(2003) Brides of year 2003

are

leo29... my boss not in today mah. ;P but i make sure i log out everytime i finish a msg lor. anyways, i will say its my lunch time wat. ;P the plastic cover thingy is only on top of a 'corridor' we hv, so the rest of the living is w down lights oni.

min

Meow and are,

Thanks. The banquet coordinator did gave me a list of songs to choose. Dun know how to choose cos never really know what are those songs. Maybe like what are says, leave it to them. They should have experience and the songs they play should be alright. Maybe I just look for march in song. Rest of background songs, use theirs.

meow,
what is your quotation like? Mind to share with me. Email me? You doing walk in wardrobe? I tot of doing as I've always like.

I was so mad during the weekends when I visited ny flat to check as HDB called to say thay have done the defects. To my shock, the walls of my corridor outside my house are all pictures and vugular languages. My unit is the last unit and at the corner near the staircase. Heard from my neighbours that some teenagers came to play and draw on the walls since the unit is vacant. My neighbour saw it and reported police. police came and gave them warning. They not haapy, scold my neighbour. I call Town council to complain, don't know if they will paint it for us. I was so affected cos the unit new and those kids came and draw on it.

Anyway, my FH found that the defects not properly mended. Do you think can ask them to come again?

leo29

My hubby took photos of me trying on 2 gowns, 1xEG and 1xWG(But for my EG design) during my first appt. Anyone want to see? Acutually by looking at the photos, the front opening is still Ok hor but anyway I have shorten it to the same length as the WG i try on.

Oh ya, how many inch high heel you gals intend to wear? My designer suggest 5 inch but worry lei. Hahaha...., afraid I fall down during the march in. My ideal is 4 inch. Had anyone bought their shoe already? It's time for us to look for shoe liao.

leo29

Min,

Must ask them to do until it's ok. This is their contactor fault. If you can, try to be around when the contractor is there so they don dare anyhow do.

besse

Wah.. so happening on a Monday am! keke

Meow

Thanks thanks.. will go El-Fa and visit them.. sounded like a v nice ID who is responsible and makes the effort. Hmm.. check with you.. wat will be a reasonable payment terms for reno?? how many times is the payment split into? what are the milestones and what is the percantage you prep to pay each time?

As for the rings, Tiff is S$1000 each for platinum band, almost same as LeeHwa in house leh.. That's why considering..

Sweetie

Outdoor shoot oni nia ar? hmm... not bad an idea, but hv to mk sure photographer pro enuff to capture the lightings

Leo Leo

Aww.. Sayang, lucky hubby make back hor?! Keke.. yeah lor, we play 50cnt 1 dollar, damn ex! hmm.. for the last week we played, one guy won $600, i won $50 plus, so one guy lost S$500 and the other lost S$150.. siong leh..

MJ Kaki

I in the midst of planning for my place now.. next time ready - Sept, i invite you all ok?!
Also dowan play so big, the most 30-60 round up .. ONZ??

Hee. bf give up on me, cos i state my mj requirements to ID when planning for study.. ;)

Are

Hee.. good thing boss not ard hor!! but careful of your bad bad colleagues!!

Min

Can ask Town Council repaint one. Last time someone scribbled on the wall outside my mom's plc.. and we called police, and get town council come paint FOC..

And with regards to defects, bug the HDB until the come and correct all defects according to you approval.. why not? you are afterall a paying customer..

feb

Hi Leo

I also want to see your nice nice photos..Please send me at [email protected].

I have not source for my wedding shoes yet leh...So envy you can wear so high one..My designer say I can only look for 2 .5 inch cos i tall enough liao...

jazz

Gals, how's everything with you? I believed some May brides will be really busy this week and next as we've got quite a number of brides getting married next Sat (3rd May).

Shook, I gave up on them. The only thing I can do is to postphone my flight, but the maximum that I can postphone is end of June. But looking at the situation of SARS in Hongkong and Canada, I recon it'll take a few more months for it to fully controllable. So the only thing I can do is just sit and wait, and consider my tickets gone.

May, I din know that the steward on CX came down with SARS. Thanks for the information! I was trying to figure out over the weekend how I'm going to complain to the CX management in Singapore on their service and the status of my flight.

Pausini, gosh, you must be really stressed out! Your wedding will be just round the corner right? Sorry to hear about your FH.

Maya, don't worry, I'll still be around.
May's right, we still have the catching up to share our photo albums after the wedding.

May Day, good to hear that you've found your photographer!

shook

Hihi May
Can't agree more. Guo da li stuff v x. And, some of the things might not b useful to us. Xi stickers oso not cheap.
I got it wrong, My pipe is PU. Today, the carpenter gets another plumber to repair for us. My parents jargar 4 me. Of coz i m not paying the plumber. Gd thing the boss is quite responsible. He pays for it including the tile which the worker dug out.

Hihi Pausini
I brought my wrist corsage to White Link to show the staff there. They suggested I use super glue to secure the flowers n the ribbon tog. I can't sew the flowers as there r 3 different types. I gotta tie them tog. I too ambiguous. Followed the flower seller's recommendation n bought these small flowers which is too difficult for 1st timer.
Agree wif u dat May is sensible. M flattered by your praise

Sure your help is still in time. My hubby stops doing montage @ the moment. He is v busy wif work now.

Hihi Meekoo
I still haven't settle my gold pc yet. My MIL gave my hubby $ n let us buy watever we want. Dunno to get si dian jin or 2 bangles.

kare2711

Shook
Yah I'm going to Europe. But now after hearing May said that a CX steward is down with SARS, I'm quite afraid. Sigh, sigh!! The thing is .. CX has to transit in HK before going to Europe. And looking from things, the flight these few days (CX716) has been cancelled. I really don't know what to expect.

My heart is beating fast as I read this thread. Our wedding is getting so near. Last night, I just went for my food tasting. Good! I have yet to collect my cards and have not even got them printed. I'm so slow on my end. Last to do everything here I guess.

My Guo Dali will be on 10th May.

I'm seriously beginning to feel panicky now as the date draws near. So little time and yet, like, still lots of things left undone. What's more, the SARS is a hanging predicament, so unpredictable.

Pausini
How did your Guodali go?

May
Yah when this month ends, and by the time we finally settle down after our wedding, I think it would be July before we get to really have a gathering.

Anyone has any good and cheap videograher? This is another area which I'm in need of. I can't find a cheap one! They're all charging so much.

jus

Hi Amerline,

No worries,
That's how I first met up with them as well... ; )

I met you once at TC
we have recognised each other (I hope my memory would not fail me!!! hahaha)

kopibean

Hi leo,

Can I see your wedding pictures too?
Pls email to [email protected]

I have bought my wedding shoes just last sat.
My designer suggest me to buy 3inch.
I bought my shoes at Riccino. THink is 'love at first sight'.
I been to OG, Metro, Takashimaya,Isetan and Tangs but in the end went back to Riccino to buy tat pair of shoes I like. It is kinda xpensive, at $99. Even my hubby tink tat pair of shoes at Riccino is the most beautiful on me. In the end, he pay tat pair of shoes for me when I told him I want to pay it myself.Perhaps I shd say if you really like a pair of shoes whether it is cheap or Xpensive, if it look nice to you. You shd buy it even though you might wear once in your lifetime...hee

vin

Hi Kare,

I bought my eurail pass with Travelex Pte Ltd @ the Singapore Land Tower. Address is 50 Raffles Place, A/B Singapore Land Tower #01-27. Tel : +65 6535 0111. You can look fr Anna, she's very helpful...

are

besse... i'll be careful. but can't help it leh, hand itchy want to tok to you gals! ;P hehehe... also cos no mood to work lah... ;P

leo29... share share leh... ;P actually i oso took pics last time. but the polaroid din turn out v nice, so can't see the designs on the gowns, oni the outline. maybe next time meet up can show you gals, but provided the polaroid haven't faded by then!

i might not be buying shoes. thinking of using my ROM pair as i can't wear high heels v often, so buy already wasted lor. will see how the effect during PS.

one qn to ask all... wat do they normal use for bridal car decor har? i tot i always see organza, but the florist i asked say no gd cos easy to break, advise me to use net instead leh...

chicory

Hi Naturally & Oreo,

Yes, i have signed up with Jawn. I like ballgowns cuz' they look so princessy and grand
. Your fren's gown sounds really sweet but i am thinking of simple details so that i won't look too overwhelmed. My husband is much taller than me so i must wear at least 3 inch heels too. I am hoping to wear back my silver ROM strappy heels. Still thinking whether to get a covered white heels or not. Naturally, still got time to get your FH to tone up his muscles

meow

Min,
You can try asking them to do it again, but they will drag and drag. So bad, those kids huh...it really a headache then for you. Will you be doing plenty of carpentry? Mine has alot, so price is steep too. If lesser carpentry, it'll be cheaper. I didn't have a walkin wardrobe,more to open type.
Which one quote you wanna see? I only have 2(El-fa and Lourve) that's type out.

Wow, at least you got the list, mine restaurant not so good. Even the first dish they use Kiatro. Its very old lor...so i choose myself. You wanna share your list with me? Maybe you can email me too.

Leo29,
Will wait for your invitation hor.
I think you broadcast to everyone better. Photos sure got ppl want to see.

Besse,
Then you may need to decide on the feelings and design. Which one makes you more wanting it? Tiffany or Lee Hwa?

wat will be a reasonable payment terms for reno?? That depends on your requirement. You can go to many but give the same thing and you should know what to expect.

how many times is the payment split into? Think they have a breakdown, first payment only 20% i guess. Not very sure. I ask hubby then let you know again.
what are the milestones and what is the percantage you prep to pay each time? Dun understand???

Kopibean, you may want to pay a small amount to your hubby? There's a belief that if your hubby buy shoes, the person may tend to "run" away. Better be safe than sorry.

kopibean

hi meow,

thanks for the advise. I also heard of this belief too. Think I will pay him a small sum of $ since I am also superstitious lah..hee

besse

Kopibean

yeah.. 20 cents.. hiaks!

Meow..

Err, i mean the payment for the renovation works..

Milestones & Percentage - like
upon signing - 20%,
starting work - 40%
Starting of carpentry installation - 30%
completion & handover - 10%

Something like that.. just wondering wat is the typical percentage 2 pay at each stage .. hmm

Are

Yeah lor, muz be v careful.

pausini

Hi Jazz: Thanks... no choice with the pay cut. got job better than none.

shook: dun mention, do show us ur montage after ur wedding.

kare: My mum very funny on the GDL day. a day b4 she and my youngest sister is busy wrapping up the towels, slippers, pyjamas etc using a gift wrapper. Cos all the things are every big items. She have hard time doing it, she said she very chicken and duck legs... So my sister help her with it. after she got all the things wrap for me and my hubby she place them in all the buckets. On the actual day she forgot abt the tea set and the two lamps. She only get to remember after my FH left i ask her did she place the tea set. haha....

My MIL get a person to write an official invitation to my mum and one card cos her $3.

So girls remember to ask ur hubby to give an official invitation with card stating to invite ur parents. This is a must else is a disrespeat to the girl's side. No pan Tang but is a tradition... i think must follow one.

Kare; there is one videographer cost only $550. he is doing freelance. DO u want to try him.
Derrick - $550
his number is 9-741-0030
I heard of good comment abt him. too bad my FH feel is a waste of money else i wld also like to have one.

may

Hi Shook, Pausini: hey thanks for yr comments. I on cloud nine liao.

pausini: the travel industry is really badly hit. I have also heard another case where the travel company also cut pay and forced them to work 4 day week. maybe it is coz of this that ur hubby is unwilling to increase any more tables for dinner. It is understandable w a new job and no pay cut - that is alot of uncertainty.

I will be cutting back the number of my tables too. Decided not to invite so many people in the end - just in case there are no show.

Ya how did your GDL go? I am doing the GDL and an chuang on the same day - May 1st. For the groom side, who needs to come along? MIL says she dont have to go only my SIL.

Shook: glad to know that your pipe is fixed and also good that u dont have to pay.

Jazz, Kare: the CX steward down w sars served the flight from Sin to HK. CX didnt release the names of the passenger on board the plane but the last i read, they were contacting the xxx number of passengers on board the flight to ask them to quarantine themselves.

Kare: i cnat help w the videographer...not planning to have one. Think u shld quickly collect yr cards and have them printed ready to distribute. I tot i was late already. But then we still have not started to pen the names for the card. I just gave it to my parents so that they can write the names of the relatives.

naturally

Heehee! Tone muscles? Think he has to "grow" some muscles first, heehehehe!

Chicory, go and get a pair of covered-toe heels, they are a must with ballgowns! Need not be white, silver colour shoes also goes well with most gowns. Jawn's gowns are so princessy!

ha, we all have silver ROM strappy heels huh?
U can wear yours with your EG?

pausini

May: U are right, but the increase of table is before he got the news. good lah we didnt increase. my mum have 7 seats for me so i just play with it.

My GDL is ook.. wat u want to know leh???? hee hee.. every thing fine lor... my MIL give 12 cans of pig trouter and my mum keep 6. She ask keep 8 return 4 doesnt sound nice so end up she only take half. well all the standard items lor.. nothing much....

I went to Mustafa to get my bedsheet. polyster satin for king at $39. then an Aussino Quilt cover. *sigh* could fine any nice bedsheet we really like at robinson else got discount and can use vouchor. we got a gold bedsheet + 2 pillows + 2 bloster cover from mustafa center. and get a red quilt cover to go with it...

i havent settle my song... *ahhhhhhhhhhh*

leo29

Besse,

Ok, we will wait for your hse to be ready then. Ya, 30-60 round up just nice. Gals play $0.50-1.0 too big lah, like gambler. I got no choice becos my mj kaki are all guys. You email address super unique lei!

Meow,

Your first sentence posting is for me meh? To Are, right? Post to everyone, don't wan lah. Wait those long time never come in or don't know me one tot 'who is this women sending her photos to me'.
You got the shoe theory also ha! Me also practise this. Not only shoe, perfume also.

Kopibean,

Mine is not wedding photos. Just photos of gown that I try on during my visit to my bridal shop during the confirming of my gown design.

Will email the photos to you all after i log out.

wendyl

Thinking to cancel off my outdoor Ps if it rains at the afternoon,cos have to pay again if we schedule another day.
What about u all leh?

Wendy

oreo

Hi Naturally,

Har? Need closed toe heels for ballgown? Mine's a open toe :p I think i feel more comfortable with open toe. Won't get blisters.. kekee...

Hi Wendyl

I really hope it won;t rain on my PS day, else really sao xing

But then if touchwood, really rain heavily, then guess got to settle with only indoor ps or maybe another place outdoors but sheltered??

besse

Leo LEo

ONZ! hehe.. meantime when my hse is yet ready, can we crash in to play at your hse? ;) *giggles*

Err.. my mail unique hor! hehe.. cos me sinful and notti mah! ;)

Meow

Ok dokie.. thanks!

may

Pausini: wow, so kim kim (gold). I bought a red bedsheet long time ago. But hubby refuse to let me buy a red quilt cover. SO my red bedsheet dunno go with what color quilt man.
u go all the way to mustafa to buy..

i have not settle my songs too. i think i am takibg the jap song First Love as second march in. and one of the winter sonata think it is call MOMENT instrumental as the first march in. But have no idea what to play for first dish.

sweets

Hi Shanice,

I was on the stepper and you were in the weights section right ? wah...you really really slim leh...!!! wow!

Priv,
My FH also told me today he may not be able to return for our PS scheduled end of this month as China had just announced the cancellation of the week long Labor day public holiday. Hence, I've to do the food tasting etc myself....

Yes, prayer is really required now for all of us..

may

Shook: my hubby called star cellar and they do consignment. Alan was suggesting that we take 3 cases of wine for the size of our wedding. But now that i am reducing tables...i still insist on 2 cases. Anyway, wine tasting is allowed. And he says there are wine for our budget of S$ 15-20.
I am thinking of going down one of this day to tast the wine. u want to go? perhaps we can get better price if we go together.

Jan: u wanna come too? The place is at Stamford Court.

Pausini: did you stick the xi sticker on each of the can of pig trotters? where did you go and buy the cans anyway. i was thinking of buying it at Giant.

From the groom side, we went with your FH to your hse to the GDL?

are

hmm... then maybe mj will be @ my hse first? me trying to do my housewarmingsssss in july, before the lunar 7th mth. but not sure if can get everything ready, will let you all know the gd news! ;P

p/s... 1st time mj muz let host of the hse win one hor? ;P

chicory

Hi Naturally & Oreo,

Really must get toe-closed heels? Then i must start looking around. Naturally, how much did you pay for your custom-made ones? Oreo, if you don't wear stockings, the trick which i learn from my fren is to apply moisturiser on the areas prone to blisters and it works!

Hi Wendyl,
Do we pay the photographer also if we schedule another day for the outdoor shoot due to heavy rain in the afternoon? I understand that we need to pay the make-up artist. I hope the photographer will not charge extra cuz' i much prefer outdoor ps to indoor ps. I will be real upset if i can't take any greenery pics
. What if the rain starts in the morning and you want to cancel the shoot altogether, do you still need to pay extra? Are there any photographers who doesn't charge extra?

naturally

Oreo,
hmm... the close toe shoes will complete the whole grand look lor, but then if u are quite sure your shoes (and your toes) won't show under the big can can skirt, then i guess it's okay. Yeah, comfort is another factor!

Wendy,
It's up to u!

Hey, gals, ever thot of having rain as backdrop? Just watching the rain, and sharing a cup of coffee with the man u love... hehe, i thot that's pretty romantic... provided we stay dry lah! And if the rain isn't heavy, can head out to the streets sharing an umbrella, that's also very beautiful!

amerline

hi jus,

yuppz, all depend on u already

hi serene,

dropped u my contact already. i shall wait at Tokyo-Sin coz i working at Suntec, lazy to walk to MRT

20541.gif

maya

Pausini, I don't have videographer too, $$ very tight lah. So only photography.....WHat's this abt invitation to your mom? WHo wrote it and why $3??

ANyone knows where I can buy just quilt cover only? I don't want the whole set bec I got the bedsheet sets alrady but the bedsheets sets (given to me) don't have quilt cover and I find that hard to find places where they sell only the cover.

naturally

Chicory,
It's $135 at Ram's Shop (after 10% discount from my-marriage.com membership card), will be collecting them tomorrow, let u know later if the workmanship is good, okie? I think i will dye the shoe black after my wedding, so still can wear, not so sayang...

cinder

I am new to this thread...
i will be having my wedding in June as well.

Kind of same situation as you all as some start saying abt the SARS n banquet thing.
really scare the attendance to be low

kare2711

Pausini
Thanks for the rec on the videographer. That's a good price! Will call him and see his works. Thanks!!

Thanks for the advice on the invitation card to my parents. Didn't know got so many 'lei'.

Vin
Thanks! I'll call pretty soon! But sigh, now after hearing about the CX steward situation, I really don't know what to do.

May
Thanks! Trying very hard now. Will try to get the cards printed by this week or latest, early next week. *crossing my fingers*

priviledged

Hi Cinder, welcome to the thread. I think we have to be mentally prepared for a lower than usual attendance. All of us MUST try very hard to look forward to the wedding. It is one of the most important days of our lives. Let's encourage one another. Even if the attendance is 'low' let's celebrate the occasion
as if it's just our hubbys and us alone!

Sweets, so sad
your FH can't come back. My uncle from Australia who had already booked his tickets to come says he has to cancel because of the travel advisory issued against Singapore. I guess my overseas guests can't come. Yes, we must pray continuously, and believe that God is faithful.

cin

Is it true that on the wedding day, our bedsheets for the new bed must be red? My mother insists that we buy sheets in red...but i think quite obiang leh...

Hi Cinder,
Yup, most of us have the same worry as you. But i think most of us here in this thread are going ahead with the wedding, and are going to do our rsvp checks very often. When is your ROM btw? Mine is in May...also kenna affected cause they now limit number of family and friends of each couple to eight people only.

leo29

Besse,

Can no problems! But my hse small lei, very cramp. Here got many mj kaki lei, my hse cannot cater them lah. 4-6 pax, ok. Ya ya, can tell you are a notti gal. Must settle down loh, you soon be a married women.

Sunnyling,

You mixed up liao! My hse was already done early last year. Besse’s hse is the one that will be ready by sept.

Are,

I know you mention that earlier but pai she to tell Besse mah. Wait you said I KPO.
Got this type of law meh, 1st time must let owner win. You frighten all the mj kaki, kekeke!

Wedsoon,

Don’t dare to send photos to you liao lah. Afraid to disappoint you. I not pretty.

besse

Are

Okok.. i pray pray everyday your house ready soon! keke.. btw, where's your love nest ar? ;)

Err.. got such house rulez ar? hmm.. nevermind.. if i win oledy, will treat you all suppper ;) HIaks

Leo

POOOOI.. say i notti. *sulk*

Anyway, no prob, we can cater to a gals mj oni! ;) hehhe.. ban your hubby and his frens ;)

Yeah.. this Sunday me hv a Mj session..

leo29

Those who request the photos, already sent liao.

Wedsoon,

Not only not pretty, old auntie somemore, hahaha...... Sent to you liao!

taddess

Getting my cards on Wed, so when is the time to give out the invitation cards??? Thought of buying the gold coloured pen to write down the names of people. Hehehe. Have anyone written them yet?

sweets

Cin...

hmm...u reminded me...now we must do submission of intention to marry via computer ...

hmmm....

Hi Cinder...
welcome