(2002) Brides of year 2002

jinette

pinky, thanks !! heehee didn't know i have a sporty look ;p but i was in my sec sch track team ;p m a "chin-dian" *that's what my colleagues call me* ;p dad's a nonya n mum's a indian

n mi only 1.54m only, heehee wear heels that's y
hiazz, look "kuai" only, rest no need to say
the animals are from sentosa ;p was lucky to get them on that day

twinkle, yap my gown is empire-cut. design myself ;p angeline , it's MTM. my "ah lao" also growing a pot belly

pinkapple

Wow.

Dec brides are getting "ON".

me can hardly catch up.

was bz w reports this week.

so Angeline, u've decided to get ya gown from HK afterall huh?

n Jinette, u've got ya design liao har? n izzit true that ya gown is done already?>

slavetolove

Hi Angeline,

You can try buffet at Conrad. Attended a buffet lunch there last year. Quite good food. I think it should meet your budget too.

If you want a cosy yet different restaurant dinner, can try checking out Paddy Fields. You can book the whole place for your wedding. It is a Thai restaurant though. Attended a wedding dinner there recently. Very fun. 100+ people. Very casual with great food. There is also an almost open-air bar where your guest can have drinks before dinner starts. Heard it is not expensive too.

What I like about the place is the great food and the privacy - a stand alone building occupied by the restaurant only. Only problem is that it is slightly far off (along Alexandra Road).

angeline

Hi salvetolove,
I did get some quotes from Conrad. Price was just OK. The cheaper menu was very chinese food. You know the fried rice and noodles kind. The western one was a little off budget. Also some girls tell me the black and white decor was just so so..
What did you think of the decor?

slavetolove

Hi Angeline,

Sorry, no impression of the decor anymore. I believe the hotel could have several themes which you can choose from. You prefer a western dinner?
Maybe you can ask the hotel to do a mix and match? Some hotels are rather open to customising the menu.

What do you think of the Paddy Field's idea?

angeline

Slavetolove,
I was thinking have having poolside / garden. Conrad didn't suggest any theme to me. yes I prefer a western dinner. Best if semi-buffet.
I haven't been to paddy field before, so can't comment. But it sounds great from the way you descibe it. You know of any others like that, but with western food?
What do you think of Oaks Grill at Tanglin Mall?

twinkle

hi Ange!

Just rtnd home... signed and paid deposit for my package!

Jinette is so petite and young!

I realized why I wanted to look around even tho the gown fits me the first time round, it can look rather plain at sight.

Will definitely discuss with the designer to add more crystals to make it look more elaborate.

I'm the one who told you about the black and white seats in Conrad!

This is in their Salon by the pool, which I'd mentioned before that it looked ver avant garde, but that may perhaps be disguised with better decor! The staff are nice and if you want buffet dinner, price is S$85 +++

so maybe outta budget as well.

angeline

Hi Twinkle,
Been waiting for you to come back. Hope you enjoyed yourself. So you have signed up with them?
I understand what you mean when you say it fits and looks good, but can be a little too plain.
I was undecided about going for the plain white bustier with a-line cut that is so fashionable now. But thought it was too simple. Only one chance to wear couture gowns, so better be 'big' (but tasteful still).
Wanna chat in the chat room?

may

me!! I think there are lotsa 8 June brides here.. ( seems like a good day) 3 of my colleagues I invited happened to have relatives who are also getting married on that day!

it's my 1 year ROM anniversary too

btw, does any1 here can advise if you need to shift new clothes to new house on GUO DA LI day?

hazel

my customary is oso on 08 Jun... think it must b a really auspicious date... hhehe... even my cousin is oso getting married on the same day.

my guo da li is tmr..

jinette

pinkapple, mi have 2 gowns already which was meant for the photoshoot.... mi want to have another WG for my actual day ;p

mi 22, from a o-biang sec sch from the west side..
twinkle signed up with Inspiration Collection.

angeline n twinkle, sori bout last night, kept getting disconx. *paiseh*

anna

Hi May,

Yes, I think you should. According to my FH's grandma, she said that our mother will be giving us the dowry and with this we have to bring over some new clothes cos there are also a part of your dowry.

partygal

Hi Angeline,

I really don't know why, but still cannot receive the photos. Maybe the files are too large. But I'm sure your gowns must be very nice.

It is a nightmare going for fitting. I had my first one, and instead of slimming, I actually put on weight again. *sigh* But I have to admit that I don't have much determination to lose weight. I love fried food, and high carbo ones like rice and bread. Now that Slim 10 is gone, it's either exercise or live with it.

Also suddenly I have a pimple outbreak on my back, nearly freaked out. Now diligently using Clarins to wash my back. Hopefully it will recover.
REally scared that nearer to the date, similar thing will happen. Then it will be too late.

clinet

hi all 8-june briedes,

now then i know we need to bring over some new clothes to our new house. hw everybody preparation going on, mine guo da lis is 2-june and will collect my WG, EG and photo on 6-june.

pinky

Hi angeline,

yap, got ur email. very nice and elegant gowns
i think will look like princess when wearing it. hv u given to ur designer to make the gown? i actually have the partial design of my gown with me, do u want to see as my photos not ready yet? if yes, can send it to u.

the car decor looks nice too, i think i have saw the decor in femalebrides mag, but i prefer to put small wearing bears at the center of car. the roses and color combination are nice though.

pinky

Hi Tare Tare, thks for informing abt the canister. when i got time, maybe will check with ROM.

Angel, my hubby also short, me is 162 and he's only 169.

Jinette, u've bought so many gowns already but u havnt sign up any bridal shops, is it? so u going to take only photography packages?

jinette

hi pinky , i only bought 2 gowns ;p

hmm.. going to sign up with a bridal shop for the MTM WG and etc. Photography will be with hilarion.

angeline

Gemi,
Sorry about that. I will separate out the pix and send them individually tonight again. Like yourself, I have no control over food. When I see chocolates and fries, must have it. Now trying very hard to exercise to keep fit.
Did you take any pix at your fitting? Can share?
The outbreak is probably just due to stress. Maybe you nervous about the fitting? Relax, soak in the bath. Let me know if the Clarins work, I got an acne problem on my back too.

angeline

Pinky,
Thank you for your compliments. I wanted the gown to look like 'Cinderella". I have discussed with him and tried on some gown he had in the shop, but haven't showed him the pix yet. I will be going down again on Sunday. Will bring it then.

yes pls pls send me you pix, will love to see them.

The car decor I got out of Female mag. It is ideal. So now I have to look for the car.

So I see your pix tonite?

corrie

Jinette & Twinkle - Can I view your gowns too? My WG will be pure white, A-line.

Pinky - Is your gown ready too? Can i see too?

Angeline - Wow, this forum is really getting active. So many posting yesterday and the day before that I can hardly keep up. I just went to confirm my EG design yesterday. it will be pink with purple, with a low cut back that reaches to the hip.

Have any of your decided on the EG design? Can share ideas too?

dance40

Hi Angeline,

Just got a call from Jennifer. My gown is ready for fitting liao.......
So excited. I going down on the 6th evening to try.
I really can't wait to lay my eyes on it.

Irene

angeline

Hi Corrie,
You are doing the preps full tie right. Lucky you. Wish I can do that too.
Wow low cut to the hip, so sexy. Do you have any pix/drawings of your gown that I can see?
I'm still very undecided about the EG. Got to see more variance.

jinette

angeline , msn got doing something .. ;p

how do u want ur EG to be like sexy / elegant etc ? maybe u can ask the guy to suggest ;p

corrie , will send u the pix later ;p and double wow !! ur gown sound very sexy !! till the hip.. what bout the front ? is it a v neck or bustier etc?

angeline

Corrie,
If you have pix can I see it too. pls.
Maybe the back bare to the hip and the front, plunging v neck down to belly button.
VA VA VOOM....

nicole

wow this thread very active!! Sorry that I didn't reply msgs for me yesterday coz I went out.

Thanks Jinette, received yr mail! very dreamy and romantic gown.
So u decided on this design?

Twinkle and all,

Pls email me abt the actual day photographers and videographer's contact and info if interested!
Thanks!!!!

Nicole

jinette

corrie !! i also want to c ;p
nicole, i luv the bottom half ... i hope that i can carry it off .... still haven't decide on my WG yet ;p

gemi , what clarins products are u using ?

partygal

Hi Jinette,

I'm using the body exfoliation scrub...The last time I had a breakout, I used it and it was pretty effective. Recommended by a friend.

Angeline,Jinette, Corrie,

I also want to see your gowns, but don't know why I still cannot receive Angeline's pics. *sigh* Can you please try again, if not, I will go get a proper e-mail [email protected]

Thanks a million and Angeline, sorry for the all the trouble.

jinette

gemi, how much is it ? have u try the relaxtion oil ?

twinkle , can email mi ur hubby's name ? hilarion is still available on the 7th.

twinkle

hi jinette,

I've tentatively told hil to reserve that day for me. My hubby to be's name - Chiam.

Told him that Chiam is good fren of David's.

will get in touch with him next week to see his portfolio as he's tied up this week.

partygal

Hi Jinette,

I really can't remember. Only know that I bought it when Clarins was having a sale at METRO. It's not very cheap, but it's quite a big tube. Think it's around maybe 60-70 or somewhere there. Sorry, got bad memory.

Does anyone of you have a digital camera? Me thinking of getting one, so that I can shoot at my fittings...and record the whole preparation process. Any good recommendation?

partygal

Hi Angeline,

I missed out your earlier questions. Sorry I didn't manage to take any photos yet. And my gown at Allure is not out yet. Just confirmed on the design not long ago. A bustier also, and off white.

I've got another bustier at another boutique called American Wedding Treasures. But this one the design is different. It's fully beaded. In case you miss my earlier postings, the reason for having 2 gowns was because I'm having 2 banquets, in S'pore and M'sia. Frankly speaking, I would have loved another design for the 2nd gown, but then, I don't seem to look good in spaghetti or halter, as I have big shoulders.

For my EG, I've more or less confirmed on one, another bustier..haha..but it's more like a mermaid cut...solid red. My mum nearly fainted when she saw me in it...my dad said the bull will go after me.

crayon2512

Hi..lollipop
Think i say too fast liao..the dinner at the other restaurant is taken coz the club had an event on that day. : (
I wanted to change my wedding date..but MIL and hubby doesn't want to.Feeling veri sick of all this. I even called my MIL and tell her tat its quite embarrassing to put guests outside the restaurant..she says..its okay lah..can't be helped wat.
My hubby and FIL are willingly to put their friends seated outside. I dun like that idea..what should i do?

corrie

I am sorry, I do not have a pic of my EG yet cos I just confirm the design yesterday. It is a MTM. I got the back design from a mag actually, forgot which one though. The front of my EG is not that WOW in a sense. it has two layers. The inner layer is a bustier and the outer layer is an organza layer with a v-shape neckline with an effect of two organza overlapping each other. (dunno whether your can visualise though). Once I get the photo of it, I will show it to your, ok?

Pinky & Jinette & Twinkle - can e-mail me your photos at [email protected]

twinkle

hi corrie,

I dun have photo nor pic of my WG. Sorry! but it's also bustier, seems like that's the trend huh?

but alas, i wasn't trying to follow any trend, just simply bcos the gown fits me and made me looked good! It's semi A-line, not a full ball gown...

Try catching the tv ad of dbs card, it features a stunning bride in bustier ballgown, beautiful! I'll try to add more crystals on my bustier top.

may

ah, collected my WG yesterday liao..bought a tea-dress last minute just now ( as requested by my MIL that I need to wear something different when I go back to my parents' hse) =)

angeline

Hi Pinky,
Got the pix of your gown. Looks good. Very sexy and elegant. Are you going to have the beadings in the front?

Very busy today, so got to go. Thanks for sharing

flowee

hazel

wonder if u still remember mi???
the one who is stayin near ur parents place in sk...
wow ur weddin daz is drawin near...
muz b real excited...
wana 2 send my regards 2 ur forth comin weddin...
remember 2 share ur pixs ok...