(2002) Brides of year 2002

yvonne

well....seems like the topic is not just on shoes but matresses also???
i m very sua-ku...duno wat u all mean by Felicity/Backcare..etc din really read in detail only managed to get a few major words..
they r types of matresses i presume??
well, i'm not buying one yet but i'll sure read this page again when i wanna buy one! hehehe
hmm...sometimes i just think tat i'm getting more n more 'auntie'
instead of shopping 4 clothes n shoes (normal wear) i go to the hsehold dept, kitchenware etc..my frens all say i'm trying to be a good 'house-wife'

LMF
hey, u've gotten a really good buy! roughly can visualise wat u have mentioned abt beads n no heel shoe...ideal for kua!

kerropi

Hi winnie, I have just sign up with the wedding present. Total package is $3688+$380+$1500
My photography is Image Garden. (Hear their package is going to increase from $1500 to $1800). I like their B & W photo. I actually prefer Andrew Choi digital special effect but it is too expensive. They charge $100 per photo.
Fyi, WP is opening a tea dress shop soon.
My wedding banquet is @ interconti.

angeline

Irene,

ic, keep your finger crossed, hope it wil be ready by then

hi ALL,

how come so quiet? Buzi with wedding preparation ah? share with me leh

chemson

Felicity and Backcare are all model names under the Simmons Brand of mattresses. Felicity is under the new Beautyrest range while backcare is another range made for the back.. It comes in Backcare2, Backcare3 and Backcare4.

I know what do you mean by being auntie... I feel the same way as you too..

choco

Now is april liao...................2more months to our big day
Super excited now
But having some trouble in my gown selection
Cos the lady who serves me really spoil my day when i went for my first fitting last week. Sigh........dun talk abt her liao man.........but i decided to buy my own tea dress cos their tea dress selection are those very old evening gown which is super obiang man.........
What abt u all? Hows preparation so far?

julia andrew

Just got back from Malaysia....phew
, managed to settle all the wedding arrangement there. Book the restaurant at a country club (per table - RM398) & the got the make up artist (RM230) cheap cheap. These r considered one of "THE MOST EXPENSIVE".......if only I can pay such prices in Singapore.
. Gown will be from Singapore. Need the WG shoes, found it at wheelock but out of stock so I placed an order. Hope to get it by this weekend. BTW, it cost $89.90 is u gals r interested. It is at Wheelock 2nd floor.

My first fitting was actually 2 weeks ago but the seemstress fell from a bus & hurt her arms so gotta postponed.......arg
can't wait!

OCH.
Just checked with Hyatt...... no changes in the wedding invitation card design yet, guess there shouldn't b any. If u intend to have a reception at Hyatt, it would cost $55 per pax....wah.....very ex! I think I will hv it at home.

pegsfur

joker,

So what do u do in KL other than shopping? How many days did u stay there? We r planning on a 3D2N, but was wondering if it'd be too long

Calla,

Was wondering if u stayed in the suite or just the room?

My hubby has decided to take the coach instead after learning it's faster compared to train

lmf

Hi Julia,
You must be at the shop called "Substance". Sheep & I had discussed about it b4. I have yet to go there and shop.

My bridal shop has already called me for my 1st fitting. Finally...
But my FH said that he don't want to go to bridal shop during this month as it is " Ching Ming". Sigh... no choice, have to go after one month later, May 02. Me also can't wait liao.

linda

Yah, very excited liao. Just settled hubby's side of guest list. MIL's side as usual not done yet
So siaz.
I have finished the task/ help list liao, as well as a rough estimate of the actual itinerary. Hoepfully all these KS work will reduce my stress in the months to come.
Choco, what happened? You tried Arthur Yen? The few selection at bugis Seiyu were already very nice. So I think if you go to their boutique, it will be even nicer!!!!
Do your bridal shop provide kwa? You might wanna try one instead of a tea dress.

joker

Pegsfur,
So when you decide to go? Everytime I go KL, I bought tickets from Sri Maju at $23. So far so good. Normally I will buy the return tickets in KL becos same price and in RM. However if you are coming back during weekends, at times you will have difficulties.

When you take taxi in Kl, you got to check wif them whether charging by meter. Some taxi drivers go by per trip esp. those outisde the bus station.

For me, hor 3D2N never enuf. Normally I go for at lest 4D3N. Besides shopping, I EAT and sleep in KL. The food very nice.

Joker

och

lmf, thanx. keep me posted abt the exact location ok?

chemson, thanx for ur concern. i'm now home on mc. all my colleagues who went on the trip r feeling quesy, but i'm the first to actually fall sick. so malu.

julia, yippee! glad that u got all the malaysian banquet arrangements settled. i got a call fr my coordinator yesterday. she's leaving the hotel!!! this is the 2nd time my banquet coordinator is leaving the hotel.
i'm now wondering if all the implicit agreements i had with her will be honoured.

i'm not hving the reception at hyatt, since i dun hv 150 pple for the reception. i'm most likely catering fr kriston. heard that kriston often offer discounts at their bridal show, so i've signed up for their show later this month.

btw girls, do u know what's "buy shoes angbao" (mai xie qian)? my mil is demanding for it, but i dun know what it is, who to give, when to give n how much to give. anyone can enlighten??!!

chemson

Hi och,

Do take care,okie? Have plenty of rest...
When is your next fitting with MB ? My 2nd one is on Thursday..
Errr... dunno what's 'buy shoes angbao' as well... cos we are not really particular abt traditions lor.

pegsfur

joker,

Hahaha.... u eat & sleep only?
I was thinking since I have the free 3D2N hotel stay, maybe we booked the package which includes coach & 1N stay one .... so that makes 4D3N!

U only buy return tickets from KL ... isn't that a bit risky?

Btw, have u come across any furniture or home accessories shop?

angeline

Can I join in? I just came back from KL last Sunday for 3D2N. We drove up to genting and put a night at first world hotel. I booked the genting free & easy pkg thru the genting website @RM62.40 (including 1 Superior room, 2 meal vouchers and 2 ways skyway tickets. Thot, the bathroom & toilet are very small but the view from our room is very nice.

We check-in to Novotel Century the 2nd day. It's next to Federal hotel. Once u come out from the hotel entrance u should able to see Swiss Garden Hotel further up u will see Puturaya bus station (You can get ur coach tickets from there to come back S'pore or genting+skyway) and follow by Impiana Hotel, Burger King, 'Qi Cheong Gai', Chinatown, etc. Turn right from Novotel Century Hotel there are alot of shpg malls along the road. (Bukit Bintang Plaza, Lot 10, KL Plaza etc.)

From Novotel Century Hotel You will need to take a cab or their MRT if u want to go KLCC, Sogo, Mid Valley Mega mall(Pataling Jaya).

My comment for Novotel Century Hotel is the room is big and their service & location is good but not much facilities. Impiana Hotel & Swiss Garden also not bad.

sheep

Hey Julia,
You placed an order with Substance? Are your shoes beaded? Does it come in white or off-white? I saw the black and light brown ones, but didn't see any white ones.

joker

Pegsfur,
Ya lor, we buy the tickets in KL becos more tan half the price cheaper mah. But I seldom come back on weekends so still ok.

Hmm...... 4D3N better la. Ah ya go tour sure shop, eat, sleep one mah. wat else you wan to do.... Ya hor now you can do one more thing - make babies loh

Angeline,
Wow, the package you book is very very cheap leh. Me also just return from self drive to Genting. I stayed in the Genting Hotal which cost RM 200 in has 2 double bed. 1st World cost RM 60.

1st World Hotel not bad hor, more shoopping and food. Just a bit far from Casino.

When I go KL, I always stay in Impiana becos near to 'qi cheong gai'. Sometimes bored at nite still can go there walk walk without having to take taxi.

So how often you go KL? Do you all drive to shopping malls? or like us park in Hotel then take taxi?

Joker

julia andrew

Hi Och

Can I know when is the bridal show for Kriston and how do I go about signing on?

Sheep

I saw the beaded off-white shoes. My size is out of stock.

carol

Hi Sparks,
I share the same thoughts as you intially, but as we go through all the tendious & arugements of the wedding preparations, we began to understand each other better. We are able to abopt to the different problems we encouter & compromise.

So, we are trying to enjoy our wedding preparation & celebrations as much as possible, anyway that's only once a lifetime affair.

Carol

beanie

Can I join in? I juz came back from Genting too last Sunday. Is so crowded there. I booked my coach and hotel separately. I booked my hotel through genting website as well and got the superior room for Fri and Sat nite at S$ 91.00. Two way coach + skyway at S$ 70.00.

Angeline, how was ur trip? All i can say abt my trip is jam jam jam and queue queue queue. Jam at the custom to and fro, I waited abt an hour for the skyway, another hour to check-in to the hour and queue at least 45min for each game at the outdoor theme park. I guess i will never try to go during public holidays

For those thinking of going to genting, genting is right now having this promotional offer of RM 20 per std room per nite for first world hotel during their low season (i.e. mon-fri and sun, excluding sat and public hoilday). quite a good offer to go now, but avoid holidays......

fantasy

Dun be too stress up, i haven't seen my gown yet, photoshoot on 15 apr .... haven't received my invites too .........

sheep

Hi Och,
My understanding of "buy shoe angbow" is a token amount given to MILs if they help to take care and cooked for the DILs during their confinement. Getting married need to give "buy shoe angbow"??? Not that I know of.

angeline

Joker,

1st world's room is much more smaller than any other hotels in genting. I agreeded with u it a bit far from Casino but have more food varities, indoor games and shopping.

U can also make ur room reservation thru their website with up to 20% discount. That's what i used to do.

We self drive to KL abt 3 times per year and we usually walk or drive to most of the shpg malls. I'm going to KL again in Aug during National Day. I personally think that 2N in KL & 1N in genting is just enuf.

Have u shop in Mid Valley Mega Mall b4? It's so big with 6 carparks and I plan to shop there for 1 whole for my next trip to KL.

joker

Angeline,
Ya, I hear 1st World Hotel is quite small. But personally I feel that as long as it is clean, it's alright to be small.

Have you tried a 'zu2 chao3' stall at the food court? It serve very good chinese food and is very cheap as compared to the food in Genting.

Ya, I have been to Mega Mall. But I still prefer Sungei Wang becos the things there cheaper and more to my taste.

Hmm...... you going in Aug. Me normally avoid public holidays becos very jam and crowded. I prefer to go off-peak but hor got to sacrifice our leave.

So you finish yr customary liao?

Joker

septembergal

how are u all? my gdnes, i'm totally lost after having been away for 2-3 wks. this is terrible.
och, u free for me to pop by and retn ur martha stewart stuff? tried smsing u sometime back but figured u were still outstation!

i hv been busy due to work, in fact, hvnt even done much for wedding. i thinkmy 1st fitting will only be end of april...see? i am the latest!

LMF, ur shoes for kwa sound so fantastic!!! what a good buy!

grace, welcome!

LMF, how's things? isrida has a lot of branches btw.

julia, el, i'm also here to give u moral support for MILs! i am glad we are not staying with them! (at least not yet)....but i think next time when they are old (FIL has parkinsons disease) FH and i will be the ones to take care of them as the FH's 2 elder brothers' wives are really not the sort to take care of old folks.

personally i can't really stand my MIL but there are certainly things that she and FIL does out of love and care for both of us. i have gotten into so many fights with FH cuz of what the ILs wanted over the wedding...and most of the things they wanted were all due to the word 'face'!! furthermore these ppl dun mean what they say at all...on the surface they alwys tell u that as long as u and FH are happy with ur choice (of wedding/dinner/gown/etc) they will be happy but they never mean it. after u make a choice, they will juz keep grumbling and complaining abt why ur choice is bad...

gotta go, take care gals!

blusher

HI All Paris Brides to be,

Came to know about this site thru Irene. I'm really excited for all of you brides to be. I have just signed up with Paris about 2 wks ago. Very glad that things are going fine for all of you. I was really stressed up when I read the bad comments about Paris and even thought of changing to another bridal shop. After reading all you gals's experiences, I'm feeling much better...Thanks! To tell you the truth, Me and my Boyfriend have not decided on the wedding date...won't be so soon I guess...probably in 2003 or even 2004. Hahaha...by then all of you gals would have become Mummy. Are you gals still meeting up this coming 4 April 2002? I guess I better not come along, cos I really have nothing to contribute(not weeding plans yet). Pls keep me posted on future outings....looking forward to see all of you.;)

calla

hi pegfur,

my room at Century hotel is not a suite, just a superior room. Per nite abt SGD100 plus. We requsted for higher floor with window seeing KLCC.

hi joker,
my fave is also Sungei Wang. I can buy several pairs of shoes at one go. Shopping there, very shiok!

I agree with joker that buying train or bus tickets in KL is so much cheaper than in Spore. Usually, you would have no problem getting the tickets, just avoid those weekend public holidays.

I usually spent 3D2N there. Just eat, shop & sleep. Very shiok.

lmf

Hi Septembergal,
Don't worry! You're not. I'm having my first fitting in Mid May 02, later than you. You've been to Isrida? How do you find their things? Cheap? Have to go there to shop for ties for my FH and some accessories to suit my gowns.

"Aiyah", "kan kai tian"! Stop brooding over things that already passed. Most important is that you can sort things out with your FH. Hope to hear from u soon.

winnie

Hi Kerropi,

have not actually booked Wedding Present though I more or less decided on it. My sister had her package there and I really like their gown :) simple yet elegant :p But nowadays Patrick seems quite busy leh ... dunno whether his service will be as good as before :)

Btw, which other bridal shops had u visited before deciding on Wedding Present? Pls share :) Thanks!

angeline

hi blusher,

O, so u're a Paris bride too

Initially, after reading all the negative comments abt Paris, i wanted to give up this package & look for another bridal shop but my Fh explained to me that it might be some competitors who might be Paris rivals, writing bad comments abt them. He insisted me to go down personally to take a look & talk to my co-ordinator before we change. When we went down, we have a good talk with them & let them know what we really want.
So far for the last 2 apptmt, everything was fine, this Sat im going for my 3rd apptmt liao

I feel that communication is very important, u must make sure u let them know what r the things u want, u must speak up for yourself

Hope by telling u all these will make u feel more secure

pegsfur

calla,

Certainly wld like to save $$$ by buying tickets in KL but I'll be going during the public holidays ... scared later don't have tickets to come back

joker,

School holiday starts on 25 May (Sat), & 26 is vesak day ... do u think it'd be better if we go on 23 may (Thur) ... can avoid jam rite?

Angeline,

Tks for the info
Btw, all of u all said Sungei Wang is a great place to shop, how far is it from the hotel?

joker

Calla,
Ya lor ya lor, me also can one shot buy many pairs of shoes

When I came down from Genting, I din stay in KL but I went Sungei Wang to shop. Then hor within one plus hour I buy ten plus pcs of tops and bottoms. ( of cos buy those cheap ones) I know if I don buy, I won't manage to get anything in Malacca.

Heehee.... you same as me go KL eat shop and sleep.

Joker

och

thanx chemson.
i'm feeling better. came back to work. i'm not hving any more fittings until a week b4 my photography in may.

julia, u can sign up for the kriston wedding catering show at www.kriston.com.sg. but i suggest u call, since the response through email can be quite slow. the workshop is on 20 april. i'm catering for a small group of 30-50 at my home.

sheep, oh, is that what "buy shoes angbao" is? i've never heard of it in my life, neither has my parents. why is my mil asking for an angbao meant for confinement?!! this isn't a shotgun wedding.

septembergal, sorry, din see ur msg. my sms mailbox was full when i came back, so i deleted the entire mailbox. din realise u sms me.
u can sms or email me on a time convenient to meet.

cynthia

Hi fantasy,

You are sure one cool bride-to-be. Most of my stuff (gowns, photoshoot, invites, guo li items) are settled except for the helplist and dinner list for the actual day and dinner. Somehow, I am the only one eager to finalise these. The rest (my mum, FH and his mum) are all taking it slowly *faint*.

There's one more thing... it's less than 2 months for me now and still I am this size and this shape. *sigh*

chemson

PLEASE PLEASE if you are still looking for an actual day photographer for your wedding day or ROM.. please refrain from using NICK GOH's services... if you have the time to read the thread on Nick Goh.. you will be so darn pissed ! I indeed am... PLEASE DO NOT USE HIM ! WARN YOUR FRENS TOO !!! He is unprofessional, immature, sore loser, rude and insensitive to all of our feelings !!!

sheep

Hi Chemson,
I was shocked by his remarks! This latest incident really puts me off. I don't deny that his works are good but his attitude really sucks! He's so RUDE! I'm glad I'm not using him.

kat22

Hi, Chemson

I was kinda shocked by his behaviour too...at first i thot all the negative remarks were a result of some misunderstanding but his recent replies are really just plain rude...I am really appalled and sad that he treats his potential customers this way...i kinda like his work leh...guess we better find out more abt the service providers before engaging them

dance40

hi Blusher,

I agreed with Angeline.
Communication is very imporatant.

In life, there are many times things are being said and rumours are being spread. But it is always better to see it with your eyes and analyse before deciding what to do.

Irene

cynthia

Dear all June Brides,

Would like to check when will be a good time to ask my friends and colleagues whether they will be free to attend my wedding dinner (not sending the invites yet but just asking)? Is two months too early to ask for a verbal confirmation?

What do you girls intend to do?

4317.gif
cynthia

och

hi chemson, sheep, kat,

i share ur sentiments. once again, nick goh shows how rude n unprofessional he is. appalling doesn't begin to describe my impression of his attitude.

chemson

I feel that he has gone too far.... his work is kinda good but his attitudes suck and I doubt his sense of professionalism.. he is afterall... after our business and $$.. who cares abt customer service in his sense..he is such a person who can't handle criticism graciously and humbly.. instead he turned around and insult us all...please warn all your frens on engaging him.. he does not deserve our services at all !

el

ladies:
very emotional about Nick Goh..i can see...he definitely is not in everybody's good books..

linda

Hahahha...Cynthia, dun worry! you are not the only one....i am still trying to lose weight....but to no avail......

I think I will send out the invites earlier so tt I could call them after that for a RSVP and to finalise my seating arrangements. I think it is easier to ask people if they are turning up with the invitation.

angeline

Beanie,
I left my home on Friday morning 8.00a.m and reached Genting @ abt 4.30p.m. I din spend much time in genting, we checked-out the next day morning and checked-in to Novotel Century KL for more food & shpg.

Ya, it was so crowded and the indoor was so warm. U are rite, u can avoid jam if u go on weekdays but u have to sacrifice ur leaves. Due to the jam i feel that I got less time for shpg.

Joker,
Are u refering to the one inside the multi carpark? The 'zu2 chao3' there is very nice & cheap but we din go there during our last trip cos we got the meal vochers from the pkg. My customary over liao it was on Jan this year. Now trying very hard for baby. How abt u?

calla,
I also booked a superior room in Century @RM160 (including tax & 2 buffet breakfast) how come u paid so much for the room?

pegsfur,
Are u taking a night coach? If possible u should come back on 28th(Tue)to avoid jam. It only take u abt 5 mins walk from Century to reach most of the shpg malls.

lmf

I have not read Nick Goh's tread yet but can feel the anger over ther air....
Anybody here using him? Better be careful.

cynthia

Hmmm... I was worried that may not have enough invitation cards to go around.

So was thinking of scanning in my wedding invite and sending it as an e-mail to friends and colleagues (coz they are all contactable via emails...) for the first round of asking. Then follow up again with hard copy...

Have you gotten your album back yet?

el

i din read the thread about him..so gals..please provide a summary on what has happened.

chemson

Hi el,

Summary of the incident which had enraged all of us:

The story arise over how this Joan gal told him off for standing her and FH up when he did not turn up for their appointment which he was the one who had changed it.

Nick's reply was "I believe You told me over the phone that you are OK when i'd apologised, and offered to make-up by coming over an hour later ... but You said it's OK, and you'll call me to re-schedule for another day ... Everyday, people call for appointments, and then some re-schedule, changed their plans and dis-rupting many planned appointments and events ... and yet many a times i'm accomandating to such requests, and making many sacrifices in the midst of busy workloads, and yet I don't go around hitting on People's head with sticks for making things difficult ...

And now here you are, on the phone You said it's Ok and it's alright( You said will call for another make-up session another day )... and now spreading your dis-pleasure here ... and YET have not even spend a single cents in any of my packages !! You can take your so-called 'pathethic spending $150' and ask other 'Cheapo' Photographer to served You ... he even told Joan in another forum.. he even told her off "I don't serves Petty & 'Ugly' customers: ...

Cos of his remarks... he went and antagonised everyone... In my personal opinion, I seriously think he doesn't deserve to be engaged for his services because of his immature, unprofessionalism, rude, egoistic and insensitive attitudes. He is a pure sore loser and if he is indeed in the wrong..apologise and close matter.. instead he went and blew it up ! What can I say... but he is darn childish and irrationale !