(2003) Brides of year 2003

leo29

Besse,

Gd luck to you! I guess no mj for me this week. As said earlier, one of the mj kaki is down. Good lah, can have a good rest. An Wei myself,

oreo

Hi Naturally,

Yah lor, i heard about good points on close toe shoes.. kekekee... but i scared blisters leh, then hor end up worse, especially need to be in shoes on actual day.

Hahaha..yah, i have been thinking of raindrops too. U know that affect of having raindrops or water flowing down a piece of glass as the backdrop for photos will be nice
I guess they can create that effect in the studio?

Wow, ur idea is innovative! But dun fall sick

meow

Besse,
Get to find out from my hubby the breakdown:
For El-fa:
Signing - 10%
Delivery material to on site - 40%
Progressive payment pay during reno - 40%
Before handover - 10%

For Lourve:
Signing - 15%
Start of project - 40%
Before carpentry - 40%
Before handover - 5%

min

Meow,

I will try to type out and send you the list when I have more time cos long list of songs, I don't have a scanner. If we have a gathering soon, I can photocopy for you. Any news on next gathering? I want to see the el-fa quotation, can?

pucca

hi Cinder,
welcome to June thread...

when's ur big day?

Cin,
for us, we did not get those ang gong gong (hokkien) type ... juz got a bit of red can liao ..

pooh,
ur photos ready for us to see yet??

me still waiting for my album ... getting anxious liao ... :p

gals,
do not worry too much ... if u were to postpone, how long can u postpone? i guess doing a close RSVP n discuss with ur hotel abt reducing the no. of min tables will be fine ...

sue

Hi everyone: so sian! suppose to prepare the invites over the weekends who knows, I was down with fever. My mum & FH kept telling me to go doc when my fever hit 38 but I scare kena send to TTSH. So, did the traditional way, took lots of herbal tea & cover with blanket to perspire, really feel better after that. End up, FH has to write all the invites himself. Worst is, his parents called & suggested that we postpone our wedding dinner becos of the SARS. I was quite reluctant becos we have everything planned. Now, waiting for him to negotiate with his parents. I really hope I can go thru my wedding in May!

Hi Vin: Thks for yr compliments.
Wow, you'll be going for yr honeymoon next week. Must take care huh!

Hi Shook: All the brides use their actual gown for PS @ my bridal boutique. They will make the gown slightly longer & if dirty, they will trim the end away. If not, then they just dry clean & steam. I agree that this thread is very addictive, that's y holidays yr eyes & hands got itchy.

Hi May Day: Glad that u've gotten yr PS done. It has been raining in the afternoon since 4 April. Hehe...how I know becos I've been monitoring the situation since my PS on 4 April. I only managed to do one outdoor becos of rain &while contemplating whether to retake, my FH told me that the weather will be like that for the next two weeks & it's true. Anyway, happy that you've gotten yrs done. Remember to share with us huh.

Hi May: KC charged me $1200. He's using digital camera. I was hoping to give out the invites this week but now, have to put on hold. FH just called the hotel to chk on postponement & there's no penalty but provided the next date we want is available. sian ahh!!

Hi Pausini: I heard of the invitation card u mentioned but my mum didn't tell me abt it. Where do I get this person to write for me? Is that a ritual for a certain dialect group or all? Paiseh, ask u so many things.

shook

Hihi Kare
Dun b stressed by us. Your wedding is 30th May still got >1mth to go. Mine is 11th May 20 days to go. So of coz did more things than u. Now maj thing for me is RSVP list, table arrangement, montage n the carpentry work. Other minor things - songs, wine, hubby's thank u speech, booking of caterer, schedule of the day, ang pow, pack stay over bag @ hotel, honeymoon.....
My BIL will do videography for us. So din look ard. Sorry no lobang to recommend to u.

Hihi Pausini
Yep blessing in disguise, lucky thing u din increase no of tables.
Sure share my invitation card, montage n album wif everyone after wedding. Vin got the most, 3 albums. Hoo, she spent the most, looking forward to c everyone's album.
Hmmm...groom's mum gotta write official invitation to bride's mum. 1st time I heard of, interesting. Dun think my MIL bothers to do dat. She din even wanna meet my mum. They will meet only during our wedding dinner.

Hihi May
I oso haven't pick song for 1st dish n montage.
I went to Mkt place @ Paragon last sat. They provide free delivery n return 100% of unconsumed wine but their price more x. Does Star cellar provide free delivery n allow return of unconsumed wine?
When u going for wine tasting? I dunno how to taste wine leh.
My guo da li changed to 2nd May. Both my hubby n me can't afford to take leave. I asked my hubby to stay @ my place on 1st May then bring up the things fm his car on 2nd May b4 going to work

sue

Hi Arubagal: I've sent u the link but got rejected mail. Pls confirm yr email address. I din do any collage becos need to budget my expenses. Moreover, FH intend to do it personally & get a friend to print.

pooh

sorri not ready yet should be ready by this wk end. I have my album redo cos dun like the layout and background.

Now i also headache. My hubby wan to go HM but my granny object. My granny say if we go HM then she wont wan to have anything to do with my wedding. Since i dun have parents my granny name will be on the invitiation. And now she refused to talk to my hubby parents abt the Guo Da Li things unless we agree not to go for HM.

priscilla

Hi Leo,
I want to see your photos too can send it to me at [email protected] and when I go take my photoshooting I take some photos for you all to see see too, ok!

Hi Min,
I also want to have a look on the song list cos my wedding dinner is getting nearer and still have not decide on one yet, can share share?
Cos I don't think I can meet you all for your next gathering so maybe you can e-mail it to me.
My make-up not bad lor, my make-up artist focus more on my eyes cos my eyes is my only main beauty. my e-mail is [email protected]

Thanks, wow you really make me think you are a doctor, cos you know so much.
No worries on the milk thing cos its ok.
By the way thanks.

beibei

taddess,
me start writing a few invites but cos of SARS i do things quite half hearted leh...will give out in early may...have you spoken to the hotel to reduce the number of tables?I asked my hubby to speak to the manager...

Cin,
It all depends on you lor..for me won't be getting those red bedsheets.indeed it is very obiang..my parents and in laws dun follow this kind of tradition so it is ok...

gals,
so we June brides shall stick to our original plan of having our wedding in June right?!!

me has about 46 days to go....really I can feel
the anxiety and happiness...but hard leh....will wish for the best though....

serene sng

Wow... forgot abt me liao!! Me also wan to play mj...got space to join in or not???!

Pris,
Me not doctor but i study these baby things cos i like babies! My ambition is to be a young mum but till now still dun have

If you really have no appetite, tell me. I know some meal planning, might help you.

leo29,
Me also want to see your pics!!!
Please send to [email protected]

dk

Leo29,
Can i see too? Pls send the pictures to [email protected].

Annmelody,
From Ted's colour palette i picked lilac, light greyish blue, pastel blue, purplish-blue, Wine-red...etc. The last colour is more outstanding lor. But i'm still not confirmed using that colour cos my FH dun fancy it.
Ted say i'm petite & fair-skinned plus with a 350-400pax banquet it is not advisable to colour like lilac cos "can't see the bride" ,chances is many females guest may wear a dress-colour like that. But if dark skin than with lilac or other light colours will stand-out.
Oh dun forget to take into consideration in the Male guest too...there are few very common colour shirts that the guys might turn up in.

Conclusion, Bright colours is the best for drawing attention, make U radiant with energy, light colours is sweet & nice especially if U're tanned-skinned or if U prefer simplicity...but it all depends on your preference...Shocking pink, purple & Tangerine is out for me (i can't imagine myself wearing these).....but some do look really good in these colours.

shook

Hihi Sue

How r u feeling now? Take care ya.

Hope your FH is able to persuade his parents to carry on wif your wedding as planned. Otherwise we have another drop out fm May bride

U selected the photos for your album?

kare2711

Sue
Oooh..I really hope you and your hubby can persuade his parents to let you all go ahead. As you said, the date is already so near. No point to postpone anymore. If less people go, then it's your gain! Hope to hear good news from you!

beibei

taddess,
Are you having your wedding on the 5th floor of the hotel?Cos u mentioned you only need to confirm minimum 30tables.

sunnyling

Leo 29

Sorry ah mixed up both of you
20560.gif

Me also no MJ this week cos 2 of MJ kaki go oversea leh so this week can only stay at home and scratch my hands

min

Hi, pris,

I will check to see if my FH can scan in for me to send the list to you and meow cos I don't have scanner. I will do my homework and send it to you before your wedding. Mayb this weekend I sort it out for you. Who did your make up? Have you confirmed on your WG and EG? How about those for photoshooting?

leo29

Besse, wedsoon,

The email to you 2 was returned. Besse, I had resend to you to the new address. Wedsoon, pls confirmed does your email address come with 'sg'.

meekoo

hi sue

take well soon! hope all the may brides will be able to go through this diffcult period smoothly!

my HK relatives had confirmed that they will not be attending. i tink HK is really very bad now... pretty sad very nite seeing the news.

pausini

I went down to another office to give my invitation card. so many unexpected case. One colleague grandma passed away couldnt come, the other got job commitment last min, the other have to take care of children so suddenly i have 3 seat empty. So got to find pple to fill up. From not enough seats become dun know find who to fill up the seats. *sigh*

Shook, Sue, May, Maya: I watched this afternoon show one sunday noon call " Su Li Su Qi" every week it talk abt the tradition pple pratice in spore. So happen there is one sunday that talks abt chinese wedding. It show how the bride side mum prep for the daughter, what to buy, which dialect have diff way of doing things.
There is one part where the bride's mum say that it is very impt for the groom side to send an official invitation to the bride side to invite the PIL and the family to the wedding. Else she wld not attend her own daughter wedding.

I dun know is it that my MIL saw this part or she ask her mum. During GDL, my FH give my mum an official invitation to invite her to witness our marriage. She even get a someone who so call "professional" in writing the invite to ensure correct addressing. That is why she spent $3 each on one.

For us, we just need to write our friend's name to invite all our friends but that is not the case when inviting relative. Have to address them accordingly then their name. This is really an ART!

Shook: Yah lor... luckili didnt increase table

Sue: u feeling better? Sorry i dun know where my MIL got that person to write the invites. Maybe chinatown or where.

pucca

beibei, u start writing invites liao ah .. i still hvnt cfm a rough estimate of my no. of tables yet ..

me got abt 49 days to go...

may

pausini: i didnt know abt the official invite to my mom from MIL. So i guess it must be a diff invitation card not the one that we printed - coz those contain both parents name liao. $3 to write the invite...hmm... when i went to buy my GDL stuff, hubby bought this huge Ang Bao to put the dowry $$ in. The Huge Ang Bao costs $ 2.

u mean my mom is suppose to buy new towels, pyjamas for us... aiyo...my mom so modern ...dont think she knows all these. she only told me she bought me gold bracelet to give me during tea ceremony... my SIL says my mom must give me a sewing kit.

Sue: i hope u r feeling better now. It must have been really scary when u realise that u had fever. Better pop lots of vit c and drink lots of water. Take care ok. Most of the hotel are very understanding even though they r not doing that well themselves nowadays. I was told tat we r allowed to postpone for 6 mths. But no one can be sure that 6 mths later things will be fine. I rather get it done and over with. Hope, you can also proceed with yours.

Shook: how much was the wine u saw at paragon? I m not too sure abt the free delivery but know that you can return the unconsumed bottles of wine. Mayb this sat pm will pop in for a wine taste and to confirm. 2nd May is on Friday and it is a working day so u need to take leave to do the GDL?

Maya: try Aussino. they got stores at Parkway, Paragon, Great World and Tampines. They sell quilt cover on its own.

sunflower26

hey....how many of us ar using Dang ah????
=P curious leh...hehe......
cos me jus signed the package...but i duno wat to wear for my teadress.......
mum says cheongsam makes me look too mature.... =)
ideas pls.........

tingting

hi sunflower26,

I'm a brand new Dang bride...just signed up last weekend..
i'll have 3 dresses MTM - WG, EG & tea dress... most likely i'll be having cheongsam for my EG... the cuts and colour can give cheongsams a modern twist... can tell Dang your concerns and she should be able to modify to make you look ur best! I'm already thinking of all the flaws i want her to hide at my designing phase!

pausini

May: I think my mum find out that she need to buy all the stuffs for me from my aunt. Cos my cousin got married last year. She didnt buy me the sewing kit cos i dun like it so i ask her dun buy. My mum also bought me a bracelet for the tea ceremony. Is it a must to wear the SI DI JIN on when ur FH come and fetch u?

My FH want me to wear it, i say dun want cos it doesnt much my gown so i only agree to wear the bracelet if i really have no choice.

Yah the GDl can be quite ex too. i think my mum spent abt $100 on it. that include a wallet, pyjamas, towels, all the barang barang...

Maya: Aussino have nice quilt cover that come with two pillow covers too. Are u looking for a plain or with patterns?

beibei

pucca,

yup me writing invites for colleagues and friends first leave the most troublesome relatives till early May cos some older relatives sort of hint to my dad that they dun want to attend cos of SARS..

Just do wat I can do at the moment....so u gals booked and confirmed honeymoon?My hubby pending till early May,by then shd confirmed if to go ahead with our NZ trip...

pucca

beibei,
we did not bk anything for HM as yet since might be gg to a resort for a short trip and its easily available .. so we will leave it till july then say ..

can't go HM in june coz still got exams after wedding ... *big cry*

naturally

Oreo,
yeah, me was also thinking abt that raindrops-on-glass-pane effect!
But hor, must remember the raindrops may reflect onto your face as if u have tears! A bit too melancholic hor?? But i think if u dun face the glass pane, such a backdrop is still quite pretty.
Aiyah, this is just plan B in case of rain, if it's a bright and sunshiny day, i'll want happier pics!

Hi Paulin,
Tingting and Mrs Quake are Dang brides-to-be!
But Mrs Quake has been awfully quiet lately... hope she's okay! For cheongsums, some gals look fabulous in them, but some gals dun... the only way to find out is to try them out! Maybe can ask your mum or a galfren to go along to give u their opinions?

maya

Aiyo, now must scratch head abt this mom invite! Must check with FH if must do or not. But nice gesture.

Pausini, I'm looking for patterns, perferably just the quilt cover but I think more ex and also diffc to find....

serene

Hi Amerline,
Just checked my email, haven't receive..mind if you resend again? thanks.

Poki & Cookiecorgi: Are you coming??

Seeya gals on Thu then.
Today is Tues ..time seemed to pass very slow leh.

mrs

I'm fine. Have been pretty busy lately and so didn't do much posting.

I was at Dang last Sat and saw tingting. Tingting look nice in that peacock blue cheongsam.
That's the same blue I'm using for my EG.

My fitting was a shocker for my FH and best friend. FH and best friend love my WG even though no details has been done yet. The long train (1.4 metre) is gorgeous! My best friend was so taken with it that she wanted a similar design when her time comes.

My teadress - a modern cheongsam, also turn out quite well. FH loves it too. I'm surprise that I actually look nice in hot pink! Can't wait for Dang to sew on the embroidery and beads!

EG was the shocking one. Remember the deep V I was talking about? It was really deep and showed ALL the cleavage. Dang assured that it will look more 'intact' after more alterations. My best friend likes the A-line design. The challenge for this piece is to make it fit me perfectly and at the same time maintain the sexy design. If it still doesn't turn out right after the alteration, then I may have to change it to an empire cut gown instead.

Actually, the best thing that came out of this fitting is that I've actually lost some fats on my back! Yeah! I was really surprise and thought that Dang may have given some allowance when sewing but she assured me that she didn't. I guess I just have to watch my diet a bit more now to maintain the loss!

ava

Hello Ladies!

I've been a busy bee!

Ok...wanna know the latest with me? ;P

Renovation:
We've finally selected Chesuyan 'cos the designer was gd at coming up with practical designs and she was willing to work within our budget of 16k.
Bulk of the cost went to capentry works and electrical works.

I think the most impt thing in choosing a contractor is you must be comfortable with them so at least both party have the same idea. And it's a gd idea to view some of their works
It sometimes looks diff in the photos compared to real life ;)

Will start reno soon...later this wk
will keep you informed

Hope to finish it all by end June
not much work to be done but 'cos the designer will be on holiday for 3 wks!
so nvm lah
it's ok with me 'cos I'm not in a hurry

Wedding Plans:
Aiyah...this all hv bn put on hold till th

pausini

Maya: i got mine at Aussino, yah lor is very expansive. I got one red qulit cover n the material is very comfy. i spent sbt $139 for king size. FH like it, and we have set our eyes on that. FH also like RED! Ok once in life time. next time i wldnt get such ex stuff anymore.

For the official invitation, do check with ur mum. Sometime, better to have it. later relatives asked abt it and found that not done then other starts all the gossips. Very headache one, especial after marriage parents start complaining.

Me now working on my actual day schedule. FH can take leave for the wedding. so we are thinking where to visit during our stay in malaysia. Cannot trip oversea, even can we are also very broke!!!!!!

cin

Hi Pucca,
What exams do you have?

FH and I are in a dilemma. We had a discussion with our parents last night, and we are all very concerned about the current SARS situation.

If the SARs situation continues on, we will have trouble filling the guaranteed 35 tables, cause about half of our relatives and friends are currently not residing in Singapore. Some are in Malaysia, others in Hong Kong, China, Australia, New Zealand, Canada, USA etc.

As such, our parents are persuading us to cancel the wedding banquet altogether and opt for a cozy dinner for just close friends and relatives.

They know we don't want to postpone, so they say go ahead with everything and get married ie. tea ceremony etc. Only, just have a much smaller scale dinner.

FH and I would really love to hold our wedding banquet as this is a once in a lifetime thing for us, and we also do not want our deposit to go to waste. Our parents are beginning to 'push' us. Cause we are holding back the wedding invites just in case we want to cancel, but if we are to go ahead with the wedding, we cannot send out the invites too late either.

I know our parents mean well, as they do not want us to waste 17 or 18 tables (ie. about $18-$19K) if we cannot fill the tables. Sigh..... how? don't know what to do leh...

On one hand, if just a cozy dinner, we save A LOT of money, and less hassle for everybody. On the other hand, marriage is a once in the lifetime thing, but if only half the crowd turn up, then a lot of wastage.... heeellpp...

akira

leo,

I also want to see your pics... email [email protected] thanks!! I'm having a headache trying to decide on EG design and colour.. already changed twice but luckily its only all on drawing.. after getting my frens to come along with me to the designer I finally decided on something.. now getting cold feet again :p also I'm too lazy to try to shed the extra 3kg or so tat is needed to carry something tight-fitting well.. sigh... now getting older so merely not eating much does not help anymore.. gotta actually exercise v hard...

ladies, sorry have been v busy so haven't been posting but every nite try to catch up on all your news.. I wish my boss is back soon.. covering his work is v siong. I must be the only one who wants her boss to be around...

shook

Hihi Pausini
I haven't get full RSVP fm my colleagues. Most of them said get back to me later.
Initially I have 21 pax 4 my ex-colleague, then 1 FIL passed away during CNY, 1 scared of SARs, 2 hubby got another wedding dinner to attend, so I invited a few which I din invite initially. Still can't make up to 20 pax.
Dat show u watched muz b v interesting n helpful.
I asked my mum abt the official inivite, she said she never heard of it.

Hihi May
Brides's mum gotta buy towels, pyjamas, slippers (wear @ home) table lamp, bolster, pillow, bedsheet, blanket, tooth brush, tooth paste, mug for brushing teeth, potty, bath tub, face basin, sewing kit, sewing machine. I told my mum I dun want face basin n sewing machine. My hubby doesn't wear pyjamas so dun need to get 4 him. My mum already spent over $100 excluding bangle. So dun wanna get things which I dun need.
Mkt place selling Linderman chardonnay @ $20+, elsewhere selling @ $18+; Penfold Merlot @ $18+, elsewhere @ $15+
Tis sat I gotta settle the carpentry n clean up my love nest. Sorry can't go wine tasting wif u. U check out n let me know can?
Ya 2nd May is a working day. Both my hubby n me v busy @ work. Can't afford to apply leave. So asked my hubby to bring things fm his car to my hse n pass things my mum bought to him, put in his car then go to work

vin

Hi Kare,

Since the CX steward case, can you take this reason to change the date till the situation become better?

oso32

Hi pausini,

think i watched the "su li su qi" on TV a couple of sundays ago and saw the part about invitation for my parents. actually went to ask my mum what's the tradition behind that and if it is necessary. according to my mum, this was the practice long long ago when the bride and groom side hold their banquet separately, ie. groom side have it on 1 day and the bride another day. in this case, the groom side would have to extend an "official" invitation to the bride side to invite them to attend the dinner hosted by them.

since nowadays most couples hold only 1 combined banquet, the tradition is seldom practised liao. so my mum says dun need.

hope this helps

jan2003

Hello everyone.

busy.busy. work is killing me. stress. lots of things to settle but no time. also wedding plans got some hiccups. sigh. my GDL is on 3rd May. I haven't give out cards to relative yet because mum wants to do it with cakes. Now she is not happy since this would mean we only do it one week before wedding. how????? very frustrated. you gals think it's ok. the relatives already know date lah but not complete with invitation and cake. sigh.

Jazz: don't be sad. my honeymoon plans now have to change too. MIL and everyone we are living with after the wedding including that bitchy SIL has protested against us going to Canada. SIL's company got this rule. if people in your family travel to sars hit area, family members got to qurantine too. so she very angry with us for being selfish! sian. now almost every country on the globe has sars, so how? stay at home best?? with current situation at CX, think you are in a better position to demand refund. write it? call?

May: wanted to check with you. last time you recommended place in japan is it nagano? can resend me info? maybe going japan instead but package problem, travel agent may impose penalty for change in package. sigh. need some advice on GDL. how is it done? any idea? my mum say after the guy side come over to our house, i have to follow him back and also bring things back??? is it true? then how i start to distribute cake? have to go to his house then start from there???
Who else have GDL? care to share with us the process??

kare2711: what's the update on your side? CX flight how? i think now all flights are extra clean so we have no choice but to trust them since we make up our mind to go. if keep thinking about this issue, we will be very upset and frustrated then no happy brides. i am with you. i also worry. sigh. so many pimples now pop up already. but decided to take on what may come lah. very sian of all these news already. now everyday first page of newspaper is sars sars and more sars. they keep saying things under control, not in community,but i really doubt so lor. but then life still have to go on. how?

All: quite a number of people concern with sars so not turning up for dinner.some even ask if i am taking temperature. told them no. and i would understand if they choose not to attend. have decided to cut down table is one thing, the other is if on that day really lots of no show then i will just sit 8 to a table instead of the usual 10.

May: get back to you whether i can join you gals for the wine tasting. if not, i may just tag on to your order if the price is right since i know nothing about wine. must ask FH first. he overseas again. so sick. so many things to do but work work and work is all he thinks about. got a little upset with him recently. wonder wedding more important or work. his answer always wedding
but he will say need to work too right!

Maya: quilt cover only with 2 pillow cases can? if can, John little, robinsons and aussino sells.