(2003) Brides of year 2003

pucca

taddess,
the samples i brought back are not included in my albums n they are not so jialat to be labelled as rejected .. so actually i bargained from them to giv me these after i top up for the pix in the album.

i've tried asking the shop tt i went regularly to develop photos .. for these photos, she quoted me $1.50 for each color one... @ 3R ... coz of the film used ... rather expensive .. so still tinking whether to develop those i've taken back or not .. :D

gd idea to give photos too ..

enya

i bought the slip one, covered toes one. i think covered toe shoes look more elegant on me, and it's pretty comfortable. moreover, has swarovski crystals, which really sparkles .. not those fake diamante which i think u polish 100 times also wun sparkle..maybe drop off .. hahahaha i spent around 60 bucks ...
u can get these at OG or metro .. 20% off at OG somemore!

my friends advised me against MTM shoes, cos it doesn't mean MTM shoes are going to be damn comfy and beautiful,its better to buy what-u-see-is-what-u-get ...

not worth spending 170+ on a pair which is super high and WHITE .. alamak, wear once, fall down and trip down, and u never want to wear it again!?!?

stressed

Yah! I was quite stressed. But now ok coz I know as much as I do now, later oso kenna "bomb" wif this and dat. So why stress now, can later stress rite? Hee hee
. I'm a Flamingo bride and my big day is 18th Oct at the Raffles Hotel. How about everbody else? SO happy to finally find "same month brides"!!!

taddess

wow....$1.50 for 3R? Robbing in broad daylight. Yap thought it is a good idea hor but there are some people who are invited because of your parents...Do you think they would appreciate the photos...If they don't, then waste my money...wait they bring home to throw darts at...but don't think it is nice to segregate the guests right...this group of friends have...the other group of friends don't have

taddess

Hi pucca,

$1.50 for 3R is like robbing in broad daylight! So expensive! Anyway the thing about giving photos to my guests, thought it is quite nice but was afraid that some older folks invited by parents...I don't even know them...wait they take the photo and throw darts at it...:p Don't know whether it is allr ight to segregate my guests...one group of friends has this...the other group of guests doesn't have...

meow

Confirm location of meeting: Esplanade, Senses Western Fusion Restaurant (2nd Level)
Confirm date : 28/03/03
Time : 7.30pm
Attendance : Meow + hubby(?), Pris + hubby(?), Shirlynn + hubby(?),Besse, Are , Leo29, twinklets, Feb +
hubby(?), Jing jing + hubby(?), Akira, Serrich, Yve

Not attending - Wen, Sunnyling, Clyne, okeanosmao, DK, Amore, Ava, Min, Sunrise

Sorry, blur blur today.

poki

Hi stressed

Welcome Welcome!!

Dun worry. If u need any help or advices, just voice out. I'm sure all the octbrides will help.

naturally

wow, enya u got quite a good buy, swarovski crystals at only 60 bucks!
I'll go and try metro and OG also, but dunno whether my feet is weird or wat, i find it hard to find shoes that fit comfortably.... For MTM shoes, they will measure the arch of your feet so that the shoe fits nicely, so shd be very comfy wat? But same as MTM gowns, the risk of wat-u-want-is-not-wat-u-get is there lor...

Anyway, for those interested, i searched the yellowpages.com.sg and here are 5 places that custom-make shoes:

1. Leapin' Lizard Pte Ltd - 10 Anson Rd #01-57 International Plaza Singapore 079903
Tel: 6222 2783

2. Lee Hoi Wah - Blk 9 Jln Kukoh #03-73 Singapore 160009
Tel: 6345 2487

3. Ram's Shop 1996 - 304 Orchard Rd #B1-90 Lucky Plaza Singapore 238863
Tel: 6835 0190

4. Systemsel Pte Ltd - 160 Orchard Rd #01-14 Orchard Pt Singapore 238842
Tel: 6720 8401

5. Tat Ling Trading - Blk 292 Yishun St 22 #01-279 Singapore 760292
Tel: 6257 0233

priscilla

Hi Min,
Me also booked with Susan, you tell her you know me lar, you can remind her of me by saying that I went there to took my hubby graduation photos last year.
So what date she arrange for you to go for your 1st fitting and when is your photos shooting date?
But to tell you the truth that Susan very auntie one and she talks alot, that time me took my graduation photos and she say 1pm and she can talk and talk and delay my photo shooting timing to around nearly 3pm, cos that time she was trying to prusude me to sign up their bridal package, but just tell her to hurry and say you are in a hurry and she will not talk so much.

You all must turn up huh, don't fly kite with me huh, or else me no money to pay the restaurant.
So all must confirm huh...! So on that day all go and say my name under the reservation list, can liao.

jus

Hi stressed

what a coincidence
I am with Raffles Hotel as well!!!
your co-ordinator is Syarul?
when's your wedding date?

pam

Hi Mrs Quake,
Not too sure if Compass will be having deal packages during the Style Wedding bridal show. My guess is likely they will as they are one of the main companies hosting the show so like other bridal shows, that is when you can get good deals. A word of warning, dates which you want for the photoshoot may not be available.

shook

Hihi Jan
Seems like every country is not safe to visit now. Almost all Europe package tour go to London. Sigh.... Well, everything is fated. Singapore is also consider not a safe country to visit due to Sars. So dun worry lor.
Ya right, everything in Japan is very x.

Hihi May
I m referring to photos of your love nest.
I feel like choosing Calla Lily. I had tulip for ROM, can't remember wat flower was used 4 ps. But all depend on whether the flower of my choice is available or not.

Hihi Kare
Your WG looks better now, not so loose. The color of your bouquet is very strong but very nice. It really stands out. So sweet of your aunt.
I m quite surprised your bridal boutique let u have your actual day WG for outdoor ps. Normally bridal boutique dun let brides use their actual day WG for outdoor ps in case it is spoiled or dirty

flowee

ladies

yi

sorie 4 the late reply...
the current war situation is kinda of diff 2 predict when it will end...
hope tat it will end soon nt becoz of the holidazs trip we r lookin 4ward 2...
but its 4 the ppl who r sufferin due 2 the war...
especiali the soldiers n also the innocent lifes...

jady

i personali feel tat this aint the rite time 2 go anywhere...
every1 will give diff excuses 2 create havoc ard!!!

piper

nice 2 hv u here...
do drop by 2 chat as n when u r free!!!

taddess

u mean 2 intro???

wenn

guess on the HM venue can b onli confirmed when our dates r nearer...
its reali pointless ponderin over it nw coz we wont b able 2 forcast how long the war will last...

shanice

Hi Abrinas

my bridal shop is in JB, a place called Sentosa.. called Foto Campbell ('jin ma jiang' in Chinese).

Dun be so stressed up.. but easier said than done rite? me too... keke... after PS, abit lazy to do the wedding preps liao... haha.. cos PS is the most important part to me.. keke...

Shanice

stressed

Hi Jus,

My wedding day is 18th Oct. Met with another lady previously then she left. She ask me to contact Syarul. Hopefully, he doesn't resign oso.

enya

naturally: go check out OG and metro. i have huge broad feet, plus super clumsy syndrome .. hahahaha and these shoes are 2 and 1/2 inches high, comfortable soles .... cushioning like hush puppies. there are many nice designs with straps at the back, but too high heels, so i chose this silver pair which is slip on, covered toes, 2.5 inches ... most impt, affordable, nice sparkling crystals and designs, and comfortable!!

i think many ppl warned me about MTM shoes, doesn't necessarily mean nice and comfortable .. it could be just hype .. i checked out riccino at orchard point, all very high leh, min. 3 inches ... duhzzz

forget it, i dunwan to risk tumbling down the BALLROOM ... later trip and fall, with that huge gown, macham like FISHBALL!!!

min

hi, Pris,

Yap. She toks a lot lor. Fisrt time I went, she talk to my hubby non stop. But it's ok. Next day, decided to sign with them, she didn't tok as much as first time. Mayb first time she try tp persuade us.Should have bargain for more things cos blur blur when sign up. Now,came back and start to think, like lose out in lots of things.I oso didn't managed to get waiver on S$50 for transport on photoshooting day. Did she tell you who is the photographer? Is it Adrain? He looks friendly. My first fitting to try gown in May'03. If can't get OTR, then MTM. Susan says my size should be easy to find OTR. If I managed to find OTR, she will replace it with MTM evening gown or with additional photos.

Too bad, can't join you all on 28th. Hope we keep in contact and mayb we will be able to meet in J&M.

min

Hi, Pris,

Forgot to ask you if you think Susan is flexible.I've paid the deposit but do you think still can bargain? Have you tried before?

sandgirl72

hi enya
read yr posting to naturally.. i'm also looking for silver base strappy open toe shoe to match my ROM dress. thanks for yr recommendation will definitely give OG n Metro a check soon.

i oso cant wear too high a heel cos my FH around same ht as me...

ally

hi vivace... there is a spotlight outlet at dbs tampines (near the mrt) and another at the building next to centrepoint (i think it's called orchard building, not too sure). it's nearer cuppage side.

iris

Thanks for your input on shoes. Will definitely go around these places. I also afraid of pain with my big feet. Most probably find my wedding shoes soon and wear the same one for PS and for actual day so the shoes get seasoned
Freesia,
Video I might only do a photo montage or a so called MTV version which I think it look cute. Most of my relatives and friends will be around for the tea ceremony so got to do something different for them.

tingting

thanks for the tips gals! Used to think OG very old fashion, now I know it's a treasure trove for wedding shoes! will keep that in mind! I'm looking for something about 2-inches high...to minimise the risk of tripping, and that's the height i'm used to. Although my bf is some 9cm taller than me, but not sure whether i'll tower over him with my hairdo and all if i get higher heels...

btw, met up with sok eng a few days ago, and saw her portfolio..it was quite good actually, and i like the highlights album that she did up. It's not merely pictures slotted into an album, but she'll do touches up to the pictures like inserting smaller pictures within a 4R photo.. most of all i'm happy that she's easy-going about arrangements and timing. She highlighted to me that some journalistic photographers do not take "posey" photos, e.g. gg ard dinner tables kind, so better ask ur photographer that if u want it...

I'll just meet up with Yew Kwang to check out his portfolio, and will just choose bet the two...hopefully this will be the most easy decision-making out of the whole wedding preparations!

abrinas

Hi Shanice

Ah, also called jin ma jiang. Singapore has got a Golden Horses Award, chinese also same but english different.

Ah, PS important during that time but after that, a lot of things to be settled.

Exactly 13 weeks to actual day counting from today. Aiya, so many things hvn't do. Must buck up liao
Still hv to go to new hse today for final touch up, sianz liao

pooh

Hi taddess and Shanice,
did u receive my mails regarding the link of my photo?

Hi Pucca,
my bridal shop will also give me back the balance photo which i didnt choose but not the negative. But those i selected they wont give me back the photo lor.

Same as u i like quite a no of those i didnt select but due to budget cant have it in the album so bargin to have them back. I think beocs i top up quite alot for my additional pics that why i was give those balance pics.

When i get my album on 15 Apr then will share with u gals.

enya

i think shoes are very impt .. especially for clumsy people like me. don't want to go around tripping tables and over steps lar, stones lar .. in any case, the gown should be "big" enuf to cover the shoes, and shouldn't be very obvious anyway! yar, initially i tot OG and metro is very duhzzz .. but i think shoes selection there is not bad, in fact better than tangs and isetan ...

as for photographers, i think journalistic is just a term some photographers label themselves ... u can get a reasonably good photographer who can take pretty good non-posey fotos anyway. it's just a TERM man ... all that hype ... ultimately it boils down to his skills and the way he captures the moments!?? i think me myself also getting confused .. ahahhahahah

naturally

Enya,
Really? Cushioning like hush puppies? Like that can't ask for more liao!
Okie, will check out OG later.... btw, yesterday i went to JWest and Hue, got limited covered-toe shoes, and it's all POINTED ones.... can't imagine stuffing my poor feet in them for the WHOLE day, *Ouch!*

Oh, and side-track a bit, JWest is buying old shoes at $15-25 per pair... but i didn't ask for more details, quite paiseh for not buying, yet want to sell them my old stinko shoes!
Anyone knows the details?

I think i'm quite the opposite here... i'm looking for at least 3 inches, think i shd be okay since i wear heels all the time anyway, at most cling on to hubby lor!
Okie, will report once i find my cinderella shoe!!

enya

i cannot take too pointed shoes .. ahhahahaha with my big feet, later the seams burst at the sides .... macham like bao ba zhang .. ahahahahahha the one i got, has quite a comfy cushion at the soles ... not bad lar. for 60 over bucks, add crystals and small cushion, what can u ask for? design not bad, at least i think so!!!

abrinas

Hi pooh

so good u get those back but they r not willing to give me leh n I top up a lot also. Maybe i shd insist tt they give me back since i paid so much.

naturally

Yah lor, whether big feet or small feet, all feet sure suffer once u stuff them into the pointed shoes! I call them witches' shoes, heehee!

Y

yi

hi piper,

welcome to this thread.

hi wenn,

hubby and i been looking forward to our HM to Europe so gonna go down to Natas and see what they offers.

hi flowee,

my colleague got some brochures for me to take a look liao.
well like what you say, its difficult to predict when the war will end, so we gonna see how, but if hubby is ok to go even when war is on, i'm also for it coz everything is kinda of fated one.
unless our parents are against it. hehehe

agree with you that we want the war to end soon (not even want it to start) is because of the innocent lives of the people and soldiers.
imagine the soldiers' families waiting at home in fear everyday abt their loved ones' situation.
its so torturing!!!!!

pooh

Hi Abrinas,
i was just given back those pics that i didnt select. They also dun give me back negatives.

Actually i wan back all the photos back they say those i select the small album have already so they wont give me back as they will writes things at the back of those pics that i select.

Try talk to ur bridal shop see if they can give u back.

taddess

Hi pooh,

I saw the photos you send me! Did you see mine??? Any comments? Are those where you had taken in the park your ROM pictures??? Cause you look very different when you put on your gowns in the studio. I personally like you when you put your hair up better. Looks more elegant...and that wedding gown also looks more flattering. The other one doesn't look as nice...Hows the MTM gown you are making?

abrinas

Hi pooh

Ya lor, that's what they say 2. They only gave me back those tt i hv selected, not those i didnt select. Actually i want them to give me all back but they say cannot cos they want to keep as samples which i don't know what 4. Anyway, i just skin thick thick tell her in want another 5 which i did not select n i just take lor, don't care
When i collect my albums, must c if the 5 still there or not. U collecting on 15 April? Mine wld prob be 6/7 April.

jojok

Hi Ally,

I have settled quite a no. of issues like gown design, church, actual day photography, marriage preparation course etc... Looking forward to me Ist gown fitting mid of next mth. Me also need to lose weight, have been eating alot. Can't resist the temptation leh...

R u also a christian or catholic?

sweets

hehe, just came back from church camp in JB and quickly log on liao...
Thanks for the warm welcome back home..I'll be back for a few months and relocating to china after the wedding...

Shanice, your Tioman pix very nice....got more to see not ? u really so skinny...i really cannot tahan...somemore can wear bikini !! woo hoo!

Yvonne, your pix very nice too
very demure looking bride u are ... btw, what is OLPS ? I was trying to figure it out....grin grin

Guess my main goal now will be to jian fei...sian man...miss all the local delicacies and durian season coming soon!!!!1 argghhh!!!

any durian lovers out there ?

ally

hi jojok,

glad to see that all our preparations are on track
i know, i find it quite hard to resist the temptation of eating!
trying to cut down on carbo items like rice, noodles, pasta etc.

yup, i'm catholic. are u catholic too? i see u went for the marriage preparation course already. i'm rather tardy in that aspect. i'm just signing up for the EE weekend. it's booked solid all the way till august!
hope i can get the second weekend in august... guess i got only myself to blame for leaving it so late. btw, which church are u holding your wedding in?

pucca

I will be collecting or rather view the outcome of the album after 18 Apr as we are adding artwork to our album, according to my co-ordinator latest will be 1st May lor... so we are looking forward to the album collection date :D

abrinas,
Perhaps you can try bargaining with your bridal again for the pix lor .. for me .. i got the negatives back .. but developing it also quite ex leh .. of coz its much cheaper than the bridal shop lah ... heheh

2day is my cousin's wedding .. can't attend ... sigh~ ... coz its within 3 mths ...

pooh

Hi taddess,
i didnt see ur pics lei? Did u send to me?

U mean the one have the tree one is it? Thats is my outdoor one. Which is the wedding gown u doesnt like? The one look at 2pcs or the one i carry bear one?

Actually i prefer to let down my hair during dinner. And maybe tie up in the morning.

I havent MTM my gown yet. My Appt is next wkend.

Hi Abrinas,
my bridal give me back those i did not select one.
Cos select one they dun wan to give me saying that i have small album.

leo29

Serene,
Cannot like that lah! Where got after married still stay at own house one. Did your hubby scold you when you suggest this? Bear with it lor, only stay in your hubby hse for few mths only.

Yve,

Must be happy lah, trip postpond. Don’t have to worry will miss your hubby,
. Of course can join us lah, so happy to be able to see you.

Are,

Me also very happy. Can see you all next friday. You didn't join the first gathering?

cat

hi jojok, which bridal are u with? 1st fitting mid next month? not too sure. but is it the norm? ur wedding early, mid or late sept?

yvonne

hi sweets,
OLPS (Our Lady of Perpetual Succour)is a catholic church in siglap.. i will be holding my church wedding there

have u all booked ur honeymoon yet?? thinking of going on a Alaska cruise after wedding

taddess

Hi pooh,

Thought i send you the link??? Nevermind I send again ok. Oh the tree is your outdoor one isit...You look very very different with your hair bun up and let down. Thought you look younger with your hair down...hehehe so thought some time ago..:X

Me hope to go Spain...but because of the war think of changing to NZ? Whatcha think? Will spain be affected?

besse

excited!!

Me went intensive Bridal gown shopping today.. popped into Frederick Lee (says OTR all size 25, i cant fit, so never try *huff*) den into Ted Wu again (to ask for pkg details and show bf the nice broidery workz, but they cant entertainment me since i din make any appts), and unannounced into Emmanuel B (went thru pkg like bullet train, no time to even see gowns on the rack)..

More fruitful is Kai and The Wedding Present. Kai's assistance v helpful and nice.. tried on few gowns and KIVed them.. until i hopped into TWP ... Patrick was so nice and helpful and i tried on gowns after gowns.. FINALLY found something that i've never dreamt i'll look good in.. a Toga top ball gown!! hmm..

Question:
Anyone has comments on Toga gowns? will it look too dated??? it's not a thick strappy one.. but with two thin straps, with one running across the back from the right shoulder to the left shoulder blade...

Will be popping down again on Mon lunch time .. prob to book and confirm.. cos the skirt i love is made of some embroidered lacy kinda material that has to be pre ordered (latest Mon for the gown to be ready in time)... muz top up S$400 smore leh.. hmm.. still chewing on it and thinking v hard... maybe juz settled for beadings and crystals etc.. so won hv to rush into the gown decision so fast..

ooops.. wrote so much in my excitement!!

Well.. 2 gals out there who have not booked your gowns.. try TWP out.. may find something really right there!
) Package smore cheaper by S$500 from her world brides!!

Leo29..

Hey, you back!!! How's trip?? me looking 4ward to meeting you gals too!!!

priscilla

Hi Min,
Maybe can try lor cos she quite flexible and heard from other brides that are signing up with J&M also say that the outdoor shooting transport can be waived off and some more they rent those 7 sitter car and not those 5 sitter type lei.
Me too going down to discuss lor about that.

Me not sure who is the photographer, but I only saw one photographer so far and can't remember his name cos he is the one who took my graduation photos for me, his skill quite good lor, I think its Adrain.

sweets

Not too sure where we are going for our HM. Hopefully nowhere far, really a little sick of flying..kekeke...Yvonne, I also want to do the Alaskan cruise someday too
...June will be a nice time to go....not too chilly
Are you flying up uo Seattle then catching the cruise ship from there ?

Hey, you all got picx to see ah...can share ?

Taddess,

Dun worry abt the war and HM lar
the airlines will just detour a little during the flight. As for safety, I dun believe it will be any more dangerous than travelling under war-free times.

yvonne

hi sweets,
i will be flying to Van Couver, then taking the cruise from there...
thinking of extending my stay in Van Couver for a few days before going for the cruise

cos my FH's cousin lives there.. can pay them a visit

btw, i have booked the package yesterday at NATAS travel fair at Spore Expo..
actual package will start on 01 july.. but will be pre-extending my honeymoon in Van Couver for abt 3/4 days..
soo happy...

novgroom

Serene and Besse
Oh.. so many of you wanted to get Nick also, no wonder he is pushing me to confirm the deal. Sorry about that.

Meow
I am having my wedding dinner on the next day. So the first day I only have a morning session, then it will be followed by the second day evening session.

Wendyl
CCD Mini DV Cam is a video cam that used mind DV tape, these are also digital tapes but the sizes of the tape are smaller, about half the size of a credit card with thickness roughly 1 cm. I think it is very popular now because the video cam can be smaller with this kind of tapes.