$100 for Registrar to officiate solemnization outdoors??

• Thread starter madwoman_in_the_attic
  • Start date

hweiz

can anyone recommend me some JP/Solemniser cos David loh's fully booked.. thanks a million.

edna

How abt Mr Chan? Think he's quite good too
a very knowledgeable man....

rabbitwsk

Hi hweiz

How abt Mr Chris Chen? I got him to solemnise for me... very nice person.

U need the contact, jus PM me

dracwy

i used Mrs. Joanna Wong. Very nice lady, very elegant looking too.
u can get her contact number from the JP List. u can get the JP List from here.

I'm looking for a chinese lady JP for an outdoor solemnisation. Besides Mrs Joanna Wong as recommended by dracwy, who else can you all recommend?

ublur

erm... hi, i m new here, jus to ask, how come David Low is such a celeb?? someone care to tell me?
I m planning for mine soon.. so reading up for more

doremon

Hi anxious,

I have come across a proposal by the Singapore Yacht club when i was sourcing ard for ROM venue. THe proposal is that they will give you a yacht and you will do a "march-in ceremony" on the yacht. Meaning the yacht will sail in with both of you on it and you can invite all your guests onto it to view the solemnisation ceremony.

After the ceremony, all of you will then proceed for the makan. There will be a bridal room available for you too. Not sure will it be unique but so far, their proposal is quite interesting as compared to the rest i have asked ard during my preparation of ROM.

sleepy_sg

Newbie here.
Presently planning to have my ROM this coming Aug/Sept 04 and have the solemisation outside too.

angelinetan

Hi Doremon,

How much will it cost? Care to share with us and where to get the inform?

If i wanted to do e solemisation and customary on the same day and i having e dinner on restaurant, any ideas to suggest if i dont wan to hold e solemisation in the restaurant?

psmissyou

Hi Angeline,

I am holding my solemisation and customary on the same day. Will be holding it in Grand Copthorne Waterfront. They do have a solemnisation room for me.

if you did book a hotel room for your wedding day, you can probably ask the hotel whether they have a solemnisation room for you.

i am doing my solemnisation at 6pm and after which will go up 2 levels for my wedding banquet. clipart{biggrin}

babylynn

Hi all, I am new. I am getting ROM on 4 aug. I wonder what is the procedure for the solemnization. I holding a buffet lunch recption at Aranda Country Club Restaurant..I am thinking of starting the buffet fro 2pm to 5pm.

aliciatansk

Me am new at this thread. Will be ROMing outside too.. was wondering how we know which JP is good. Any recommendation?

chrislyn

hi..
usually we needa giv at least 28bucks 2 cvr the JP's trnsprt 4 tat dae..bt most couples giv it in the fm of an ang-pao...i gave mi JP 40bucks..bt itz realli up 2 individual wat ya r comfy wif..as lng as itz nt below 28..hope tis info helps..i had Mr David Loh as mi JP

dear99

anyone kw how much do i hav to giv my wedding pastor? wen and whr do i hav to giv him? after solemization or before? ;)

jioupz

hi deardear,

dunno abt pastor leh... u doing it in church i guess? pastor dun usually take ang bao rite? anyway, why dun u give a nice gift like pen wif his name engraved on it instead?

jo22

Hi, I am new here..

Really need help!!

I am having my ROM in june and unfortunately some JPs are out of town or not available, such as David loh, Anamah Tan, Bertha Neo, Pierre Paul and Mr Chan..

and of course, photography? Heard of Yew Leong.. is he good?

I getting panic now. pls help. Thanks guys.

andrewyipko

Hi Jody,

Hmm..you ROM is in June? I hope you've gotten yourself a JP by now. Anyway fyi, it's pretty difficult to get a JP for the month of June and within a month's time. Mine's in June too. Maybe you can try Dr. Ling@Seet Ai Mee?

pink_ice

Hi, All,

Ya, can someone tell me too why is David Low so popular? When pple say he is good, what does that reali means hur?

cocoboy

newbie reporting,still yet 2 chose our date and place of solemnization. Need some expertise ideas,hoping 2 get david low as our jp.

got any suggestions

cocoboy

newbie reporting,still yet 2 chose our date and place of solemnization. Need some expertise ideas,hoping 2 get david low as our jp.

got any suggestions

princess_shann

Hi friends, im new to this forum..

pls correct me if i were to breach any regulations..

I noticed alot r facing e problem of getting a JP.

For christians,You can actually check on ROM's website itself www.rom.gov.sg ;

On the listed registered churches in singapore. If your church is listed,
u can then proceed to ur own church & pre-book ur pastor at least 3mths in advance.

If u'r not a local,
then u can choose the church u wan to hv ur rom solemnized with,
but some churches do have restrictions.

Oh!
For those with tight budget, you dun hv to waste xtra money to get a venue for solemnization!
Some churches have their own church office for solemnization!
Check with ur church & ask for advise!

elisssss

hi, i'm also looking for a jp, any help to do that will be appreciated, pls email to

I also needed some help in the entertainment area, like emcee/dj.Roughly how much is it usually for a simple intro in both english and mandarin? Kindly reply me if you know of any good ones at [email protected]

Elis

seltzer78

hi icebubbles,

First of all u need to find the location.
Secondly u need to find a JP then you need to tell the JP your location and time.
After that I week b4 the actual dat of solemiztion need to go ROM to verify yur docu. that all i guess

Hopes tat help

mcfluffy

hi, new to the wedding scene.. (who's not?)

I'm holding my ROM outdoors. Do I need to get a solemniser before the 3 mths? slightly confused...

happytea

hi eunice, i read that many couples out there do "reserve" the popular JPs mths in advance.

for my case, we comfirmed with our JP and also the venue at around the same time, after JP signed the form, we reg online and there the 3mths period countdown.

valeriesui

You need to get the solemniser first. I think the venue is not so important. Was helping 2 of my friend's wedding about some months back and learnt more from them. One of my good friends got Mr Chan Kar Yau as the solomniser, the other got Mr Kelvin Ong. Both are good as they made the couples feel at ease during the soleminsation ceremony and also met my 2 friends and hubbies before the wedding to brief them on the procedure etc.

tempura76

Ang pow to JP is around $28 as wat i've seen in this thread..call david to check his availability yesterday and he told me the fee is $88.. can someone explain??

yoji

Hi Tempura
Can Ang pow prices goes up to $88 dollars? IN rom website, it still state at least $28 dollars and I was thinking extra $$$$ would be just to show our appreciation he comes to the wedding.

dino2516

Hi Tempura/Gal

I had mine ROM outside too..and my solemniser did not took the ang pow from me..

My friend also had her ROM outside & the JP did not took the ang pow from her either..

ng_hanjun

Hi, I have planned my ROM on 16th Dec 2006. Just called David Loh today and he is fully booked all the way to the year 2007. I think David Loh is the most popular JP if you ask around. He is a very humurous person to have a very memorable solemnisation. As for the fee, the mimimum is $28. But I guess, its better to give slightly more. By the way, I am having my solemnisation at Gallery Hote.

sandsand

I just attended a friend's ROM party on saturday and she got Mr David Loh as her JP. I have witnessed other JPs at work, but David is really different from the rest. All JPs are quite pro at their work (eg: where to stand for photo taking) but David stands up above the rest. He even adjusted the items on the table b4 the ceremony so that it will look right in the photos. After signing he personally positioned the pple for photo taking, and he's a very humourous guy.. And he sabo my friend. he made my friends kiss for a very long time saying its for the cameras, make the guy sing a song (xiao wei) to my friend, change the name from xiao wei to my friends name (David loh had to prompt the guy with the lyrics)

But he's very pro, even after the solemnization, he was seen about going around looking for potentials..Ha. He came to my group of friends and all and went to one of my friends first, he saw her wedding band he said "Haiya, no chance." then moved on to my and saw my solitaire and his eyes beamed up.. but i had to tell him, "Sorry, mine is church wedding. got pastor" then we pointed to my other friend who was there with her BF... haha. he's cute lah. And he is able to make recommendations for a memorable ROM. He was telling us how he asked a couple who had their wedding on the lantern festival, to get the kids present to hold lighted candles then the couple make their entrance walking in between them..
Quite good lah. (But i glad i didnt get him cos i ould like the sabo. =) )

But he really is very booked. Told him my AD is in Dec, he said even if i dont have pastor, he also cannot..

elven_princess

David Loh is my JP & he's really quite good. Nice guy & really makes the event a whole lot less boring. Saw on Tv that he soleminises like 600+ couples a year, his recod being 9 in a day or something like that. Oh yes, for ang pow-wise, i gave $60. =)