(2003) Brides of year 2003

leo29

Are,

We cannot seat down when we reach the groom house? You mean we have to stand all the way?No lei, my friends all seated when they reached the groom house.

Did you bao xia the whole pub or they still serve the walk in guest? How many frds you intend to invite? So your frds attend your wedding dinner and beach party?

amore

sweetie.. both my hubby and I like green green and beach... so most prob punggol park? pasir ris beach? hmm... habent decide yet...

naturally

What? The 4-room MBR is bigger than your 5-room MBR?? So sad.... btw sunshine, u managed to sneak into your unit??? Wow, i thought the fences are still up... how did u manage that? Sigh... and i can't hack any rooms leh!

Mrs Quake,
We took the collagen facial, which is $120 normally, meaning we paid $60 each only!
They also have aromatherapy facial at $90, but i can't remember the rest liao... U can use your $50 voucher from the SB card to offset, too bad i forgot abt mine until it expire liao!!

Wendy,
i like the mermaid cut... but i dun have curvy body like mermaid leh, so can't wear! If u have the good figure to wear one, try it!
Outdated? Not too sure, haven't been attending a lot of weddings lately, anyway so long as u are comfortable, who cares abt fashion trend, hee!

sep03

hi ally,

me also gonna solemnise on the same day as customary...i've got the HDB deferment approval liao...wrote in myself..attach all relevant receipts...took abt 2 months..

BTW, which block r u at?..

twinklets

yo are & Leo,

yup yup agreed wif u both! They are man & must have the dignity lor. Think a guy loses his dignity if he let his wife to control his finance.

Yesterday my mum reminds me to keep personal savings to have my "shi fang qian".
I got 1 fren tat rom few yrs ago, not yet customary. They all dump their $$ into their joint savings, no personal savings. I'm quite shock lor. U gals will do tat? me cannot lor, me must have some cushion for me to fall on .. not to say I no trust in marriage lor ..

Wow! i really duno this old tales leh. My stepping shoe i anyhow say one. haha. Anw will bear tat in mind. Better be kiasi lor.

I also duno cannot take off shoes 1!!!!! But is ok for me, cos once i take off shoes, will become a shortie back. But hor, wearing 4" will be so tiring. Leo, guess we 2 have to train up our leg muscles liao.

Hi Sweetie,
Most likely is Tanjong Rhu & Esplande. I like the bridge at Tanjong Rhu.

Then how abt u urself?

twink|ets ~

jady

hi vio, i'm fine with either 18th or 20th.

hi serene, i dnt like too much details on gown too so will just be scattered crystal beads sewn on. my pkg is 4388 w/o actual day photography,table top,small album & the dozen of 3R photos of yr pose.

mrs

Naturally & Sunshine: I must agree that the MBR is really small. I can't have one as well. A friend of mine built one and she can only do a very small one.

Naturally: That's a good price you got for 2 facials. I'll definitely get an appointment when I get my voucher.

poki

Hi vio

I'm fine with both dates... just let me know when the date is confirmed.

where is the designer bridal sale? Free admission? Interested to know to more from u...

Serene

U can also try Riccino at Orchard Point, they MTO ladies footwear too... Go and have a look, compare with Leapin'lizard... You have already decided to get two pairs of shoe? I'll try to get one that can match my WG & EG... Probably will only hunt for the shoe after my first fitting..

Anyone getting another pair of shoe for outdoor PS?

tingting

just to share that i'm with Expressions for normal facial..it's about $600 for a package of 10 sessions. It's quite ok, but they take quite a short time for extraction, so not as clean as those who really squeeze ur face red.. guess u can tell them to do it more thoroughly, but i seldom do that cos me scared of pain

Wendy,

i think it's important to get a gown that suits your figure.. me quite turned off by pple who say certain cuts are no longer in fashion...good fashion sense is wearing what looks good on you, not what other pple are wearing.

are

leo29... i'm not so sure abt the sit down part leh, tats wat my fren said. better watch wat your MIL say before sit down better than being shooed to stand up rite? ;P

i juz tot tat its very inconvinent to take off shoes, tats why bride & groom got special permit to wear shoes thruout the day! ;P

i din 'bao' the whole place lah, need i think a lot of guests then they allow. i will prob hv abt 80-100 guest lor. frens and colleagues frm btoh sides. but the place tat is open to public is another corner lor, so will hv quite a large space still, coz still got buffet food. oni close frens who are attending the customary ceremonies will attend both lor. the rest of frens all attend 2nd dinner. so my first dinner oni got 2 table of frens. i'm sure my relatives sure think we very lonely, oni got 2 tables of frens! ;P

are

sweetie... i oni got 1 place confirmed, which is my beach pub @ fisherman's village. juz tot tat it will be dark & i'll be too busi on actual dinner to take nice photos, so go in advance. besides, there are a lot of different things there which i like... the fish pond, beach, park, playground... ;P

twink|ets.. altho' hubby & i hv a joint account, we both still retained our own accounts. its not so much of 'safety' in our case, but i juz feel tat we shd keep some money aside, in case of emergency. these accounts we put aside and dun touch one lor. and i oso dun ask him for details on his savings. guess want to give him some 'freedom' lor. wat for he keep money from me when we need to use rite?

sunshine

Naturally,

Oh.. we always look for some lobangs or if not, create one. Managed to get in a couple of times... but when into our unit only once. Yup, one of the 4RM Units' MBR is indeed bigger than ours... i dunno know about the other 4RM and 5RM units though.

Wendyl,
I got to try on a ballgown and a mermaid cut wedding gown on my first visit to BV. My guy and I prefer the mermaid cut gown.. though i had always wanted a ballgown type. I have not gone on my first appt yet, so i dunno what the designer will propose to me.. Right now, i'm torn between the mermaid cut and the ball gown type. I guess all the diff cuts.. eg. A-line, empire, ball gown, mermaid...etc.. these are the standard cuttings for gowns. They are all the standard and classic cuts, so i dun think they will ever get outdated. Instead, it is usually those that are based on the lastest fashion/ trend.. eg. asymmetrical hemlines.etc, that will eventually become dated. Rather try the diff cuts and then decide which cut suits you best.

Hi vio: 18th is better for me.

Serene: the quality of shoes at leapin lizard is really poor. My sisters and friends who made shoes with them regretted their decision. After wearing them once for the wedding, they never wore it again coz the quality was sooooo poor.

Riccino on the other hand, charges more but the quality is alot better.

Poki: the designer wedding sale is this weekend, 11am - 9pm, Grand Plaza Park Royal ballroom.

Why do we need to get an extra pair of shoes for the outdoor photoshoot? In case it gets dirty har?

Just called Singtel to blast at them. They told us that caller ID would be free for 6 months. Now the bill not only charged me for caller id subscription, they also charged me another $20 for connection fee! They're too much!! Instead of waiving the connection fee, the tone was "too bad, singtel is the ONLY one providing residential lines". What attitude is that?!?? Terrible !!!

shook

Hihi Jan

Poor girl. U alrite now?

Muz b struggling during your ps huh. Dun worry, the make-up will cover up your pale look.

Gd dat u settled ps n bed.

Settled wine, beer liquor for your banquet?
Got your helpers for actual day?
Chose your actual day gown n your fh's suit?
Bought your shoes n your hb's shoes?
Prepared your guo da li stuff?
Chose your march-in songs?
Sourced your ROM bouquet?
Sourced food catering for your wedding?
Prepared the schedule for your actual day?
Honeymoon?

An chuang depends if your mum or MIL wants or do it or not. By right it is the guy's side who shld do an chuang. My MIL said no need. My mum wants to do it. So we do it ourselves. Heard dat cannot rest on the bed till wedding 9. Otherwise the couple will b separated (death or quarrel).

I din remove the plastic cover of my bed coz haven't an chuang yet. Juz cover it wif a cover.

wendyl

But if we were gtg back to our new hse to have a change to tea dress b4 heading my mum hse,can we take off our shoes?Cos wearing shoes to bedroom,later bedroom wil lbe dirty.

Wendy

erin

hi mrs quake,

I'm back from my facial. I agree with naturally that Jessica is good. Very relaxing. Thought my face would turn red after the extractions. Hence I was quite surprised when my face didn't turn out to be as red as I imagined it to be(in fact, my friend says can't see the redness). Think it's because of the mask used. Very cold and refreshing.

My facial is the aromatherapy one (double masks)which cost $90 but now BI is having a discount of 30% off its products and services, so I paid $63. signed up for the package too. 6 sessions for $378. It's inclusive of eye brow shaping too (i was quite surprised that this svc was included).

Jessica told me that the discount could be extended to the 2nd of March so if u are interested, u could go down this week.

are

wendyl... its oni 1 day lah.... you will walk better oso, with the long gown, wun you need some 'height'?? ;P

anyway, after so many ppl walk here and there, u hv to clean the hse aft tat too!

abrinas

Hi lin

welcome to the june thread!!

Is 22 a good date? I don't know. when i choose a date, I just want a sat so that i can hv my church wedding at my church. my church don't do weddings on sun. N june is good cos it's school holidays - easier for my FH to take leave.

pucca

welcome to june brides thread ...

i've not bought my si dian jin yet ...my mum juz bought me a bangle + a necklace for me to wear during tea ceremony .. oso getting a bracelet for me .. but heard tt gold price has gone up again .. hv not chked the latest price yet thogh.

me will be hving my indr ps tis sunday n outdr nx tues .. urgh ... its my turn now to pray for gd weather then .. :p

well as for parents meeting session, will be nx sat .. a bit nervous abt it..

nicloe

hi ally

we really same same leh ... i oso with joseph ... he is my uncle god-daughter husband. Can said went to otani becos of him working there lor ...(partly).He's good cos if u go to the otani thread u can see people writing n comment on him ....luckily u said the food is good cos a few of my frenz actually said that there food not beri nice lor ... i got ask joseph abt it n he said that no people complain abt the food lor ... ..... heheee nice nice har, next time we can exchange ideas liao

naturally

sunshine,
U broke thru the fence? haha, it never occur to me, i just realise how law-abidding and terribly uncreative we are!
But i guess we'll wait til we get the keys, we are not the adventurous kind of folks lah...

erin,
check with u, does the aroma facial leave your face oily? Cos i did it once at another salon, and my face was super SHINY at the end of it, and i had to apply press powder b4 i dared to walk out... so now a bit scared of aroma facials...

may

Hi Gals, going to do big cleaning tonite. Very excited that i can now scrubbed and cleaned my house. Tomw furnitire will be coming in - finally - but money flowing out like water leh.

Maya: saw in the papers today abt the electric airport that JL will be selling at $99. Very cheap but got no time to go for sale.

Jazz: u make me want to go Korea now. Must tahan ... hopefully at the end of the year can go.

Jan: glad to hear from you. Oh no...i hope u r feeling better now. What virus did you have that was so serious? The good thing abt falling sick is that u lose weight, hor? And of course that your FH rush back...that was really nice of him
Wow, u so fast go for ps aleady...yah, got take any digital photos to show us? I want to c ur gowns leh.

Like what Pausini say An Chuang got alot of version. Think u ask your elderly like what vin said. I have given tis task to my SIL and hubby to handle.

mrs

erin: I'm interestedin taking up a package if the service is good. May I know what facial are they offering for $378? And is the price a discounted one or is it a normal package price?

leo29

Sweetie,

Me thinking of Sentosa and Fullerton.

Twinklets,

Hee……., I already have my shi fang qian which my hb don’t know. I also very kia xi one. Same as you, it’s not I don’t have faith in my marriage but there is too much temptation outside. Who know one day …… he may just can’t control. I also got friends that put all their salary to their joint account. I remember once told them to keep some shi fang qian and was kana lectured by her, one of my good friend.

I got no problem with 4 inch heel. Already get use to it. Even working shoe have that height also.

Are,

80-100, alot already. So your dinner table not many lah. I can imagine you must be very happy on that day, beach party. Although it's a wedding party but you wouldn't feel resticted. Dinner is so formal that we still have to pretend gentle.

Wendyl,

If you afraid of dirtying your bedroom, maybe you can use a cloth to clean before you enter. Me even worse, wedding ceremony will be held at my new hse instead of MIL hse. Just imagine my frequency walking around is more. Some more, my hse is homo. tile, a slight scratch can see very clear. So I must clean thoroughly.

meekoo

gosh missed so much again! now back in action....

hi jan
u back! dun worry the photo should turn out good.

by the way, do everyone need to an chuang? my hub is a hakka and me a cantonese, so do we need to? none of our parents mentioned about that.

so anyone got the invitation card ready? how long does it take the printer to finish the printing?

finally found a new contactor to do my carpentary works! my hubby is taking care of all the reno stuff and me the wedding stuff... very tiring...

how do you invite people? do you guys invite the exact amt ( as per the table) or more? if more, how many more?

: ))

jan2003

Yes, feeling better already.

Vin & May: i wish i can show you all my photos too. but no leh. no polaroids or digital camera. i don't think they used digital camera. looked like the normal conventional kind leh. they didn't even allow me to take my photos when i tried on the gown. how come all of you get to do such things but i don't?
cannot share, so sian. they say photos will take at least 2 weeks. problem is FH not around so he won't get to select the photos or see everything then.

May: beleive me, you will have a good time cleaning up even after the furniture is in too! happy cleaning. good to hear that your kitchen top is finally done up to your standard. one thing less to worry about. loss only 1 kg because after that i eat alot of po and eat alot of good food to restore health. bad case of virus attack according to doctor. fever very high till they had no choice to admit me. even after many cold bath still very high. doctor worried that i will have fits so got me in. yah. he was nice. must come back lah. i think he worried no wife if don't come back lor. i was feeling so bad i thought big trouble already.

Shook: i thought so too until i saw your list! except for my own shoes and not having to choose gowns for actual day since i took MTM, the rest i didn't start at all. especially the part on honeymoon. gosh. i thought now just need to do invitation cards but there is still so many things not done.

meekoo : give printers about 5 days to print out cards. as for an chuang, the girls gave lots of good feedback, think i will go back and ask my elders. as for the number to invite, my list is not even up so i also don't know.

novgroom

Leo29 and playful,
Heehee.. of course I won't mind you all discussing about how to control the husband. As long as my bride didn't see this dicussion can already..

Oh yeah.. beware... don't introduce your hubby to me in future... hahah...

So quick.. tell more tales..

serene sng

Helo Everyone....!!!

MIA for sometime again!!! So what's up in here???
My computer crash so cannot check things..Hais..
Update me pls....

Have anyone saw clyne here??

Serene

erin

hi mrs quake,

there are a few facials that they are offering for $378. This is the discounted price. Original facial price was $90 and now there's a discount of 30%. So i'm paying $63 X 6 for the package. Think they also have peelatic facial and moor mud facial.

You can check out the facials offered and the price list at www.beautyinspirations.com

hi naturally,

Yah, the aroma facial leave my face a bit oily. not shiny but can just feel that there's something on my face. I just used a tissue to dab over it and it's ok. Face feels smooth and soft leh. According to Jessica, she thinks that aroma facial suits me cos my face is a bit dry and sensitive.

What's the collagen facial like? Suitable for dry skin?

jelutong

Thanks Shanice & Abrinas,

Well, at least one thing is more confirmed now. Have just decided on our nest (provided the seller don't back out), it's at Serangoon..

Just got to know from FH that my PIL want more tables.. now increase from 15 to 25. Fainted liao.. anyway, going to leave it to my FH to decide on the venue while I concentrate on the bridal package. :p

Went to J&C today, the ladies there were quite nice. Not as pushy as those Taiwanese shops. Most likely I'm going to take up J&C.... Keep my fingers cross.... :p

sweets

hi hi...

Pucca, dun worry too much about the parents meeting session...but do be prepared though for any unexpected "bombs"...

The last Parents session we had....my FPIL informed us we were expected to go back to JB the morning of the wedding even though we have all verbally agreed before hand to use a hotel room as their "home" (my FH is from JB and we have a church wedding to rush to as well)....and they also suddenly say that we must have the JB dinner right @ the next day (Sun), even though we've also spoken to them before about holding that dinner the week after so it wouldn't be so stressful....
so just be prepared for crazy requests....

Abrinas...issit only Hokkien brides (FH is Hokkien) can have si dian jing ? Curious

meow

Serene,
Clyne was here yesterday.

Clyne,
I went to IKEA yesterday. Saw plain and simple white candles there. 3"x8" cost $4.90 and 3"x5" cost $4.50.

ally

sep 03... me at blk 23
how about u? so excited, going to TOP soon. my FH and i will drive by once every 2 weeks to see.

hi calyx... you're the first bride i came across with the same date as me
so, where are u having your dinner, and which bridal studio are u with?

nicloe... wah, u somewhat related to joseph har
we got to know joseph through a friend and he was very nice and patient even though we went back about 4 times before finally deciding on otani. so far, very happy with his service
about the food, the nicer dishes are the leng pan and the prawns with mango. the only dish that's not very nice is the sea cucumber. better to exchange for mushrooms instead.

ocean

hi jojok,
sorry kinda missed your posting coz 'scanned' through too quickly... no didn't really go see silver cloak though walked past the shop before... i think i quite conservative so the gowns looked too slick for me personally... i prob won't be able to carry it off well

Hi babbit,

i've confirmed my wedding venues but not the bridal boutique yet so yes... it's really kinda rush... but no worries man
i thought i didn't have enough time too until i called up bridal veil...

apparently if i take up bridal veil, my first appointment will only be in april coz they don't believe in seeing clients too early... can you believe it? i was like thinking is it normally that fast to make a wedding gown

hi sept 03 bride,
yap... you're right... fell in love with chris ling's work the moment i saw it... too bad he only works with a few boutiques; flamingo, ted wu, bridal veil and kai. so will prob decide from these. at least that narrows down my search

Hi ally,
looks like it's a personal choice between the two then... i've been inside st joseph's for a visit... nice cosy place but that's like a long time ago. think it'll be good if you can make up your mind earlier because once you have the venue in mind you can think of the type of gowns that will most suit you and the kind of environment. For e.g. i heard from a bridal shop i went to, the designer advised that i could have a round long train because the stage of the hotel ballroom is... i can't remember... think she said tall enough or low steps or something like that...

Y

yi

halo everyone,

this thread die off again huh?
never mind i revive it again. hahaha
btw, I have upload my studio and outdoor pics liao so if you all wanna take a look, just leave your email address and i will email you all the link.

hi flowee,

you see the shoe liao?
maybe you should see the actual shoe coz i ask hubby, he oso say not dark in colour leh! :p
btw, gathering how?

Y

yi

halo gals,

I have uploaded my studio and outdoor wedding pics liao. if you wana take a look, just leave your email address here and I shall email to you all the link.

shook

Hihi May
So happy 4 u
. Now u c the complete picture of your love nest. There is a lot of cleaning the way 4ward.

Hihi Meekoo
Check wif your mum n MIL whether they wanna an chuang or not
Come out wif a guest list 1st. Confirm the final list 4 your banquet after RSVP. A banquet mgr advised me to confirm 1 table less your RSVP list. Eg your RSVP is 29 tables. U confirm 28 tables. Open the spare table if need b. As a norm there is no 100% turn up fm the RSVP list. In tis way u won't waste a table. Of coz arrange 10 ppl in2 1 table in your list. Your helpers gotta help u to put 10 ppl in2 1 table on the actual day if there r guests who din turn up.

Hihi Jan
I oso have a lot of outstanding stuff. Feel scared come to think of it.
Hmmm...so u gotta select photos on your own huh. Get someone to go wif u lor.

Gosh, my wedding falls on Mother's day. Quite worried dat some guests might not turn up. Oso worried dat the std of the food will drop as the chef has to cook 4 the restaurant n the ballrm.

nicloe

hi ally

Ya i saw from the otani thread that they oso comment that the leng pan quite good lor ....So when r u going for ur food tasting ? Hmm i got one dish is sea cucumber with mushroom like that ... okie i will ask him abt it . 10Q

hi wenn, soory har i long long time never come to this thread liao ,cos quite busy with work thing . Hey now then i see u change ue wedding adte to nov liao ... its okie ... u can still come n chat with us mah .... y r u changing the date ?

mrs

Erin: Thanks for the info. Will try and check it out.

Any Dang's bride here? Just want to compare notes to see what designs you gals are taking for WG, EG and teadress. I'm not a fashion person and so need to do some research.

jady

hi yi,

i want to see yr pics! [email protected]

gathering still on ah, but juz 4 of us i think...so pathetic hoh..:p

flowee, u send me the pics yest. so yr shoes both closed toe - 1 gold & 1 silver ah?

sep03

hi ally,

me beside you....blk 21....ekekeke...think we would be the last blocks to get the keys though...do update if u got further info ah...coz i dun go often...and probably won't be gg till getting the keys time..

beibei

sweets
No leh..think if bride's side request for si dian jin then guy's side got to give.long long ago used to be only Teochews brides can get the si dian jin.But now most have.me too!

pucca,
so we all have the meeting parents session on same date ah??Good luck to us!

calyx

Hi Ally,
Me finally found someone of the same date. quite lonely actually..ha..this date was chosen by my FH and myself, not supposed to be an 'auspicious' date as we dun believe in this. out of curiosity, how did u decide on this date?

My dnr banquet is at Raffles hotel, bridal is Ted Wu. You can refer to the details of all Sept brides. Do update your info there.