(2003) Brides of year 2003

ally

Hi all Sept brides,

apologies for not coming here for so long. I've been really busy at work

To chub and faye... welcome to this thread. Good to see more Sept brides

Just some thots on the impact of sars on our wedding dinners... most hotels would levy a fee for cancelled or postphoned wedding dinners as it represents a loss of revenue for that night. This fee can be quite hefty. Rather than postphone or cancel the dinner, why don't we consider asking the hotels to take more precautions and minimise the risk of infection? For instance, the food can be served in individual portions or every dish should have a separate serving fork/spoon etc. Talk to our hotels. I believe they should have made some contingency plans on how to address sars.

sunrise

leo29
haven't catch up for quite some time. saw sooo mani praises on your gowns...can you send me an email on it? thankssss...my email's on the list

btw, find that there are so many non-Nov brides not only flwg our thread but asking to see e pics and gave their comments on the Crown Prince issue, dun think it's so nice for them to do that...sighs :d

chub

hi vivace, no worries, i didnt feel offended in any way at all
if i'm easily offended, i wont even ask for opinions here in the first place

i've checked with my hotel. they say they can lower the no. of tables for us. me and FH still considering this option. becos so far we see tt all our friends/relatives did still attend their friends' wedding as per normal.

oreo

Hi Naturally,

Heee.. u must be a duo1 chou2 shan4 gan3 person, that's why imagine the tears :p But then, the effect is really great!

Hahaha..i see. Yah lor, if i were ur hubby, i won't take photos there too. I know my hubby from the same company..hmmm..imagine we take photos at the office building.. haha...

Yah, learnt from the news that Serangoon Central is having bad business now. So worrying that it might now spread to crowded places like this

sue

May: Good idea to do slide show using the wedding photos. Will you be putting a laptop near the reception area or play the slide show only before your march in?

Arubagal: Thks...I'm sure you'll be glowing all over as well.

Jazz: I dun hv roast pig, my mum told FH to buy canned ones. She oso doesn't need the traditional teochew pastry. I dun hv to wake up early, just make sure I leave house latest by 8.30am so that I can reach FH's parents house in M'sia before 12 noon. They said that the bride cannot reach groom's house after 12. I've copied what Shook wrote for you here:

"Brides's mum gotta buy towels, pyjamas, slippers (wear @ home) table lamp, bolster, pillow, bedsheet, blanket, tooth brush, tooth paste, mug for brushing teeth, potty, bath tub, face basin, sewing kit, sewing machine. I told my mum I dun want face basin n sewing machine. My hubby doesn't wear pyjamas so dun need to get 4 him. My mum already spent over $100 excluding bangle. So dun wanna get things which I dun need."

kiroro

Hi Nokia,
Will be doing my food tasting this friday. I had got the invitation printed. Now is waiting for friends to response and send the invitation card out. Most of the oversea guest are not replying.... I guess they are monitoring the situation in SG.....
I am quite bad too... have not done anything for my chruch wedding

serene

Hi Amerline,
I have emailed you my contacts.

I tried calling Tokyo Sin but dun seemed to reach them, dunno whether shop still there??
Paiseh,long time never been there.
If the shop is not there, maybe we can have a change of plan to go to the Jap restaurant at Raffles City.

Amerline & poki, pls call me when you are abt to come..so that you dun go the wrong places.

Seeyou gals then.

jing

Hi Leo
Thanks for the pics, bet you have heard what I m going to say many many times from others, but I still want to repeat this to you.. You look really sexy in them! How I wish I can have a figure like yours.... woow..

I m a bit on the plump side, that why kept procastinating my visit to the bridal shop. Will fixed up an appt with my bridal shop soon. What is normally discussed during 1st appt? Do I get to select co-ordinator, photographer? Do I also get to try on the wedding gown during my 1st visit?
As for my WG will be MTM separately from my bridal package as it will be a gift from my hubby's good friend (who also owns a bridal shop but dun have package svc). Having quite a headache cos, till now, I haven't got any idea what kind of design to go for, for a fleshy bride like myself.

Hi all, esp Pris,
Stay happy and continue to be lively! Hope nothing has dampened anyone's spirits here..
I also must say that appreciate this thread a lot, especially the info/experiences you guys shared, though I seldom have the time to log in & do followup posting.. I m somewhere together with you all...
Just want to say that all of you are a group of wonderful & united NoV brides.. Let's stay that way..

nicky

Hi Cinder

mine is on 22/6 too. so u r the couple who got merchant court.

we went to enquire sometime in last march but was told by the hotel that it was already booked.

nice to meet u.
we booked wif inter-con in the end.

dk

Annmelody,
Bright purple should be ok...but seek comments from your FH or any fren who is with U,they should be a better person to judge.
One important pt to note: Check with the banquet management wat colour table cloth, cos U sure wouldn't want it same colour wif your EG....but i guess bright purple should be quite safe.

Wen,
If i recall correctly, U should be quite tall, so i guess pastel colour should be a problem to U...But do remember do remember to check on the banquet table-cloth colour U have in mind to use...sure dun want colour to clash, right?

Btw, my 1st fitting is in end 31-July. It seems very late....wander who can TW came up in time if my PS in btw end Aug & early Sep? My S-I-L told me that 1st fitting only involve th lining layer, but i wander is it same for other bridal?

cookiemz

hi cherubies,

finished your exams yet?

are you proceeding with your wedding this july? my inlaws wan me to postpone my wedding dinner .... wonder if the other july brides are affected by the SARS situation?

freesia

I know it's abit too far to think of this...but just wondering whether u start to have concerns abt honeymoon plans? Looking @ the current Sars situation, nobody is keen to travel...there's a pyschological burden ....
But it's going to be our big day...we all hope to have a good honeymoon after that....but now comes this Sars .... ~sigh~ do you have any comments abt this?

leo29

Wen,

Me also going to search for shoe liao. My first fitting is end may so I only left with 1 mth. I also don’t know why I can confirmed my gowns design so fast. I’m the fuzzy type also so I tot it’s going to take sometimes. Quite fast lei, my appt is 6.30pm and we finish everything by 9pm+. Maybe I should said I lucky lor, my designer understand what I want. For WG, the first gown design he drawn for me, I already like it, so I confirmed it. EG take him 3 drawing. He can’t figure out what I want. So I have to show him picture only then he drawn out my dream EG. Actually the other 2 EG he design also very nice but you know lah, nt my dream gown so I rejected it.

Actually you can’t judge whether the gown suit you or not unless you put it on. Some gowns may look nice but may not look nice on us. This is MTM risk. I just has to cross my finger.

Sunrise,

Yap yap, I agreed with you! We are just sharing info only what. Why must said until like that.

Jing Jing,

Jia you! You will slim down before your wedding. I can’t really answer your question lei becosm my bridal shop is abit different compare to other. My designer is the owner so he is the one serving me and they don’t have in house photographer. But from my knowledge, you can choose the coordinator, make up artist and photographer. And you can try on their gown. Remember to ask them hor if not they will nt let you try.

cin

Hi Cinder,

Mine is at the Fullerton. How's your preparations coming along? You ROM already? Mine first week of May... haven't bought a dress yet, haven't gotten ring pillows, arranged for hand bouquet etc. argh!

Er Nicky, i think Cinder is at Swissotel Stamford, not merchant court

shirsweetiepie

Hi Chub

Welcome!!

Yes, think u shld discuss wif hubby over tis matterwhether to postpone or maybe to cancel the whole issue.

I agree wif Vivace,maybe u like to consider to have it done on a smaller scale...maybe like ur close friends & relatives onli loh. can save $$$ @ the same time loh.. y not?? Just my 2cents worth, no offend hor!

In regards to the SARS situation,we would WANT the my selected hotel to serve the food " individually" rather than " spooning" into the dishes together @ the same time. C wat they can work out for us as a consumer loh.

yvonne

HI ALL,

mine is on 22/6 too!!
will be holding it at Grand Hyatt

have not sent cards for printing yet.. will be doing it this weekend/ next weekend..
collecting photos on the 10 june

shook

Hihi May
I changed my GDL date coz it happen to be my grandma's death anniversay

Hihi Jazz
On top of those stuff I mentioned, bride's mum needs to buy tea set, 2 bottles of orange squash, towels for groom's parents(bathing towel) n siblings(face towel), da yuen, xiao yuen for xchange on GDL. Everything I mentioned need to paste Xi sticker.

All
Do u work till the last day b4 your big day or a few days b4 your big day?
Do u intent to mingle wif guests during reception?
Would u b taking outdoor photos on your big day?
Wat time your groom to be coming to fetch u on your actual day?

sleepy

I'm a 12 July bride. This thread a bit quiet huh? I guess maybe July not so popular for weddings.

So far, I'm not postponing the dinner. Hopefully, by mid May the whole thing will subside....I guess every brides worrying about this....

Wa...postpone really need to waste a lot of $$$$.
Reprint card, forfeit deposit, waste time explaining to guest...hope I dun have to go through that...

Anyway, if I can turn back the clock, I will settle for church reception and that's it. Easy for everyone

cherubies

Hi cookiemz,

no cos exams postponed due to sars. *sigh*
thot can finished early and prepare.

huh your inlaws want u to postpone. we are still going on with the wedding ceremony since we are only have church at chijmes, no dinner. will politely tell my guests not to come if they are feeling sick and explain to them.

Hi sleepy,
welcome.
yup july not many pple get married. i'm only having my church ceremony and reception at chijmes. that's enough for me and my fiance. =0)

tingting

hi freesia,

hopefully by then the sars would have died down...i'm more worried that the countries we're going to wouldn't let us in...imagine spending 10 days in quarantine...i'm still keen to travel..although looks like i've got to strike off China as my potential destination..even after this thing blows over i'm not sure whether i can believe China when it says sars is contained there...

may

Pausini: i can understand why u r stress. I wld too if i were you. Yr big day is next week so fast hor. For me, i think i will really panic when time flies to the month of May. Yr hubby is he stress too? I am trying to type my actual day schedule too and a list of task for the friends to help.

Does anyone have a sample of a thank you speech to share? My hubby asks me to draft one for him and i absolutely have no idea. Also, need a MC draft speech as well.

Sue: i am asking my brother to convert it in a VCD format and it will be played just once before 1 marched in. I was thinking along this format - have my dad use the computer to do a few caricature shots of me and hubby, show a short clip of our rom and then the wedding album. I told my brother it shld not be more than 5 mins so that we dont bore our guests to death.

Jazz: very likely that i will be going to korea for honeymoon. I will be checking out the various packages. Do you recommend F&E or package tour? Can you tell me where r the places to shop? I only know the midnight warehse place. Is it easy to move ard w their subway system. I heard things r most more ex there than Japan.

Shook: OH i c abt your GDL. I will be taking 2 1/2 days off before my wedding. I will be going doing my hair, nails and going for a back scrub and a massage. I also need to go buy flowers the day b4 as i am getting a friend's mom to decorate the london cab for me. So it will be busy running ard for last minute errands. And if time permits to rest and relax before the big day too.

I dont know if i will be mingling w the guests b4 reception. most likely not. i want to hide in the hotel room and compose myself. chances r i will be v nervous thinking i got to walk down the aisle infront of SO MANY people.

Yes, i intend to do outdoor shoots if time permits. I was very disappointed w my outdoor photos taken so want to take more on actual day. we r thinking of going to upper pierce reservoir.

Hubby coming to fetch me ard 9 am. mine is really simple and defies all custom as my parents r easy thot my dad is teochew. I will do tea ceremony at my mom place b4 i leave hse, go to my new place n do tea ceremony for hubby side of relatives. when done, guests will break for buffet lunch and we will go for outdoor shoot. And then later come home change, eat and check into the hotel b4 3 pm.

akira

ava, no news from the developer yet even though the blocks seem to be coming up nicely. I'm praying real hard tat the apartment will be done two months b4 end Nov so tat I can get all the faults rectified and somehow move in after wedding. else I'll be stuck with no place to stay.

leo, let me know if you discover any good shoes places.Thanks. I passed by a new shoe shop selling bridal/evening shoes in Holland V the other day.can't remember the name though. you might want to check it out. Its on the second floor of the new smallish shopping block there, opposite Crystal Jade Restaurant.

pausini

Hi May: I always thot i will be easy going throughout my wedding pre. Look like i am very wrong abt myself. yesterday i was so stress up, when i told my colleagues who is my Emcee of the nite, i nearly cried out. I have no idea where does this stress came from. I have finish my day schedule and all stuffs is almost done but i still feel the stress.

Got a new to share with all. My mum may want to postpone the dinner in malaysia. Yesterday one of my aunt called saying the my grandma is look for my mum. Most likely, she may ask my mum to postpone the dinner back in malaysia.

I have yet to get reply from my PIL side. Found out from my aunt that the situation at my own hometown have very little SARS cases. however there is still some possible cases around. My mum also get to hear that there is one cook from a XXX restaurant got SARS after he came back from china. SO still have to wait for my mum to find out more.

We actually plan to go Penang for a short trip after the dinner there. Look like we have to cancel the trip... very sian!

Shook:
I will work till 30 of march, 1 may is a hoilday so took only one day leave on 2 may to do my mani, pedi and prepare myself of the big day.

I dun have corktail reception so i may come down early to mingle with my guests. I guess my guests would like to see me too..

Yah, i will be taking outdoor photos on my big days. planning to visit mohd sultan, take pic in the pub. wanna some green too... see wat my photographer would suggest. I told him that i have only 18 tables so he dun have to save too much films for the nite.

My Hubby is suppose to fetch me at 9am. we will take pix till 11am then go back to my new hse for the tea ceremony, lunch, change to tea dress then go back to my mum place for tea ceremony again.

vio

hi jady, poki, jus, fishball n amerline,

did u gals rec'd msg from Serene tt shez not able to join us tonite?

i might b alittle late too... ard 7pm.
Do you all still wanna meet at the same place - City Hall?

beibei

so far all my friends and colleagues very supportive..some ask when I am giving out the invites...hiaz...now left with the relatives...I will leave it to my parents to contact them and hope no more'see first'from them.

btw anyone knows for wedding day after all the ceremony do we have to change at home first before checking into hotel or just wear the gowns to the hotel in the afternoon?

serene

Hi Vio,
Thanks for helping to send the message.
Managed to login Internet now

Hi Jady,poki,amerline & fishball
Sorry, I am not feeling well. So not able to join u all tonite. Paiseh for backing up at last minute.

Hope you all can still proceed on to meet 2nite then.
Enjoy the dinner.

jbride

really hope that Sars will be over by then
20693.gif
not only will it affect our honeymoon but i'm more worried abt our banquet. Imagine the bride & groom wearing mask
20694.gif
that will be the most memorable part of our wedding...let's pray that won't happen huh...
20695.gif

i think i'll hold back my honeymoon unless things go better by the oct...very risky to book to early too...

cookiemz

hi cherubies & sleepy

ya lor, in laws are worried about relatives not turning up, so i have actually started looking for another auspicious day to postpone to in probably sept or oct... thought of going thru customary and either skip the dinner or juz reduce size of banquet, but hubby not agreeable. no choice!

luckily i have not done the invites yet and the hotel is not charging us for the postponement.. but got to start fighting for makeup artist and actual day photographer liao... kekeke

cherubies, exams postpone till when? in time for your wedding?

sleepy, welcome

sunshine

Hi jbride,

**paiseh, I think I'm the one who'd booked David Loh for my solemnisation on 07 DEC... unless, he forgot about mine and was double booked by someone else.

ava

Akira

we'll be keeping our fingers crossed too!

ok gals
i'm going back into hybernation for a while again ;) hee he ehe
'cos busy with the reno
will keep in touch... if anything email huh

Take care everyone!

amerline

hi vio,

i think i shall meet u all at City Hall mrt than. I am on 1/2 day today, got an interview in the afternoon hehe

so time and exact location? must understand i am the blur one today

hi serene,

u take care okie, i am sure we will have many more of such gatherings......

maya

HI ladies, I'm so glad there is a thread for Jul 03. I'm actually a May bride but bec of the SARs thing, I'm postponing my wedding to Jul 17. I still hang in the May thread, many of the brides there didn't want the hassle of changing dates, looks like I'm one of the few who did.

Cookie, dear me, if you really postpone, then you'll jump into the Sep/Oct threads, and straddle btw the 2 just like me??

It took me a long time to make up my mind and postpone. My restaurant was ok as long as not cancell, so no cost, except to re-print the inserts again. I wasw more concerned with Daniel, my MC but luckily, he was avail on 17 Jul too.

Actually why jul so few weddings is bec Chinese 6th mth, Chinese don't like it, not here not there, which is not so gd. But i didn't want to delay further so settle for Jul.

I've done my PS already and just picked up my album yesterday.

cazza

Dear Gals,

I actually signed up with Unisense but did not loose any weight but I have spent $1,800. That was a total waste of money!!!! Anyhow I have been in vegetable and fish diet have lost 3kg so far. I have to start exercising if not everything will start sagging! Oh God that will be a nightmare!!! I might try cambridge diet cause that sounds good huH!

Thanks for all the encouragement! Looks like I have to really start exercising! I think I will get a bike and ride to work! Not that its near I stay in Jurong but my office is in Bugis! Does not sound easy!!! :-( Oh well I think I will do something! Where do you gals exercise huh?

You gals have a good time tonighT!

cazza

Any of you know any wedding cake maker which is relatively cheap and good? I actually have the design and recipe but Gosh! Its hard to find people to make! I wanted a tiered cup cake wedding cake! Saw a sample at Martha Stewart website! Let me know! Thanks in advance!

naomi

I need help on which hotel to choose for my dinner. Can anyone advise me how is the pricing,service and function for of crown prince?

amerline

hi cazza,

i feel that u can just stick to any boil/steam food instead of strictly veg and fish. ur body needs other types of vitamins and minerals too! crash dieting does make u lose weight fast but it oso puts back on faster.

have a sensible diet and exercise regime, start slow and steady, if not u will become haggard from all the dieting. u r suppose to be a radiant bride, not a old and tired one.

i am also in the process of slimming down, i just cut down on fried stuff and remove skin from most meat i eat. of coz there is the occasional treat to keep my brain going....

u must be joking, cycling from Jurong to Bugis? Not that its not physically impossible, but its kinda dangerous right? morning traffic in that area is pretty heavy.

anyway, just a thought....

cherubies

Hi cookiemz,
i'm sure you can get everything ready by sept.

my exams are now on 7 & 16 may. was supposed to have my ps on 16 may now postpone one week later. *sigh*

Hi maya,
welcome!!!

u r right! jul is chinese 6th month. but we are not superstitious and jul is a month of celebration for me and my fh. =0p

wow, at least you got most things done. i have my cakes yet to order, church progam not done...

sleepy

Aiyo cherubies, u must be quite stress liao huh? Hope the exam date is soon, so u can concentrate on the preparation. I'm your opposite. I'm going back to study again within 2 weeks after my wedding. So the 'honeymoon' period very short. I'm worried my FH will feel left out w me burying myself in the books.

Hi cookiemz, good thing hotel is still available for you. I believe most auspicious dates will be taken up, so to cut your 'research' short, I suggest you check w hotel which day they are available for Sept and Oct. Then, u can check whether it's auspicious or not. But in the first place, why choose July? I thought it's not really auspicious leh? For me, July 12 is the date when my FH ask me to be his girlfriend.

Hi Maya...welcome! I'm also asked Daniel to be my MC. He's really popular huh? I really dun want my wedding to be like those normal ones I went to. MC will announce, yam seng and that's it. No fun... I'm asking my friend's daughters to dance ballet whilst throwing petals as they come in. I hope it will work out.

Any of you getting videographer? I'm still can't decide who to get. I'm also on a tight budget.

vivace

ally & shirs : long time no c har...

juz call my rest. they can allow me to reduce the no. of table without levy any fees... so long as i confirm the no. of table one month b4 the wedding day will do... but of course, certain things like hotel stay and free flow of soft drinks will not hv liao... only chinese tea and pickles still hv... but doesnt matter lah! dont think i will stay at the hotel!

my PS is on the coming monday, v.excited... hopefully tat day wont rain... "X finger"

shook

Hihi May
I m oso drafting thank you speech for my hubby. Did half way then busy wif other things.
Y u need to do your hair b4 your wedding? Isn't the make-up artist suppose to do for u?

Hihi May, Pausini
My wedding is on sun. I gotta work till Fri coz I gotta do mth n reporting. I m v worried as there r 3 countries on the new system n closing is pushed backwards due to May day. Sigh.... Hopefully I need not work till wee hr on sat on go back to work on sat
My hubby plan to fetch me @ 8:30am, then go his hse for tea ceremony, outdoor shoot, our love nest, my hse for tea ceremony. My MIL said 11am to 1pm is inauspicious hr. So we have to stay @ home or outside. We plan to take photo during tis time fram (then hot hor). But my mum keep insisting dat I do away wif the outdoor shoot n go home early for tea ceremony. She said I already took outdoor ps, y still want to take on actual day. She nag n nag n nag. I can't tahan. All she cares is not to let the relatives wait for us to go home for tea ceremony. My hubby told her we will b back for tea ceremony after 1pm. My dad said ok ask relatives to come fm 12:30 onwards for buffet then tea ceremony. Love my dad
, more understanding n sensible.

sunflower26

hi gals.......... any cure for tummy bloated with water retention????
i always hab the prob of bloated tummy.....but aftr my menses it will b flat again........oni to bloat up again 2 wks later........ =(

shook

Hihi Pausini

Cool girl cool, dun stress yourself. Tackle the outstanding issue one by one. Share your problem wif us. Dun let your banquet in Malayis stress u further.

Go ahead wif your trip to Penang. It is so near Singapore afterall.

wen

Hi Are,
Yeah, using own car. Dont want to spend extra $ renting another car.
I talked to some friends. They said it is ok to use fresh flowers but choose those flowers that can last longer and avoid small flowers. I think I will still use fresh flowers.

maya

Hi sleepy, yah, I'm so glad got Daniel around. Was thinking that if he not free in Jul, then I may not shift my date, all bec of him!! No I'm not getting videographer, cld afford to but FH didn't want to waste $$ on this. I also agree lah. Actually our AD photographer is provided free by my studio so didn't need to spend $$ to look for someone for that. Really, trying to save bec wedding is so terrible on pockets. I bought a resale and reno, setting it up is so costly.
My album, well, I think cld be better. I did makeovers before and I thot that was better than my album. I didn't chose extras too, again bec of $$ and I thot the studios are really too much to make us pay $50-75 for a piece of photo! I wld prefer to use the money for others things like maybe go for annual make overs with FH, much cheaper and some nicer photos too!
I'm going to develop the negatives 1st, scan them and somehow put them up on the web. THe big album so cumbersome to scan photos and i don't have scanner too. So need to wait a while before I can show you.....

wen

Hi Leo29,
For EG and tea dress, I can confirm on the spot cos already know what I want. But for WG, the design he has drawn is nice but somehow find that something lacking but cant tell what is missing. Having big big headache!!
I saw a pair of silver shoes in the magazine which I can wear with my WG, EG and tea dress. But the heels quite high and pointed so not sure if it will be suitable for wedding. Do u think it is better to buy or MTM?

wen

Hi DK,
I think should not have any problem. My first fitting likely to be early Sep and my PS is end Sep. After that, second fitting will be a few days before PS and that will be final. Btw, has TW taken your measurement? Should he take measurement after I have confirmed the design or closer to the fitting date?

cazza, you may want to bring your cake design to Smiling Orchid. They are cheap and good, but i dunno whether their standards can match Martha Stewarts ....

I also want to make a wedding cake, but i've traded in my card printing budget from the hotel for the cake. So the hotel guys will do something for me.

Serene - tale care, get plenty of rest and get well quickly ok? Must take more vitamins to boost your immunity system, esp with the SARS around...

I also want to lose weight !!! The stopped exercising for 1 mth coz of SARS, but just started again yesterday. The momentum is slow, but got to think of the white gown !!!!!!

pausini

Hi Shook: Thanks!!!
How is ur montage getting along?

My uncle just called me, he told me everything is ok at my hometown. only one got SARS, and there is only one reported case of SARS. Then i really wonder why is my grandma calling my mum? May be she thot we are cancelling the dinner in malaysia. If really ok, i really hope to finish everything as planned.
I realise sometime i am too systematic that i got freck out if things dun go according to my plan.... I think i wasnt fesible enough.

Shook: it is very common that the older people hdo not understand why we do certain things and why we need to do it. Just like the outdoor shots u mention and my MIL even told me to wear WG thru out the nite. Dun need to change but at certain time she keep asking me what EG am i wearing. If she ask me dun have to change then why still ask. My FH also stupid stupid and agree with his mother. So i have to explain to my FH. Stime i dun want to explain too much, so i will let my FH do the talking later.

U take care ok... got anyone to help u on ur work. ur boss shld know u are getting married soon and shld lighten ur workload a bit... why like that one!!!