for about 10 days, may include Melborne or Sydney (another 3 days?) on the way back.. Just a bit pek chek because hubby is very boh chap about everything..

Meow, red ribbon is to tie everything related to the wedding. E.g. New bedsheets which we bring to new home.

Anyway, went to Double-O last Fri for fren's hens party. We cheong from 11 to 2 plus. I still got the eyebags from it.. old already, cannot cheong..

leo29

Yve,

Hah... still have to tie ribbon on the new bedsheet! My bedsheet already in my new house liao. Like that must bring it back man. I think pillows and bloster also need rite.

Any of you is expert in quilt? As we seldom sleep with air con on so i can't get a quilt that is too warm. If I'm not wrong, more Down is warmer, correct? So now i left with 2 choice, either get one with more feather or the polyester type. One of the salesgal told me polyester is better, not very warm somemore can use washing machine to wash. Whereas the other salesgal told me more down is better, not so warm. *Scratching my head* Who is telling the true??? So angry with them... Anyway I can't trust them, they definitely sell their own prdt.

meowie

Shirlynn,
You can always drop a mail to these agencies and check them out. Normally they include breakfast only. Activities like what? Swimming? We go by causeway 2.

Yve,
thought those red ribbons very cheap say 1 roll only $1.20? Think normal shops have already liao.

Sweetie,
Those still wanna do corsage just tell me a date and see if i can fit in or not lor.

As for carpentry, i dun want to go through contractor leh.

yve

Meow, yeah.. those red ribbons can get anywhere lah..
like those doubel happiness stickers.. I dun want to stick them everywhere, will be difficult to remove..

Got command from the general at home (my mom) to paint the living room soon.. another weekend burnt..

Leo, yeah, bolster and pillow need to tie with red ribbon.. I also dunno much about quilt..

mt

Hi DK, mine is Nick Goh too- I paid deposit for the cheapest package but still not decided whether I want to upgrade... I take very long to decide.

Hmm, 2nd fitting must be exciting, any pics in Novas?
Today I'm having my gowns fittings too (lose count number what fitting haha, cos I nim-zeem here and there... by right, today supposed to be ready to collect WG but I think I'd still find something to add on heh. EG needs 1 more fitting too I think. Abit tight on time, my PS next Monday.)

I'm too lazy, won't tie red ribbons lah.

Leo, down is no good for allergies but it's highly regarded for luxury and softness- if get, get higher % down rather than too many bigger feathers or it will poke through with time. Anyway, this kind of stuff cannot keep too long, need to sun and change periodically.
Polyester easy maintenance lor but not as luxurious as down.

In terms of heat, I would think both sama-sama leh.

Personally, I'm getting a medium-hard mattress (good support for back in pregnancy and for heavier built hubby), put a down-feather "mattress" on top for softness (cannot afford Simmons Bel-air mattress cos too expensive and also, Bel-air wasn't enough support- not recommended for HB's build and my case if pregnant lah, so use a feather mattress to re-create the softness), then mattress protector, then bedsheet.
Hence, Comforter I will prefer POLYESTER because it will get dirty more easily/ washable/ won't have quills poking me.
Pillows I will choose down again because of softness and a pillow protector (prevents quills from poking out)- probably need to change pillow more often than if using Polyester.