(2002) Brides of year 2002

starfruit

angph38 : yup, seems like a pretty small group, good, we can have a cozy outing then. guess will try and arrange for sometime after New year. what do u gals think?

kwet: wow, taiwan! which bridal place was that and what does ur package include. how about ur photographer and makeup on the actual day etc etc.
is it a hassel?

daisy

Hi lollipop & snowflakes,

Wow, how come u gals so fast go try yr gowns huh??? My designer ask me go only nx month. Me oso veri eager 2 go try some gown c which design suits me best. But i realli like divine bare back design. Hope i look gd in it. Must go do some back scrubing liao. If not wear bare back veri ugly... Hehe

miko

Hi angph38,

I have booked my bridal package wif Silhouette.

I booked the Cityhall Grand Plaza Parkroyal. Think the beach Road one is not named Grand Plaza as well...anyway, I heard from the banquet sales person that in future Grand Plaza parkroyal will be changed to Grand Plaza Hotel instead. Think they have separated from Parkroyal group or something like that.

Hmm...seems like there's a gathering soon for all Nov brides rite? Can I join too??

lollipop

Hi Daisy,

I guess different bridal boutiques have different ways of doing things. GHA called me to fix up a date, to try some gowns... based on their tight schedules, (alot of pple getting married nowadays)
they have to balance their time and everything to try to give ctm satisfaction, methinks.

What about you, Snowflake? Did YC call you to fix the appt or did you make one yourself?

snowflake

hhehhhe.....lollipop....my church priest very strict one mah.....plus my mum so traditional type then no choice lor.....

yup...tink i'll really try alot of gowns 2molo nite lor....hmmmm....tink if i can wear bustier then mayb i do another design for WG (not so revealing) then do a bustier for the EG.....hhahhhaa...then mum got no excuse abt church priest or watever :p (snowflake veri bad hor
) .....

actually me also tinking of a halter-neck.....but do u tink a halter-neck WG is funny ????

hi daisy,

no lah.....mine designing of the gown not started yet but going 2molo nite just to try on some gowns so i have a rouge idea which will suit me best mah.....hhheehhhee...very kiasu hor ????

katherine

Hi, Chemson!

Thks for the advice. I did make an appt with her so guess there's no problem.
Yup, I heard she's really friendly and her gowns are lovely
Hv you booked your wedding package?

Anyone else took a package from Flamingo? I am actually Considering Margaret Brides but her package is quite basic and abit X so still looking around....

chemson

Yep.. she is so friendly and I love her personalised. She is not the sort to hard-sell and she will leave you to make up your mind. And as you try your gowns, she will give her suggestions which cut and style suit you most. Her service is very personalised and she will listen to you and will not impose her ideas. Me... almost booking... and I love her gowns and I believe that she can create something I will like !

sheep

Hi Kat,
yeah! therez 3 of us in this thread getting married on the same day!

dun worry, u're definitely not too late. itz fine as long as u've confirmed ur venue. i've juz signed up wif TY. most bridal boutiques advised me to sign up latest by end January. u still hav abt 1 mth's time to shop around. my design session starts in Feb. therez a lot of gd packages around depending on ur preference. i'm taking ala carte so not too sure abt packages. sorry, can't help much here. Flamingo is a gd choice though. therez lots of gd comments from this forum. from their WG to EG to designer.

my dinner will be at Shangri-La.

happy shopping!

diff

Hi angph38, starfruit, etc,

The package inc everything - photo-shoots, make-up, transport, gowns, etc, pretty comprehensive. I don't have the ang-mo name but it's call fa3 die2 (meaning french butterfly, I think).

Photoshoots done 2 days after agreement. Locations are very scenic and beautiful (not sure where also!). Taiwanese also very friendly, everythg OK OK if within their reach.

Actual day photos - my brother-IL and make-up - my sister loh. They are trying to build up a freelance portfolio - so we are their guinea pigs loh.

Just book a flight, be brave & tell yourself everythg must be accomplished within a week!

kat

Hello, everyone.

Chemson - Glad to hear that u r also considering booking with Flamingo...looks like we may end up being Flamingo brides
will tell u abt my session with Shirley on Sat

sheep - tks! reassuring to hear that i still got time. :p hv been to Shangri-la for wedding dinner...very beautiful and posh. U will luv it!

BTW, anyone staying at P21? My new flat is at P21 but will only be ready in Dec03. staying with in-laws first. hope no MIL problem

cowie

Hi My Melodys,
Sorry to reply so late. Have been busy with work...... Yup, mine will be on the 15th Sept at MM.
Uhmmm, chose this date cos our "anniversary" is on the 15th Aug. So, 15 has become our number......ROM 15th Feb, wedding 15th Sept.....
Actually according to tong shu, this is not an auspicious day for wedding...... but it is not adverse for weddings too. So, we are going ahead with it. We wanted a sunday wedding and only 15th Sept and Dec are sundays...... dun want to wait too long after ROM, so.......
MM package for sunday is $739 nett per table. Very comprehensive package. Hey, have you checked out Sheraton Towers..... seems like Kat from this thread just booked hers recently......

Hi Kat,
Welcome to this thread!
Oh, hope that the above I gave My Melodys wrt Sheraton Towers is right

lmf

Hi Sheep,
Wow! You've booked with Tan Yoong. Heard that it is very expensive. How much are you paying for the ala carte? Without photos? As for me, I have yet to go to Fame but might do that on next weekend.

Hi Kat,
It's never been too late to join in the conversation. Good to find the same day brides here. I've been to Flamingo and I met Shirley and her husband. They are very nice people and one thing best of all is that they don't hard sell. Their gowns and people are nice, but it's too expensive for me. If I'm considering the cheapest package they have, a comprehensive package will be more than $4000. No choice, so I have to find alternative (budgetary and nice). Finally, I've got one very comprehensive plus some freebies at $2988. Do tell me more about your trip to Flamingo.

chemson

Hi Kat,

Enjoy your trip down to Flamingo. Dun forget to tell us abt your visit there. Shirley is a very nice person and you will like her...first impressions count, huh ? Anyway, agree with LMF... her pricing is on the mid-range but within my budget though.

sheep

Hi LMF,
TY's price is a little steep but his workmanship is superb! i'm paying abt $4000 for WG, EG, makeup, hairdo and flowers. i'll be going direct to the photographers. and of course, sourcing for a teadress too!

Potential Flamingobrides,
looks like we'll have a few Flamingo brides from this thread after the wkend! enjoy ur trip to Flamingo! do share ur experiences, yah?

kat

Good morning everyone!

Cowie - yep, u r right. i just confirmed mine recently. me very "heng" 'cos some couple last minute change date so i got the date

My Melodys - yep, do check out Sheraton. They now got promo. if u book before 31 dec, u get free flow of Tiger beer, seat covers, 2 nights stay etc. They r also giving $30 discount per table of 12. dun think they hv many Sep & Oct gd dates left but do check them out!

LMF, Chemson, Sheep - Tks! After hearing all these positive comments abt her, I am really looking forward to meeting Shirley tom. Will definitely let u know the outcome!

lollipop

Hi Snowflake,

A halter-necked WG is not funny. I have friends who wore and will be wearing halter-necked gowns.
But the skirt shouldn't be fluffy, should in fact be flowy, something A-line, then the effect will be better. Just a thought.

I haven't got much designs for EG. Initially I was thinking of a bustier EG but WG bustier, EG also bustier, abit funny leh. So I kinda decided on a toga top plus a straight full length skirt. Mmmm...

snowflake

hi lollipop,

hey, u manage to post in liao ?????

won't b goin YC 2nite.....only goin 2molo evening lor....Yvonne having dinner 2nite so told her i go 2molo evening instead.....she's quite apologetic lah n ask me to go down earlier 2nite but guess i rather haf it 2molo since it'll make things easier for bth of us !!!!!!!!

btw, where the rest of the Oct brides - AC, m2m, novbride ???????????????

lollipop

Snowflake,

This is the question I have been wanting to ask also....

"Where art thou, ye Oct Brides????" *Snowflake and Lollipop wearing boards over their heads*

kat1

Hi Kat,

This is Kat too. I guess we happen to have the same nick. Just found out that you are new in this forum since yesterday.

Pardon me for suggesting that in order not to get ppl here confuse abt our identity, can we agree on a fix nick?

I'll let you pick a nick where you feel more comfortable with, okie? Hope you don't mind hor.

Kat1 (oso known as Kitkat)

dawn1002

Hi there Lollipop, Snowflake, & Daisy,

Finally the treads working. For the past few days, when I log on, no new postings for Oct Brides so I thought All of you on holiday or what... Good to be back though I seem to be forgotten liao... Just kidding.

Lollipop, glad that you manage to choose a bustier. I cannot wear that cos do not have a nice back and also becos for church purposes. Not so nice lah. Some priest may not like it. But if your pastor/priest does not mind then go for it!

Have any of you thought of having a band playing at your wedding?

chemson

Now I am confused !!! Which Kat am I been corresponding with ?

Guess I guess you guys need to use a new nick ? Really appreciate that !

kat22

Hi, Kat1 or Kat.

Oops, sori...discover abt u only after i post my message yesterday.

Since my wed date is on 22nd, i will call myself Kat22 then. U can continue using Kat since u r here first

So, when's ur wedding? Hv u confirmed ur dinner venue n wedding pack?

novbride

halloooo lollipop and snowflakes!!!

seeems like everyone is still having hangover after x'mas huh??
I'm on leave this afternoon but jus a short message before i go

Lollipop, I also like a bustier for my WG!! but i dun know if it's suitable for me...I've quite board shoulders, I'm afraid it'll make it more prominent!

Snowflakes, let us know how you like YC's gowns aft your appt ya? i really enjoy trying gowns!!! I shall check out more boutiques next week and try as many gowns as possible! :D

'See' ya and wish all oct-brides a wonderful Year 2002!

kat22

Hi, Chemson.

U hv been corresponding with me all along. Guess Kat was from another thread and saw that i happen to share the same nick as her.

No more worries 'cos i will be using the nick Kat22 from now onwards.

Sorry for the confusion caused!

kat

Hey Kat22,

Thanks for your reply. First of all congrats to you for your coming wedding.

Thanks for letting me keep my nick Kat. Well, I'm getting ROM on 30 Jan. Customary yet to confirm. Probably late 2002 or early 2003.

Just got all my stuff ready for my ROM. Bought my dress from KL 2 weeks ago and my shoes and bag from JB last weekend. Getting nervous oredi.

Hi Chemson, don't get confuse. You have been chatting with Kat22 all long and not Kat. I'm more active in the thread "Is honesty the best policy" & "Kat looking 4 Joker".

Rgds
Kat

my

Hi Kat and Cowie,

I have call up Sheraton already. For next year Sep and Oct are fully book. Anyway thanks for the help! I think today i will go down to Novotel to comfirm the venue liao! If not, no wedding dinner. heheee

kat22

Hi My Melodys!

I'm known as Kat22 now
Gee...din know they r already fully booked. Hope u will get your wedding venue soon. Good luck!

snowflake

no lah dawn1002, never forget u....how to - later kana struggle then snowflake eyes pop out liao :p

hey lollipop, u dare to try the toga or a halter with a full skirt....tink it b real nice but got to wear real high heels though but if u r tall then it'll b perfect....for me i'll b too short to carry it off wifout the heels....hhahhhaaa...tink i'll look funny lor....mmmm....anyway, my hubby also dun like toga so me dun need to dream.....

hi novbride, wah....so gd for u...on leave tis afternoon.....*snowflake go green wif envy*

me used up all my leave for my exams liao so have been living the last 1/2 yr wif no leave......sob...sob....u remember to come back here after your leave hor.....

will keep u all posted regarding my gowns !

btw, here's wishing u all a happy new year too !!!!!!

lollipop

Hi Dawn,

No lah, who said we forgotten about you?
Dun think my pastor will mind me wearing bustier gowns. I have seen some friends wearing spaghetti-strapped gowns, and one of them wore a bustier too. Shouldn't be a problem. Anyways, it isn't that revealing also, compared to the initial one with the superlow bare back....

Umh, my wedding will be held in Chijmes, and we did think of engaging a string quartet... but not finalised yet. It will be nice when they play a few pcs during the march-in, during the solemnisation and the march-out. Romantic also!

Novbride, dun think you can read this posting but anyways, you have to try the bustier before knowing you are suitable in it or not. But I am very sure your designer is able to tell you which design and cutting suits you best after several trials.

Um, Snowflake, the gown is actually a bustier gown with full A-line skirt (not fluffy). But in addition, it has another layer draped on one shoulder to create the toga look... the top being secured by some "sparkling" thingy... ah, I dun really know how to tell you, except it looks a little Greek...and lollipop likes.

Lollipop is not tall also. Lollipop is only around 1.58m to 1.6m... but on the petite side...but problem area lies in the hips...*sigh*

I intend to look for 3inch heels. Does anyone know where to get nice yet affordable heels?

blossom

hi everyone!

i am a 9sept bride. read through the thread, realise no one shares the same date as me, maybe it's bcos it's a monday?

i have booked my wedding package with christian creation, the infamous one in town. well, that is the first boutique we come across and never get away. but i have yet encounter anything really bad yet. just keeping my fingers crossed.

i am now busy trying to lose weight. i think i look rather fat in the white gowns especially when i am quite short.

chemson

Hi Kat22 and Sheep,

Kat22... thanks for sorting out the nickname thingy...

Sheep,
I did it !! I have booked my package with Flamingo !!! I am a Flamingo bride ! Such a big Relief !! Shirley was very patient and accommodative in explaining the details to my hubby. She is superb ! But you have got to be patient when dealing in sudden walk-in customers. I tried on another 5 more gowns to have a better feel. Thank goodness my hubby was with me for it matters the most his opinion !! I am so happy and relieved ! Have chosen Montage to be my photographer !! My first fitting is in March and Photography in 2nd week of June...

sheep

Hi Chemson!
Yeah!!!!! So happy for you!!!!! As if I'm signing the package!
You've finally signed it! I fully understand how u're feeling!
I believe every bride wants their hubby to be around while trying out gowns. Yeah! You must be feeling really happy! So u've got ur dream gown designed oredi? 1st fitting in March? Mine is 1 week before the shoot. Shoot is in June too but haven't confirm the date. There'll be more things to share nearer the date!
So exciting!

New Year is juz round the corner, here's wishing all brides-to-be a wonderful year ahead!

och

hi blossom,

welcome to this thread. i'm also trying to lose weight, so u r not alone.
r u hving a banquet? where?

snowflake

Lollipop....hmmmm...get wat u mean...n yup from the way u describe...it really looks a little greek.....

heeehehee....me shorter than u by abit...snowflake abt 1.57m.....n similiarly, problem area is my hips....but luckily me manage to maintain my weight ard 45-46kg for the past 7 years !!!!! me used to weigh 51kg in sec school....tats y my hubby always tease me....ohhh cos we noe each other since i was in sec 1 mah so he always ji siao me.....while he's the jia liao bi kind.....so poor me always very concious of my weight if not i'll look like a ball bside him !!!!!

hmmmm....tink b4 the wedding have to start ctrlling my diet liao...me intend to maintain abt 44kg....hhhhahhahhaa....my parents sure scream at me liao.....always say i becoming like shou pi hou...which is of cos since they r comparing to the time when i in sec school.....dun tink i'm tat skinny lor !!!!!!!!

wat abt u ???? going to stick to any special diet or r u the lucky type tat doesn't put on weight no matter how much u eat ?????

btw, for the heels, have u ever tried HEATWAVE at lucky plaza....tink they can even do mtm for u if u want a certain design.....tink it's abt 30+ onwards if u want mtm but if not tink the range starts from 20+

chemson

Hi Sheep,

I understand how your feel.. :p Relieved and all the anxiety are gone ! Yep.. I finally signed it !! Anyway, I was so glad that my hubby was with me and I like his point of views as well. Have confirmed my WG design and my EG as well... Huh ? Do you have time before the shoot... I have also taken my measurements as well....and my shoot is 2nd week June. In any case.. like to wish all Sept 02 brides.. Happy New Year.. happy preparations and enjoy !

jellybeans

Hi Chemson,

Gald to hear you have booked your package with Flamingo. Shirley is very patient and good, I'm sure she'll do a fantastic job. She was also top of my list b4 i confirmed my package with BV. Wow, you are fast, oredi confirmed your WG design and EG.

Hi Blossom,

Welcome to the thread.

I think quite a few of us here also trying hard to keep ourselves slim and looking our best for our big day. Finding it quite difficult esp. with so much good food around the festive seasons. I for one can't stop my mouth from snacking. I'm sure it's going to be even more difficult when the date gets nearer!

Wishing everyone a Happy New Year!

Rgds, jellybeans

cowie

Hi Chemson,
Wow..... so you have finally booked your bridal!!!
So happy to see you so satisfied with your bridal
.......hey, that is fast, just booked only and you have confirmed your gown design already.......

Hi Blossom,
Welcome to the thread!
I'm just like you, the only one on the 15th Sept
...... guess it is not too auspicious a day for wedding lah.........

sheep

Hi Chemson,
TY's 3 fittings are 2 days apart. There will be 3 fitting sessions within 1 week. He's got a schedule which he follows so shldn't be a problem. My confirmation of design is in March. Seems like from March onwards, there'll be something to do every mth. Confirm teadress, groom's suit, photography, guests lists, etc... it's gonna be fun!

Hi Blossom,
Welcome! Dun worry too much abt ur weight cos most brides lose weight nearer the actual day. The stress alone can take away a few kilos from u. So hav u chosen ur WG/EG?

blossom

hi och,

my banquet will be at hotel intercontinental. my family requested for a convenient location, scared nobody will come bcos it's weekday. but the dinner is more likely to start on time and end early, so less tiring. besides, relatives might not bring their children along, less chaotic.

hi jellybeans,

it's really hard to lose weight. i have been exercising everynite now but a bit hard to maintain that as can be very tired after work. i cut down intake of rice and other carbo but sometimes really cannot control.

hi cowie,

haha... but at least urs is still during weekend. i think i am the only weekday bride. a bit worried that it will be quite a quiet affair. a bit pai seh to ask my friends to apply leave...

blossom

hi sheep,

i am already feeling the stress... haven't been able to find anything i like from christian creation after 2 visits, so decide to mtm WG. will still look ard for EG, bcos each time i give up trying WG, too tired to try EG. got in mind what i want already... got some advice from daniel from allure and doreen chee.

currently stress with my hse at punggol. looking for contractors and ganna another infamous one in town... sigh, me very suay.

my

Hi Kat22 and Cowie,

I have finally decided on my venue liao! hheheee
Thanks for all your help! Next step for me will be the wedding package liao! :þ

chemson

Hi jellybeans and cowie,

I did not confirm my designs that fast lah.. in fact before I confirmed my package.. I visited Flamingo a couple of times to see what she can draw up for me. I of course.. bought tonnes of bridal mags for ideals and after discussing with her... she made the drawings for me... :pP Also... my hubby must like my design.. cos if he did not like it.. she would have to re-draw one for me... :pPP The forum also helped me a lot.. the comments from all the Flamingo brides and my friends. Cos I tried a few gowns close to the design for him to see and he liked my idea..

daisy

Hi Lollipop & Snowflake,

Seems like most girls suffer from e same problem. BIG hips. Me 2 got big hip & i'm veri concious abt it...

Me so envy u gals can wear 3" heel shoe. Infact, my designer oso ask me wear 3" heel so that i'll look better in WG. But my hubby not very tall lei. Me abt 1.62m tall & he abt 1.68m. So if i wear 2 high, i'll look taller than him... *Daisy sob sob*

blossom

hi everyone!

just wondering if anyone of u is having the large portrait in wedding packages. i heard that it is not the trend now. considering to exchange it for something else...

cowie

Hi Blossom,
I do have a large portrait in my package (20 by 24") if I am not wrong. Yup, we are keeping it.... doesn't matter if it is the trend or not, so long as you like it........ anything currently in trend will eventually go out of it....... Just do what you feel most comfortable with

Hi My Melodys,
Have fun shopping for your bridal package!
Be sure not to sign up any on impulse
Do take your time to decide carefully

kat22

Good morning everyone!

I had a wonderful session with Shirley of Flamingo yesterday
Like Chemson said, she is really friendly and helpful!

She let me tried quite a few gowns and now I hv a rough idea what i wanna wear on my big day. Her gowns are lovely and her style is very close to want I like.

Quite set on signing up with her though i need to settle the phoyography first. We r thinking of using Benny Ang. Any idea how much he charges for actual day photography?

Sheep, LMF - hey, our wedding date must be really hot 'cos Shirley said that she had already 2 brides getting married on 22 Sep! Guess it will put to rest any worries abt the date, if any!

Chemson - Congrats on signing up with Flamingo! Will she b doing the make-up and hairdo for u?
U r right! Luckily I made an appt with her 'cos so many couples just popped into her shop yesterday
She must b really popular!

My Melodys - Really happy for U! So when's ur wedding date? For your bridal pack, do check out Flamingo!

Blossom - Hello! welcome to this thread! Ur new hse also at Punggol! Mine too!! Mine ready in Dec 03 though so staying with in-laws first.Well, dun b upset. I am sure things will turn out well. Stay cheerful!

Okie, gals, wishing all of u a very Happy New Year!

cheerios

first of all, happy to new year to all of u and may we all be happy brides!!! :D yes shunkuey, me too, counting down too ... jus 4.5 mths away to my BIG day ...

had my fotoshoot last week and my, was it tiring! i like my makeovers and seeing some sample shots, i think the fotos shd turn out nice nice.
i personally like the video my hubby took of me when i was taking solo. :p

then i took a long rest and went for a 4 days chalet at pasir ris to spent my x'mas.
did u all hv a gd x'mas??

now, i'm looking around for home furnishing stuff as reno shd complete in abt 3 weeks' time, so looking around for sofa, lights, dining set, curtains etc ... and i jus bought a set of L-shaped sofa yesterday!! was jus looking around but came across this set of micro-fibre, full fabric set and fell in love with it.
shd be able to get it in 5 weeks' time b4 CNY, hope it'll be nice nice!!

how's the rest?? any updates??

hi esquire, i'll aso be holding my banquet at panpac.
which day is yours? wat's your theme?

cheerios!

blossom

hi cowie,
i have decided to keep the protrait. my fh said there's no need to follow trend and he always thought that is quite a sweet thing. we seldom have such a big protrait that capture the most beautiful moment in our life... sorry, sounds rather mushy.

hi kat22,
mine will be ready soon. shld be getting the keys latest feb02, so shld be in time for my wedding. having second thoughts actually, heard that the mrt and lrt won't be ready then. will be quite inconvenient.

it's very siong to handle the wedding and renovation at the same time, especially when me and my fh very busy at work (must work harder, or else ganna retrenched
). the amt of money is hyper siong too. so i think ur timing is better.

btw, is your flat premium? mine is standard. ganna the last few days of selection, so no more high-level premium units. but we dun really mind standard, can exercise our creativity for home deco. besides, must wait longer for premium units to complete. my fh wants to move out sooner.