(2002) Brides of year 2002

sheep

Hi Julia,
Thanks for the info! Sigh... no off-white again? Guess we'll have to make-do with white shoes. Like what Dang said, only the tip of the shoes will be shown. So have you bought yours? I want to see your pics too! How does your modified cheongsam look like?

julia andrew

Hi LMF

my EG shoes are turquois from nine west. the white is for my WG & 1 of my EG which is lilac with white netting. ok, will try to upload soon.

dance40

Hi Angeline,

Wow.......... Looks like alot of beading,..
So envy, you can have spagetti strap.
I cannot.....

Seems to look nice........
I have not choose my tea-dress too.....

So, how is it? Do you feel relieve after getting the designs?

Irene

forgetmenot

Hullo....

my big day in on 21 sept.wat abt u gals?

i will be going for my 1st fitting on 8 may.n will be hving my fotoshoot a wk after the fitting....

Jolene,
can email mi at [email protected] on the wedding favours,i;m vv interested too

angeline

Irene,

Yup, mine got quite a lot of besdings

Ya, i feel much more relieve liao, another burden off my mind, now awaitng for fitting

kat22

Hi, gals!

julia - wow..ur gowns are all ready? that's really fast!
Glad u like them
I wanna see ur pics too!!

forgetmenot - hi hi! I think quite a few Sep02 brides here are getting married on 21 Sep...i am getting married 1 day after yrs...22 Sep
Which bridal shop hv u sign up with and where's ur dinner venue?? Our dear Chemson had compiled a list of all the Sep02 brides' details in this thread...maybe u can give us ur details (bridal shop, dinner venue, photographers, etc) and we can update the list and send it to you

hazel

I was told by both my mother & MIL dat the bride cannot wear her WG to enter 2 houses, ie. to say dat after going to my in-laws' place for tea ceremony, I cannot wear the WG back to our own hse, gotta change to smthing else... hv anyone of u heard of this too?

If this is true, looks like i'll hv to do the outdoor shoot b4 going to my in-laws' place...

carol

Hi Spacks,
Hahaha.. really hope to see more July brides contributing in this thread....

Actually my feeling is same as yours, feeling excited & afaris that the imporatant things are not done yet, so I can track of the movement using a checklist with a date due to remind myself what are the things to do...

Outdoor locations, huh sea & greeny, how about labrador park or East Coast Park, Paros Ris???
Or even places that both of you went for your 1st date, it could be very meaningful.

I'm fanilising my guests list so I could start printing my cards next month...

Cheers:
Carol

linda

Normally "hui2 men2" (going back to mother's house) you will wear a tea dress or kwa. That's what the tea dress is for actually. I am doing the photoshoot b4 going to IL's place.
And another one after my house.

hazel

Hi Linda,

I've received your actual day schedule & helpers' list... and wow, i'm impressed... so comprehensive... thanks a lot for sharing...

initially, my intention is to go in-laws' place for tea ceremoney, then go outdoor photoshoot... then still in my WG, go back to our own hse to change into my kwa... b4 going back to my parents' place for the tea ceremony (hui2 men2)... but i think i'll hv to make some changes now...

mushroom

Hi Yuki,

Ya, Church wedding 2x times more things to prepare, like church decor (i'm having in Chijmes so booked the florist there to take care of it), then ur church wedding program as well as print invites for church (as well as dinner). Then got to arrange w ur pastor for him to officiate the ceremony and the helpers u need. oh ya and not forgetting ur caterer for the church reception.
All these just for church ceremony .. then still got dinner part, tea ceremony, actual day prg ... help !!! i feel the stress just by listing all these down .. :p hee hee ...

Hi Hazel,
Ya must change ur dress. cannot wear WG back to ur mum's place.

Hi Cynthia,
I got the same headache as you. Dont' know to get kwa or just a tea dress. I also not canto, FH also not. lagi jia luck .. but hor i like e kwa very much leh .... sigh ....
My colleague was telling me that wear kwa is good cos ez to bend and kneel and squat .. if wear tea dress must be carefull of the dress, the chest area ... etc .. this also quite true ...
so u can take this into consideration when thinking.

Hi sweet,
that means u are starting with church ceremony first ? if yes, then i think so be quite alrite unless u don't mind. But i think it will be more meaningful if ur hubby pick u up from ur house first so that can go thru' all the customs like ah yees stopping him and he lifing ur veil. maybe after that then either u leaves or u both leave together for church ....

for me i'm doing it the traditional way. hubby will pick me up first then go bk his place then my place then church then hotel then dinner... all in one day ..quite siong :p hee hee .. .but bo pian lah, firstly more meaningful, secondly, i booked the pm slot for my church wedding.

btw, guo da li is 2 weeks before actual wedding date is it ? and wat happends during this session ? is it compulsory ??? someone pls advise me, thks !

eunicetan

halo kas,

read from hilarion's posting under Triston Yeo's thread tat u can call him at: 96927409.

chemson

Hey Julia: Wow.. your WG and EG are ready so soon? My WG have already the details I wanna see... but I still think I need some moderation until I am satisfied... Will wait till after the 3rd fitting when the details of the EG are in and I will take photos to show you gals ! Hey.. are the shoes over at Substance pricy ? Hmm.. will check out the place to have a look.. for me.. am having only one pair for both WG, EG and kwa.

Forgetmenot: Where did you book your bridal package and banquet? Maybe you can drop us your details and I will send the compilation to you..
Yep.. a lot of brides are indeed getting married on Sep 21st.. it is a very good day..

Kat22: Four more days to your fitting..

cynthia

Hi mushroom, thanks for reminding me about the bending and kneeling part. Though my parents wouldn't need us to kneel in front of them, think I also dun want to "expose" my chest area unnecessarily.

cynthia

cynthia

Oops... din see your question on the guo da li.

Normally it's 2 weeks before. Got to be a good day and good timing. That's the day when your hubby bring the betrothal gifts to your place, to ask for your hand in marriage lah... Then you mum will take some and return the rest.

For my case, FH is bring 8 items:
1. Hai wei (some seafood things)
2. Pin Jin $$$
3. Bridal Cakes for distribution
4. Oranges (at least 8)
5. Liquor (2 bottles)
6. Ji Ping (oranges preserved with sugar)
7. Pig's legs (12 cans)
8. Longan Dried with Shell
FH will also bring one pair of Dragon candles to my place.

My mum will take a portion of each of the items and return the rest. Exception: she will return 2 round glass bottles of syrup instead of the hard liquor... hee hee... and also one pair of Phoenix candles.

Mine will be all done in the morning, after which we will be distributing the bridal cakes to my relatives in the afternoon, together with the wedding invites. So, your wedding invites must be ready by your guo da li day.

cynthia

sheep

Hi Chemson,
The shoes at Substance are mostly priced at $89.90. You're having only 1 pair of shoes? What colour are you getting to match all gowns? Your EG is purplish and gold rite? By the way, what's the colour of your teadress?

chemson

Hi sheep,

Are the shoes comfy? Yep, I have only one pair of shoes.. P) My shoes are silver satin with crystals. My tea dress... it is pink in colour.

sheep

Hi Chemson,
I've not tried the shoes cos didn't see any white or off-white ones, so I'm not sure if it's comfy. But according to Julia's latest info, they've got new stocks, so I'll be going to take a look again. Are your shoes open-toe? Will the silver tip show when you wear your WG? Is is very obvious? I'm still thinking whether to buy one silver to match all or buy 2 pairs to match all? Headache!

chemson

Hi sheep,

Yep.. my shoes are open toes. Err... not sure abt whether the tip is showing or not.. but ok lah.. show or dun show... I dun mind.. cos I figure if I am running around the entire day.. it can be a hassel changing your shoes, right? Mind as well.. stick to one pair. Less headache...

cool

hey cynthia,

I can actually lend you the swaroski crystal necklace if you want. I can show it to you first and you decide whether it goes with your WG. Me not going to use it for my wedding at all.

hazel

Hi mushroom,

Thanks for the advice... dun worri, me not going to wear WG back to mum's place... think my description not veri clear... sorry...

niway, actually there're 3 hse i'll b entering on the actual day, PIL's, our own hse and my parents'... i am thinking of changing from WG into my kua at my own place, but both my mum and MIL feel i shld change at my MIL's place, cos' cannot wear WG into my own place again...

aiyah... sorri to bore u gals wif my lengthy description...

blossom

I haven't been here for quite some time. I am too busy at work. Finally, can relax a bit...

The traffic here is still very heavy. I think I need some time to catch up with the messages.

I have chosen my EG. It seems to be an easy decision... maybe I am slimmer now and can fit more gowns and get a clearer idea of the shape of the gowns. During my past visits, I am very sian the moment I can't fit into the gowns.

My EG is a dark purple bustier, A-line dress with beads lining the edges. There is a split behind revealing another material of a lighter shade of purple. I actually wanted to choose a two piece gown that shows my tummy but my wicked FH stop me and said I am too fat...

I have also started reno of my hse. Quite busy shopping for furniture too. So many things to do at the moment.

kittycat

Hi July brides,

I know it's a bit early to talk abt. printing of wedding cards (or is it not too early!!??) But I was wondering if you guys hv any printers in mind to recommend? I read the thread on printers and it seems that Hi-tech in AMK and Jasvey Marketing are quite popular. My good fren used the latter and said that they had attitude problem after she confirmed with them so they're out for me.

Hi Carol,

*Grin* I guess you had fun during your photoshoot? You'll be showing us your photos then?

My WG is a 2-piece : a bustier sheath dress with a detachable toga-style bodice. During my first appointment, I realised that another bride had very similar design to what I wanted - which is a good thing coz I can see how the final product looks like. EG is a modern cheongsam dress. Simple outfits for me. But need to lose somemore weight!

yvonne

Hi Jolene

I like ur idea of the apple candle..but i won't be getting additional favours other than using those from my hotel (cut cost)
but then i will still like to kapoh abit n c the candle...can email me? juz click on my name..
thks!

Hi Julia
u r sure fast ..gowns r ready! wow...u r wearing a cheongsum...tat means u must have a pretty good figure!
hhmm..so envy!

unlike me...pear shape!
pls take some photos if u can okie..

Chemson
hope 2 c ur gowns 2!!!

worried

My wedding is in Nov2002 but hv not made appt to go for fitting yet cos still trying to slim down 1st.

Can I hv your advice when should the 1st appointment with the bridal boutique be??

julia andrew

can I hv ur email so that I could share my gown design & shoes as well.

sparks

so carol, you have collected your wedding cards and had your food tasting session??? where did you print your wedding cards.......

i thinking of doing both next month, how long does it take for them to print.......anyone got samples of wedding cards? i really regret throwing away all the wedding cards that i have received, do you think the printers have samples......i don't know what to write inside.....

liz

I have choosen my WG and EG as well and i will be going down again this 21th to try one more time and I will be having my photo shoot on 25 april. Still dun know where to go for outdoor shooting, any suggestion?

dance40

Hi Angeline,

Great for you.
I'm awaiting too.But my gown won't be ready until end of May. Would you like to come? but mine will usually be a sunday.
When is yours going to be ready?

Irene

dance40

Hi Worried,

I think you should go for it soon. Coz My wedding is in NOV too and my gown design has already been done.
And normally they take 3-4 months to get the gown ready and 3-4 months for the photos to be ready.

Irene

angeline

hi Irene,

Thanks for your invitation
Kepp me inform, if im freeeee, i will go with u

Mine will only be ready in June leh, now still waiting for Jennifer to get back to me regarding my colured laces

angelia

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">worried</FONT>

maybe u shld check with ur bridal can u get ur photos 2 mths before ur wedding. if it is possible, then maybe u can delay a bit. and, if u'r not "pan-dang" to take photos durin the lunar 7th mth (9 Aug - 6 Sep), all the more it shld be ok.

is urs MTM or OTR? mine's OTR, and my co-ordinator says can wait till May, but since hubby will not be ard, so we decided on 21 Apr instead.

sheep

Hi Julia,
My email addy is [email protected]. Thanks for sharing!

So many of you confirm your gowns already! I haven't even confirm my designs. This thread somehow reminds me how slow I'm progressing. Arrgh... you gals are stressing me!

linda

Hi Hazel,

Dun mention, glad could be of help....
Your idea is very good too. Change in own home. Hmm...Can't we do that? That means wear your WG to your own house after IL's place? It will be easier for me.

Hi Cynthia,

Then on the actual day no need to bring anything? Those things you mentioned were similar to mine.....Except for the Ji Ping/ Pig Leg/ Longan..... Mine is roast pig.

cynthia

Hello! Anyone received a sewing box from your mother?

My mum bought a heart shape sewing box with the shuang xi on the cover. Comes with needles, scissors, measuring tape, and coloured threads. Said it's a must, though I dunno how to make clothes - only can mend fallen buttons

cynthia

Hi Linda,

On actual day, supposed to be a Jin Zhu (suckling pig or roast pig??). But my mum says no need, coz that's a Cantonese tradition. So, we replacing it with red packets.

Btw, my dad says cannot close the door. At my sis's wedding, he looked so fierce when he said that, all her ah yees dun dare to go near the door... hahaha... so funny then.

cynthia

cool

Hi cynthia,

send you the photo already.
My mum also bot a sewing box for my sister when she had her wedding. Guess I'll receive one too. hehee...whao, you very fast leh, me haven't got anything ready yet. Only manage to send my wedding cards for printing only. Better buck up!!! stressed!

julia andrew

Hi Sheep, Chemson&amp; Kat 22

Will sent u gals pic tonite. File at home computer.

Yvonne

No lah.... with some magic done by Dang, I manage to camoflouge all my "spare tire"

cynthia

Hi cool, received the email.

Hey, you are pretty
As for the necklace, let me have some time to think about it. Let you know by Friday, can?

4436.gif
cynthia

linda

Cynthia,
that means no bargaining with the groom at the door?

Me teochew, but follow my mum (Cantonese) rules. Anyway, they wanted one cos they love to eat roast pig too....kekekekekke