(2002) Brides of year 2002

pinkapple

Jinette,

make-up's not good leh..... tmrw's going for another one. w my 2nd gown fitting.

feel quite bad abt it... the makkup I mean... went for so many liao still not man-yi. Hope this one will b good. *sigh*

angeline

Pinkapple,
what kind of style you looking for? I just curious to find out. I probably have only one day to squeeze the various trials in and would like to strike out the imappropriate artiste, so as to save time and of course money too.

clover

Me! I'm an 8th June bride as well.

Well, my mum has been nagging me to buy some new clothing but I just don't want to buy clothes for the sake of buying becos I have to. I usually shop every now and then anyway. So I just brought whatever I have to my hubby's place. (I'm living with in-laws).

I will be collecting my WG, EG, teadress on the 6th June. My guo da li was over last week. Ate a lot of cake.

CLoVeR Leaf

lollipop

Ure in-laws are willing to put their friends outside the rest.. that's a compromise. Changing the wedding date is quite a hassle, you have to inform ure photog, the banquet, the bridal studio etc... and if you specifically chose that date frm the Chinese alamac, you will have to look for another auspicious date.

During the dinner u and ure hubby will go around every table, so if you feel ure "outside" guests may feel left out, no worries, u can make up by talking to them longer, whether they are enjoying themselves etc. Put those chatty guests together, so they won't feel bored. Get what I mean?

I have selected my photos last night. Whoa, spent almost 2 hrs doing the difficult chore. In the end, we selected 35 pictures, (we like mostly the outdr shots) and on top of that, my bridal boutique is giving us the bal 39 shots sans touch up. They are returning us the negatives for the 35 we have selected.

I am quite pleased with the photos... now I can't wait to get them. They told me we will get them in less than two months.

blush

Hi all Sept Brides,

Does anyone knows where I can rent those cute & nice costumes for my flower gal n pageboy?

Tks in advance!

angeline

Hi Jinette,

I think there is a thread with favourable comments on bluMesh in the topic "a vote for the best bridal boutique" you might want to check it out. You thinking of getting another gown from them?

jinette

i read the comments but need further feedback.
hmm.. coz all their gowns are MTM (return). there's no feedback on their make-up artist.
m comparing some bridal boutiques before signing up.

hazel

hi flowee,

of cos' i remember u... thanks for ur concern... past few weeks have been really busy.. finally my guo da li over liao... but still veri veri busy... heheh... hvn't had time to scan photos, may hv to do it after the wedding... will let u noe when they're ready

worried

HI YA ALL!

wow! didn't realise there was so much going on for the DEC brides!! last time in my heart, i was thinking, so sad that there ain't much "yakking", so i kinda dropped off looking out for DEC brides. this time round, when i started running thro' the threads...MY! what a joy!

m having my actual day on the 6th, but i haven't got much done yet..hee! we just decided in mar to DO IT, so we've only got our din venue & bridal package thus far. btw, does anyone have recommendations for actual day photographer?

dear jin, yes, i've actually been to blumesh. a quaint lil' place, and corinna's the designer. i've got her card somewhere. do let me know if u need their contacts. everything's MTM, & cor is really nice to talk to. but i'm a budget constraint, so i cldn't really splurge...

hey! judging by the amt of stuff u guys have accomplished, i really feel lagging behind! time to buck up!! keep the thread running, yeah! doing a great job rallying tog!

rachel

Charmaine did the trial make up for me...but if you go look at the J&M thread both Chris & charmaine are about the same in terms of their standards...Charmaine's style was very light and natural, which was what I wanted. hope this helps

pinky

Hi Corrie & Twinkle,

I've emailed you gals, pls check.

Angeline, thks, for my gown i'm only doing the beadings on the back. for the front top, will be doing some near the linings at the bustier

pinkapple

finally got the rite makkup Artist. She's really nice... gave lotsa advice too. even gave my bf some advice... only one who did out of the 4 I had trials with. still can't believe that I had 4 trial makkups!!

Ange,

actually I don't really know what style I'm looking for. Just wanta look like me... but can enphasise on my strong points and hide my flaws.

angeline

Hi Pinkapple,
That's wonderful, I am happy for you too. Care to send me a mail on her. Maybe I can ask her for a trial too when I return. Thanks.

angeline

Pinkapple,
Forgot to ask you. When you go for your trials, do you show the artiste your gowns so that they can design a matching makeup / hairdo??
How long does each trial take?

kas

hi Pinkapple,
what should we expect from a trial make-up? I used mine for my ROM make-up & not sure if this is enough to decide. Can advise?

cheers,
kas

rachel

nope, you dun need to do anything or prepare anything, just bring yourselves, and maybe for your man, you could bring along some ties and have him wear a long sleeve shirt for the trying of the suit...or yah, and bring your camera to take photos lah....have fun.....I'll be having my photo shoot one day before your trial then...

crayon2512

Hi Lollipop
Glad to knw that u love your photos very much.
Seems like u have done most of the wedding preparation...all u have to do is to make yourself pretty for the big day!
Care to show us your photos when u got it back?

slavetolove

Hi Pinkapple,

Did you have to pay extra for the trial make-ups? My package only allows for 1 trial.
Hopefully can get it right the first time round.

pinkapple

Hi Ange,

When are u coming back? I don't have her name card w me now. my bf keeps everything. :p I'll send to you asap. or if u can wait, I'll update u more after my foto session which is next week.

I did show them my gowns. 2 of them tie up with my bridal so I assume that they've seen my gown.

so Ange, what do u have to settle when u come back?

pinkapple

Kas,

I think the ROm's good enuff to decide lah. at least u've interacted with the artiste and know what he/she's like. and I think if u can communicate with her... then no prob. if she'll willing to meet your wants... n provided the wants suits u lah.

My artiste for my ROM was so horrible that she put this fear in me abt the bridal which I sign with at that time. eventually I drop that bridal after visiting them when it's closer to my wedding.

pinkapple

Hi Slavetolove,

yah. I had to pay for the extra trials.

for more pp, it only takes 1 trial. I dunno why I'm so ma-fan.

Kas,

what to look out for... erm... 1st thing I see is the equipment they use. brushes, sponge, etc. Those "local" ones are usually ok. went to one "Taiwanese-style" bridal's makkup artiste, not good at all... I mean... don't look clean.

I think it's mostly communication lah. whether u can communicate witht the artiste. whether she can interpret what you communicate to her well.

Hair: I heard some artiste do the hair really tight... so much that u'll feel the strain on your head. think that's no no oso. imagine u gonna wear that hair for a few hours.

n the hair spray too. some got this horrid smell that I can't stand. sorry. me v sensitive to smell

angeline

Hi Pinkapple,

Seems like you have very high standards. I wonder what your FH looks like. Must be very handsome.

I was thinking that I should go back for a long weekend to settle on the hotel, makeup artiste and actual day photography.

I haven't decided when. Do you think Aug / Sep is too late?

How long does each trial take?

Me also very particular about cleanliness, you think I can bring my own brush for them to use? Do you also check what kind/brands of makeup they are using?

tomyam

Hi Lollipop
May I know how much your bridal boutique charge for each pc of additional photo? Does it come in the journalistic style ? wat size?
jus curious

lollipop

Hi Crayon,
You are right, we love our photos
No worries, once we have gotten out hands on them
Figure it will be around 2 months before you guys get to see them.

Hi Tomyam,
The photos are of the normal album size, 12 x 15. Our pkg only offered 20 pic, anything above 20 we have to pay $80 (subject to GST 3%) The manager kinda figured our dilema as we were poring through all the photos, so offered to give us a better rate. In the end, we save $150.

What journalistic stlye? Can elaborate?

kas

Thanks pinkapple! For me, i am more chin chai cos i don't put on thick make-up that frequently, so cant really tell what's good & what's not. Plus most of my frens said my rom make-up looks natural. I guess that should do. (^_^) I am too lazy a person to source around too much.

Angeline, Aug/Sept might be too late for the hotel booking. You might want to consider coming back earlier.

lollipop

Hi Crayon,
Now I have to concentrate on our invites, waiting for quotation in fact. Then we have to look into wedding favours (more or less have decided on one, considering their price), this one, headache... seating arrangements. After that, should be ok...

I dun want to plan things last min... at least now there is still quite some time for us to play around with... I can relax a little, methinks..

tomyam

Hi Lollipop
That's pretty expensive. So you got to pay additional $70/pc for 15 pcs. Is that right huh? My bridal boutique also charges $80/pc, but we managed to slash to ard $55 becos we took additional 60 pcs extras. I will get 2 albums, 1 storing the studio and 1 the outdoor.
By journalistic, I mean they will arrange the pics for you, maybe 2-in-1s, some 3-in-1s, some 4-in-1s, instead of all single blown up pictures.
hey lollipop, since you get the pics back, can scan and share with us?

lollipop

Hi Tomyam,
No, I haven't got my photos yet. They will be ready in about 2 months time.

oh, the album will not comprise of fully
"blown-up" pictures, and yes, they will do designs... 4 in 1, 3 in 1 whatever.

cherly

One of my friend is Malaysian and her wedding has set on 7 Dec. She just called and checked with me whether can provide some info.to her on the accomadation on the eve of her wedding day.

She has tried Aranda Country Club but all fully booked liao and she tried NTUC chalet only available on 5 Dec and 7 Dec and fully booked on 6 Dec.

Can u all provide some info. in order to assist her to solve the problem. She is staying in Tampines so will only consider those places which near to her house. By the way, the chalet she wanted to rent is meant for her Malaysia family and relative.

tam

hi, i'm new to the forum...sound like everyone having fun on the make up trials and fittings...

my wedding is on the 8 dec...my first "discussion" with the bridal shop will be in August...still a long way to go...very interesting to hear about the experiences you gals have on your WG and EG designs...just wondering whether you get to try different WGs(especially those with different neck line) during the first session to see which type of design suits you...i'm worried that what i like do not look nice on me...

also sourcing for actual day wedding car...does anyone has a lobang...looking at Jaguar or something uncommon...

angeline

Hi Tam,
Welcome to the forum. Which bridal shop did you sign up with? Is your gown MTM or OTR? Is four months enough for a MTM gown?

Have you settled for the dinner venue? Where are you holding it?

romona

hello Tam,

welcome!!!
Oh yes, you have to tried on different neckline so that the designer will have a better idea on your wg design. oops, gonna rush for meeting. Cya!

slavetolove

Hi Tam,

Welcome to the forum. Yes, you should definitely try as many WG as you want to get a better idea of what suits you. Of course you should have some idea of what you are looking for first so that you dun have to spend the whole day there and avoid boring your FH for too long (like what happened to me)

carol

Halo, all July brides,
What happen to all july brides here, looks like this thread has been very quiet for a long time.

Carol

melissa

Just to inform all of u that 20 Oct 02 wedding dinner at Merchant Court Hotel is open for booking.
If interested, kindly drop me an email at [email protected] or contact Lena Goh (Catering Sales)of Merchant Court Hotel at 62391753

pinkapple

Hi Ange,

no lah. My std's not really high. n my bf's not handsome too.
a bit on the plump side.

eh.... Aug / Sep is mayb a bit late. esp for the hotels. if u want a weekN for ya wedding... u've gotta book early.

ermm.... each trial is abt 1hr.

I suppose u can bring ya own brushes... prob is. they use many kinds. I dun think u'll wanta get one whole range. besides, u dunno what kinda brushes they use.... they'll be more effective with their own brushes.

kas n Ange,

I didn't check what brand of makkup they use. cos like Kas, I dun use makkup that much. in fact I don't like to put on makkup. so didn't bother to check.