(2003) Brides of year 2003

shirlynn

Hi Wen,

I think it should be okay... When we went sourcing for rings the last time, the shop people says that a lot of people also do that... for eg, the guy might not want to wear with the diamond, so he get a plain one whereas the girl wear one with..

wen

Hi Wedsoon,
I have previously booked him for 28 Sep and he said me sure will deliver my album before my wedding so i am sure u will also get yours in time for your wedding too so dont have to worry at all. I am now with Memphsis West.
Since u have found your photographer, I am hope you are working w your designer on your gown now. Who is your designer? And any particular design/style? I am waiting anxiously and looking forward to meet him next week to look at the design. Likely to be a bustier ball gown. u?

wen

Shirlynn,
Do u have anything design in mind? Like bustier, toga or spaghetti? Any particular neckline? Low back? I have some pitcures from TY website. Not sure if you like them. If you want, can send u.

may

Shook: my hubby is so lazy. I told him to go check out the wine place near his ofice - he still has not done it. ARghhhh.... So i still got no info for u. But i saw last sat at NTUC that they r selling Lindeman's wine for $13 ++ only..really cheap. I have heard of three thirsty travellers think Star Cellar is selling them for S$ 19. But i never drink b4.

Kare: I m sorri to hear abt your hubby's company. Discuss w him and c if your budget allows u to go somewhere nearby. It appears very likely tat i may b going to Bali for a short honeymoon and the end of the year to some where further. Hubby is very stubborn - and i have given up trying to convince him. But deep down inside me i really dont think we will be able to go for a second honeymoon at the end of the year. I am planning to start a family soon, how to travel when pregnant...SIGH..i also sian...

Jan: So u booked to go Canada? Good for you...how's your preparation? Think it is easier now that your FH is back hor? I have been trying to get hold of one my U friend. Send her email and sms her but no reply. Quite cheese off...i attended her wedding last dec and she knows tat i am getting married soon...dunno is she purposely avoiding me...i just cant stand it...if i cant get hold of her..shld i still send the invite to her house. I happen to have her address from another friend.

Gals, i have finally settled on my actual day photographer...so happy. I have booked Barnabas from Photospace.

I am hoping to cut back 5 tables if the hotel allows. The contract states 30 tables. How shld i tell the hotel, worried that they dont agree. But really want to keep the group small coz everyone is so paranoid lately.

I have an idea, u know how boring it can be for our guests that arrive early to sit around and wait for the dinner to start. I was thinking of playing some MTV videos ...wouldnt that be interesting - got music and you can watch while waiting. The tough part is where to get the videos of nice songs to show??? Any idea?

leo29

Meow,

Don't hurt yourself! It's bad for you.When quarrel, think of what he had done for you and his good point, it will cool u down. Tell yourself "you are too much" if you are in the wrong, do give in and said sorry. Last time I used to quarrel with my hubby quite often also. I think it's quite common for young couple. Again, i will said that is a Guo Du Qi to test our relation, must be strong orh.

I was blur by polishing and coating. Which is which? White gold is coating and platinium is polishing? I know Platinium is better but we can see scratches very obviously after sometime. Why like that, the surface coating drop off?

pucca

erm, i've got a qn to ask

any of ur FH is cantonese n has an unmarried elder bro ? i need to know if its my FH or me suppose to get a pair of pants for him...

Cin,
heee ... both of us hv decided not to talk .. let the restaurant's emcees do everything ...

leo29

Wen,

It's ok to have different design but all this depend on you. I mean if you don't mind. There is wedding band having same design but gal ring have addition of diamond on it. I think my hubby is the only vain one here where he don't like plain ring. We came across a few lady ring that had pattern and guy ring is plain but he don't like it. End up he got one that had diamond on it, same design as me. At first I told him guy wear diamond look sissy but lucky the one we choose is quite manly, thick. Another word, I have to give in to have a thick ring.

totoro

My 2 buddies will be our mc..hi cin share the videography package leh..

so no one has any answers to the ang bao thingy izzit..die liao la

shirlynn

Wen,

I have gone for my 1st appt yet for my gowns... now really blur to do what first.. the auntie ask to get designs of what I like .. .

Would appreciate your help... but how are you going to send to me? via e-mail??

pucca

totoro,
1) i oso dunno how to ans tis qn .. im tinking of the following (hv not discussed with hubby yet)
- jiemeis,brothers,helpers ($10/$12/20) each, i guess
- kids who opens his door ($28)
- driver ($48)
- photographer, etc ($10/$20) i guess, since we've oredi paid them for their svces

2) i guess its @ the end then giv ba .. not sure .. hv to find out too

3) tis one i know ... all the jiemeis will follow whereever u go

4) for me, i will wear WG when hubby come to my place to fetch me ... as for when to change into tea dress.. sometimes the photographer will instruct u .. otherwise you can change change into ur tea dress for the tea ceremony @ ur hubby's place or b4 u go back for tea ceremony @ ur mummy's place

hope tis helps ;)

meow

Wen,
Maybe you can try asking them to do it for you free since you only wear it on for 2 weeks.
Actually tarnish isn't the word to use, its only use on silver.
As for the wedding band agree with Shirlynn, that's what i told other couples and see some were doing. Jus try to get something similar like if your is gloss finish, then get his in gloss too but a plain one. Thou its still a plain one, dun ever think of getting a platinium for yourself and a sliver(dun wear it so often so buy cheap one
) for him ok? Anyway, talking about silver, never get diamond set in silver. Its very soft and tarnish that's makes the ring or accessories very cheap lor. Somemore the dia may drop off too. That's why most dia are set in pound gold(20k/850) instead.

Leo29,
Polishing is also know as coating. Both white gold and platinium will be coated on another layer. After that it will be buff till it shines. Get it now?

Scratches for both type is very common. Depends how you take care of it. My ring have more scratches as compare to my hubby one. Maybe i should let you know how its done.

Ok, a prototype of the ring(with design) is made. Then from there, they make a rubber mould(duplicate in future). Once this mould is complete, they pour melted gold(either platinium or yellow gold) in to the mould. After hours, the gold harden and the mould is cut to remove the ring. From there, they will do the polishing/coating onto the ring. If the ring is to be matt finish. It will go throu another process that's sandblasted on to make them matt. If a desire is to be gloss, they'll use tape to cover it before sandblast it. Tada...a ring is complete. Wow! Long story huh?

Matt finish in turn will turn to blur gloss since its only a layer of sandblast(maybe not totally blur but partial). Gloss also will turn blur gloss but not as obvious as matt. So which is better, you decide.

White gold(750/18k) 75% yellow gold + other contents(silver, palladium...) so base colour is yellow. Platinium(PT900/1000), jus use platinium + other contents(palladium...) so base colour is metal so its silver. Not obvious when layer fade off.

mat

Hi Meow...

You sell ring issit? Or you are a ring maker???
Very detail and technical...impressive

Hi I think Shirlynn also sell ring right? BIGGER RING.

shirlynn

BTW, one of my colleague ' auntie is selling diamond jewelleries, she say can give discount... if anyone looking at diamonds for their dowry ... I can ask her ...

totoro

wow..u mean have to give the driver so much $$ ah..we paying like $380 liao leh..huh..

how abt the makeup artist and then the mcees ??

leo29

Meow,

Understand! Thank you madam, salute! Hahaha! No wonder my matt platinium ring turn to gloss after sometimes. But hor..., even with the recoat also cannot last long, it turn gloss again after a few mths. So angry! Now I don't wear that ring.

amerline

hi cookie,

thanks for the quotes! i will contact them to check out if they are available.

pooh

here are my list

1)Jie Mei $20
2)Siong Di $20
3)Sword Barriers $20
4)Driver $20
5)Relative kids $6
6)Granny $20
7)Parents $12
8)Photographer $20
9)Videographer $20
10)MakeUp Artist $20
11)Open Car door $28
12)Mcee $20

The price not confirm yet have to discuss with my hubby.

I wear my WG to my hubby place and have the tea ceremony will my WG. Then change to my tea dress to my granny place for tea ceremony. Planning to wear my WG for so outdoor shooting also.

This is my planning but congirm yet.

wen

Hi Shirlynn, Leo29 n Meow
What about a totally different design? I like Bvl wedding band with diamond going round it but the closest to match is Bvl 3 bands. But the 3 bands ring is very thick and hubby will not like it. So thinking of getting a plain ring for him instead. Even if I choose the same finishing also not very matching, right? Must get something cheaper for him as he had lost his previous ring, the one that we use for ROM. *big headache*

wen

Meow,
Thanks for all the info on white gold & platinum. Very informative!
Tarnish after two weeks of wearing but now more than 6 months already. But will still go back to them and see what they can do for me. If I want to re-set it in platinum, any idea how much will it be? Is it true that it is difficult to set solitaire in platinum? Salesperson told me if I use platinum to set the diamond the way I want, it might fall off, true? My solitaire is 6 claws bending/slant outwards.

oreo

Hi Wendyl,

My wedding is near end Oct

Hi naturally,

Yah, my heels are the broader type, but hor, not too broad either.. kekeek... yah, i saw photos in which brides wearing sports shoes on beach. Won't it be very inconvenient, changing shoes now and then?

Ok, will take note
Any recommendations for press powder and makeup remover?

feb

Wow..One day never log in here and so many comments huh...So envy of u all...so eng can always log in here everyday...Hee Hee

Hi wen

Muchas rental package is $160 for one set of clip on earrings which is a must, and choose two of the following : necklaces/chokers, bracelets or tiara. The rental period is only for three days lor. I have already selected one set for my PS and I see how first.If it turns out well, i will also rent it for my actual day. Maybe if you want you can go down to the shop and have a look. I personally feel tat their jewellery is lovely.

pucca

totoro,
for my case, i did not use bridal shop's car .. im using my uncle's and either my cousin or my hubby's fren will be driving .. hv to subsidize a bit for the petrol oso ;)

for the makeup artist n emcees (dun hv as using restuarant's), ive included in the photographer's ang pao range lah ..

i dunno wat other ang paos i must giv .. these are the major ones i can tink of so far

when's ur guo da li? both sides of ur parents mentioned anything they wan from each other??

pooh

my hubby parents will be going my hse on end of the mth or early next mth to discuss the items my granny wans.

Still be having my Guo Da Li on end May or early June. Might be on 1st June lor.

shirlynn

Hi Wen,

Has your hubbby seen the ring yet?? Maybe he will like it?? If not then let me choose himself lor... but try to get something similar so that one will not see the difference straight off.

Like my MIL, she insist that both of us have the same design...

meow

Mat,
i used to sell gold in a reputable company. But that's the past but we are thought the basic and fundaments of the products. That's what they call product knowledge and it a form to show your professionalism

Wen,
I disagree with you. A plain and simple ring can match any ring, even the most complicated design. But not to elaborate kind. I believe the bvl set is the diamond set with gold surround it right? Correct me if i'm wrong. You got the design of that ring? Wanna tell/show me so i can give some comments?
As for the setting it into platinium, i disagree again. OK, if you step into a jewellery shop, most of the products with solitaire are in white gold. You dun see much with platinium, maybe 1 in 10 rings. I still find it possible to set it in platinium unless they can't do it. I had my rings(one casual and proposal rings in platinium), one custom made and the other from the showcase. The dia to fall off will depend on the design you choose and their workmanship maybe luck too also how you handle it. During the months there, i did 1 customer bring his ring without dia and some are loose when they bring their items for servicing(wash). We inform them and let them know first before they say we spoilt it.haha

Cost will depends. They have a formulae for it. Will cost about $550-700, if i'm not wrong. Can really gurantee it. Claw setting to me is still the best and beautiful. If its 2 claw, then i say it may drop off. But a 6 claw?? hard lah. Mine 3 claw and the other 4 claw. You can see it from my photos that have my proposal ring in there.

paulin

alo..........gals.......i am a new gal in tis room...mine is on 31st dec....=)

but can check on the photographer.....anyone heard of Jacye Goh??
i am still ooking for my wedding day photographer but i donot hav a high budget.....as renovation is around the corner..... =)
help help...........thanks a lot.....

shirlynn

Meow Meow,

You really sound professional... if one day need to buy diamond ring must ask you along to choose..

cin

Hi Totoro,

Sorry, me blur, what you mean by share video package? as in you want to know the details? you can check their website at www. treasureproductions . com.

Look under services. Ours is the Golden Jubilee package plus express highlights.

Our guo da li is supposed to be on May 18. But FH has to go reservist on May 15, so now dunno how. MIL says he has to be present, but you know army one lah, cannot anyhow postpone one... so now trying to find another auspicious day lor...

I also don't know what is necessary for guo da li..i heard must buy dragon phoenix candle, and some oil lamp right? think leave it to the parents better...

pucca

beibei,
hv you bought the stuff for guo da li yet? like u i'm suppose to go last wk, but last min , my mum say too early to buy

cin,
yea, i oso know must buy oil lamp n the candles.. my mum say the bedroom stuff settled by the bride's side .. we got to buy pillows + bolsters, bedsheet, oil lamps ...eh .. tts all i know so far .. :p

soyabean

wow... u all seems to be doing a lot of things for guo da li... for me, still quite unsure of what to buy cos both parents oso not experienced in this....

think mine will be a very simple one...

Pucca: it will be you who buy the pants for your FH's bro. but usu will jus give ang pow cos u wldnt know his taste and size.

totoro

Ya..mine too..our parents have not met up yet and they also very inexperience..anyone can share..i am a Hokkien and my FH is a Teochew..

so what are the neceesary things

soyabean

totoro...
quite cham hor? hehe....

me nt sure whether ur case... for me, i m a cantonese and FH a hokkien.

did u gals watch tis channel 8 documentary a couple of sundays ago on Marriage customs? it was quite interesting and it mks me look forwrd to my wedding. :p

totoro

ya lor...

everything also dunno..hahaha..i just hope there will be no roasted pig lah..and all the nonsense means more $$ liao..really broke

pucca

thanks soyabean ! when will u be viewing ur pix?

totoro,
erm i know for sure u shd hv si dian jin given by ur hubby... the rest i'm not too sure, i guess you hv to ask ur mum to find out from ur aunties

pucca

soyabean,
i did watched tt .. then my mum asked me to as my PILs to an chuang for us .. but hubby say we DIY which was agreed upon before the show comes up

totoro,
i tot only cantonese brides have roasted pig?

wen

Hi Feb
Thanks for the info. I also like their jewellery. Will go n take a look after i have confirmed the design for my gown. Do I need to make appointment before going?

Hi Shirlynn
Have not shown him yet. He is not that keen.

Hi Meow,
Email sent. What do u think?

totoro

heehee..can request for $$ instead of the si dian jin...

really ah pucca, not sure leh..

i never watch the show..sigh...

so chim ah!

soyabean

pucca.... bridal hvnt call me up yet... shld be next week go select foto.

i thot the newlyweds not suppose to "see" the an chuang process?

oh yeah... i know my inlaws suppose to buy my parents 2 bottles of liqour and my parents return favour by giving 2 bottles of orange juice, those F&N kind.

then i tink i hv to buy shoes for his bro and dad and some other relatives... puzzling cos i thot oni buy for bro in law and dad... but nvm, most prob i gv angpow cos shoes are very personal stuff.

maya

Hi Kare, o dear, things must be tough for your FH. Not sure if pressing to go on honeymoon at this pt is ok at this pt. He probly has bigger things to worry abt and having to spend more money may not be what he wants to do rite now. SO you may want to broach the subject carefully.

naturally

heehee, 1027 (your nick has a mysterious feel, like a secret agent!), no prob for the gate crashing, who knows if i will gate crash into the oct thread one day?

Before u go, Oreo, abt your qn on press powder and makeup remover, u can try out the textures and colours at the cosmetics counter, sorry, can't offer much recommendations, cos i'm also looking for the ideal product myself... for makeup remover, can try loreal, cheap and good.

naturally

Hiya Paulin!

Wat kind of budget are u looking at? O studio's actual day package (they have a new branch now called W Studio) costs abt $580 for 8 rolls, if i'm not wrong, yew kwang's price is abt the same? I may be taking KC from greymatters at $800 (his cheapest package, if u want bigger size albums, will cost more). Some of the gals here will be taking Sok Eng from berryhappy photography, think her package is abt $1K+. A fren recommended Triston Yeo, who took for Zoe Tay and will be taking for Andrea De Cruz, packages at $1.1K and $1.6K.

U doing up your new house too? So where will u be staying? I'll be at P21.