(2002) Brides of year 2002

cherly

OK. Maybe u all let me know which day u r keen, weekday or weekend? U all prefer lunch or high tea or dinner? Bringing along hubby? OK, let's vote for weekday or weekend first. Then i will come out a date. Pls support.

angelia

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Cherly</FONT>
preferably a Fri or Sat for me

cherly

No, u didn't send to me b4. Anyway, received liao.

Angeline, bluechin, Irene &amp; Jen Jen,

Where are u all? Be more supportive, vote lei

angeline

Hi Angelia,
Sure you can look for me. You've been so nice to share with me. I leave in South Horizon, it's near the 'Ocean Park' and 'Jumbo Floating Restaurant'. I have to say that you must not miss the 'ladies market' if you go shopping for clothes, festival walk is a great place. Everytime I'm there I spend a whole day. The building has everything from Giordano to Giogio Armani. Sure can find something you like.
To see, depends on what you like. The night scene from The Peak is great. My friends enjoy throwing oranges up the wishing tree.
Great food is everywhere. You got a be a dare devil and eat off the street hawkers, theirs are the most delicious.
Send me a mail when you come by, I'll be most happy to show you around.

cherly

Angelia,

u have done a great job for the Nov Bride, forget to compliment u just now.

What abt the rest? If add in Irene, bluechin and JenJen, only 6 of us. Am i leave out anyone?

dawn1002

Hi Tomyam,

Welcome...

Which day in Oct are you getting married?

I guess for the taboo thingy, I guess me and my FH will try our best to avoid where we can. Better to believe than be sorry.

angelia

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Cherly</FONT>

what i did previously was to send a mass-mail to all in the list, stating a date, time and some places and ask them to choose. those who are interested will reply.. then i note it down..

after some time, say, abt a week or two cos not all check their mails regularly, then i'll send a confirm note to all (including those who did not reply) so that if they want to come at the last moment, they still know where we are meeting...

thedevil

HI all,

i notice that oct thread vry quiet unlike sept n nov...haha y huh? me too Oct bride...n wif Divine couture. i hvnt taken my photos yet, will take in early Jul02...quite late right
...actually even later but will kana mensus n divine say will look bloated in pics if got mensus so i push fwd, not much choice on the date coz the photographer fully booked liao.

4mths bfore n after?? wah vry strict ah, i only heard 3mths, anyway my mum is not so strict, juz 1 mth b4 n after...quite sad coz i long time friend of mine getting married in sept n i cannot attend.

cherly

Was thinking to do too. But need them to set a day first mah.

U was saying u sent to all nov bride even some of them has lost in touch in this forum??

bluechin

Girls,

i'm fine with whichever days except Mondays and Thursdays and lately Friday too! U gals can decide and let me know....

Excited to meet all of u pretty girls....

trihok

Hi anna,
my big day is on 8 June 02. every thing almost done...now just wait for my hubby to come and marry me...hahaha...

novbride

hi gals!

Tomyam, it's really up to you..if u feel uncomfortable gg to your colleague's wedding, then better dun than sorry...have u ask your colleague whether he/she mind as well?

btw, i'm attending a friend's wedding in June, I'm her jie mei too! i think June is still ok lah har?

ahem..Let me introduce myself..I'm one of the pioneer in this thread (hehee)..ya..agree that the thread is not v active for quite some time liao..but hey! our wedding are drawing near..time to share share more info liao ya?

I sign up wif Bridal Veil, will be gg down to BV to have my first fitting soon!

ai..thedevil, my photoshoot is in August..very late hor? but it's before chinese 7th mth lah...

hello Lollipop, how's your preparation? I din do much cos I'm very bz wif my new flat reno now..

kas

i am back!! Wow, so excited to see the exchange of news &amp; happenings!! I have just ROMed last friday &amp; well, marriage life has been great so far. Cant stop grinning! heehee...

Angeline, my husband a HKer too but he has become a Sporean. As for me, i hv never really like hkg as it's so packed. So never expect myself marrying a HKer. (^_^)

For the brides who are looking for an actual day photographer, something affordable but not fanciful stuff like journalistic shots, i have met up with 2 who falls under this category. Both based on frens' recommendations. If keen, i can post up their details later. Need to look back fm my Palm.

cheers,
kas

kas

hi pinkapple,
i am not upset with Allure lah. Guess there's always room for improvement after the 1st outfit. It's quite difficult to expect the designer to come up with something that fits you when they hardly know us.

i tried on the tea dress after my ROM to show to my family &amp; surprisingly, they tot i look better in the tea dress as the beading looks elegant. So i might be wearing that for my actual day. Shall decide then.

cheers,
kas

cherly

Since most of you all are not able to meet during weekdays, then we shall decide to go and meet on Saturday. Can u all meet on 8 June 02 (2 weeks from now). Can u all suggest the venue to meet, what to eat?

lollipop

Hi Tomyam,
Welcome. I guess it's up to individuals. I know of some friends who ddin't attend their friends' weddings because they are a few months apart.. discuss with your Fh and your parents and see what conclusion you can draw up.

Hi Novbride,
Taken my photos on May 10. We chose Marina South, East Coast and Art Museum. It was fun albeit hectic. Was told the photos would be ready this week.

Have scouted for ideal wedding favours. For those who are still looking around, you can check out Stadium Cove. They have some of the prettiest things there!

tomyam

Hi lollipop
Where's Stadium Cove? Sounds like a sports shop to me. I am looking for wrist corsages that doesn't cost too much, else may make make own. Anybody got 'lobang'?

Hi Dawn
My wedding day is on 5 Oct.

Well I guess no choice. Got to avoid attending 4 mths before and after. My SIL who is giving birth in Sep might even got to miss our wedding. unless my nephew choose to come out early.
yah... we have to look out for many 'ji4 hui4' , like can't send out invites during the hungry ghost month, etc.

cynthia

Hi all, I get puffy eyes in the morning (especially upper eye lids) when I wake up. HOW??? Only happened recently when I have to sacrify sleep for work.

Any quick remedy? Wedding coming... real soon...

thedevil

Hi tomyam,

hey, our wedding date same same....for me i juz avoid 1 mth bfore n after....yah its up to individual, stick to yr believes
....wat matter most to me is if the other couple mind or not.

but u faster than me, already take photos liao
, i m so worried i dont know how to smile properly. n i hvnt even gone for my second fit!!

novbride, y yr nickname is novbride? is yr bday in nov? u taking BV...who's yr photogrrapher?

r u girls engaging actual day photographer? n when will the "gou da li" happen? i m quite sad tt i'v to leave my home soon

lollipop

Tomyam,
Stadium Cove is located outside Indoor Stadium. You can't miss that place. It's filled with white tentages
From afar, it looks very romantic.

Dun think they sell wrist corages there. Have you engaged a florist? They would be able to help you kon that. Will you be having a church wedding? At Stadium Cove, they have mainly candles and incenses, scented and non-scented ones.

Thedevil,
I have engaged an actual day photog. In fact, last year!

I'm sad to leave my family too, but I am looking forward to married life.

mushroom

Hi trihok,

so envious, everything almost ready is such a relief. Me still struggling. yday was trying to write my invites cards and it's such a chore with the guest to be invited ! *headache*

Hi Cynthia,

don't panic ! i think first of all, have enough sleep. maybe take leave to sleep it off ? 2ndly, don't drink water before you sleep. 3rdly, heard tea bags will help. Used tea bags, put then on ur eyes (cooled down ones ..) for a few minutes, it's supposed to reduce puffiness.

kat22

Hi, gals

I am toying with the idea of using an MPV as my bridal vehicle, what do you gals think? Is it very weird? I just thot it is a refreshing change from the mercs and at the same time, i can squeeze my jiemeis into the car. How? What MPV would be gd? Thinking of Mitsubishi Spacewagon or Toyota Pinic...pls share with me your thots...tks!

Cafinia - sent you the planner oredi. Got it?

linda

Hi Mushroom,

After writing the invites, you have to group them into tables of 10! That's what most problematic. Cos who dun want to sit with who lah, I want to sit with who lah....Aiyo!

And oh yes, my hubby is coming back on 26 May.
Means I can get things done liao...finally.

Hi Cynthia,
Other than tea bags, a cold porcelein spoon works too. Chill 2 in the freezer the night before, in case you have puffy eyes....take out and put them over your eyes. Very effective....
Learnt from crying over breakups! kekekkekekeke

rachel

hi Kat22

could you also send me this planner? my e-mail is [email protected]

anyhow, about getting an MPV, think that's a good idea...dun see why we need to use those posh expensive cars....I'm looking for a Volks beetle actually, but can't find one!!!! sigh....want to use one for my photo shoot too!!!!ha ha.

but why do you want your jiemeis in the car with you? to add fun? will your husband mind? that's the only thing, otherwise, will be good fun...

cowie

Hi Kat,
I think it is a good idea to use a MPV. Other then you will have more space for your gown......your jiemeis can all join you in the same car. More fun and laughter this way
Plus, you can save on one driver for the jiemeis' car too!
I dun think it really matters if you get the Mitsubishi or Toyota one. Just choose a model which both of you are comfy with. That's the most important

mushroom

Hi Linda,

Yea u r rite. Very headache that part. We are trying to cut down the process so we directly put them into 10s when doing up the guest list. Then after RSVP, got to do more shuffling ... sienz ...

Really a sai you, hubby not ard, everything u bao, not bad !

err, take the porceline spoon from freezer and put on the eyes will the spoon stick to the eye or not ???

twinkle

hi gals!!

I'm new here in this thread... came here after visiting Inspiration Collection and Amy Lew the designer recommended me this site. I'm more regular at www.femalebridesonline.com any regulars there from here?

My wedding date is on 7 Dec and gosh, I've neither confirmed my venue nor gown!

Venue - shortlisted Shang and Raffles, garden style with 100 guests.

WG - currently like Inspiration's but will be seeing Divine tonight, heard lotsa praises abt them!

kat22

Thanks, Rachel and Cowie. I am glad you like the idea
Rachel, yeah, one reason of hving the jiemeis in the same car is to add more fun
More re nao...
Just hope mine and his parents wont object

Nope, my FH doesnt mind...hm..maybe hv a balance of jiemeis and brothers then so that he wont feel left out..hahaha

You know, it is so much cheaper to get a MPV...less than $200 a day! I hv to get my own driver though

Rachel - will be sending you the planner shortly.

Cowie - how did your pics turn out?

linda

HAhahah...Mushroom! You very cute leh! Won't stick lah! Metal spoon will though...(Yess I have tried...OUCH!) but after a while okie liao.....

*Trying to imagine a bride with 2 spoons on the eyes....*

angeline

Hi Twinkle,

Me no better than you. At least you have settled on a boutique.
I am also looking for a outdoor venue about about 80 pax, been recommended Conrad poolside and Hyatt's orchird garden. What do you think of those.

Hi Kas,
Whoa, what a coincedence. My hubby find SGP too boring. I like to work in Hong Kong but when I am ready to retire I'll go back to SGP. You can't have a life here.

blossom

i went for my photo shoot last week. it was a memorable day. i like my make-up, hair-styles and gowns a lot. the outdoor shoot was fun too. we went out at around 6pm. it wasn't hot, there was even a cool breeze, quite lucky since these few days are very warm and stuffy.

it was really tiring, having to wear really thick make-up (i have to wash my face 5 times to remove it.), heavy gowns and heels throughout the day. but it was really a wonderful experience. hope my photos turn out well... but may end up spending a lot.

to those who haven't gone for ur photo shoot, it's an experience u will never forget. enjoy urselves!

cowie

Hi Kat,
Like my photos very much
But the album is not ready for collection yet. Will try to upload the photos when I get the album and proofs back. Hopefully can share with you girls by then......

Hi Blossom,
Yes, agree it was really tiring.....but it is those kind of tiring process which I do not mind a single bit

twinkle

Hi Angeline!

I've been to both these places.. what's your date?
GH only available for 21 and 28 Dec for that month's sats.

Conrad poolside is nice, staff very frenly as well. However, not pleased with the decor of the salon. It used to be a jazz bar, with black and white striped cushion upholstery and pop art on wall..... very kitsch!

They can't do anything to cover the stripes so unless you're ok with that or willing to spend more, Conrad is a nice place.

Your guest list is abt the same as my!

Do consider Raffles and Shangri-la as well... in fact, they are my 2 choices.

For Raffles, there is a gazebo and they will be erecting white marquee.

hope the info is helpful. if u need more info, forward me your email!

let's motivate each other! R u in HK now?

dance40

Hi Angelia,

Maybe but it is too expensive there.

Hi Cherly,

Anyday but friday.
Ooops........ 8 of June I cannot go coz too near to my exam liao. Sorry.

Hi Angeline,

I not so sure too. Later I call Jennifer and check..

Irene

twinkle

hi snuggles,

i've managed to catch up on some history of this thread....i'm also holding my on 7 Dec!

it's a good day?

Where are u having your solemnisation?

kat22

Hi, Blossom

Glad you had a fun time
How come your outdoor shoot started so late? I thot people normally go out around 3-4pm? But lucky for you the evening was cooling...these few days are really hot! I can imagine my poor FH melting inside his thick suit!! So, where did you go for outdoor? Mine is all outdoor so i am now cracking my brains for some nice locations

Hi, Cowie
Great to hear that your photos turn out well
Worth going through the tiring process
Yup, wld love to see your photos once ready!

Hi, Rachel
Sent you the planner liao..got it?

blossom

hi kat22,
we were late that day. my makeup artist was very detailed and that took up some time too. we din take a lot of outdoor shots as a result. but i think it's ok la.

we went to marina bay. it has everything we wanted... greenery, sea, bldgs. besides, it's near our favourite hideout... suntec city.

wow! urs is all outdoors, that will be really tiring but im sure it will be an exciting album.

mushroom

heee ...errr .. ya hor... only metal will

hahahahahhahah .. that will really be funny ...
i think Cynthia will come running after us if that happens .. hee hee ...

daisy

My wedding is on the same day as dawn1002 on 26/10/02 and i'm using the same bridal shop as thedevil.

My photoshoot is on 29/07/02.

chemson

Greetings !! Me still in Edinburgh... I like the idea of using MPV... I dun mind the Lexus RX-300... posh and nice.... but between a Mitsubishi and a Toyota.. I will opt for the Mitsubishi.. cos the outward appearence looks more appropriate as a bridal car...

Me.... think one of the last few in this thread to take my bridal pics... 2 more weeks to go !!! Getting excited and nervous as well... have to go back on a diet when I get back... the food here is just too sumptous for me to resist...

cynthia

Thanks for all the good advices... Cotton pad soaked with icy cold water, can or not? At least, that won't stick, right?

kat22

Hi, Chemson
Great to hear from you
Yar...we love the Lexus RX300 too! So nice rite? Too bad most of the car rental companies here only have the usual boring cars. I think i will most likely settle for the Mitsubishi too 'cos my colleague has one and it's so comfy!

Hi, Blossom
Hmm...marina bay sounds gd...near to millenia walk, a place where i wanna go too...

For those who have gone for your photoshoot, apart from make-up removal, are there any other useful items we shld bring along for our photoshoot?

angeline

HI Twinkle,
yes I'm in HK now. That's the bad thing. Can't go shopping for the hotel or boutique. Just relying on what people say.
My day is the 28th. GH is Grand Hyatt right? Did you get any pix for Shang, can send some to me?
I did think of Raffles. Actually it was my first choice but price is too steep. :'-(
What was your package like?

cowie

Hi Kat,
Erhm, dunno about the rest. But for me, I think just have to bring the minimum. Like appropriate change of shoes, make-up removal......That's it...

But in my case, we had lots of chocolates with us too! Cos we did not want to waste time stopping to eat proper lunch. So, we got chocolate bars, KitKats, Toblerone... to give us energy thru'out the day
In fact, my make-up artist bought them for us. The thing is dun just go without food, cos the tiredness will show on your faces in the photos