(2002) Brides of year 2002

partygal

Hi Corrie,

Dun think I'm going for the sale, since I've more or less confirmed on my gowns. If not, itchy hands and dilemma again if I find something nice and yet cannot buy.

Pisces,
Never mind lah, dun have to be pai seh...see couples in RAffles Places taking photos too, even on pedestrian crossing...

lingz

Avana can be quite ex...the sales staff are very arrogant too...dunno read fm somewhere Tyan also bring in similr stuffs..

me jus bought my tea dress at Icon yesterday...cost me abt $240 during sale..it's a low back cheongsam.

gwnn

Hi!!

yes...to the rest the june brides. there is light at the end of the tunnel!

pls remember, dun stress now over every minute detail, it won't matter to anyone on the day, including urself. remember to enjoy and have fun...

julybride

I have started taking pills...Diane 35. Went to the web and searched for more details. Apparently, the side effects are kinda postive effects. Well, I will be taking 42 pills as I like to by pass my mens on my wedding day.So far so good.
Mo, I contacted the printer, Alvin, and expressed my disappointments and he was willing to re print for me. However, I felt that my is only small problem so i managed to use the cards which he gave me. Friends commented that the printing wasnt too bad and it was unqiue.

*Hey! Anyone have any idea on the songs to pick for the big day? I am having some problem as I am not someone who will have ears stick to the radio all day long. My hubby was planning to sing and I will march in. Any songs to recommend? Perhaps might do the sisters' act " i will follow him" as we are christians...what do u think?
Yes, we are less than a month to our big day. Sat down with coordinator on Mon nite and lo and behold, found so many things not settle! Thank god for people like coordinators...
well, currently finding movers to start shifting some big things over to new house..today will be my piano that's moving...then...*ah choo*...too dusty...
hope all of u have fun in planning!

rachel

hi fanasia,

my church is on 14th Sep and dinner on 15th Sep. I just collected my cards today..I'm glad GC has quite nice cards, got half printed in ivory and the other half in the deep red. so that's one extra thing done!

I'm also quite thankful for the break from everything here. it was my second appointment at HDB yesterday and got the keys. Met the electricians, plumber, window guy yesterday at the flat and the workers started getting all the build in stuff out of the house yesterday. the house is starting hacking today. I'm flying to the US tomorrow and will be back on June 29! we're actually going to the US for my fiancee's commencement and so we're going to bring along our wedding gown and suit there and our friends are helping us to take pictures! ha ha...looking forward to that. so if I'm silent for the next 2 weeks, it's just cos I can't get internet access.....bye ladies...

flo

hey flowy,

the low back cheongsum sounds sexy and exotic! do you need alterations to it? what's the colour?

Does Icon bring in limited pieces? Cos don't want someone else to have a similar or identical piece!

lingz

ya..i bought off the rack but alter it to my size...
it's pink in colour...

When i try it, i like it so much, i din tink twice..haha.. not sure if my mum or MIL can take it..

In fact, Icon only bring in their pieces either 1 or 2 pcs (diff colour), so u can be rest assured tt nobody will be wearing the same as urs..

U can choose to tailor made oso..but expect to chalk up min $300+ i got my ROM dress tailor made there oso...

cherly

Sorry, Angeline, didn't meet up with her becos of last minutes meeting on.

Will call and meet up with her on Sunday.

curious

Hi Rachel,

How is Ivy, is she easy to work with? I am thinking of having my wedding at gc too.Please advise. Did you have additional decoration to the ballroom other than those provided?

cherly

Angeline, I need not to meet Sarah liao, Sandy just called me and said she will specially do for me on my wedding day, since I booked her one month back.

I am so happy and she is really kind.

pinkapple

talking abt hair...

think I'd better share my experience with u girls.

my hair was quite long... then one day I decided to go for a trim. Mistake #1: the girl ask me how much I wanta trim, I said anything. so she cut like 1 to 2 inches. quite a lot. I thot never mind since wedding still far away.

Mistake #2: After dat one day, I wanted to get my hair trimmed again. I wanted to go to a neighbourhood salon I'm quite happy with one... but the lady went home liao. so I just go next door. to my horrid. the next daoor one dunno howta cut my hair cut until v horrible.

So my fotoshoot was near and this time I decided to go to a reputable (not to mention Xpensive) hairdresser. He's very nice and good. he showed me what damages the previous one did to my hair... *sigh* sad to say it's almost beyond repair. the ends of my hair was cut til v v thin so I have to grow my hair all over again. and the thin part have to cut off slowly.

the sad part is my fotoshot is NEXT WEEK!! *sob* so now my hair's not as long as I wanted it to be... and I think won't b so nice if I let down... *sob* *sob*

Advice from my hairdresser ( the good one): 1 year b4 ya fotoshot, go to ONE hairdresser constantly. don't change change like me...

rachel

Hi curious,
Ivy is fairly good...but I've only met her once, so can't tell you that much, but she's very very pregnant..due in late Aug early Sept.I dun know about additional deco yet, not thinking about stuff like that at this point in time

flo

hey pinkapple,

which good one is this? share share leh? how much is the cut? S$60? or more?

My fren from Le Salon Bis offered to do my hair on actual day (not very close to him lah, acquainted thru holiday trip in europe)...

should i start patronising his salon now? every month?

lingz

hi flo

Both my make up and photography is fm Silhoutte..
Freddy is my make up artist & i used Linn Kong, not sure u guys heard of her.

Now searching for actual day photography..any recommendations?

how abt u?

talking abt hair..i used to frequent Mexis at Cineleisure...but realised everytime i cut or trim, there's no difference, so not going there anymore..hehe

pinkapple

oh flowy,

u're w silhouette har? me too.

Flow,

I think u should start going to him man! erm... as for the frequency, u can ask him to advise loh.

mine's Ui Kong from Rea'veal at pacific plaza. he's a nice guy. v friendly n not snobbish at all. made me feel v comfortable at the salon.

fish

talk about hair, it's kinda hard to find a gd hairstylist who's not pushy. I'm quite put off by those who will intoduce " things" to u during each visit. Eg, highlight, treatment etc ect. All these cost a bomb.

Btw, do you gals know how to make your hair grow faster? Believe it or not, I've been keeping my hair for a year and It's only three inches below my shoulder now!!! Even my FH notice my hair is growing toooo slowly. Sigh!!

How's prep for everyone? MIne is going as planned. Btw, are you gals renovating your house also???

bluechin

JenJen,

The ampoule and fake eyelahes has a fixed price.... think it's $20 and $15 respectively..... or the other way round....so absent minded and forgetful.....

Irene,

met ya yesterday but becos yr family's there didn't know how to approach you....hee....sorrie!....
Yr gown's quite pretty..... forgot to show u my acual day gowns....then again no chance to talk.....smiles....
Btw, r u going for the PM event? got the event figurine yet?

lingz

hi pinkapple

yup! me with silhoutte... who's ur make up artist? read somewhere fm the tread tt u had quite a no of trial makeup... how's ur experience with Freddy? believe u had a trial makeup with him...

how much is a cut uKong fm Reveal cost? Was recommended by my friend b4...but never tried...

hi fish..

my hse done up liao..in fact staying there already..hehe..but still havn't buy some stuff..

pinkapple

Hey Flowy,

ha. yah loh. had 4 trial makkups. =p

freddie ah... yah. my 1st trial's with him. erm... I feel that he didn't really see what makkup suit me. like one style suit all that kind... just a feeling lah. cos all the other girls have v good commends abt him. so since u've decided on him liao. think it'll turn out good.

oh Ui Kong har. paisay. forgot to answer that question. erm just for cutting $55. got wash lah. of cos.

dance40

Hi Bluechin,

mmmmm Might not be going to the event coz now very broke confirm when it' nearer.
Spending a lot recently coz i taking photo this week.
I've got the corset and my hair done, next will the manicure and pedicure. It really cozt a bomb liao.

Sorry did not approach u too coz i think each of us are busy with our own gowns......
which is your actual day gowns? Yours is OTR or MTM?
Is mine ok?
We end up noticing that 3 our of 4 gowns for phototaking is white/ivory colour......

What you think.

I need more comments coz I don't know. I like the design in the beginning but now maybe not all are done yet so not really fancy it.
Give me your comments.

Wat you think about the trial makeup?
OK?

Irene

partygal

Hope all of you had a nice weekend. Just got my digital camera, so had fun snapping pictures of my house. My lovenest is like my weekend house now. I enjoy the relaxing moments I have with my hubby there every weekend. Got almost everything, except the paintings. Boy, not easy and cheap getting them. Me staying in Woodlands. What about the rest of you?

Realise that the longer my hair is, the thinner it gets...dropping too much hair -- stress!! And I have been trimming my fringe too short. Realise that I'd better start growing my fringe too, so that I have enough hair to put a tiara on.

apple

Can't resist anymore from putting in a posting! my wedding is 14 Dec.. so me also Dec bride!! May I join in your chat?

I have chatted with pinkapple & jinette a bit on the other threads before...glad to see this Dec 2002 brides thread alive again!

My hairdresser is not pushy... my photo shoot is this week! Last week I went for a trim & thinking of whether I shld highlight my hair, at first he did suggest then later after trimming my hair he didn't ask again! I was glad lah.. can save the $$ and anyway the makeup artist told me before she can use spray on colour which is nicer on pictures. Can recommend to you all.. Jantzen at Great World City. The hairdresser is Andy.

My new flat will be at P21. Now going to start reno in the next few weeks or so.

nicole

Sorry for being MIA for so long, been busy with my photoshhot.

Anyway Hi Apple, so glad to see u in here!!!!!!!! So how? Do u need my help for yr photoshoot?????

Cheers all and update me with all yr wedding preps!!

blossom

hi loreal,
i went for my photo selection already. the photos are ok. i like my outdoor photos better though i really hope i could go more places. i will be collecting my album in august. have they call u yet?

partygal

Welcome Apple..the reno is going to keep you very busy. You got all your stuffs for the house already?

Welcome back Nicole. You finished your photoshoot already? That's early. How was it? And where did you go?

loreal

Hi! blossom,

U know something..i was there when u went for selection? U wear blur colour sleeveless shirt rite?
They called me a few days after yours,but i was at KL, so last min i choose Fri as they said Sat/Sun very pack..

I thot i wld bump onto u..i reach there about 6.30pm. And was sitting at the very corner (sofa there). At abt 9plus my hubby said he seems to saw u, sitting at the corner near the door.. I went to take a look, its u..but u busi discussing with Alan. By the time, i wanted to go and approach u, u gone liao..Gone like the wind..so fast..

I m very satisfied with the pics, esp. the outdoor ones. Utlimately by the time we finish selection close to 10pm. So how many pics did u end up with? Me taken about 40extra. Exceeded my budget alot..

pinkapple

Hey gemi,

u doing painting yaself har?

we did too.. hee got a bunch of friends to help me. end up have to clean up the floor... heehee... it was v tiring but fun. really thank those friends for lending a hand.

lastmin

I'm kind of last minute here, to prepare for my wedding items...one of which is the wedding day photography, need some help here cos still looking for a suitable photographer. do you all know who is good?

partygal

Hi Pinkapple,

No lah. I was referring to picture paintings, those you hang on the wall. I have difficulty finding ones that I like and which will suit the theme of my house. Already got my house for almost 1 year, but still looking for stuff to decorate the empty walls.

For the wall painting, I let the contractors do it. Too tiring and also don't really trust our own skills. The painting of the ceiling must have been really tiring right? But I bet it must have been real fun.

blossom

aiyah loreal, we din talk again. i think we 'you yuan wu fen'. nevermind, still got collection of alblum, trial makeup... maybe can still bump into each other.

my photos are so-so loh. not very pretty so din expect that much. alan tried to persuade us to get 40 extra, then can get back the samples and negatives but we really cant select that much leh.

we selected oni 20 extra, costs abt $1k. still affordable, my fh paid for it although he wanted me to pay... alan asked him for payment so he pai seh. i was rather blur that nite... actually was on mc that day.

julia andrew

Hvn't been here for long time. Beary busy with work. Must make sure to clear everything by early Sept otherwise die lah. Well...for me, all seems to in place. Will b collecting my cards 2 weeks later from the printer. Guest list & day itenary are all ready. Choosing photos this coming Wed. I am all ready to be WED! haha....really looking forward to my 1 MONTH HONEYMOON!!!

All this wedding planning have been very pleasant. Don't mind doing it as a career. ok...gotta go. will drop by when I have the time. Really enjoy reading the tread & talking 2 u gals.

TO those that have spend extra on wedding pics, I think that is the best thing u hv spend throughout the wedding planning. I think the dinner will be gone after the wedding day, the wG, EG & so on will be returned. Only photograph will remain with us forever to remind us of this wonderful day.

jenjen

hi bluechin, thanx for finding out for me...

irene, wat u mean 3 of ur 4 gowns are ivory or white?? did u take their costumes thingy??

blossom

loreal,
i just remembered that i forgot to ask alan when i can choose my teadress. have u selected urs? i think that it might be a bit late to choose when i collect my album.

i collected my wedding cards last weekend. my card err... how to describe... it opens up in the middle.. so i think i only have one complete side to print. aiyah, dunno whether u understand. anyway, i may have to choose between printing in english or chinese. is it weird?

cowie

Hi Blossom,
In your case, you may have to choose a smaller font and print english in the upper half and chinese in the lower half. I have seen it done this way before

You can also try to "save" space on that full side by choosing to print hotel address and RSVP no. at the bottom of the sides that you flip open.....hope you get what I mean

chemson

julia: I understand what you mean.... I just got my proofs back... tough choices cos they turn out very nice and I agree with you.. only the photos will remind us of the wedding planning we went through and not forgetting our actual day pics..

Blossom: Collected my cards as well... have confirmed the design and now waiting for the printer to revert with the artwork..
I agree with Cowie... perhaps you need to make the fonts smaller to include both mandarin and english words.

och

hey blossom, it's not weird. lots of pple i know print in onli english nowadays. if ur parents or urself r uncomfortable, cowie's suggestions r gd. i've also seen pple who print separate sheets with the chinese words on them. the sheets r like a card. enclose those sheets in invitation cards to pple who r more comfortable with chinese.

hey julia, when's ur food tasting?

blossom

thks cowie,
hmmm... wont the font be too small. the card is not that big... but i guess i dun have a choice.

how's ur preparations? when are u collecting ur album? any photos to share?

i managed to clean my homo tiles already. they are now sparkling clean.

blossom

hi och,
thks too. my in-laws wont mind english but my parents cant read english. i think i will ask the printer, they ought to know what to do.

fish

Hi Apple,

Glad to have another Dec bride talking. The more the merrier!!

How's your wedding prep? I've managed to settle on my gowns' design. Now have to worry abt my guest list.. I'm also renovating my house. It's real fun shopping for furniture etc.

Your stylist at Jantzen sounds gd (not oushy, I like!!) but great world city is a bit outta the way. Sigh!!

carol

Hi julybride,
Do you have any theme to your wedding? or what kind of songs do you like, maybe you can choose songs that have specal meaning to the both of you.

Woh, singing during the march in, that's a good idea & really be special & romantic.... I think most duet would do, pick something that both of you like to sing.

You are really busy with so many things, me too, but still enjoying the whole process.
The days are getting nearer & nearer, really getting excited & the mood of getting married.

Cheers:
Carol

loreal

halo Blossom,
Me havn't select tea dress.. Dun gan-cheong heard tat we can select it during collection of album.
Haha..Alan save your pocket leh.. Does your FH like the photos as well? So is the pics up to your expectation? Wat time u reach CC? Mayb u r sick so no mood to stay long there isit?

Perhaps my pic taking is taken in 2 separate days that cause my total photos taken to become more than the specific standard.. In a way causing me to select so much..