(2002) Brides of year 2002

jastan

Been to Dragon Gate on New year day. The venue and the packages look fine with me. Was interested to book with them but my preferred date is not available.

Will be visiting the Orient Ocean at Hotel Miramar and ChengDu at Hotel Grand Central this weekend.

Angph38, thanks for the information. Have to settle the dinner bouquet fast, if not I will not be able to proceed with other items.

The problem I face now is choosing of the date itself. I have selected 2 Nov 02 but my Dad says 6 Oct 02 is a better day. I don't really like the date as I prefer a Saturday. Anyway, I check some books that have such information and also the web, but they all have different indication of the 6 Oct and 2 Nov date. Both dates have both good and bad and fair ratings. Now so confuse don't know which is the most correct.

BTW, anyone has any idea say for example, the 'tong shu' has a list of good and bad items for each day. If for the day, 'Marriage' is not listed in both good and bad category, does it mean that 'marriage' can still be carried out for that day. Consider as neutral.

Anyone come across a book that has black, white and red dot summary for each day? My friend told me that her MIL show her a book and told her that as long as the date is not with a black dot, then it fine. I try to find such at Popular but couldn't find any.

diff

Hi JasTan,

A good day that appear "generally" good doesn't mean it's the right day for your marriage. I'm superstitious. The day should be chosen based on ur & ur hubby DOB, TimeOB, parents info, etc to create a match for the most auspicious day & time. Hence you should worry abt finding a respectable and trusted shi1-fu4, and not a book from Popular!

This is my two EURO worth of suggestions.

meimei

Hi Islandpub,

Have email to you on meeting up with the tailor ! How often does he comes back to S'pore ?

yuki

Hi everyone...........

It sure seems a long time since we chat. I was feeling lazy........ till i wake up this morning and realise i got 6 more months to my wedding! Think i should start writing out my guest list, go search for printing cards service for my church wedding service.......... starting to panic again........ :p

Any tips to share, all June brides to be? What have you all been doing? I have just finished my second appointment with my bridal shop, Photo shoot will be in late march........ oh yes, must start going for facial again.

CAn't wait for the big day, yah?

cowie

Hi Kat22,
Thanks! Have received the planner. Wow! This is the most detailed planner I have ever seen!!!!

arctic_hare

Hello

Think everyone will be taking their photoshoot soon... Anybody already finished with that? I am pretty excited about the coming session... yet worried that I will not have that "perfect bride" look on that day.

Am starting my exercise regime, 3x a week... weights, step workout, pilates. Me just started pilates at Amore. My goodness... the first time I did that, I thought it's such a torture. (actually not that bad lah... me lack of exercise mah...
) Any of you girls interested to join in for exercise classes?

Facials are a must for us brides-to-be. I have been visiting Sothys since November. Never did facials before, just use facial wash. Must say that my skin has improved by leaps and bounds. Can really see the before and after difference.

As for honeymoon, do you all think we should set aside the money first or see whether is there any money left first?

After reading Linda's posting, me very tempted to go Europe too... but need lots of time and $$$. No fun just go there for a 3-4 days, right??? I have been to Scotland before. Was there to attend a seminar, so really were there for 4 days only. The schedule was so tight, also don't have enough time to walk around the place on my own.
Otherwise, I really love that place, especially the castle. *sigh*

What are your honeymoon destinations? Pls share with us leh....
arctic_hare

kat22

Hi, gals!

U r most welcome. Good things must share share mah...
Glad u find the planner useful. Hope this will make ur preparation much easier.

Hi, abc!

I did send the planner to u yesterday. U still hvn't receive it? I will send again

irene

Hi Jen Jen,

Regarding their gown, the last time I tried one which is really nice and look outstanding when i wear it.
Frankly speaking, I like the gown of Irene's creation and Ivory Isle, I like the photos of Xristo Couture and also, I like the service of inspiration collection as well as ivory aisle.
But it is kind of hard to choose and we got some budget problem.
So maybe I'll stick to them and make sure they satisfy me.
I'll check with may when I meet her and really hope she follows through out.
By the way, how is Jennifer, I talk to her once but not much contact coz one of her client came late and crash with my appointment (that's y i got may to serve me.)
I also want to check who andrew is and hope i no need to associate him.
I actually told may before that their bridal are having a very bad name in the net now and ask her to tell her boss coz i got scared.
and i also ask her about the service charge which she say there is no service charge but we need to pay deposit when we go choose gown.

I'll screen thouroughly again. (I going with a friend).

So what actually happens which make u decide to change bridal shop?what should I look out for when i go down?

angph38

JenJen:
juz gotta know 1 of my frenz' fren signed Paris last wk on impulse, now seems like regretting. she signed the $3988 & paid $1200 deposit.

juz to chk wif u, how did u managed to change to the photography pkg? did u try for a refund first?

JasTan :
agree with Diff that a gd day doesn't mean it's gd for marriage. even if the 'tong-shu' states that it's a gd day for marriage, still gotta depend on whether clash with u & FH, parents & F-PIL.

linda

Hi June02, my photoshoot on 1 Feb. Very happy and still dunno where to go and take. Maybe in the middle of Orchard Road.
I like new age styles in B/W photos. BTW, how much did you pay for your trip to Scotland? I will check Insight later.....
Or you going to elsewhere other than Scotland?
Hahhahah CK, you are more stressed than us leh. Mine is 8 days later than you. Actually come to think abt it, you better start thinking how to do your march-in, what songs to play, who is to be the MC, who to do urshering...etc.....the word is delegate!!!!
Hi Arctic Hare! I am going to Sothys too! And I do think there is improvement on my skin, felt that when I apply make up to work....
Which branch you go? I go to the one in Yishun. Standard facial $45 only with eyebrow plucking.

I am not so interested in Europe Tour as a whole. I only think I will quite like England and Scotland. I prefer Swit, Sweden, Norway, Canada....I feel they are more exotic...and much more prettier than the rest of the popular Europe destinations. I prefer countryside.

I doen some reading on the Net and think that Sweden and norway should be really nice to visit and Iceland too!!!!!

jenjen

Hi Irene,

Basically, I was also scared off by the experiences of others... however, after I told my hubby, he said if I want to change, he is willing to forgo the $1K... at that time, we still not confirm dun want them... then we went bridal shopping and other shops impressed us with their photos and gowns... we went back to paris to try their gowns but find that it is not as nice... that's why we decided to change...

hi angph38,

no I did not try for a refund, because I know it is next to impossible... If you wish to know the details, you may email me... coz I heard that the lady boss of Paris visits this website, anyway... so have to be careful what we say...

dawn1002

It's Friday! Yippee!

Mmm... a qn.... any of you go to the chatroom for chats? I went in there yesterday night and it was my first time. So fun that we chatted till after 1 am or so. That's why now a little tired already. :p

Dawn1002

lollipop

Hi m2m,

Then I think you better call them soon to make an appt. You may want to go down during a weekday when the studio is less crowded. The last time I went there, there were many people.

You may also decide how high your heels will be on the actual day, and then bring along with you during your first appt... measurements will be more acurate then.

Keep me posted when an appointment is fixed.

You know, I like being a secretary. I have had "experiences" being one when I was in sec sch. I was the board of directors' secretary for interact club and boy, did I have fun. I like providing admin support but then again, was too lazy to venture in to this area and hence didn't take any secretarial course. that explains why I am still a C.S. I think I will remain a C.S for life

btw, i like m2m's everything. i think their music has improved alot, the last time i saw their mtv, their voices were no longer sacharine sweet...and sounded somewhat more powerful. And yes, i still prefer the long-haired singer.
they are norweigens right?

lollipop

Hi Dawn,

I dun think I can ever join in the chat rooms as I do not have the internet at home...

Glad to know you had fun. What did you guys chat about?

june02bride

Hi Linda
my foto shoot is 2 days after yrs
r u going for any mani or pedicure?? i will doing both on 2/2, very vain hor

so far, we have only paid for the performance tickets
. we will source 4 cheap airfare and accomodation during the NATA fair, coming soon. we will fly to london, stay there a few days, and catch a bus (something like greyhound) to edinburgh. this way, we save 2 nites of htl accomodation

my hubby is very excited abt the trip, becos it's a dream come true for him, being able to witness his fave "military tattoo".

arctic_hare

Hi Linda.

I frequent the Sothys at Raffles City. I supposed the operating costs are much higher in town area, so the price for facials there are higher too. How's your beautician? Is she good?

Going to Iceland...hmmm... sound interesting. The name kept reminding me of a place like the North and South pole. Actually, it's not, right? I ever thought of going for an Alaskan cruise, to look at those big magnificent iceberg. But probably, not at this moment.

Hi June02bride,

Where will you be doing your manicure and pedicure? Any recommendation?

linda

Arctic Hare,
I even worst than you! I never thought humans existed in Iceland...thought only polar bears and eskimos! Kekekek.....But hey! they live a lifestyle like us! Asumement parks, pools, movies and lots of seafood!
So I thought it is good to go as it is prob once in a lifetime thingy to explore places never or seldon heard of and thought of.
Hopefully, my wish can come true. They have cruises available from Sweden t Finland or so I heard...I will check it out too...
Let you know the findings ok?

June02bride, can I please have your email address, I need your help in something. Thanks. Or you can email me at [email protected] (an _ btw linda and thea)

Hey Wylynn! You finish your photoshoot right? How is it?

june02bride

hi arctic
i recently did my mani & pedi with serene fm nailart at shaw towers, after comparing the prices, i find theirs quite reasonable. normal mani and pedi - $20 & $30 respectively. french - + $5, design - $2 per nail.

kat22

Hi, och, My Melodys n angph38,

Hv just sent the wedding planner. Got it?

To all Sep02 brides-to-be,
Have a good weekend!!

snowflake

hehhee.....lollipop..me too can never make it to the chatrooms cos me hafing classes on thur nite....moreover my hse pc so slow...tink by the time i get in, everyone log out liao

wkends here again....hope all haf a great time!!! *snowflake gives each of u a kiss*

dawn1002

Hi Lollipop,

Well, we talked abt just everything under the sun. From wedding to poking fun at one another.

But it's ok, at least there is always the forum around.

Enjoy!

septembergal

hallo folks,
i'm new to this and i'm so glad i found this thread! kat22, do u think u cld send me the planner too? so sorry to trouble u, very pai seh

kat22

Hi, septembergal!

Welcome to this thread
Presume u r getting married in Sep 02 as well? Care to share your wedding plans? When's ur big day n where r u hving ur reception?

Anyway, just sent u the wedding planner. Got it?

hippo

Hello everybody! Was only recently introduced to this website. I'm a july bride.

I've more or less confirmed my design for WG & EG, 1st fitting next week. excited & a little bit worried too. what if they don't turn out as what I've hoped for. Photoshoot in Feb.

starfruit

Its been again, been MIA for a hwile, been so busy that i do not have time to come into this forum. Now about the outing, are you gals still keen? we must try and arrange something.
what do you all say?

shunkuey

Hi Jan

oooh, so u mean during outdoor.... for outdoor i didn't bring anything at all even though my husband was driving! We still leave our clothes, my bag, handphone and wallet (i didn't bring alot of cash) in the locker at Milan. Probably it's bcos after the outdoor photography, we still have to return to Milan to change the gowns into our own clothings, so no point in bringing our stuff out and then in again.

I didn't bring any lipstick out from Milan. I practically just bring myself and the bouquet of flowers and nothing else! My make-up didn't smudge as I used the ampoule from XiaoQing. I never thot my make-up would smudge and thank god it didn't even under the hot sun! Oh, one thing sure must bring if u r going into the hot sun - taking seaview pics or go labrador park - tissue paper! I find that it's better that u don't bring too many things wif u during outdoor cos' u r going to move around alot and usually have to move fast. so too many things will cos a lot of hassel. u don't want to worry too much about taking ur stuffs right?

So for ur make-up to last, u might want to consider using the ampoule they recommended though u must pay $25 for it. i find that it helps lor. For lipstick, no harm asking ur make-up artiste whether can u borrow for outdoor. Btw, mind if i ask who's ur make-up artiste?

hope now you find me answer ur questions correctly this time.... if u need more info, just post the questions again and i will try my very best to provide answers

shunkuey

Jan,
Forgot that u also asked me about actual day photography.... i have tentatively booked a lady photographer for my actual day olredi and the price is very reasonable too! After spending a bomb on the photographs from Milan, we don't have much money to spare!!!! For me, no videograher.... like some of the brides in this forum, me and my hubby are juggling the renovation & wedding together so we must really be very careful with our spendings!
Oh, btw, have u found ur ideal home?

calla

hi Kat22,

I gotten the wedding planner list. Thank you!
It is indeed very comprehensive. Thanks for sharing with us

my

hi kat22,

Thanks for the planner. It is really very comprehensive. At least now i know wat to do liao or else a bit loss initial. heheehee

arctic_hare

Hi June02Bride, can you please explain to me what is "french" and "design"? I have never done manicure before, would appreciate also if you could tell me what exactly will they do to your nails??

THANKS

jowie

Hi JasTan

I have the same problem as u too. Initially chosen 8 Dec coz the TONG SHU indicate its good for marriage and we wanted a Sunday at end of the yr. However, my mom dunno from where find another book which says dat date clashes wif me as I am born in the yr of Dragon.
So after all confusion, we went to a fortune teller. Tis old man is highly recommended by many people and is known to be very accurate. He chose the date according to the born year of the wedding couple and both sides' parents. After he pick the date for us, we even asked him to do some fortune telling for me, bf and my mom which all turn out to be quite true. We onli give an ang bao of small amount which is quite reasonable rather than going to professional geomancy which cause at least $80 onli for picking the date.
Actually me and bf is NOT superstitious at all, tis gesture is onli to please the parents so that in future they won't have a reason to nag at us....if all fortune telling is so accurate and good, there won't be so mani divorce cases liao

A bit of self intro...my wedding will be in 3 Nov, signed my bridal package wif Moments in Life, and will book wif Marina Mandarin for a poolside buffet dinner.

jenjen

hi jowie... good to see u here... so you have booked with MM for the poolside...
good for you... who served u??

jastan

Hi Jowie, thanks for sharing with me the experience on selection of dates. Basically, my FH's parents are not concern of the dates. They let us decide on the dates. It is my parents that wants to verify the dates. We didn't consult any fortune-teller but rather my Dad checks the 'Tong Shu'.My FH and I are don't believe in such but rather as respect and to please my parents. I know my parents are concerned and care about me that's why they are pretty insistent. I will just pick a few dates from the list that my Dad check as 'good'. Don't want to argue or quarrel just this matter.

Diff and JenJen, thanks for your opinion too.

I have not visited Paris Bride although have sign a package with them. I was worried when saw lots of negative feedback about them, have discussed with my FH and he suggest to at least have a look first. From the photos and the gowns (in picture) shown to us, I think they are pretty nice. The person that we liaise with is a lady who address as 'Chen Ta Jie' and a guy (don't know his name). From the conversation, they seems pretty helpful and sincere. The lady told me that any problem I can always look for her, and to trust her. Okay, I take her word for it and sign up. I will make a first round assessment on the first appointment. If things turn up that cause my trust to be broken, then I might consider another bridal bouquet.

Irene, would like to know of your comments after your third screening of Paris Bride.

karen

Hello, everyone, seems like I have missed out alot. Too busy to go on Net due to the yr end closing of a/c.

Starfruit- I'm keen to join you gals for the outing (if my time allows me to).

Jenjen - just recently I read that you were worried abt Paris's service and after a few weeks, you have cancelled the package! My goodness, I have not see the gowns @ their shop yet. I really don know how they will respond when I give them my MTM gown designs. Wonder if they will stop me from choosing certain fabrics??

Irene - Now that JenJen has opt out Paris, think that 2 of us are the only ones having the same wedding date & bridal boutique now. I'm only going for the first appointment in Feb. You've been there twice already rite, have you actualy try on the gowns? What did u all discuss during the initial appointmt?

lmf

Hi Sheep,
Finally I already booked with Fame. Last minute still manage to have some more freebies. So great! My first appointment will be on Feb. Isn't that fast? But I like it. Fame ask me to try out different types of gowns before he advised me about the design. For mine, I have 2 made to measure: 1WG and 1EG.

Hi Blossom,
Good to hear that you have overcome the stress. You have almost confirmed most of the things except for your new home. For me, not even trying out gowns yet. Still have a long way to go but I'll will enjoy all these moment!

Hi Kat22,
Can I request you to email me to wedding planner? My email address is [email protected]. Sorry for the trouble.

Hi Septembergal,
A warm welcome to you! When is your wedding date? Have you confirmed anything yet? Like to hear more from you.

seasons

Hi Kat22,

I can't resist not asking from you for the planner. Will you send a copy to me at [email protected]?? Appreciate that!

I began to find that this is really a fantastic website. Contains useful tips and advice, especially helpful for me who only decided to get married a week ago. My FH hopes to have the wedding in 2002 and my gosh... there isn't much time left for me to scout for venues and other details.

Hope to get more tips from you gals at this forum :p

jenjen

Hi JasTan, Irene and Karen, oh!! so all of us are Nov too...

For u gals information, if you wish to MTM, u have to be very careful about the materials u choose for the gown... I dunno if they will advise u abt certain materials... they might not, which is even more dangerous... coz later they will charge u for the fabric u want to use...

But let me tell u more about Paris, from first hand experience:

Chen Da Jie is always not in the shop becoz she is always out at exhibitions "convincing" pple to sign up becoz she's got a sweet tongue... so many times I went there, there were no signs of her at all... Even when I want to make an appointment with her, they told me she is seldom in the shop as she will always be outstationed... She will not be the one who serve you during choosing of gowns or photos, etc... I just bet she gave u lots of freebies, i.e. metallic photos, silk portrait, bridal shoes, father's coats, etc... so did she give me, that's why we signed up too...

There is also this old man who u will see at the exhibition asking u to give them a chance and take a look at their photos... his job is only to pull the customers to the booth... the rest will be up to sales pple like Chen Da Jie... I have seen the old man at Marina Square, pulling pple to Everbliss's (another bridal shop) booth, sometimes stationed just at the open space outside World Of Sports...

Thirdly, when we were still holding the package, we asked if we could change our mini album repeated poses (5R) to different photos and we are willing to pay a bit more... u know how much they wanted to charge us for touching up 1 negative for a 5R photo?? Each negative touch up is $25 (!!!) and you do not get back your negatives at all... which means for my 20pcs of 5R, I have to top up extra $500!!

Fourthly, I was surprised after visiting other bridal shops, that Paris had requested the couples to get their own transport for outdoor shooting... most of the other shops will provide the transport... and if u require them to provide, u have to pay $80... and hey, that's only for a normal car... if u want a merc, it's $150...

Fifth, if u want to take photos at night, u have to pay $250 extra... most other shops will just drag on to the night during the outdoor to take for u...

Lastly, since after visiting several shops and trying countless of gowns, we decided to give Paris another chance to impress us with their gowns... when I tried a can-can gown, I was utterly disgusted!! The can-can was flat and yellowish... other shops' can-can you can't feel it around your legs at all... but Paris' one was like so gauzy and sticking into my legs... urrggghh!!

ok... I dun mean to frighten u gals... this is just some of my real experiences... wat u decide is up to u...

For those of u who still wish to remain with Paris, I think you can request May as ur coordinator (she's quite patient, but cannot make decisions but she can ask Andrew things on ur behalf) and Ann (who is a freelance, I think) as ur makeup artist... when choosing photos, I think only Andrew and Jennifer does it... so depends on ur luck lor...

june02bride

hi arctic
french - only the tip of yr nails r painted white
design - flowers are painted on yr nails after u have painted them
1stly, they will cut yr nails accordingly to what shape u like them to be, then, they will massage yr hands, lastly, yr nails will be painted according to the colors u have choosen.
hope these info r useful to u

janfyp

Hi kat,

Thanks for the planner. It is really very comprehensive. Ur fren must be very organised. Thanks.