(2003) Brides of year 2003

cath, spotlight should have some. Located next to in Orchard Point (Next to centrepoint)

serene, take care!

sorry can't talk today ... busy ...

leo29

Yve,
Wedding date decided already. This time visit is to tell us the date for an chuan, wat time my HB need to come and fetch me, wat animal clash with us, do some brief fortune telling...etc. Tell you more when I visited him. Our shifu shop is near si ma lu guan yin temple also, Fu Lu Shou Complex.

Claim from company, cannot lah. Company only allow us to claim consultation/medical fee. If your company let you claim, that is good .... Yah, it's better to do so, I mean medical check up.

fishball

hi cath,
yes, I did see those cloth at Spotlight. It'll be cheaper to make yr own, but it's alot of work. I did think of dat, but thinking of sewing at least 200 pouches already makes me tired!

but seriously, u can start making them if ur sure abt it...

Serene,
u take care too. Ppl arnd me r starting to fall sick too!
Was it fun trying all the gowns? wat style did u like/suit u? Tink I'm going to try out some gowns n cheong sums too!

kiroro

Sound good to me..... 21st Feb!I will be having my final gown fitting mid of feb, hopefully, I got pictures to show you ladies then

Hi Jady,

Just saw your name in the Free Emcee thread.
Did u managet to get Epsilon as your emcee for dinner?

I did, and was just wondering if you managed to as well !

pucca

Beanie,
Its like getting ready the marriage bed, after the thing, we can't sit/sleep on the bed till wedding day. but hor ... i oso dunno wats the procedure like ... still finding out from ppl ! .. my mummy oso dunno ..

As for helpers, im actually referring to Ah Yees aka jiemeis ..

hi Ho,
i dunno whether we can an chuang after wedding day or not .. usually its b4 ... hv to chk it out with the elders .. :D

im ok with 21 feb tentatively ...

meet where??

micky

How are you all getting on?
Have you all start to choose your gowns already?
I have not go down to the shop to choose the gowns yet, I am a bit worried.... izzit too late?
When you gals going for your PS?

jazz

Maya, hehehe, that's definitely true on the mc, good calculation!!!

May, I used white for my ceiling. I used off-white for my walls 'cos I heard that the white paints may turn yellow so off-white is more durable.

Peabrain, did you go see the doc? Hope you'll get well soon. I've been to the doc 4 times already in the past two weeks. I think I'm becoming a medicine pail already...

Beanie, if I'm not wrong, for most hotels, if you bring in own beer, you get charged with corkage (no kidding, abt $300 plus). So you need to calculate which is more worth it.

Pausini, you take care too!

cherry

wow, so soon, all the hassles of preparing of wedding will be over soon!

get ready girls!! enjoy the most important event in your life!!

updates on myself, did a tentative seating arrangements coz still have some guests din confirm yet, err, draft up a scehdule already.....songs not confirm yet....aiya one whole long list lar.....

anyway, having my 2nd photoshoot tomolo, update you again tomolo.....

beanie

maybe we can meet next week and meet again in mid feb. What do you think?

Hi Pausini,
thanks for your info. maybe i can go check with my mum to c if she knows anythio\ng (which i m veri doubtful, cos she oso blur sotong queen)

enya

me started to look at designs for shoes .. cos i always have a v hard time to look for a pair of nice looking and comfy shoes .. and the heels can't be too high, cos i am extremely clumsy .. later me roll down the march-in!!!!

mickey: my PS is in sept ... so dun think going down to the bridal shop that soooon ...

naturally: is it a must to make a tea dress? tot i want to wear the WG the whole day .. cos onie wear once in alifetime .. dun bear to take it off .. hahahahahahah

slk

Jazz: Wah, your first contractor really thick-skinned, either that or he just have a record of every of his customer and mass sent out all the cards, hee!

Jazz/Peabrain: Same same, my hubby and me keep blowing our nose, think we really created an orchestra for a few days! hahaa! Anyway, I am much better already. You 2 must get all well soon ok

May: Agree with the rest, big big bravo for your bravery!
Not sure abt paints yet but ICI Dulux should be good right? I should be paintingmy place off-white too.

pausini: you must take care too! seems like the flu virus is really attacking the whole island

sue: of cos i remember, feel excited for you too
i'm sure you'll have a great weekend in malaysia!

beanie: some hotels allow you to bring in beer barrels from APB, which is cheaper. think it's abt 200 to 300 per barrel. hotels charge as high as 600 i think. you need to check with your cordinators first if they can let you do so. but like what jazz said, do check out the corkage charges.

maya: good calculation ;P ok, do show us the pics when it's ready!

beanie

Hi SLK and Jazz, thanks for your info. I will check with my coordinator. Juz to check any of you doing this way? who to contact in APB?

freesia

Hi Naturally n Enya, me just shop shop c got suitable shoes or not..since now got those season sales....me buy shoes oso very fussy one....got alot of conditions like enya... :p most impt must be non-slip sole, b'coz afraid tripped....n oso must be low heels....

So Enya, if you can find a place got such shoes to sell, must remember to tell me hor...

Otherwise, last resort is to custom-made liao lor...

Naturally, r u taking back your EG? Me didn't...'coz afraid oso kept in cabinet after tat, The teadress may have higher chance to be worn again.... I haven't set any appt date yet, probably after CNY...Do u know whether Doreen's shop would be closed for how long a break for CNY?

enya

freesia: yeah ... i think i will most prob custom make my shoes ... heard places like hue, paradox, on peddar, leaping lizard, riccino are some places to check out for nice shoes? slowly searching .. must be non-slip sole and low heels, and must fit my broad feet v well!! hahahaha sounds like teva sports sandals suit me best ah ... ahhahahahahahahahha

me taking back EG and tea dress, so that next time can use for function plus dnd etc etc ... anyway, my package didn't give me a choice of whether can take back or not lor ..

smartie

Hi Flowee

Finally got down to signing with Utopia directly. Seems their tie-up wth Divine has ceased so my package is the $2,100....unlike yours with the extras

BTw, when is your studio date ? Mine is at end May becos almost all the June dates have been taken up and Travis needs 3 months leadtime.
Just worried that timing is tight as my 1st fitting with Divine is mid this month.

Whaddya think ?

Smartie

padre

Hi pple, I seldom post msgs here thought. glad to see soo many of you here, also happy to see so many couples having wedding on my wedding date. I have already booked my banquet(Grand Copthorne Waterfront), my bridal package( Julia Wedding News), and my photographer(Hilarion Goh). hehe ! Guess I'm on schedule, hope I'm not too kiasu. Want to start preparations earlier. How are all your progress ?

vodka

just a word of advice, check your album carefully when collect fr photograher. Best if u can note down wc photos u requested, size & sequence durin selection. Some mistakes in my album cos hubby din check when he collected the album.
- wrong kind of leather album
- wrong size of photo
- 2 wrong photos

shook

Hihi May
The ceiling in my hse n my love nest r painted wif white color paint. Come to think of it, all the hses I seen has white color painted ceiling.

To all who r sick
Take care. CNY coming, a lot of goodies grinning
@ u.

jbride

gd morning gals,

sunshine, yah i read your posting in the other thread...we might bump into each other on our wedding day

enya, oh really...then i shall sing to my hubby instead :D actually i have the thou of singing to my FH after 2nd march-in but i'm very shy leh

& i'm afraid the glass will break

jya ne...

beibei

totoro and beanie,
So we set one date in Feb 21st but also make
one gathering next week?

when? 17/1/03?
pucca
totoro
kiroro
beanie
beibei
Dolphie
abrinas
pooh
priviledged

Do I leave out any one??

aigee

hmm... i may need to change my wedding date to 17 Sept.. coz seems like 25 Sept is not a good date... will update the list after confirmation.. hope it's not too late to change my booking of the hotel...

abrinas

Date's ok with me at this moment. Hv to confirm again cos FH wants to go Ikea. But do keep me posted on the time and venue. Me really want to go.

I don't hv any photos leh. Bridal shop don't allow photography inside shop.

may

Thanks gals. Ok, will paint my ceilings white and the walls off white then.

u all better take care, CNY coming soon ...try to get well...

Have u gals selected your songs for the march in? I plan to play the Jap song - First Love for the second march in. But the first song - dunno what to choose.

smartie

Hi Sep03

Always thought the day is sometime away...and suddenly there seems to be so much to do. Got to sit down with my FH to plan & discuss.

leo29

Hi Padre,
When is your wedding date? So far I only settle the banquet, still looking ard for bridal package. Basically, all the novas(we call ourself) already settle their bridal package, left me only, i think so. Of course you are not kiasu, It's good to start prepare early. Don't like me, always like to do things last minutes. You feel very stress and very Bid Qit. But no choice lei, until now still cannot change.

Y you sleep so late?

naturally

Enya,
Whether u need a tea dress or not, i think it's up to your preference and how you go abt the customary ceremony.... if u do the jin cha at groom's parents' house first, before " hui niang jia" to jin cha to your own parents, then usually brides will change into another dress before "hui niang jia", to signify change of status.

But then for my galfren's case, she had her customary at her parents' place first, before going to groom's place, then they had to rush for their church ceremony, and after that they went to the hotel to rest... so technically speaking, she didn't "hui niang jia" on her wedding day, so she didn't have a tea dress lor! But she doesn't mind, cos the holy matrimony was more impt to her! So it depends on the individual lor...

For me, i think this is how it'll roughly go:
1. Groom come to "ying qin" before daybreak (FH is teochew, no choice!)
2. Let my jiemei have some fun extorting $$ from him...

3. Tell my mum i love her before leaving with groom (i'm very afraid i'll forget this in all the excitment!)
4. Go to groom's house for jin cha.
5. Go to new house, give a small reception for frens, relax and have a little fun.
6. Change into tea dress, return to niang jia.
7. Jin cha to my parents and relatives.
8. Go to hotel to rest and prepare for wedding banquet. (do u think we have enough time to go for a spa before the dinner?? hehe, just to pamper ourselves!

pooh

at the moment 21st Feb should be ok with me.

But next wk i cant meet up.

Now quite moody. Hubby when for the rescure for the collision of RSN. Dunno when he can go hm.

beibei

if that is the case for pooh why not we meet up
on 21st feb?cos some may be busy with CNY things as well?

how about that?

pooh,
cheer up!!
he will come home soon!

naturally

Freesia,

i'm only taking back the tea dress, same as u!
I'm not sure how long a break Doreen will be taking, if u can wait, i'll ask her for u when i see her 2 weeks later? Or u can always give her a call lor!

For shoes... hmm... me very short so i need very high heels, esp if i'm going for a ballgown, but can't decide now cos i haven't done up my gown design, got to find matching shoes right? I'll prob also custom-make if i can't find suitable shoes around....

Hello ladies!

My woes over where to sleep on chinese new year's eve is OVER !! Yay, hub and i decided to shift in to our own apartment this weekend.

We'll shift my things over first, followed by his. At it is now, almost 70% of my stuff has been shifted already. The next headache is unpacking. Oh no !!! Never realised that i had kept so much junk, and now i have to find space for it. Argh.

It's so exciting to shift into our own place; it's truly a haven to have our own private space with no parents to nag at us. Wow! I'm so excited now i actually look forward to going to our own home every evening!

pausini

Thanks SLK, Jazz, Shook...

Me better now, cold gone.

Shook: Cant eat goodies too much leh. have to watch out my diet and figure.

heh, anyone interested of the "cock" bowls and plates. (do i sound crude)?

I found them at CK chinatown. it cost from the range of $0.70 to $2.50 for ths soup bowl. the spoon only cost $1 for 5. very cheap!

are

hi all... gd morning. was on MC yesterday (AGAIN!) coz kena the flu bug again. think caught a chill on new year's eve while i was 'swallowed' by the crowd @ esplanade.

me going for my 1st fitting of gowns tis fri. was supposed to tok to the photographer but he's going overseas for a short course. other than tat, me going to put aside all wedding prep & concentrate on the house reno. realised tat once the house is ready, we can cash in on the special offers on things, coz now got no place to store.

as for bed, we had to give up king size coz its near impossible for a sengkang flat. in any case, my room will be very 'tight' coz will hv 2 cabinets. we think its ok coz there will be no tv or anything else in our rm. going to see 2 dinning sets tonite coz a gd deal from picket & rail. for those who like wood, you might want to take a look. the discounts are quite gd, if their U.P. is true! ;P

grace

hello gals...

i oso have the same problem... we got a king coil bed just 1 year ago...must we change the bed? the old one will be very wasted rite. sighh....

me will only settle the first fitting of gowns after cny..

ava, thanks for the mail.. will try to pop down and see these few days..

can we organise a shopping trip one day? to buy the shoes and the bedsheets etc...
tot it will be quite fun.. and mayb can get discount since we buy in bulk...heeheehee

meow... its indonesian buffet lah... just to inform u gals.. there is a change in the venue of the rom reception.. now going to be at goodwoodpark international buffet loh..
dad wanted it there...

leo29

Grace,
Goodwood Park chinese lunch oso not bad. I ve mine there when I ROM. As for the bed, if you can't bear to give it away, can change the mattress only. For me I will change the whole bed becos our sets is not so expensive.

Are,
So sian mu you, going for 1st fitting liao. Your bridal shop very prompt lei, so early ask you go for 1st fitting. Those I know are after CNY. Yours is OTR/MTM package?

are

grace... maybe you can leave it in other rooms? or if you really need to dispose it, can donate it to the less fortunate. i juz received a mail saying such things are in 'high' demand for low income families. at least it doesn't go to waste.

my mum has this rule tat no one is supposed to touch the bed till the actual day, so i gotta remind hubby not to 'test' the bed when its delivered! ;P

leo29... u think they so nice? no way man, i called up & arrange the date myself. tho' i muz say they are v obliging. my package is OTR, so if i do more fittings, i get to choose fr more gowns lor. no pt sign so early if i dun make use of it rite? oso intending to do my trial make-up & tok to the photographer soon. if i dun like them, still got time to change anything mah...

flowee

smartie

congrates 4 signin up 4 ur bridal n studio...
another item down from the list...
u mean utopia aint with divine anymore???
wat is ur ala carte like with divine???

my foto shot is on earli june...
manage 2 book a mon as accordin 2 travis, can get more rest durin the wkends b4 the shot...

u mean u oredi confirmed ur gown design n 1st fittin is in mid jan???
do 2x check with divine on ur schedule...
n remind them of ur foto shot date...

aigee

there might nt b any sb brides who is hvin the same date as u but it doesnt mean there aint any weddin ard...
how do u select ur date???
tong shu or shifu???
mine aint a hot date either but i m happi with it since its the best date 4 mi...
gd date or nt is all in our mind...

sep brides

hows ur preparations comin along???

are

amore... my bridal told me i can choose any gown they have, whether new or not. so i figured i shd hv a few sessions. our agreement is tat if i see something i like, i can reserve it 1st. if i see something else the next fitting, then i can change my reservation.

besides, i need another gown for my PS, which they agreed to lend me.

moon

anyone has good suggestions where to go for honeymoon in May? Nice place and romantic? Europe, NZ, America??

bubbler

Hi Aigee,

I just kapo a bit and check out the on the date 17th Sept since it is considered an auspicious date. According to the Tong Shu, that day chiong Pig, meaning that you, your hubby and all your elders should not has a PIG sheng xiao in it or else that day may not be auspicious for you liao.
So what is auspicious for others may not be same for you, so have to double confirm.

As for 25th Sept, thought not as popular, still fine as long as that your elders,u and ur hubby does not have a Goat in it coz chiong goat. Checked the timing also,got quite a good timing from 9 - 11pm to serve teas to your in-laws
But chiong PIG during that timing so also have to ensure your in-laws & the couple doesnt belong to PIG sheng xiao