(2002) Brides of year 2002

my

Kat22,

my wedding date will be 21st sep 02, which is Saturday. I think is one day b4 u, rite? Yours is on the Sunday rite?

I will try going to Flamingo either today with my hubby or tomorrow alone. hehee

Thanks for your help, kat!

my

Hi Cowie,

As i told Kat22, i will be going Flamingo either today or tomorrow. hopefully will deciede on the package by end of next week.

Happy New Year!

kat22

Blossom - yup, hyper siong man to prepare wedding and renovate house at the same time. Happen to some of my friends too. But at least u get to stay in new pl with FH! Mine is a premium flat so like u say hv to wait longer

P21 is abit out of the way la but they r slowly introducing facilities n services already. now got bus 83 to go inside the estate! so hopefully by the time u move in got more stuff!

My Melodys - Yup yup, just one day b4 mine
actually wanted to choose sat dates but each table cost abt $70-80 more than Sun. find difference too great so change to hv wedding on Sun.

Tell us ur experience with Flamingo too! If u wanna shop around, can oso try Margaret Brides, Allure Bridal and Wedding Present. Each has its plus points depending on yr preference and budget

chemson

Sorry was away most of the day !
Went shopping in KB. Just in case.. Happy New Year to you !

Kat22,

Yep, Shirley is doing my make-up and hair. And Benny Ang charges $1800 for actual day. My advice to you... I have seen his style... you can settle for a better and reasonably priced actual photographer like Monica Eng of Vividshots and Choon Huat of Fast Soup Photography. Ng Keng Lam of Rainbow Photos is good too. Monica is doing my actual day photography. Glat that you liked her services... she is so easy-going and approachable. For me, I like to see her when the crowd is not in yet..
Dun worry.. my wedding is the week before yours...
Anyway, think through what you want in your gown design, talk to Shirley, get her to draw up a sketch... and then confirm from there. You should decide fast cos our first fitting should be round March. Which photographer have you decided on ?

Hi Blossom,

I am doing away with the Portrait. It is kinda space consuming. Will probably settle for a table-top.

Hi Melodys,

For better ideas, dun mean to be pro-Flamingo.. but am sure you will like Shirley. For other ideas, try Charis Bridal, Allure and Le Galleria.

och

hv a happy new yr!

hi blossom,

i'm doing away with the potrait as well. cannot think of a good place to hang them lah.

hi melodys,

glad to u hv finally settled ur banquet venue! r u taking novetel?

take ur time visiting the various bridal shops. it can be pleasurable experience trying out different gowns n seeing what suits u (not just the gown, the designers too!). hv fun.

cowie

Hi Melody,
Hope that you will really enjoy your bridal shopping. Can be really tiring, but trust me, it is fun!!

Oh, I think we are going to be neighbours..... me at 158A

To everyone,
Have a Happy New Year!!

lollipop

Hello Snowflake and Daisy,

FH not evry tall also, so I mustn't wear heels that are too high cos I don't want us to appear to be the same height should I wear three-inched heels...but the effect will be better if we wear high heels...sigh..

My designer told me not to lose any weight and that right now, my proportions are ok...but I want to trim down my tummy...like those washboards, you know?

I will definitely cut down on my food intake, perhaps, take more soupy stuff than foods rich in carbo.

Caught LOTR yesterday! Very solid!

Tks snowflake for providing the info on shoes...will go check it out.

snowflake

Hi lollipop,daisy

hehhheee....for me, i can even wear 5" n still shorter than my hubby lor cos me only 1.57 n he's at least 1.76m so me always need to wear heels if not look so katek bsides him !!!!!!!!! well....the only consolation i have for being katek lor....wahhh...daisy, u quite tall leh...how i wish i haf tat height, then i dun need to always wear heels !!!!!!!!

hhahhaaa....actually my hubby likes tall gals lor but too bad end up wif me....a katek one :p

btw, me had fun trying out the gowns at YC, will be going back again in Jan to try out EGs so can decide on colour as well as design.....pple there have been real helpful....so far i'm very happy to b a YC bride !!!!!!!!!!

Yvonne, the designer even said she'll go buy the material (2 tones type) in colours she tink is suitable for me n will let me choose the colour i want cos she says that i can't tell from samples alone n it's better the drap the material over so can tell if the colour suits me.......she's nice rite ???!!!!!

lollipop

Hi Snowflake,

Glad your appt turned out great.

For me, I don't think I will be choosing my tea dress and EG so soon because I want to wait for the later and newer designs.

1.57m is not katek lah... *lollipop defending herself
* Your husband is just tall lah....

I think I might want to see my actual gown in Feb before I choose my shoes. Do you think it is a good idea? In a way I want them to match, but on the other hand, it mustn't be too formal, otherwise I can only wear them during formal occasions, which aren't many, and white?! I hardly wear white shoes.....

alot of sales leh... FH bought me a halter neck top frm GG>5 yesterday before the movie. Basically lollipop was a very happy gal yesterday... got new clothes, watched good movie...

liz

hi blossom,

dun worry too much, i'm like you at the initial stage but now juz do whatever i can and relax.

my wedding dinner also fall on a weekday(12 sept) and i'm having the same bridal package as you. at least you already went down to choose your WG/EG, i havent yet..actually you r making me nervous now..heehee..

i will be arranging my selection of gown nx mth, hopefully can find something that i like.

starfruit

Hi diff k (Diff) ,

I am quite keen to take a look at ur outdoor taiwan photos. r they ready? can u share them with us?

starfruit

sheep

Hi Blossom,
I'm not having a portrait either, takes up space. Dun worry too much abt ur package. Since u hav in mind what designs u want, there shldn't be a problem to tailor-make. My advise is to look for gowns tatz similar to what u hav in mind, try it on to hav a better idea how u'll look.

Happy New Year, everyone!

kat22

Hi, Chemson.

Thks for the advice on the photographers.
We will probably drop by Benny's place tom to check out his work and package. FH likes his work. H/w, will also check out those dat u recommended. we may not be having studio shots 'cos FH din like that. Might just go for outdoor and actual day.

Hi, LMF.

U mention that u got a comprehensive pack (from Flamingo?) at $2988. Can share whats included in the pack? The one I was quoted at $2988 doesn't include flowers n car decor leh. Tks.

Hv a nice day gals!

dawn1002

Hi Lollipop, Snowflake & Daisy,

Poor me... only 1.55m tall and my FH is 1.76m tall. Me also have big hips.

Snowflake, we more or less have similar height diff from our FH! Anyway, my bridal designer says to look for a 4 inch high shoes. So hard to find. Probably, one of these days, will drop by the shop that you have mentioned and see see look look. Thanks for sharing this info with us. Have you make any pair from there before?

Either that or go to Leapin Lizards to custom make a pair or two.

All,

Anyone chose the colour of your WG or EG already? My WG is off white and EG is champagne gold. So now considering the colour theme for the dinner too... Any ideas what goes with champagne gold? Care to share your colour theme as well?

Dawn1002

blossom

hi liz,

finally found another weekday bride...

actually, i am kan cheong type. i went down to cc as early as nov. they also think it's too early. but my job nature is seasonal, jan to apr is my busy period. so has to hurry a bit.

if u are slim, u shld have no problems finding a gown. i am on the plump side. during my visits, i see other people have no problems choosing their gowns. i always cannot zip up, so sian already. can't really picture whether the gown suits me, although the staff kept saying they can alter it lah, very nice lah, blah blah blah...

i tried on so many pieces but can't really find one that i like completely. so decided to mtm by combining those parts i like into one gown. i have discussed with the designer already. she's quite nice.

i think it's just nice if u go next mth. try to go on weekday, then can get more attention and dun need to fight for the 2 fitting rooms. the place is occupied by 2 bridal shops, can be quite chaotic at times. dun forget they are now located at tanjong pagar.

i will be finalising my design only in march02. my fh request that they give me some time to slim down a bit. they need abt a mth to make the gown. my photography session is in may02.

btw, r u having a wedding banquet?

hi sheep,

thks for the advice. i have tried the gowns that is similar to i want, so shld have no problems. actually wanted to offset the protrait for another table-top but i realise i have a lot of table-tops already (graduation photos, makeover photos, family protrait...), so decide to keep the large protrait.

chemson

Hi Kat22,

The one LMF quoted was from Fame Bridal. Flamingo does have the $2,988 package without the car decor and flowers though However, the next level of package is $3,288 and includes OTR WG, MTM EG, MTM Groom Suit, Car decor and flowers with The Edge Photography. Hope this helps.

irene

I'm getting married on 10th Nov 2002 too.
Glad to know that so many of us are getting married on the same day.

I've sign up with paris too. I guess JenJen will know from the thread in paris brides.

I'm getting confuse and scared. But the last 2 times I went down, it's not that terrible so I'm still considering about it. Maybe a third screening is needed to confirm if I'm going to forfeit my deposit.

jastan

Happen to found my way into this forum discussion and is so interesting. I am new in this forum and would like to join in this thread.

I am also a Nov 2002 bride. From what I see, I am a bit slow as compare to most of you. I have only book the bridal bouquet with Paris Brides two days ago at a exhibition. I didn't do any homework before and was now quite worried from the negative comments posted. I don't really want to forfeit the deposit of $1.2K

I intent to have both the ROM and ceremony on the same day on 2 Nov 2002 which is my birthday. Seems like non of you are on this date. Have not book the dinner yet, due to some budget issues, will be looking at Dragon Gate Resturant located at WTC instead of hotel. Anyone has any comments on the resturant?

Understand there is to be a gathering, would like to join in as well.

diff

Happy 2002 everyone!!!

Starfruit, the photos are not ready. I suspect it may take another month. Will let u know when it's out.

kat22

Hi, Chemson.

Thanks 4 clarifying! Might be taking the $3288 pack but upgrade to MTM WG since we only want outdoor. FH likes The Edge's style. Who will u be using?

Attended a wedding at Conrad last night. Lovely ambience and good food. Glad to see that they hv changed the green table cloth too
Anyone gonna hv her wedding there?

Okie, hv a nice day!

wiz

Hi, I'm back. Sorry that I've MIA for some time. wow, good to see more Nov brides joining us...
Hope that I'm still in time for the gathering.

diff K : Like the idea of going Taiwan to take photos... so does it mean that they will send it back to you by Dhl etc? How much did you spend?

chemson

Hi Kat22,

Am sure Shirley is very flexible to allow you to upgrade you to the MTM WG. Why do you mean by wanting only outdoor? I am having Montage but we are having Indoor photograpgy only.

I attended a wedding dinner at Conrad as well... nice food and ambience...
I agree with you totally...

jenjen

hi irene, acherly I dun remember seeing any messages posted by u in the paris thread leh... anyway, so coincidence, we are on the same day too...

irene

Hi Jen jen,

It's being quite some time back that i post a messages there. my nick is dance40.

But glad to know you.

You're rite in saying some got good or ok service and some got bad with paris bride.

I've just got to cross my fingers.

shunkuey

HAPPY NEW YEAR TO ALL MAY BRIDES!

Like Cheerios, my re-sale flat's reno will be complete in 3 weeks' time, but i have already bought most of my furnitures! My sofa is in my room now and my dining table set is at the basement storeroom! I'm a bit kiasu lah.... so now just shake legs and waiting for the Chinese New Year to come. Can forsee that after Chinese New Year will be extremely busy cos' the food tasting for the banquet will come, printing of invitation cards and then final choosing of WG and EG + fittings......

How's other May brides' preparation for the wedding? Any advice if i miss out anything that's important?

islandpub

HAPPY NEW YEAR TO ALL!

i agree with shunkuey that after CNY will be really very busy for all of us liao..... hmm... the feeling for me is really excited yet kinda worried leh... hopefully everything can turn out well.....

meanwhile, i m working on my guest lists liao coz dun wan to everything cramp together after CNY....

btw, shunkuey, u were asking me abt the indonesian tailor earlier on rt? he will be in town next weekend so if u r still interested to let him tailor for u, u can email me at [email protected] n i can let u know more details.

snowflake

hi lollipop,

yup....tink it's okie to get the shoes later...so as to match the gown.....tink it's easier n better to get the sandals type (3-4inch) n not court shoes...tink it'll look better lor....me intend to get the sandals type....

wahhh....someone a happy gal yesterday huh.....new year, new clothes leh....so which show did u watch yesterday ?????

u can also try Americaya, n tink lion city might have as well or if u ever go JB, can go take a look at their shoes...rather nice if u r looking for the sandal type tat is.....

Hi Dawn1002

hey, my WG will b ivory white in colour cos the designer says it's more suitable for me.....n i've not decided on the color of the EG.....will go back again for the second appt lor.....

wahhhh...u oledi tinking of your colour theme for the dinnr ??????? tats fast !!!!!!!!!!! errrrr....but does the dinner colour theme haf to go wif ur EG colour ????? No offence...me jus wondering......cos it'll be quite difficult to match unless ur colour theme is in champagne gold as well ???????

lmf

Happy 2002! Guess I've missed out all the fun talking with all of you these few days. So Sorry!

Hi Chemson,
Thanks for clarifying with Kat22. I hope that I did not pass the wrong info over this tread. Very happy to know most of you have become Flamingo brides, me, bo bian! Never mind I can be a Fame bride! (self consoling) Also trying to know the feeling you gals booked the bridal boutique makes me can't stop looking forward for that day!

Hi My Melodys,
Glad that you got your venue. I think you might booked the bridal package earlier than me.

Hi Blossom
Talking about sliming down, I think I will have a hard time. I have big bones and i'm about 165cm tall. It seems alright but my tummy.... Yucks! really have to do something.I'm afraid I can't resist those tempting foods, tibits, etc. Finally, I think I will only start the slimming plan 6 months before my wedding date. More or less to maintain what I'm looking now so that my wedding gown does not need to alter that much.

Hi Sheep
Long time no write! How's your process of selecting gowns? Have you managed to get the photographer? Who do you intend to get? Keen to know.

lollipop

Hi Dawn1002,

My WG will be off-white as well. As for EG, I am looking for something of paler shade, because I am quite dark by nature. As for colour theme, I was thinking of something white and silver/gold, I want some warm colours.

4 inched heels? I tried on a pair during my first appt with GHA. It was really high, and I had difficulty walking. 1 inch is about 2.53cm, 4 inch will be 10.12cm! In fact, I think 3 inches are a tad too high for me,
. I know I will look good if I wear high heels, but I do not want to appear almost the same height as FH...

Hi Snowflake!
Yes, I am looking for either mules or slip-ons. I am more comfortable in those. Very convenient also, no hassle.

I went to watch Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring. It was superb! Classic! Intriguing! Wow! Go see, go see! Got cute guy inside!

jan

Hi Gals!

HAPPY NEW 'EAR' TO ALL!! :p
HAVE A GREAT YR AHEAD!

I believe plenty of us had a long....wkend.
Did u all had a gd wkend??

I went to Sibu for a relaxation holiday over the wkend......now physically in office but heart & mind still thinking of the place!! ;)

Shunkuey,
I'm going for photoshoot end Jan!!! Now, counting down.....still got 26 days!

Can tell me wat's the preparation for shooting?
Eg, how to settle meals? wat abt our belongings?

Btw, how's yr sourcing for photographer? I'm looking 4 one too! i'm oso considering taking videographer, but then, will spend a lot of money in this way!! How?????

Jan

angph38

hope everyone had a great new year celebration!!

JasTan, Irene : welcome, welcome..
welcome to the big family

JasTan : there's a SB bride (Islandpub, getting married in May 2002)who's booked Dragon Gate, another had attend a wedding there and says the food is not bad. guess if u dun hv that many tables, then u might need to share with other couple or expect walk-in diners..

sheep

Hi LMF!
Where did u disappear to??? Haven't seen ur name for a long time... Sigh... itz the beginning of the year again! Still can't get back to the working mood after all the holidays... and the next holiday is in February! Sigh...

I've booked my package and will be selecting my designs in end Feb. Most probably will be engaging Andrew Chooi for the photography. Will sign up with him in a few mths time. There's nothing much to do now till end Feb. How abt u? When are u signing up wif Fame? The Tampines branch? Any idea what u'll be wearing already?

dawn1002

Snowflake,

The dinner does not have to strictly follow the colour of your EG. It's just that if towards the same theme, then that'll be nice lor. Like for my sis-in-law, their theme was Silver & Blue and her gown was in one of the shades of blue which looked fabulous. My brother also wore a dark blue shirt inside his coat. So all in all, matching! So, I was also hoping to obtain a similar effect. And also, I don't want to follow the same theme since his wedding was just 2 years ago. And in fact, the most recent wedding in our family.

That's why I was thinking of another colour which can go with Champagne Gold, since my EG is CG in colour. As for my FH, he says not a problem in finding a similar shade to CG for his shirts.

I must agree with Lollipop abt the colour combi of white and gold. That should look elegant and warm! Thanks Lollipop!

Lollipop,

I'm also rather tan. That's why cannot go for too dark a colour!

As for heels, I have to stick to 4 inch as recommended... not much of a choice though. Otherwise, will look katek on that special day. Even though the fact is that I am katek. Hyek Hyek.

I will most probably go for those shoes that have closed front but no back. Don't really know what are those called though! And probably another pair for the night, which most probably be sandals type but slightly glittery.

Hmmm... now with the new year... we can say we are getting married this year! Yippee! Aren't we all excited! Just 10 months to go and we are Mrs!

lollipop

Hi Dawn,

Yes, just three months ago we were discussing marriage, now... we are going to be getting hitched this year. Can you believe it?

It's great to know you girls through this forum. I guess we can all do count down together huh?

I still dun quite understand.... where are the rest of the Oct brides? Hmm, perhaps they are busy... let's not stop this thing from going, shall we?

Feeling so sleepy already.....

waves

i just saw this thread abt may 2002 brides. wow! so may may brides and all at different stages! Me gonna be a may bride too.... may i join in this forum?

Wedding Date: 26 May (vesak day on a Sun)
Diner Dtae: 27 May
Dinner venue: Marriot
Bridal: Seletar bridal

me so happy cos may seems to be coming up so soon. yipee can do my wedding things. Have went to try the gowns. both made to measure. have tried the first time and would be ging for my next fitting in this month.

anyone with seletar bridal or marriot as well? or any frens or fren's frens there too

this is so exciting.....

jimny

HAPPY 2002. I am so excited just counting down to the date of my weddind.

btw, is the outing confirmed? i look forward to meeting up with you gals.

sheep

Hi Chemson,
TY has arranged for Jacqueline to be my makeup artist! I haven't even request! Haha! Perfect! After I've confirmed my designs, I'll be arranging for a trial makeup. Things are slowly falling into place! Fun!
U selected ur makeup artist?

chemson

Hi Sheep,

Jacqueline.. rest assure... you are in good hands... Jacqueline charges for coming early for make-up though... my fren had to pay extra for her to come to do her actual day make-up. For me, I have confirmed my WG design.. like wat i described to you and as for EG design.. I still have time to think but I would like to alter the design a little... will speak to Shirley first and my make-up artist will be Shirley as well..

sheep

Hi Chemson,
Thanks for the info. At least, I know Jac is a tried and tested artist and she's good!
My hubby is a teochew so it's gonna be pretty early. I've been told by a few boutiques tat I'll hav to pay extra, so no choice. I haven't seen any designs of my WG/EG yet, got to wait till February. Shirley is both a designer and a makeup artist? That's good! She'll know what kind of makeup to match your gowns! Good for you!

chemson

Hi Sheep,

She charges like $50 for extra half 30 mins.. so.. be prepared to pay. My mum is a teochew and like you.. it has to be pretty early as well.. my hubby has to pick me up at 7 am.. the latest.. :pPP Yep.. Shirley is both designer and make-up artist and she is not charging me for coming early.. phew !

sheep

Hi Chemson,
Wow! 7am?!! That's early! Initially, MIL wanted me to reach their house before 7am but Hubby managed to convince her it's too early. I now have to reach their house before 9am. It's half an hr's drive between our homes. I'm leaving my house at 8am. Got to be ready by 7am cos 1hr for the bridesmaids to have fun. Makeup and hairdo has to be ready before that. No way to avoid the extra charges.
U're lucky Shirley doesn't charge extra... most do... now the extra money can be use on ur shoes liao.... :p

snowflake

Hi dawn,

yup, tink the white and gold will be nice or even silver n gold but both wld have to b the shimmering kind though.....n yes for your shoes try to get one that is more glittering....

yup...lollipop, tink we can all do our countdowns 2gether......

but seriously, where r the rest....still in holiday mood ?????????

m2m

Happy New Year to all! I went to Bangkok over the weekend and thus miss this forum. I've bought lots of cheap goodies and did enjoy myself.

Snowflake and Lollipop - Thinking of the "missing" Oct 02 brides already?!

Lollipop - I am happy that your trip to GHA is fruitful! Which photographer have you decided eventually? As for mtm gown for me - appointment next month leh! I am still confused about gowns you know!

Just an update - I have spoke with the hotel people and will be serving mini abalone soup instead of shark's fin soup. Both sets of parents had agreed. I am also serving a 6 course vegetarian menu to one of my relative. It's strange but I do not have a choice.....

chemson

Hi Sheep,

Thot it was early as well.. but my mum did say the latest to leave my plc is 8 am.. cos it is about 25 mins drive between me and my hubby's place as well... :pP Shoes... another headache.. cos no pt paying so much for a pair, right? Actually.. Check out Ricci No and they have lovely shoes but charges are too high... see how lor...

dawn1002

Hi Lollipop,

After today, I would have 297 days to my wedding day ie 261002. As for Lollipop, you'll have abt 292 days right? And as for Snowflake, hmmm.... 276? Am I correct or did I miscalculated??? Hee Hee...

So, start the countdown clock!

My FH did suggested Silver & Gold. May consider that too! If you come across any other nice combinations with Champagne Gold, do let me know okay? Thanks!

M2M,

Wow, holidaying huh? Good to know you enjoyed yourself! How's Bangkok? I'm also intending to go there for a short holiday soon. But then also thinking abt the $$$ too! Have to save save save now. Which hotel did you stay in? Would you recommend that to friends? Hope you don't mind me asking... Scouting around for hotels too.

I intend to go to Phuket for our honeymoon. A short trip of abt 5-6 days will just do since our jobs do not really permit long absences. The most important thing on our minds then would be to relax after all that planning that's why we are going for a beach resort style honeymoon.

kat22

Hi, Chemson.

Oh, what i meant is that i am choosing the outdoor photography. The photography for the $3288 package is by The Edge but u hv to choose either indoor or outdoor photography so we hv decided to take outdoor

As for actual day photography, we met Benny yesterday n hv decided to get him to take our photos on the actual day. FH really likes his work so okay loh! Me dun mind as long as I look pretty in the pics

Actually u and Sheep are very lucky! One of my close friends who got married last month had to reach the groom's place before 6am as her hubby is a Teochew! My poor friend didn't even get to sleep the whole night! In the end, she was quite grouchy on her wedding... So I am quite happy for you that you two need not get up so early 'cos it will be really tiring for you.

diff

Hi Wiz,

Some studios are very high tech. They are willing to send preview photos thru e-mails. Then DHL the actual album. The package cost abt 2.5K. I spent $5K in total - that also inc hotel, air-tckts, buy-this-&-that. (chk my postings after 27 Dec).