(2002) Brides of year 2002

cherly

Angelia,

U can't run from the "Da Jie Da" liao. Anyway, have u sent to me the recent nov brides list. I only received once b4 Ice joining.

Dear all nov brides,

Since most of us can't make it for the gathering, we shall postpone and will inform you all again. Hopefully, will be able to meet all of you

Angelia,

I even failure than u, at least u organise still got some pple turn up, mine don even settle yet

passion

Like all of you, I am getting married in September. Need to ask you guys at what stage of preparation must I be at now? Quite stressed seems that time is running out. My first fitting is in June and photoshoot is in July. Thats all I have done. Please advice.

Passion Fruit

angeline

Hi Corrie,
I've just emailed you the pix. Let me know what you think. Have you decided on your boutique and banquet venue?
Are you also the romantic kind?

jinette

hi angeline !!

i wanted the "cinderella" type but m on the petite side so A-line would be better.....

m also doing ala carte ;p

hi pinkapple !!

hmmm... did u take pix of ur trial ? i intend to do that so i have a rough idea how i look ...
so whoz the 3rd trial u going for ?

angeline

Hi Romana,
Just sent you the pix, hope you like it.

Jinette / Pinkapple,
Ala carte takes up alot of time right? Isn't it very tedious?

liz

Hi Blossom and Loreal,

me too dun have any polariod but some bridal did provide them, maybe our bridal dun have this service lor.

happy98,

I have almost finished preparing my guest list coz will be collecting my invitation card nx mth and need to go for printing after that.

pinkapple

Hi girls...

3 trial... fail.

*sigh*

I'm quite sad.... think I'm v ma-fan... now I dunno if I should go for another trial or just settle for the 1st one...

twinkle

hi angeline,

send me the pics too! you know my email...

hi jinette,
same sentiments as you... that's why i'm choosing a simple but classic Aline gown.

twinkle

hi pinkapple...

dun fret lah... persevere. it's important that you're not settling for second best!

have u confirmed design of EG? I haven't even started!

nicole

hi all Dec brides!

So
to see this thread active again. It was pretty quiet for a while ago.

Anyway, just to re-intro myself, my wedding on 7th Dec, think quite a number of 7th dec brides in this thread already! Girl, snuggles......etc

Seems like all of us are in the gowns decisions making stage now.

Wonder if anyone of u have started on forming yr guest list??
Nicole

jastan

Don't forget about me okay.... I am still around in this forum though I have been quite quiet..

Busy with work and also the furniture just arrived, so need to do cleaning up and packing. Will need to go IKEA to buy some stuffs as well over the next few weeks.

However, I will come into this forum to update on any new things. So please do not leave me out of any outings events.... I want to join if I am able to make it.

slavetolove

Hi Angeline,
Thanks for the picture. Definitely looks good if it is on a big car (like in picture). I am still looking for my bridal car so not sure if I can use such decor. Hopefully I can! Have u decided on yours yet?

Hi pinkapple,
Once in a lifetime, must make sure it turns out right! Never mind if people think we ma-fan, as long as we look beautiful that day!

fish

Hi Nicole,

Welcome to the thread too.

But unlike what you said, not all are in the gowns decision-making stage. I'm feeling rather despondent now cos I've not decided on a bridal boutique yet. Sorry to make you guys listen to my "lao(2)sao(1)", but i took one day off just to look for a boutique, but things turned out bad..went wedding present, ted wu , silver cloak but ....I'm so frustrated that i feel like just go OG and buy a white dress and forget it!!! Really hope to come to a decision soon. : - (

chemson

Hi Gals!!

I am back ! Very tiring.. still recovering from the jet lag... :p

julia: Thanks for sharing !! Your gowns are very nice.. esp your cheongsam and the 2nd EG.. the embroideries are very nicely done !!

passion fruit: Dun be too stress... like you I have not done much apart from my gowns fittings.. my photoshoot is in 2 weeks' time. Need to collect the cards to send for printing. For the time being, I am busy with my flat renovation.

angeline

Thanks for all the advise. After your persuasions, I took time to go visit the boutiques here in Hong Kong and finally found one that had 'my kind' of gown and the price is cheaper than SGP too. 1WG, 1EG, 1 mensuit, all MTM and to keep for less than 3K. This way I don't have to worry about flying back all the time for the fittings. BTW, I also asked about the price of 'Kua' in Hong Kong (did not forget you SG brides asked me to) and prices start from about SGD 300 onwards.

As for the picture of the car that I send you all, the car decor is the ideal, so to match the decor, I would have to go find the same car. (anyone out there have this car? Hee Hee..)

So now I am left with finding a makeup artiste, a florist, actual day photographer and the banquet venue. Welcome any recommendations you have.

Pinkapple, mind to share the experience you had with your 3 artiste so I can perhaps narrow down my choices. How long does each trial take? If I make a trip back to SGP just for the make up trial, you think I can fit in 3 or 4 into one day?

Share with you what the WG looks like. It's going to be a bustier, tight fitting to the waist line. Choose off white instead of white cos I am quite tan and white contrast too strong against my dark skin. The bodice have flower embrodery on it and the bustier's neckline will be lacy rather than just a straight line cutting. The bottom will be the "cinderella" ball gown type ( I know this is so last year's fashion, but who cares, I've been wanting to wear this since I was a kid). I am getting the designer to gather the bottom abit so it has some creases on it. You know the 'crumpled' up look. I be setting fresh roses matching the car decor instead of just rossettes on the waistline at the back There will be a long train for the march into the church.

Realise I am getting long winded, but I am so happy I finally found my gown. With just 6 months left I thought I might have to settle for just another white dress.

Chin Leng, thank you for setting up this web. Can't tell you how much support and good advises I got from going through the forums. Especially important for me since I am not in Singapore to get first hand experience. THANK YOU !!! \(*o*)/

twinkle

hi fish,

poor girl, take it easy, once you go around aimlessly, you may get frustrated with all the different packages, styles of gowns ....

did u try on any gowns? did any designer point out which style may suit u? like for a petite frame, a A-line or empire cut gown may be more suitable than a puffed up ball-gown. Of course, if you're tall and slim, almost anything goes!

also, it's important that you're comfortable with the designer or the co-ordinator, cos she's the one who's gonna ensure that she understands your needs and personality and can articulate that out in the design of your gowns!!

it may also be easier if you have a framework of what's important to you by setting your priorities for what u want in a package.
For eg. No. 1 Budget? (must be within S$5k?)
No. 2 Convenience (most house all under one roof? in-house phtography, make-up, gown, decor etc)
No. 3 testimonials of boutique or branding?

hope this helps you...

if you're really still helpless and don't know where to go abt, send me an email at flochoe@yahoo and i'd be happy to accompany you!

meanwhile, relax on your holiday!

angeline

Hi Twinkle,
Here's the pix of the car decor. I've also included the picture of the wedding gown designs that are similar to the one that I am getting. The top of the lacy one and the bottom of the gathered one. These were the closes that I can find, let me know what you think.

Thank you so much for sharing with me. Do con't to let me know how your seach for the banquet venue go.

Angeline

twinkle

hi angeline,

thanks! got the email.

the gowns are so pretty! especially love the bodice of the first one, seems like dressed in daisies! very pretty and cheery! is it a similar design to what you're getting?

hey gal, very efficient, u got it done in one day! did your FH accompany u?

I've seen similar car decor, will forward u next time after scanning.

angeline

Hi Twinkle,
Glad you like the pics. Yes the bodice is very similar, little flowers all over it. I just hope to get my body to that of the shape of the model. (I tell myself, ya.. con't to dream on, won't happen till I get a transplant. :p) The bottom is silimar but also slightly different, my creases probably will be less obvious.
I won't say I'm efficient, took so long to decide do in SGP or HK. To me the connection and feeling is very important. I went to quite a few shops today and yes my FH was with me. We even ended bickering over some gowns. But when we were talking to this designer, there was a connection. And of course not to mention the $$$ factor. So we were both pleased.
Yes pls do send me the car decor you have. Do you think the gown will go with the car decor?

lotus4

Hi Brides....

How are u all ??

Excited ?? Our big day is approaching.

Mine is on this Sunday , 2 June.

choco

Juz finished my guo da li yesterday. It was fun but very tiring,went all over singapore and met those long-time no see relatives
Now the next focus would be the actual day itself......super excited now :p how abt u gals???

Hi lotus4,
My god,didn't realised yr wedding date is so near liao
u must be very excited rite now
must remember to sleep earlier this week and dun take salty and high fat food now to avoid water retention
My wedding day is 2 weeks and 6 days from now

jolene

Welcome back, Chemson! Hope you did not get too affected by the China Airlines crash...

I managed to get my shoes from Isetan yesterday. Silver open-toed shoes. Only $29!! So happy and FH paid for me.
Hee hee... Luckily they have a sale, if not its $59.

What about you gals?

kas

Wow, I am only gone for three days & this thread is bustling with activities!

hi Angeline,
congrats!! You finally found your ideal WG. What's your budget for actual day photographer? I have gathered some details during my search & these info might help. Let me know?

hi pinkapple,
nope, i have not take a look at Allure latest EG cos these 2 weeks my mother-in-law in town. So busy keeping her company during weekends. Is yours ala carte? My make-up artist from Allure is quite good. She did my ROM make up & many said the make-up look natural. Her style is more of the youthful & tan look. Not sure if this is what you like?

hi Fish,
did you check out Allure & X-zen? I find both shops not bad. Do go take a look.

Btw, need some advice. Do all of you think it's better to rent a car so that i can use the car for the three days near my wedding or just rent a london cab for the actual day? I love the london cab but my sister is telling me it's more practical to rent a normal car for the whole week cos will need my own transport during the week which i am getting married. Any advice?

angeline

Hi Kas,
So your MIL flew in from HK huh. Remember to get some of those medicinal oils for her. Mine always ask me to buy those whenever I go back to SGP. I haven't thought about how much to spend on the actual day, I think the norm is about 1K right? Here's what I was thinking. Since I am not having the studio photography, maybe I'll find an actual day photographer that can do good outdoor shoots too. Then in the actual day, we can take some time out to go to the beach to take some vogue outdoor shots too. What do you think?

I like like the youthful tan looks looks too, does you makeup artiste free lance? Can share your ROM pic with me? Thanks.

BTW, is your husband's family going to fly over for the wedding?

kat22

Hi, gals

idah - just sent you the wedding planner. Sorry for the delay.

Chemson - welcome back!
Hope you have recovered from your jet lag.

Julia - thanks for sharing the pics with us! I really love your gowns especially the purple and lilac ones...lovely!! Dang is really gd with beadings
So, when are u going for your trial? Mine's on 14 June

Jolene - wow...that's a steal!
Glad you fd your shoes
Is this pair going to go with your WG and EG?

girlgirl - welcome! So, when's your big day?

winnie

Hi Angeline,

I received the car photo and found it very familiar .. digged all my magazines and found that it is featured in Female Brides :p ... real nice and have the princess feeling :p ... the moment when I saw the car deco in the magazine, I fell in love with it too :p ... but if i requested to use synthetic flowers instead of fresh flowers (I suppose those in the photos are real flowers) ... would it be a bit too "artificial"? *hee* ... to cut cost :p

angeline

JenJen,

Thanks will check out with Paris what time we will be taking our outdoor PS

Recently, didnt went down to Paris too,cant be of help to u
My gowns will only be ready in mid June.

dance40

Hi Janfyp,

I taking paper 2.3, 2.5 and 3.4.
Hope to clear 2 papers this time coz this is don't know my how many attempt for tax paper already.

you?

Irene

cynthia

Hi choco, mine is on 2 June too. So is Herimone's.

Excited? Of course lah... but more excited about the trip that follows the wedding *hee hee* (that's when I can have my FH to myself and not bother with MIL relationship first).

Btw, I want to thank Linda and mushroom for their chilled teabag method. Really helps for my eyes. But does it matter what type of tea I used? Green tea vs English tea vs Chinese tea? It's very cooling when applied, even my 6-yr old cousin wants to try it whenever I use the teabags.

cynthia

och

had my photoshoot on fri. the shoot was lots of fun. we went to sentosa for outdoors, took pictures at central beach n beaufort. the weather was beautiful, it was cool n my train was floating in the breeze.
but taking outdoor shots were v tiring, hubby n i both fell asleep on the ride back to studio. so excited bride, i will strongly encourage outdoor shots after the indoors.

those who went to beaches, do u notice these black gooey stuff near the water? hubby n i merrily posed at the edge of the water along central beach but when it was time to leave, we noticed the black gooey stuff were all stuck on my dress n they were quite impossible to wipe off without staining the dress. sigh. i wonder what those were, i'm still waiting to see if margaret managed to get the stains off. i wonder if those gooey stuff can only be found on sentosa beaches.

julia, thanks for sharing ur pix. u look gd.
when's ur photoshoot?

chemson, welcome back!

partygal

WAh..the thread is so active, and I missed so much over the long weekend.

Kas, I'm glad to hear that Amy is good, but still worried how she's going to cope with two brides on the same day.

Pinkapple, I also think platform shoes not as nice, but then for comfort sake, may have to sacrifice a bit. If not, end up with cramps quite bad. BTW, when did Allure's new EGs come out? I didn't see a lot of new ones during my last appointment with them in mid May.

Angeline, can you send me the pics of your car and gown too. Me also keen to take a look. Thanks.

angelia

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Cherly</FONT>
i oso dunno which version i sent u.. but the one i hv is with <FONT COLOR="ff6000">Ice's</FONT> info. will email to all in a moment.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">JenJen</FONT>
got ur fwded mail. thx.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">JasTan</FONT>
hey, ur's gonna be 1 mth b4 us, so how's ur prep?

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Irene, Janfyp</FONT>
good luck for ur ACCA....

anyone knows the actual day procedure?
e.g <FONT COLOR="119911">
- groom fetch bride back to groom's place
- pray
- go to room, lit up "light"
- tea ceremony
- outdoor photography???
- back to groom's place and change to tea dress/kwa
- go back bride's place
- pray
- tea ceremony
- rest, proceed to hotel

can we go back groom's place for tea ceremony than wear the WG out for photoshoot shoot than go back groom's place to change to tea dress?? dunno is there any "pantang" rule that cannot wear WG and go groom's place twice or not.</FONT>

linda

Hubby still not back yet.
Going to be here only on Thurs.
And Guo da li is on Sat. And his invites not out yet, and wedding is on 9 June! Can you beat that???? Sigh....

Cynthia, glad it helps! Must remember to be a pretty bride okie?

Hi Lotus4! Wow! How u feeling? One more week!!!! Are you going on leave soon?

jenjen

Angelia, good question... I dunno...
My procedure should be something like this:

- Groom fetch Bride from Bride's place
- Outdoor photography
- Go back Groom's place for tea ceremony
- Go to new place for more shots and change clothes
- Go to Bride's place for tea ceremony
- Go to hotel

Did I miss out anything, gals??

mushroom

hi girls !

my wedding in abt 3++ weeks time too ... feeling the pressure to get things done ...
have given out invites. Now waiting to settle the guo da li this coming friday ...

Hi Cyn,
Glad that it works ! that's gd ... better start to sleep early and eat healthy stuff to maintain in tip top condition for the day !

Hi Lotus and Choco,
hee hee ya very exciting rite... at first i also not so excited but after getting into the preparations, i just can't wait for the big day to come. Furthermore, now everyone is talking abt it... hee hee ... make me more kan cheong ...

Hi Linda,
Oh .. not back yet ? I thot u mentioned he will be back tues or something ...
ok don't stressed ok. Well, a man got to do wat a man got to do, so we just have to be the woman behind them. U try to get watever u do done first. Then when he comes back, just need to follow up on his side ...
Don't worry be happy okie !

cheers.

angelia

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">JenJen</FONT>
iniitally i oso had that kind of schedule in mind. but hor, need to reach Groom's place by 9 am, so prob won't be able to squeeze in the outdoor photography unless ask hubby to fetch me at 7.00am..
.. but hor, i dun wan so early leh.. if so early, then makeup gotta be at 5.30am liao... i wanna sleep a bit more...
5255.gif