(2002) Brides of year 2002

angeline

HI Russ Gal,
I'm no better than you, haven't confirmed anything yet. From bridal boutique to banquet place yet to be decided. I think I'll probably go for MTM cos I'm can be quite particular about stuff. I have to first find a designer that I feel comfortable with and feel that I can trust, then I will leave everything to them. I very lazy one lar.

The weather in HK now is very similar to SGP. If you come in Aug try to come earlier. The sales starts from Jun - Jul. By end Aug there will still be some sales, but you might have problems trying to find the correct size.

angelia

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Cherly</FONT>
wah, u oready thinking of honeymoon?!
i might postpone to next yr to go Europe. if go this yr end, then prob NZ or Australia cos it'll be summer. initially thinking of Mauritius, but very ex leh.. this couple of yrs must save save save a lot of $$$$$ cos wedding and flat used up all oready.

hey, i've got something to ask leh.. u going back Sabah for dinner the 3 days after ur banquet here rite? that means u'll go back mother's place then go Sabah hor?! cos must "hui niang jia" dunno on the 3rd day of marriage or 3 days after marriage leh.... gotta confirm with mummy first.

chemson

Hi Cafinia and the rest,

Yep ! I am in Scotland now. Will only be able to send the list to you when I am back this weekend. Maybe some gals can help her by sending the updated list. Thanks a million ! yep.. I am in Edinburgh now.... escaping from the heatwave in Singapore. So cold but I love the weather !
Enjoying the break before I get down to the planning of the wedding and moving in to my new place.

Welcome Calfinia !!

romona

I'm also a Dec bride2be.
Already booked my Wedding dinner and bridalshop. My bridal is Wedding Present and my photographer is imagegarden and my dinner @ Jade restaurant. Hopefully everything turns up well! Going for my design session next week, and looking forward to meet up with my designer - Patrick! Hiak hiak!

angeline

HI Romona,
Welcome to the group. Let us know how yoru session go.

Pinkapple,
yes very tough. Totally based on the woman instinct now. See how much confidence can the designer instil in me when I talk to them.

linda

It is only 3 weeks left to my wedding n GOSH! I haven't done most stuff yet.
Hubby is outstation and will only be back by mid next week. Sigh...his side of invites haven't even send out yet.

I AM SO STRESSED!

dance40

Hi cherly,

I intended to go Japan but might postpone it due to $$$ not enough.

Irene

Hi Angelia,

I think we 'hui niang jia' custom nowadays combine into the same day of customary. Coz nowadays, we go to FH place for tea ceremony and then we detour back (after changing clothes)and then go back to our home for tea ceremony.
Not sure if it's the same for you all as you gals needs to go back to malaysia for the tea ceremony.

Irene

lingz

hi pinkapple

my designer is amanda..so far everything's okie...but hv to see how's my first fitting goes :p

Hi Russ gal,
u r not the only one..hvn't got a actual day photographer yet... guess it's high time i should do something...

winnie

Hi romona,

I'm also a Wedding Present bride! Also getting married in Decemember ... I had signed up Andrew Choi for photography ... but yet to know when is my design session. How long does Patrick take to inform u on the design schedule? Btw, when is ur photography? Mine is on 1st October ^_^

winnie

forgot to include this in just now's posting ... anyone has good recommendations on good bridal magazine? especially those featuring lots of bridal gown :p Thanks!

romona

hi Winnie!

I got my design session when I signed up with them. Everything is fixed on the spot, including my photography - 17 Oct. They've not pass me the actual schedule yet, I suppose you took up Andrew Choi's promo package with them - S$4388 right? At least I thinking of Andrew, but I still perfer mood style, so, go for imagegarden.
My Wedding is on 27 Dec, what's yours?

Hi Angeline, sure, will keeps you gals updated!

Ciao!

bluechin

Hi Cherly,

Intended to Europe or the States/Canada but i dun really like winter so may postpone the trip when it's spring..... meanwhile may go somewhere nearer first.

Hi Angelia and Irene,

I read somewhere about the bridal car circling 3 rounds around yr new home or in laws's place to represent 3 days....

romona

hi Winnie,

You can get the bridal magazines from Wedding Present shop. They asked me to bring 5 - 6 mags home, including the EG design, very heavy.
Personally, I like Brides from UK and Mode. Oh, refer to my above email, some typo error, hope u understand.

anna

Hi Linda,

Is ur wedding on 15/06/2002? Don't be so stress, just relax, as for your husband's side, wait for him to come back and get him to settle.

fish

For those who chose wedding present, how's their service and gowns like? I'm going to check out silver cloak couture at tanjong pagar.

Regarding that female photographer , not very good to say who she is. But No, she's not one of those in silhoutte. Dun worry it's nothing great, just find her slow response a bit frustrating. I'm a super impatient person cos I want things to be settled "chop chop".

Romona,

our weddings on the same day!!! Hiak hiak..

Angelene,

Do u think it's worth visiting Lamma island. We went Lantau before and thinking of a change.. My hubby and I planning to spend a wonderful time watching the sun set at the Peak.. Hee...

winnie

Hi romona,

wow! ur reply is so fast! yup! me took up the promotional package (bundle with Andrew Choi) ... think quite worth :p btw ... did you liaise with Patrick directly when u sign up for the package? Amy is actually the one attended to me ... and Patrick seemed busy ... probably that's why I din manage to get my design session on the spot
... anyway if I still have not receive my schedule, me better buck up and call him a call *hee* ... as for the magazines ... are those magazines u mentioned available in local bookstores?

romona

hi Fish,
REALLY!!!
Finally found someone sharing the same wedding day! U know what, I'm keep thinking how come 27 Dec not that popular coz' those I know are either on 18 Jan,28 Dec, 22 Mar.etc.

Hi Winnie,
no lah, happen to be in the net. Jordon(nice and jovial) fixed up all the appointment for me. As for Patrick, Excited bride(WP bride too) mentioned he needs to warm up first, I feel that too!
As for the schedule, you better check with them asap. BTW, are u going down to Empire to look for teadress? They shown me a piece of pink color(new design), quite nice, but still will want to go down and see see look look.

romona

Winnie,
As for the magazines, I going to return to them tomorrow. So, u can drop by and get it if you want to. Else, u can find those 2 magazine in Kinokoniya @ Taka.
Alternative, you may like to surf http://www.theknot.com , they have many gown designs! ok, gonna watch TV liao... ciao~

cynthia

Hi melgal, it's really up to your FH whether he wants to follow u to distribute the cakes and cards. Not a must.

cynthia

anna

Hi Trihok,

Me too..my guo da li also in this sunday, so when is ur wedding? Must be feeling very excited abt ur big day right?

cafinia

Thanks for the warm welcome! Me a little worried as quite a few of you have settled most of the things.....gotta get my butt moving!

Hi Kat22,
Read that you have a really useful wedding guide to share.....can send me a copy?

kat22

Hi, Cafinia

Welcome! Glad to see another new Sep02 bridetobe
I will email you the planner later today

My photoshoot is next mth too
I notice ur bridal shop is in Malaysia...will your photoshoot be there too?

cherly

Hi, Angelia,

Think u have make a mistake liao, I am not the one to go back to Sabah hold the dinner

Oh, its summer time during year end in Aust or NZ. In fact, wanted to go to Europe but due to the tight budget then have to drop the idea, so maybe will go to NZ. I always like to plan thing ahead, so won't agrue with my hubby then I will know how much to spend, if really money no enough then can go somewhere else

Mauritius and japan are quite expensive. They expenses are high, one of my friends just back from honeymoon there, their package is $3000 per couple but they spend another $4k for the activities and other expenses, they told me the T-shirt and shorts also very expensive there. I guess everybody know abt Japan standard of living liao.

angelia

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Irene, bluechin</FONT>
ya, i do noe that the change of clothes than go back mum's place rep. the "hui niang jia" customs. but hor, u need to bring stuff back one leh.. i think i'll stick to the "original version"...
oh, if follow, think must leave mum's place before sunset!!

oops, pai-sei, shld be <FONT COLOR="ff6000">Jowie</FONT>.

angelia

hehehe, seems like we hv more or less same destinations

Japan is definitely out cos hubby always gotta go biz trip there and oready sick of Japanese food. anyway, i'll be going (1 wk in Osaka and maybe 2 days in Tokyo) in Aug/Sep cos hubby going for biz trip again..free accomadation in Osaka

Was thinking Australia (Melbourne &amp; Tasmania) cos i studied in Melbourne and yearning to go back, and also cousin currently studying there and hubby only been to Sydney/Gold Coast.. It's really a beautiful place - Melbourne..

But many people recommended NZ, say it's the best place for honeymoon... and hubby wanted to go Europe (he studied in UK) but i can't take winter and furthermore daytime will be shorter so not so worth it rite (after spending so much $$ to go there)? but go Londongot free accomodation lah, cos his brother is there..
that's why till now still undecided....

linda

Hi Anna,
No...My wedding on 9/10 June....so that's why I am so stressed. My guo da li is next weekend cos hubby only weekend here before the wedding....Sigh.....

Everything not done yet....all the nitty gritty stuff which I tend to forget....sigh....

russ gal

Tot of Choon Huat from Fast Soup.. anyone know of anyone who used him before? I know he is getting popular so he probably is already booked...

Ange, thanks for your advise. Think I will try to change my holiday then! Esle go all the way there and can't buy anything. I have been thinking abt the summer sale for years!

Winnie, alternatively, you can go borders and browse first. They have quite a range so look thru and see if there's anything that's nice before buying. I personally like the US kind. But a lot depends on the style you like. Theknot.com do have some very nice ones but if you want to show your designer, it's not very clear. More often than not, I find similar ones in theknot.com and the US magazines (eg Martha Stewart)

russ gal

cafinia

Hi Kat22,

Thanks! will look out for your planner.

Nope, the photographer will come down to Singapore for the photoshoot. Have you taken yours? I'm still researching on what nice places to take pictures, and what gowns to wear for the shoots. Any Sept brides willing to share their pics/polaroids with me, please...?

angeline

hi Gals,

I wanted to go to Europe too but too X liao, on tight budget, may go NZ instead

Indeed standard of living in Japan is very X, i have been there before &amp; makan cost me a bomb liao!

I have one question to ask u gals, what kind of make-up remover do u normally use? Any good one to recommend?

mushroom

Hi Linda,

Don't stress okie. Just take things one at time. It'll all turn out fine !

Most of you girls wedding are in the beg of June, no wonder all guo da li already ... hee hee .. okie so no stress for me .. i still got abit more time .. hee hee ..

Btw, how was the situation when both side parents meet up ? I'm going for my food tasting tomorrow and it's going to be the first time my fh parents and my parents going to meet each other ... i scared they got nothing to say to each other ! :p hee hee ....

linda

Thanks Mushroom!
I do hope everything will turn out fine....I can't stop thinking about it....Sigh....

hahahah...during our food tasting, it was fine. The dads didn't speak much but the mums did most of the talking and my siblings and his siblings. It also helped that there are 2 young children around....

And my mum played me out by saying I very stubborn and naughty and 'hope' my MIL don't mind me....and my MIL says:"No lah, she very kwai...we very happy to have her as DIL....blah blah blah..." HAHAHAH...all the nice sounding words....

Funniest part is out of a sudden, my MIL ask:" Like that hor, I think we should talk about the items needed for the wedding...." And for a minute, everyone kept quiet....so funny...like very stressed. My hubby even went to get a note book from the car and began taking down notes like a secretary....AHAHHAHAHHAH
Made everyone laugh....

I am sure yours will go well too! Have fun!

angeline

I'm so jealous, you girls can share your experience with the same boutiques. I am the only one considering Irene's Creation. Feel like changing now.

Winne,
another good wedsite with lots of US designs is 'weddingchannel.com'

Fish,
yes Lamma is worth a visit for the seafood. Personally I like 'Tai O' it's a old kampong style fishing village. Hey I got a great sun set view from my house, wanna come.

Russ Gal,
My work is always very busy during Jul/Aug. By the time I can find time to go shopping always don't have my size. Not making the same mistake this year. Already schedule a few weekends to enjoy the sale.

mushroom

Ha Ha Linda, ur description very funny ! ... liked the part when ur hubby when to take note book .. hee hee .. so cute ....

well i hope they got things to say .. wait both side keep quiet i headache .. hee hee ... :p ...

my FH sis bringing her baby son along. hope that will help liven up the situation

well don't think too much. nowadays as May seems to be going by fast, i also can't help but feel stressed. Don't even have must mood to work .. just keep thinking of things to do for wedding ... haiz ....

cherly

I think most of us are aiming and looking forward to go Europe to have honeymoon but too bad those places will cost us a bomb so mostly will drop the idea, right? So currently most of us plan to to NZ but I think NZ is really a good place to visit.

Angeline, I am using Inovi complete make up remover and its not bad. Lancome also good.

angeline

Cherly,

I agreed with u coz wedding already cost us a bomb liao, going to Europe is another BIG bomb ah!!

Thanks for sharing
How muct does Inovi cost?

tomyam

Hi Octbrides
I am also an Oct bride. It seems that many of you got bridal package from GHA. I am with JWN. My photoshoot already over and oso selected the photos. Waiting to collect in August.
Glad to have found this thread to share the experiences and maybe to get some advices oso.
My aunt told me that it's best not to get involved in 'red one' occasions 4 mths before and after the wedding. Is any one here abiding by the 'taboo'? I don't know to accept or reject an invitation to a colleague's wedding.

kat22

Hi, Cafinia

Tried sending you the planner but i received an error message that said the user doesnt have an yahoo.com acct. Can you give me another email address?

cherly

Angeline,

Inovi is abt $30++ can't really recall how much is it but Lancome one is abt $45+/- is face and eye make up remover.

If u are dry skin, u may try inovi Skin Food Nutrition, is quite good and I like it very much.

bluechin

Hi Angelia,

I dun really know about the customs.... will probably wait till the date's nearer and the rest of the ppl especially my in laws will remind me.....hee....

yr hubby also often travel....that's nice....my hubby went Paris Last year and i followed too....this year will be New Zealand....probably in Aug.

Will probably not choose Australia cos been there many times.....i agree that Melbourne's really beautiful....especially the Great Ocean Road....

wanted to go Europe and USA/Canada cos our relatives r there so could save on accomodation

-------------------------

Hi Angeline,

i dun like make up so dun use make up remover....sorrie....

cherly

Angeline,

U are most welcome!! What brand u are using currently?

BTW, gals,

Have u all meet with each other and know how they look like.

Angelia,

Since u have all our contact, why don arrange one day we all go out and meet for high tea, lunch or dinner.

dance40

I agreed. Japan is very expensive that's y might postpone.

Europe is too expensive and my FH has tour there before when he graduated from degree so it is out.

So finally, we decided Japan or somewhere near so that it is not too hectic and costly.

As for custom, I not so sure lor. But do we still have to bring things back home on that day when we 'hui niang jia' if we have custom on the same day? Since, my mum wanted to call buffet already.

Irene

angelia

i've tried twice, 1st one miserable attendance, 5 pple only, including me.. the last one, kekeke.. i arrange arrange then forgot...

why not u arrange then? since i organise one not many wanna go?!

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Irene</FONT>
though hubby studied in UK and hv backpacked most of the places, he still wants to go back leh.. but i'm the one kind of objecting cos it's winter and i scared of cold, and also the cost lor...
i pretty "ngeow" when it comes to luxury stuff... dunno how to pamper myself!! hiazzzzz... dunno who ever told him he very fortunate to marry me cos i help him save $$$

angelia

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Angeline</FONT>
hi there, juz popping by to say "Hi"

hey, can i look for u, too, if i ever go HK? btw, which part of HK u stay?? can give some recomendations where to shop, eat, see, etc??

angeline

bluechin,

Cherly,

Im using Best world product lor, thinking of trying out other brands, see which one is better.

I didnt meet them up for the 1st gathering coz went HDB to collect my keys &amp; went to bridal shop for my apptmt lor. 2nd gathering, same as Angelia, forgotten!

Irene,

When is your next apptmt with Paris?