(2002) Brides of year 2002

och

lmf, aiyoh, i'm v. innocent one.
that's why i dun know.... is rolling here n there restricted only to pple who hv rom?!!

yvonne, i found out by accident. had to do an x-ray for some school health checkup n docs noticed my curved spine. i had a few classmates who had the same condition, but all of us din require further treatment. i din show any symptoms then. it's only in the past few yrs that i my weaker back. my family doctor told me it's most likely due to sclerosis.

kat22

Hi, gals!!

wah...what's all these abt rolling n rocking huh...getting naughty on friday night izit

Yvonne, och - i wonder if taking calcium pills will help
Do take care ok?

forgetmenot - welcome!
Are u a sep02 bride? Do share with us your wedding preparations!

Hv a gd weekend everyone!!

V

vee kee

Hi Bluebell,

I tink it is becos we are going to stay in the east, therefore she planned for us to do the undersea walk and the cruise in the first leg of our tour...

Wah...Divine gowns are very nice!
Me no budget for them....

Me will try to scan some pictures for you and send you a couple of shots...

Never mind, I let you know when we going down to see Christina and I let you know?

choco

Hi mushroom,
Its okie lah,whether tdragon or hitech i'm sure both cost quite the same one lah,wats important is to print until nice nice

I have a prob here. U all know that the standard bridal make-up artist only come twice. Once in the morning another time in the evening. But i will be wearing a red tea dress after the white gown in the morning,how do i go abt taking off the veil and hair accessories without messing the styling of my hair and where can i get the rite accessory to go with my red dress? I wonder whether any make-up artist actually stay around for the whole day for touch up and stuff cos i'm really idiotic when it comes to make-up,dun even know how to apply mascara or eyeliner :p

pinkapple

Hi Kas,

r u looking at journalistic?

I think Imagegarden's good. but they're quite X compared to Choon Huat. but for Actual day journalistic, they rope in another traditional fotographer. so u get 2 fotographers.

u can take a look at some of Meng's work at www.imagegardenphotography.com

cynthia

Hi sweet, mushroom and fantasy,

Why do u say there is no match on 22 June? Me seen the schedule through Hazel's link, and there are 2 matches on that day mah... Match 59 and 60 at 2.30pm and 7.30pm S'pore time.

Or did I read the schedule wrongly?

4378.gif
cynthia

calla

hi joker & pegfur,

I had a good laugh when I saw both of your postings on "buying" the whole KL back.. hahaha..
left some for me hor!

I bought 5 pairs of shoes back + 2 pairs for my parents. All together 7 pairs!! I bought "ah pek" sandals for my father, "auntie" sandals for my mother. A pair abt RM10. cheap rite?? When I saw Vincci & Lucinnci shoes there, I feel like buy back the whole shoe shop. A pretty looking sandals cost less than SGD20. My favourite pair of sandals cost RM19.90. Till, now it is still my favorite
I also bought a pair of addias (spelling??) shoes from 77th Street. Cost abt RM60++. My husband bought a pair of Nike shoes abt SGD60++

You can find Vincci shoes at Sungei Wang, KLCC & Lot10. Besides shoes, they also sell handbags and other accessories like hair clips, watches etc.

I bought back a lot of books too. Don't know why the books there are so cheap. My husband bought back alot of car accessories too (at another very shopping centre near chinatown). Must say it is quite cheap too

I also bought some Triumph undergarment at that same shopping centre too. It is cheaper than in Spore.

If you go to Chinatown, must try the Luo Han Guo + Longan drink. Very cooling. Very suitable after a hard day of shopping. heehee...One packet is RM1.

Your heart itch, itch or not??

pinkapple

Hi Kerropi,

I suppose u haven't met up with Imagegarden. but u should have seen their porfolio rite>?

Meng is the photographer and Meivis is his wife n assistant who is oso a makkup-artist.

They're v nice pp. I've been there 3Xs so far and haven't even had my fotoshot. everytime, we chatted for more than 2 hours... scary.. hee..

For outdoor, they can suggest places to ya liking, suitable for your gown, etc. If u dunno where to go, they have some great places to bring u to. I've seen quite a few couple fotos, so far, they have quite a number of outdoor location.

as for fotography style, dun think I can commend much since I'm not in this line. All I can say is that it's a different thing entirely for each couple.

One reason why my bf like them is that they have a huge studio with furniture so the studio pix feels better than those with just a backdrop.

jolene

I think all of you can't wait to get rolled around.... haiya, dun worry, when you do get married, everyday also can rock & roll in bed!!!

Just to share... I managed to get an apple candle for my wedding favor from a supplier. Its like a small green apple but its actually a candle. You light the "stalk" of the apple to light the candle... Price is only $0.40 per candle!!! I intend to use those transparent paper to wrap it up and put a little tag + ribbon on the top! So, I think total cost is about $0.50 per candle. For 400 pieces, its about $200. I think it makes a cute gift for my guests in addition to the hotel chocolates. What do you all think?

linda

I thot I saw too, that the quarterfinals is on 21 and 22..... I check thru the FIFA world page. Should be pretty confirm....Better check again..

Hi Choco,
You can get your sisters to help you with the veil and getting the flowers or accessories out of your head. Make up just need touch up only...No need the full works. If you find accessories to match your red dress, get your frens to help. Only use black clips mah....should be fine. We did for my sis-in-law the last round.

Hi Hazel
Sure! If it could help you but mine is done in algebra format cos I have no timing as yet. If you want, please email me at [email protected]

BTW, have your ordered your cakes yet? Which types to order har? When to go har?

bluebell

Hi Vee Kee,

I have sent you the link to my photos. It's under the "Outdoor" album.

A fren of mine used Milan too and she's very happy with her photos
Do scan some of your wedding pics for me to see

The sales mgr from MM just called me yesterday. He says need to meet up to discuss the details but my hubby is not in Singapore. Gotta wait 3 weeks. So excited now....=P

lmf

HI Jolene,
Not a bad idea at all! Where did you get those candles? Is there any other wedding favours that are cheap besides candles?

Hi to all gals,
Do you know what is the highest or best range of diamonds and what is the cost of it for 0.15ct? I heard that D colour is the best, not too sure on the VS thing (clarity). Anyone to advise?

mushroom

oh dear, then go match or not ??!!! blur ... jia luck if really got dat 7.30m match i faint :p hee hee ...

Hi Choco,
Yup, should be ok one. Get ur ah yees to help you remove carefully and pin up ur accesories for you. As for touch up, just blot the oil off your face then dab powder over ur face and apply lipstick if the lipstick gone liow. then u r all set !
:D

jolene

HI LMF,

The candles are from my office gifts supplier. Besides candles, I guess there are chopsticks which is rather common. Others are too expensive for me. Eg, incense burners, shot-glasses, notepads, etc.

I found the apple candles cheap and good. He usually sells for $1 each to others so I am having a special price from him. If anyone of you is interested, please drop me an email at: [email protected]

Will try to scan in the pic when I return to office on Monday....

van

hi LMF, my FH had bought me a 0.14ct ring with 18k white gold which cost ard $500+. my clarity is under VVS1, color is F.

i find that soo kee jewellary's website is very good for diamond idiot, like me, cos they actually explain general info abt the 4Cs of diamonds. hope this will be able to help u. www.sookee.com.sg

sweet

Hi all 22.06.02 Brides,

Lastest news! From Today's newspaper. There is match on 22nd! Boo Hoo! Getting my AV Tech to check whether can put TV in my ballroom to screen the match.

hazel

Hi Linda,

I really appreciate your kindness to share your list wif me, will send u an email... my dinner is oso on the same day as urs.. 10 June.

I think i'll be getting the traditional bridal cakes ie. the li2 bing3... i personally find it's more meaningful..

hazel

are u seriously considering to screen the world cup? then are u going to off it during ur march-in? imagine if it happens at one of those exciting goal-scoring moment and we switch it off, will our guests boo at us har?

think me will take the easy way out, dun screen totally...

well, cheer up, ladies, it's oni abt. 2 mths to our wedding, let's not let the world cup worry us

eunicetan

halo kas,

how silly of me! we share the same wedding date lah!! so if i booked hilarion, of course he wont be able to make it for urs

i dun really know of any other actual day photographer but choon huat did recommend triston yeo as well.

my parents were telling me tat my granny might not hav long to live, hence my question abt the time lapse. im not "ban dang" abt this but im worried tat our parents will be
in tat case, then my deposit will be forfeited rite?

choco

Hi mushroom and linda,
Thanx for yr info
I saw some really nice accessories like earrings and necklaceS at isetan tampines. They really look quite nice and really suits bridal tea dress and nite gowns and are selling quite cheaply too.I will be getting my accessories for my tea dress there
But i was wondering whether can borrow from the bridal shop for the tea dress wan like that can save money mah :p But according to the contract only 2 sets of accessories for the actual day,will try to chamsiong with my coordinator

cool

Hi Choco,

what type of accessories you looking for? Me have a swaroski crystal necklace and matching braclet from my.stuff. If you are interested, let me know. Bot that but was told to be rather plain for my WG. So bot another new one. Bo bian, very vain mah!!!

septembergal

lmf,
short one. for diamond idiot - go to diamond industries. for the same amt of $$ spent, they can give u the best diamond cf to places like lee kwa soo kee etc cuz they are the supplier...

carol

Hi, all July brides:
So how's everyone's getting on? How's the wedding preparations going on huh???
It's another 3mths++ for us.
Huh, seems like this thread is always very quiet, maybe all the july brides here are rather shy & busy most of the time.

Hope to hear from all of you soon....
Cheers:
Carol

clover

Hi cynthia and linda,

I'm also looking at my actual day itinary right now. Wonder how to slip some time for an outdoor shoot?

Should we have the ah-yees and ah-gus following us around during the outdoor shoot? We'd be already taking lots of pictures during the tea-ceremony and at each of our places. Would they get bored? I'll probably have 4 ah-yees and 4 ah-gus.

I have two plans: one to have the shoot just before going to my FH's place for tea ceremony. We live pretty near each other, like 5 mins drive. Wanted to take photos at Goodwood since our dinner is held there. Another to take pictures in the afternoon after the tea ceremonies are over, just before checking into the hotel. But afternoon leh, would be very hot.

Any ideas? How are u all doing it?

CLoVeR

cynthia

Hi girls!

I feel the same way as Hazel. Definitely not screening any soccer match, not even during the cocktail reception. What if they dun want to go into the hall? Me having my solemnization ceremony... JP cannot wait for more than 30 minutes one... Just have to call and remind them in the afternoon, I guess =P

Hi Cool, swaroski crystal stuff very ex, rite? I also like them very much, but those sold in the shop in Centrepoint can make my FH faint man... Have gotten something to go with my EG, but still cannot find something that I like and go well with the WG. And the tea-dress? *headache*

Girls, I still cannot make up my mind on the tea-dress leh... Give me some advices. Originally wanted a simple gown/dress as the tea-dress. But worried that parents and relatives will make me wear those obiang gold jewellery (what they will be giving me during the tea ceremony), coz those types of gold thingy doesn't go with those western gowns/dress at all... Then, thought of wearing kwa. but me and my FH not cantonese, only his mum is. His dad and my dad are teochews, my mum is hokkien. So, it seems weird loh... if I wear that... Then, my mum gave me her words that she will tell all my relatives not to make me don the jewellery given during the tea ceremony, coz she knows that i hate that. Haiz.. now really cannot decided what to wear

Hi clover,

Given a choice, I would rather not take any outdoor pics on actual day. But that's the norm. Even my actual day photographer sing that tune. Same with my family and relatives. Prob be going somewhere near his house, my house and some of the hotel and in the bridal suite...

Since both your homes are near, should not be a problem to take some pics nearby. Unless there are some time constraints
& oh yes! the ah yees and ah gus do follow the couple for the photoshoot. Afternoon, try going to some places where there is shade or even covered. Urban places, perhaps?

4386.gif
cynthia

och

hi lmf,

i think the 4C's to evaluate diamonds r carats, colour, clarity n cut. for colourless diamonds, best grade of colour is d, although anything fr d to f r considered colourless. naturally coloured diamonds like radiant blue (e.g. hope diamond), red n pink r even more precious n expensive. the vvs thing determines clarity. it ranges fr flawless (f), internally flawless (if), v v slightly flawed (vvs1 n vvs2), slightly flawed (vs1 n vs2) n so on. cut is the shape, e.g. marquis, round (also called brilliant cut), etc.

kittycat

Hi Carol,

I've juz selected the design for WG and EG last week. So I've got to wait till the end of May before I go for my first fitting. How's your photoshoot? Hv you done it yet?

trihok

can anyone share with me how many table ur give to ur mom and did anyone have discussion with ur mum/in-law how much $$pin jin$$ sld give??

cynthia

Hi trihok,

For us, we are paying for the entire dinner ourselves. Total having 20 tables, so we are sharing it 50-50, i.e. 10 tables per side.

I am inviting only 3 tables of friends and colleagues. Then, there's 2 VIP tables (1 for each side). The remaining 6 tables are for my family and relatives plus some of my parents' friends. Told my parents about this rationale and so far they have been accepting it - no violent reactions yet

As for FH's side, not sure how many friends and colleagues he is inviting. Coz he is forever delaying it... Anyway, leave it to him to sort out the numbers of invite with his mum.

Well, my FMIL did asked my mum how much pin jin to give. She's a Cantonese and likes numbers that is auspicious and sounds good. But my mum says she is fine with any amount. Coz whatever my FPIL gives, she will just take a proportion of it (maybe about 80%) and returned the rest. So to her, it really doesn't matter how much is the absolute dollars.

4389.gif
cynthia

cynthia

Have you decided what types of bridal cakes to get for the relatives? I am most likely getting my cakes from choz, though heard good things about Polar too... Not those butter cakes types, but mini fruit tarts plus heart shape mini cakes. But my mum says fruits tarts cannot be kept for long, so have to start distributing it on the day of the guo da li. Mine's on 18 May. Actually wanted to sign up for TNP's Big Walk. Now,
cannot liao...

choco

Hi cynthia,
Yr guo da li is 1 day earlier than mine,mine is on the 19th ;) As for the cakes,my mil will order for us,think she is getting it from emicakes cos ntuc member got discount loh. I will be having in total 33 tables,wanted 28 in the first place cos too many tables will make the ballroom look ultra squeezy but mil say the more the merrier than go and tell the hotel coordinator herself that we will take the max tables :p My parents will have 10 tables for relatives while i only have 2 tables for friends cos mil inviting too many of her friends and already reach the max capacity liao. Sigh..........sometimes dun know who is the one getting married,me or my mil :p

linda

HI hazel, I will email you soon. Have not check my mail yet

Hi Cloverleaf, I intend to go right after my hubby fetches me before going to his house. Most prob go Changi Airport.
And I have about 12 ah gus and 4 ah yees!!!! *_^ More people more fun.....

Trihok, my mum is getting 10 tables. Pin jin she says up to my ILs. But most like she will return most of it.

carol

Hi Kittycat,
So nice to hear from you again...

So what's the design of your WG & EG huh?
Guess must be very nice.

Oh, I've finished my photoshoot & selection of photos for my albums as well. I'm very pleased with the phots & will be having a total of 2 albums.
Will have to wait till June to collect my albums, really anxious & excited to see the final results.

Cheers:
Carol

sparks

agreed with carol, july's brides exceptionally quiet...should contribute more.

yes, yes...3 mths to go..me still a bit scared scared....didn't know what to do, and simply didn't want to think abt it...the more i think of it, the more things i have to do... i was hoping that if i don't think abt it, i don't have to do it...."ostrich theory"....

i have not decided on my outdoor shot venue (wanted some place with sea and greenery), and wedding songs (wanted jap songs, but didn't know the lyrics, how?????), and printing of wedding cards.... alas!!! so many things, so little time.........argh!!!!!

how are the rest of the july's brides coping??? pls keep me informed of what you gals have done, me worried that i will missed out stuff.....thanks!!!

yuki

Hi Sweet and Mushroom,

My wedding is on the 22 June too

I have been 'slacking' for the past few months........... now got to catch up. Btw, mushroom - can you advise are there many things to prepare for a church wedding? I will be having a church wedding too and my church friends have been reminding me to start the preparation. The thing is - what should i prepare?

Are you getting any florist to decorate the place? Any florist to recommend? I am on a low budget. What about wedding flavours?

Sorry to ask so many questions in one go :p

kas

hi eunice,
hmm..so it was you huh, that's why hilarion cant be my actual day photographer. hee.. it's ok lah. just have to start sourcing again. The number that choon huat gave me for Triston Yeo's contact is wrong. I called & the recipient said i got the wrong number. Does anyone of you have Triston's contacts?

Am not sure abt the deposit. Are you referring to the banquet venue?

hi Pinkapple,
thanks for your recommendation. Am ok with traditional actual day photography. Just dun wan to spend too much. Have heard that $500 is the average to pay for 8 rolls of film. Is that rite? Sigh...once i m done with the actual day photographer, think i can take a break from the preparation. Tired leh!!

el

Ladies: I've planned to take studio photos on Jun20...but yet to choose my gown...sigh...so tiring...even rolling ard w my bolster has became my wish list now. Flat reno just completed 30%....v excited...

These days i kept bumping into old flames...v heart-wrenching...is it normal to have such feelg?

el

last sat went for my trial makeup...by a gay makeup artist..now i really agree, that gays are rather good in makeup...

julia andrew

Hi LMF/ Sheep

Just went to substance last weekend. They got new stock but all in white but not offwite. I find the beeding is very beautiful. I've checked with Dang, she said is ok to buy white coz we could probably see the tip of the shoes only when we are in WG.

Went for my 1st fitting last Sat. My WG, EG & teadress are all ready. Luv my WG. I have 2 teadress. I prefer the turqoius thai silk. Very sexy & flowy. The lilac were just sweet. My hubby luv the teadress & the WG. My teadress is a modified cheongsam..... Never knew I can look so so slim in cheongsam.

2 weeks time will be the final fitting. Will try to upload some pics & show you gals soon.

lmf

Van, Septembergal & och,

Thanks for your advise. Will check them all out by this few days as my voucher and discount is only valid until these few days.

Hi Julia,
Do you think white shoes can match my evening gown (in dark blue). Doreen advise me to buy a closed toe shoes but in silver but i doubt there is in silver colour. Might want to consider off-white or white closed toes shoes? How about that?
Yes, Yes, please show us your pics. Might want to be "copycat". Ha...Ha...Ha...

sweet

Hi Yuki,

I am having my church WD also on the same day. Decor is done by my church. Have to plan the progemme for my pastor to approve, Found my MC and helpers for that already. Anything more?

Are your hubby picking you, like the traditional way or what?

My plan is for him to go to church with my mum and sister plus helpers half an hour before the
ceremony. Then I will go later. Tea-ceremony at church, then check-in at the hotel. Any advise?

angeline

hi Irene,

Last sat went for my 3rd apptmt liao

Jennifer let me tried on a few gowns to see which cutting suits me, my WG is spagetti straps with another strap tying round my neck, flowers with beading focus on near my waist & on the bottom of WG, backview is bareback.
As for EG is a cutted in dark purplish (2tone shiny colours)
with a beading straps from my neck criss-cross to my back, with transparent laces on my back. Beadings will be used on the cutted in neckline, strap, on the front which have 2 layers of organza. Sound blurr, hope u understand

Jennifer is helping me to look for laces to match my EG, will get back to me again. I haven choose my tea-dress yet, will do so in June when i go for fitting & trial make-up

kerropi

hi Pinkapple, thanks 4 ur feedback. I have visited the image garden website. Like bridal portfolio (esp the fashion, very arty)

(Sign)saw on the singaporebride Perks & Privileges. Wedding present is giving way a free tea dress (to keep)when signing up for the S$3288 wedding package.

My other outstanding checklist includes
1)Wedding Songs/music
2)Videography
3)Wedding Card printer

Need advises from all. Thank