(2002) Brides of year 2002

partygal

Hi Kas,

Congratulations...haha from tomorrow onwards, remember to tick "Married" for your marital status..Enjoy yourself tomorrow. Still remember mine, very funny. Was giggling throughout the ceremony. So much that I don't remember what I said.

pinkapple

Hi Angeline,

actually I was going to suggest, like kas did, for u get ya gown from HK. one fitting might not be enuff. with the $$ u use to fly down for the fitting, might as well buy the gown from HK. safer that way I think.

I haven't been to any of the hotels u mentioned but Hyatt looks good on the magazines. Mayb Onlooker'd like to comment on this?

pinkapple

Gemi and kas,

surprised that so many of the Dec brides are with Allure Charix.

Gemi, my EG is OTR. it was on the adv in Female magazine. the previous issue I think.

I just went down to take a look cos I quite like those I saw in the magz. then this one fitted me like a glove so I decided on it.

I think I agree with u that their EG are quite elaborate... still got time for u. hope u can find one u like. otherwise, MTM like what u said.

Kas,

so are u upset with them now? have u started on the design for ya EG and WG?

angeline

HI guys,
I have been looking around at the websites of some Hong Kong Bridal boutiques. The style of the gowns that they have here are very 'Taiwanese'. I am looking for something chic, classic, timeless. I am worried the local designers might not totally understand what I am looking for. I hear alot about Bridal Veil. Are they good?

pinkapple

Hi Ange,

I get what u mean... there quite a number of designers here who might suit ya style.

I've no 1st hand experience w Bridal Veil so will not comment.

btw, how long have u been in HK. ya hubby Hongkie or S'porean? is he in HK now too>?

angeline

HI Pinkapple,
I've been in HK for 6 years now. Hubby is HKer. Yes we both live in HK, but got to go back for wedding in SGP or my relatives will think I have elope. Ha Ha

angelia

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">anthony_tan</FONT>
i think ur other thread is enuff to do the advertisment.. pls do not "bombard" the rest. thanks.

angeline

Angelia,

What happen too? Anthony always bombard most of the thread??

JenJen,

U better take good care &amp; get enough rest over the weekend

jenjen

Hi gals... shucks... I just received news that I gotta work till wee hours in the morn tomorrow... *in order not to sacrifice my weekend*...

Anthony Tan was a self advertising videographer in some of the threads...

fish

Time for my contribution..hee..hhee cos I'm also a dec bride. So far I've only booked a place for my banquet. Still looking for bridal boutique. Been to silhouette and flamingo but ...will source for more.

Hi angeline,

You in HK?? Great place.. I always tell my friends that I love HK than S'pore. Some say I'm crazy cos HK is so packed but I LIKE! I'm going in June again.

Glad Dec brides are "talking" again!!

pinkapple

Gemi and kas,

hey. went for my fitting w Allure Charix the other day. I saw some new EGs... simple ones. mayb u can go n take a look.

pinkapple

Ange,

good to have a wedding back home! though troublesome lah.

so u'll oso b having one in HK rite? wah... pocket got big hole...

angeline

Hi Fish,
Yes HK is a great place to be (when you are still young). More happening than SGP. But as one grows older SGP's pace may be better fit. June's a good time to come. End June better, plenty of sale. Remember to look for your wedding shoes here, plenty of choice.

Pinkapple,
no actually no need to hold the wedding in HK. His parents more 'chin chye' than mine. Just a family dinner here in enough. Just bought an apt and finished the renovations, the hole in the pocket so big, no more pocket left. Hee.

lingz

whao! suddenly dec bride thread is so active...really glad!!

hi pinkapple
u got me worry, i'm with silhouette &amp; i read somewhere tt u wld not recommend silh..any reasons? me now awaiting my 1st fitting in late june..

fish

good idea angelene, will go HK to check out shoes.

I've been scouting around for gowns, went to
silhoette, flamingo, ivory aisle, inspirations. So far, I quite like ivory aisle especially if you plan to save money by getting of the rack. Their OTR gowns are so brand new and beautiful.

Good luck gals..

cynthia

Hi SSL, hope you won't mind me giving an update of my guo li day here.

Well, for a start... my FMIL never come. Just my FH, my SIL and their auntie. Asked him about it, he answered it's just another rule. *???*

Anyway, they came with lots of things. My mum returned most part of it, I think. Oh yes, for the very first time, I saw the jewellery my FMIL bought for me. It's a diamond set. Before you start saying "Wah! So good of her!", just want to say that this set is not something which I would buy and wear loh... Not that it is not nice, just not to my taste and liking. But my mum thinks it looked great. Hah... generation gap in taste.

Anyway, was appreciative of my FMIL's thought lah, coz I have been looking around for something to go with my WG. Though I bought a costume jewellery set already, think will have to wear the diamond set in the morning. everyone has been bugging me to do that...

I finally tasted the Choz cakes too. It's real nice and yummy. Luckily, din make a bad choice. We started distributing the cakes from 3pm, ended around 7pm. We sent out 2 teams to distribute - my dad and I, my uncle and my mum. It was tiring at the end of everything. But just glad to finish everything in one day.

My mum gave my FH's family some presents too... She wrapped one bath towel and one face towl with gift paper. The towels were sewn with a small round lead disc. One packet for each member of the family. To "connect" (jie2 yuan2) with them.

*phew* Just 2 weeks more to my wedding. Really can't bear to leave my room, and the little "rascal"... haha, u should know who i am talking about... now, headache about how to transport my stuff over to his house.

cynthia

dance40

hi All,

Milk is good for skin and it consist of Hi-calcium. It is also consist of lots of vitamins.
Other than that, if you drink milk (warm preferred) 30 min before sleep, it'll ease u into slumber land.

coz when one is busy, one tends to lost sleep even though body is tired. Avoid coffee, Chocolate and cola and tea. These will keeps you awake.

Irene

trihok

Hi cynthia,

today my MIL go to my mum "ti qin" she also say that on the "guo da li" that day, she will not turn up as well...only my hubby itself only.

as what u say...it always ***rule, rule, rule*** i thk is more to "pan tan"

pinkapple

Flowy,

Sorry to make u worry.

whoz ya designer?

Mine's Minda. on the whole ok lah. just that I notice a change in attitude after I decided to use them loh. mayb bcos I'm only taking one gown from them...

fish

Hi pinkapple

I spoke with Minda before. Found her a bit cold but maybe she's just like that.. How much u paying for one gown..

btw, have u guys found an actual day photograher. For me, i'm quite pissed off with one female photographer..won't elaborate just found her a bit insincere..anyway..cancel my appointmt with her..

just wanna share my wedding preps with u guys..and also in the midst of renovating of flat.

cynthia

Hi trihok, what about the matchmaker? Thought the matchmaker has to bring all the "goodies" over together with your hubby?

anyway.... that's just another rule...

cafinia

Chemson,

Saw in the earlier threads that you are compiling details of all Sept brides for sharing. Here's mine :

Wedding date : 15 Sept
Banquet Venue : Mandarin
Bridal Shop : in Malaysia
Studio photographer : -
ActualDay Photographer : Looking around

So, u in Scotland now? Was hoping for the updated list from you. Can someone send me the latest compiled list? My e-mail address: [email protected]

Hi Happy98 and other brides who have taken their pics,

Can share your photos with me? My photoshoot will be next month and will be selecting my gowns soon, so doing my research now since my HTB doesn't seem interested in this stuff.

russ gal

this thread is really getting hot! Seems like we are all very well prepared for our big day

Pinkapple, I am surprised by Sil's behaviour. Frankly, there is a teeny weeny part of me that regreted not signing up with them as I am sure they will produce beautiful gowns and their service level will also be excellent.... Maybe in their own little ways, other bridal boutiques are also like dat? Take heart that whatever their service may be, am sure your gown will turn out to be beautiful as they would want free advertisement too

Have all of you booked your actual day photographer?? Seems like I am the worst. Have been reading the many topics in this forum (and seems like that is as much as I have done). Fish, care to share more of your experience with your female photographer??

Angeline, if you are taking off the rack gowns, you may like to conside Julia Weddings. Can't say too much of their MTM, but they do have some very nice OTR. Their EG selections is also overwhelming.... BUT, I have to warn you that they can be quite hard sell. So if you dun like what you see (not your personal preference) then, be firm and say no. BTW, I am thinking of going HKG in Aug... is it too late for the sale?? Hows the weather there? Will take your advice and look for shoes there...

Oh my, so lor soh...

ssl

Halo cynthia dear

of course me not mind lah. u did tell me at the other thread that u will post here mah.

My mum told me that distribute cake usually is bride side one. groom side no need to distribute cake. ??? anyway, is dsitributing cake(guo li) the same as "lupchai" (in cantonese)?? tot it's diff day and thats when groom side will bring goodies to bride side and bride mum will return most of it and take the remainder.

WHA diamond set!! chinchai lah, "ho ge bo" (like me)
no have cos MIL say wedding must have GOLD !!! diamond or white gold like not lucky. :eek: ok lor.

I also saw my sidianjin on sat when i went to hubby's house to show his mum the wedding card hotstamping effect that we are using.

It's gold but design quite trendy. got little heart shapes around the whole chain. got chain, bracelet, necklace, earring and ring. told my hubby to tell them me no ear hole to wear earrings but they still buy me!! haiz. abit old fashion hor.

anyway, have to wear one lah. like it or not at least to show them (and other guest) that your MIL got buy you something.

How does this Choz cakes look like? is it one whole piece or smaller pieces?? my mum told me must buy those pc by pc type. normally whole cake is for baby delivery. heehee buy nowadays cos of convenience we buy whole cake. incase it got messer by the time we distribute the last relative!!

So many traditions hor. didnt remember my mum gave my bro in law gifts?

Ya, u can always set aside a day to go home to stay. thats what my sis has been doing since she got married. she will come to stay at our house every sunday. eat dinner too.

so probably in future i will do the same so that it will be our little reunion every sunday lor.

btw, do u need a special timing for the guo li??

june02bride

hi guys
my guo da li is this sunday, very excited, hope we have everything in order :p

cynthia

Hi SSL,

Yah... Distribution of cake is for the bride side. Groom side no need, unless they want loh... Er.. actually supposed to be 2 diff days, but we worry cake will spoil mah (no preservative added), so we did everything in one day

I supposed you are right about showing off what my FMIL bought for me. At least better than what my sis received from her MIL. She told me that although she went along, her opinions fell into deaf ears. She got a big round thick pendant ;p

Choz has only one type of round cake - marble cake. We got those small pcs ones... 12 pcs in a box. It shouldn't be too messy if you carry it properly and upright. A couple of boxes were messy when they came to my house coz my FH sped all the way to my house. He came rather late...

Special timing for the guo li?? yes, just read off those daily calendar loh... written inside which shi2 chen2 (2 hour time slot) is good, okay and bad.

cynthia

slavetolove

Hi russ gal,

dun worry, you are not the worst. me too have not found a photographer for actual day yet. actually getting worried too. guess we better book fast, dec sounds like a hot month for weddings and other functions.

ya Fish, who is this female photographer?

ssl

wha so chim

heehee, he sped all the way, sounds like my hubby
we are supposed to go printer at 11 and he supposed to fetch me at 10.30. guess what! he woke up at 10.15!!!

so i told him ok lah, i postpone to a later timing. then he sms me telling me traffic JAM!! hahaha

nick

Hi Slave-to-Love,

Just seen your Posting, ... and I was wondering have you heard that fantastic Song - "Slave to Love" by Bryan Ferry (Roxy Music) before ? ...
( Should also try "Avalon", More than This", and "Don't Stop the Dance" by Brayn Ferry + Roxy Music ... )

When i saw your pen-name, it reminds me of this 80's song, that brings back many good feelings &amp; memories.

Well ... Good luck in your Photographer hunt !

[ Nick Goh ]

jenjen

I know milk can aid sleep lah... but actually I tried a few time, doesn't seem to work for me leh... maybe the milk's gotta be warm...

pinkapple

russ gal,

I've hear many bridals are like this. if u're not getting more fotos, extra stuff on top of the package... they'll give u face to see...

but mine's not that bad lah. still nice on the whole

melgal

does my FH needs to follow me to my auntie and uncle house when distributing cakes or can i just do it with my brothers?

clover

Hi June02Bride and all June brides,

Hee, my guo da li is this Saturday too!

Yea, I also find it funny that my MIL not coming along cos since my hubby is still not back yet. Anyway she say she will send another relative over wor. Probably it's tradition.

As for the si dian jin, I went with my MIL to make the selection, got something I like, white gold diamond ones. My mum also bought me jewellery leh but on the actual day, when do you all think I should wear the set that she bought? Was thinking of wearing it before I come back home for tea-ceremony.

Was packing my clothes yesterday to bring over after guo da li. Really quite a chore cos I didn't realise I own so many clothes. My sister and mum are pushing me to pack so they'll have extra space.
At the same time, also feel a bit sad that I'm leaving home, going to miss home cos it'll never be the same again.

CLoVeR Leaf

carol

Hi all july brides,
How's everyone???? How's the wedding preparations going on?

let's keep each other updated, OK!

Good Luck &amp; Have Fun!

Cheers:
Carol

june02bride

melgal
me not distributing the cards 2 my relatives, my parents will be doing it. i can 'jalan jalan' after the guo da li ceremony, hee hee hee. anyway, i think my parents are very xcited abt distributing the cards.

dory
i will be wearing the "SDJ" my MIL bot, when i wear the kua back hme for tea ceremony.
i have not started packing or moving my stuff 2 my husband's place