101 ways to tekan the groom

pcms

Personally im writing this post so that i can expect wat a norm tekan will be install for me .... so pls ... those with or without exp couple pls 'enlighten' me the cruelty this tekan session will be ... my sis did a 'suck the baby bottle with fresh milk and washabi stint' and almost killed my BIL LOL !!

stubbilla

once, we mix washabi, raw egg and add in a lot of pepper for the groom & gang to drink

greenie

hahahaa, Ms-pc, so power ah? hehehe
the nose will b "tong" from the wasabi! this is the ultimate man!

pcms

audrey - it's when the jie mei trying to squeeze the juice out of my pocket ..... i'm trying of trying to 'MIL' way ...maybe can get her to pass me her house keys the day before ... den can save up the ang pao $$$$ hehee

stubbilla

hi ms-pc,
my friend's hubby did that too, he got the house keys duplicated before the AD.
But he still can't get in coz we jie meis cleverer, we bought a lock there

chrisz

Wowww, i think it's bery cruel to let e groom & accompany 2 eat those funny funny stuff,pray tat nothing happens,it will not b good if smthing happens....
hehehehe....any good idea of sabo-ing e brothers n groom other than e usual singing,push up,guess e correst lip stick mark?

audreysu

wah....I think so far my BIL got the worst kenna among all my friends who got married. My sis jie mei made him do star jump, make him translate a english song into chinese, I made him say "I love you" in 10 different languages b4 he's allowed to enter my sis room. My friend's jie mei made him strum his guitar from the door all the way to his room. Seriously, I still din know what my jie mei will do to my hubby

audreysu

HP...my hubby has warned me a hundred & one million times, if my jie mei ever know his weakness, he's not going to let me off

stubbilla

wow~! I told my FH that I'll make sure my jie meis know leh.
anyway, think should tekan them what, things that are hard to get are more precious mah~!

luckily my FH never say such things, else I sure punch him on his face

audreysu

hahaha...I seriously have no idea wat my jie mei will do to him. But I think if my sis is there she's not going to let him off lor, cos during her wedding, I really tekan my BIL until very jia liat. Now a bit regret cos I'm going to have my own medicine soon

coven

i told my hubby ... once in his lifetime, must let my jie meis tekan!! HAHAHA .. even MIL also told him the same thing! he was trying to negotiate for a just nice timing to reach my place but i vetoed.

hehehe .. when the time is nearer, must conference with my jie meis to see how they want to tekan him!

mist

can i join in too??

me also thinking of ways to tekan my hubby for our wedding in nov... ;p

well, else where to find the chance to tekan him... hahaha... ;p

mist

hi HP,

how are you??? wah, the Nov thread is so crowded until i lose track liao... :p

hey, you also looking for ways to tekan your hubby huh?? aiyo, your BS and banquet not even settle yet leh... heheheh...

stubbilla

hi mist,
I'm not looking for ways to tekan my FH. I already got a lot of ideas liao.

got a lot of experiences when I helped my friends' wedding. so came in here to share share loh

I dun need to hold my banquet liao
so happy coz I used the excuse of cannot find loh

now onli need to settle my BS fast

stubbilla

I think tekan session fun or not fun depends very much on the jie meis and the groom party.

once I helped out one of my friend one, we din tekan him much coz his buddies not fun one, ask them to sing song, never respond, all just stand there blur blur.

vone

ur antics r so infectious!! :p hv any1 watch darren lim n evelyn tan's wedding special!! wah, d jie meis really nvr give face..... mayb u can get some ideas thr?? :p

stubbilla

aiya, think the jie meis din tekan darren enough lah. only ask them to do two things only. I thought there'll be good show

phy_o

Hi I would like to know how many jie mies are needed? What is the usual number of jie mies you all have?

hamasaki

hi phyllis, there is no limited number of Jie Mei or Xiong Dis that u must have or not to have..

U can have as many as 8 or as little as 2 or 4.. its all fully up to yr choices and decisions..

phy_o

That's nice to know! I was thinking of only 3 or 4. Not really keen to have so many. But I think there may be about 6 to 7 xiong dis. Wonder if such an imbalance is fine?

hamasaki

i ever heard before that the groom and bride have got to have the same even number..

for example: if U got 4 Jie Meis, then yr hubby also must have 4 Xiong Dis..

Just wanna say that PLS don't treat groom as a CLOWN. I once attended a friend's wedding and the Jie Meis are super "rough", "inconsiderate" and super "low class"!

Rough= Taking bamboo(dry clothes one) out and trying hitting the groom through the window grilles(dunno for what)

Inconsiderate= Mix super duper terrible drinks for groom and his brothers, ended up diarrhoea through the night! How to enjoy the ambience and the special night...

Low class= Get the groom to wear a G-string outside the suit like super man... And moreover have to take pictures. I dun see any "fun" in wearing a G-string and let ppl take pictures.

If you have a son, do you want friends to tekan him until this extend?!?

soupie

hi missylan, i do agree the rough and inconsiderate part is really uncalled for.. as for the low class one i guess it may just be for a good laff

i've been jie mei before and i dun like the idea of eating/drinking strange concoctions/food... cos yeah.. i do think that it's a special day for both the bride and groom, so they should enjoy the occasion and not suffer stomachache and diarrhoea for the day.

here are some ideas of wat my jie meis did to my hubby and xiong dis last month...hehehe...

1. drink 1.5 litre of coke with a very very thin and long (abt 1.5m) tube. my hubby is a coke lover so this one quite easy for him but it's just the sucking part kekekeke.

2. fox sweets deeped in lemon juice then salt then japanese chilli powder then bittergourd puree. my hubby said this actually taste quite nice! hehehe. it was just a sweet size.. so no strain on the tummy :p

3. drafting of an 'agreement contract'. supposed to declare loud loud and sign and get 3 neighbours' signatures as witnesses. as there wasnt enuff time, my parents' signatures were taken instead. hehehe

and of cos.. the giving of the 'open door' angbao

hamasaki

hi missylan, i would agree that the Jie Meis did was a little bit overboard esp: hitting them with a bamboo, and causing them diarrhoea.. For the G-string part, i find that the girls might have thought of embrassed them which some people will get offended.. I dun like that too)..

i would never do that to the groom and his Xiong Dis on my AD..

In fact, i never did those things as U mention above though my sis did suggest to do that.. I totally said no.. Must consider their feelings in it..

kwaif

Yah, agree that some jiemeis can be inconsiderate and go abit overboard. It would be good if the jiemeis know their limits and boundaries.

What I normally do as a jiemei is to ALWAYS check with the bride first. She should know what her groom can tolerate and what he cannot. I would ask her if he's allergic to any food items or anything that is to be applied on him, etc, and I would not use any of these items so as not to cause any adverse reaction from the groom. And I don't believe in making the groom have diarrhoea, coz I know it would ruin his day (I wouldn't want the same thing to happen to MY groom also wat!), so I always make sure the food items are confirmed safe for consumption.

I would also let the bride vet through my tekan plans and gain her approval first before embarking on these tricks. Allow the bride to set the boundary for the jiemeis as to how far we can go. Of course we would confiscate her hp and keep her away from the telephone and PC beforehand, so that she won't be able to leak out our secret "war plan" to the guys ;P

This also acts as a safeguard for the jiemeis, coz should the groom complain of anything we are doing, we can always say that we have already gotten prior approval from the bride to do this wat! Surely he won't get mad at her on the wedding day, rite? Heheh, must cover our butts mah! ;P

The fact that we are called in as her jiemeis means we are regarded as the bride's bosom friends (and therefore are given some privileges to tekan her groom a bit), and all the more we should always spare a thought for her (and the groom's) feelings as well. We would be meeting the couple throughout our life anyway, so better not spoil our relationship on their wedding day. The whole idea of this tekan thing is to have fun, and make sure it stays a joyous occasion, instead of being mean and make the wedding day miserable for the groom.

Have fun!

hamasaki

yup kwaif, well said..

i fully agree with what u have mentioned above.. Should consider the couple's feelings and not do things too overboard..

kwaif

Hi Phyllis,

I don't think there's hard and fast rules wrt no. of xiongdi and jiemeis. For my close cousin's wedding, we had 13 jiemeis vs 30-over xiongdis! (Yah, I was very intimidated when I first saw the whole gang of guys, coz they could easily ram down the door anytime they want, y'know?! ;P)

Couples tend to be more particular about no. of bridesmaids vs bestmen when it comes to church weddings (for aesthetic/symmestric reasons) coz this procession gang must walk down the aisle before the couple mah!

But like I said, no hard and fast rules, coz I have friends who had around 9 bridesmaids vs 4 bestmen for their church wedding. So it's really up to you lor!

phy_o

Hey thanx kwaif for the information!

I don't intend to have too many jiemeis. Trying to keep the wedding a small affair on my side. Else really must invite everyone to be jiemeis. Then that morning will be so crowded and tiring! (Imagine so many people fighting for toilets at an unearthly hour! ... ok ok ... just my imagination.) But the groom most likely will have quite a lot of xiongdi.

I don't intend to tekan groom and sabo him till jialet jialet. But my jiemeis have a different thing to say la. But I guess I'll have to "
vet" their activities first la!

celine82

Hi, just to give some more ideas... I happend to saw in other forums that the jie mei sabo the grooms by asking them to eat the bread to come out the wordings of "I love you".... hehee

sunjade

hiya ladies,

my friend is getting married next month, and i am one of the ah yees. Was wondering whether got interesting tekan ideas that don't involve eating or drinking? cause the groom got weak stomach, we don't want to risk him having diarrheoa and then spoil the whole day for them

b2b5

I have seen a "tekan" which is quite sweet and meaningful to the couple. One groom was asked to thread a ring of beads for his bride and present it to her (It's still quite a challenge 'cos the guys are not good with handicraft, especially holding such small beads). I thought that was very sweet as the couple can remember their special day by, and it's more meaningful to both the bride and groom. The bride wore that ring throughout the day and was very happy to tell her guests that the groom made it for her

This way, it also "give face" to the groom 'cos we don't want to embarrass or tourture him on his wedding day right (also, if we make them do stuff like push-ups, they will sweat in their suits and stink for the rest of the day! :p)? After all, he must have done enough before that to prove his love for his bride and that's why she wants to marry him in the first place

jessctan

i have friends that made the groom eat coffee powder . yucks! he his brothers teeth all become brown color n the jiemei wouldn't give them water to drink. so cruel hor

chapter1

Haha, seeing all these posts reminds me of my wedding. I was made to go through two stages, where first when I rang the doorbell, the door was already shut tightly. And I was made to sing a love song.

The second part was even worse, after we had entered the door, my wife's sisters went to her room and shut the door again. They made me do an "Ai De Xuan Yan". Can't remember which radio station it was from, but it was fun! :D

micong

i oso agree dat we shldnt make the groom eat rubbish till he LS (lao sai)...very inconvenient for him coz it's his big day too!

i've been a jiemei twice n eating is kept to minimum...we onli made the grooms eat thgs w 4 tastes (sour,sweet,bitter n hot) to remind him dat he shld be sharing his suan tian ku la with his bride in future.
wat we made groom did was to put on lipstick n "kissed" out his bride's chinese name on paper!
we oso asked groom n bros to pluck out "kar mo" (meaning their leg hairs)!!

act my jiemeis r thking of asking my FH to pluck out his chest hair when his turn comes!!

angel81

Hahahah....

I totally agree that the groom shouldn't eat rubbish. I've already told my jiemeis that I dun wan my fh to eat too bad stuff, as I want him to enjoy his big day too, and that I wana enjoy my wedding nite!

Mic, I like your idea of the 4 tastes! Tink I'll suggest that to my jiemeis. kekek

llucidity

I definitely disagree with feeding the groom crap mixed with rubbish. Who knows he might get diarrhoea on the big day? That's a serious dampener for everyone, especially the bride.

jojo_18bride

i went to see alot of videographer b4 i really engaged one, and saw alot of tekan in the xpress highlight very fun. Some of them is asking the bro or groom to take a teck co (bamboo stick) and dance with the pole like stripe dance like that, and the jiemei add on funny costoms for them like bikini. (wear outside the shirt n pant of cos)! I remember once which is quite disgusting is one of the jie mei hang a banana with a string to the neck of bro, but the position of the banana is somewhere near the X part, groom are to eat up the banana located them wor... =S just wana share with u all wat i see...

happytea

hihi, its kinda excited to see all the ideas here! but then being the bride, how do we get our jie meis to be as excited as us?
kinda funny to tell them how i want them to "play" my hubby and gang... but i am worried that they might be at a loss as to wat to do!

pinkbunny

i gave my jie-meis a list of things that they can or cannot do to my FH. he has seen a few situations where the groom was really ill-treated and he made it clear that good clean fun is fine but degrading him is not. he's not local so it's hard to even explain why there is this tekan session in the first place.

my jie-meis will prob not share the game plan with me but i thought of the following as a guideline. maybe it will be useful to some of you:

1. From 10th floor (to command the band of brothers to do something, can use loudhailer, no problem)
a. Maybe ask them to write out my Chinese name in the sandpit downstairs (there’s a little sandpit that people use for golf)
b. Or ask them to sing my name (and form the letters with their arms!) to the tune of YMCA?

2. At the main door
a. Or maybe YMCA can be here. My mum’s place has a little lift lobby for 3 lifts, so there’s enough space for dancing :D
b. He has to answer 5 questions about me/our relationship (when was first our kiss, what was my PSLE aggregate score, how old was I when I pang jioed in class etc)

3. To get into my room
a. I can freeze different room keys into popsicles and the band of brothers has to eat the ice-cream to get to the key to open the door (wrong key, too bad!).
b. While the brudders are attacking the ice-cream, my parents will read to him a ‘wedding contract’ (I will prepare) of how he will take care of me and give me half his salary :D and he needs to sign

4. When he’s in the right room
a. He think’s it’s over but it’s not because he has yet to propose to me, so he must think of 5 reasons why he wants to spend the rest of his life with me/why he loves me

pinkbunny

i gave my jie-meis a list of things that they can or cannot do to my FH. he has seen a few situations where the groom was really ill-treated and he made it clear that good clean fun is fine but degrading him is not. he's not local so it's hard to even explain why there is this tekan session in the first place.

my jie-meis will prob not share the game plan with me but i thought of the following as a guideline. maybe it will be useful to some of you:

1. From 10th floor (to command the band of brothers to do something, can use loudhailer, no problem)
a. Maybe ask them to write out my Chinese name in the sandpit downstairs (there’s a little sandpit that people use for golf)
b. Or ask them to sing my name (and form the letters with their arms!) to the tune of YMCA?

2. At the main door
a. Or maybe YMCA can be here. My mum’s place has a little lift lobby for 3 lifts, so there’s enough space for dancing :D
b. He has to answer 5 questions about me/our relationship (when was first our kiss, what was my PSLE aggregate score, how old was I when I pang jioed in class etc)

3. To get into my room
a. I can freeze different room keys into popsicles and the band of brothers has to eat the ice-cream to get to the key to open the door (wrong key, too bad!).
b. While the brudders are attacking the ice-cream, my parents will read to him a ‘wedding contract’ (I will prepare) of how he will take care of me and give me half his salary :D and he needs to sign

4. When he’s in the right room
a. He think’s it’s over but it’s not because he has yet to propose to me, so he must think of 5 reasons why he wants to spend the rest of his life with me/why he loves me

happytea

hi Pink bunny, your ideas are great! and sounds loving too! i think it shld be meaningful for each tricks instead of just wanting to make a fool out of the guys. i love those part which they got to do at downstairs heehee