$100 for Registrar to officiate solemnization outdoors??

• Thread starter madwoman_in_the_attic
  • Start date

madwoman_in_the_attic

Can I pay to get the registrar to officiate my solemnization outdoors? I was told that it was in the news ($100 or something) but I'm away from Singapore so wouldn't know in detail. Planning to combine ROM solemnization + reception at a hotel next month. But if I cannot or don't want to get a JP and/or grassroot leader to officiate the solemnization, can I get the registrar from ROM to do it at the hotel? When choose "Other Location" in e-filing, I got 2 text boxes which require me to fill in location and choose name of registrar (list was provided in scrollbar). How amazing!! Anyway can some experienced ladies give some good advice here?

blueangel

I am also doing mine outside of the ROM.

It is recommended by ROM to give the registar an ang pow of $28.

sama sama

my friend also give the registar $28 ang pow for outdoor..

unsure

anyone know how many mths in advance do we hv to book the justice of peace if we need to do solemnization outside ROM?

sandgirl72

hi unsure
for us, i booked our JP (Mr David Loh) approx 3 months before our ROM date.. it is better to book them early lor..

hope it helps..

dearie

Dear Madwoman,

I also wanted to have my solemnization at our wedding dinner and I told my FH about this ~2 weeks ago. GUESS WAT! He has gone thru the trouble of searching for the information and has created a website to collate the information for our wedding for our easy reference too.

Please go to my FH's website http://www.samuel-tsb.per.sg/page3.htm for information on Solemnization outside ROM.

Hope this will be useful for you.

evon

HI Dearie,

Thank you for the website. Sorry I actually went to take a look cos I cant find the JP list @ family town. Hope you wont get offended....

23939.jpg

madwoman_in_the_attic

They say $28 ang pao look very bad. Mmm... and my mother suggest $60 to $80. I really thought the JP's service is suppose to be part of community service. But then its another 2 weeks away - I have to start packing to go back to Singapore. 28th June seems like a very hot day - many are getting ROM and/or married that very same day. Pre-ROM blues and jittery... how come nobody suggest that we girls should start a journal from the "pre" to the "post".

dearie

Dear Evon,

It is ok for anyone to visit my FH's website. I am glad that I am able to help.

May I know how can I post a cartoon pic(like the one you have) together with my massage?

dearie

Dear Madwoman,

The JP's service is voluntary and S$28.00 is the recommended amount given by ROM's website to cover the JP's transportation expenses. Moreover, if you can invite the JP to stay for the dinner after the ceremony.

However, you can also give any amount more than S$28.00 to the JP.

well, you can start another topic for "Pre" and "Post"-ROM....

evon

Hi Dearie

Pls send my rdgs to your FH, his website really helps. Cos the 2nd time I went in and cant see the list, Im so panic and confuse
24127.gif

Ohh...just put a \ then the word image and {pix name} of cos must put them together \ image {fun} (here I cant if not you will see
24128.gif

dearie

Dear Evon,

No need to panic, sometimes when this happens, just Refresh the page.

and the "image" thing, i still cannot do it leh.. the image is in SB or from myself?
blurz

madwoman_in_the_attic

What about giving a gift to the Solemniser instead? Becos my Solemniser is my mother's Sec School form teacher and in case he paiseh dun want to take. What do your think about a pen around $40-$50?

dearie

Dear Madwoman,

In this case you should ask your mum to check with her former teacher indirectly... maybe like ask him/her abt the procedure and charges... etc etc etc....

from there u might have a better idea on wat he expect or like to receive...

madwoman_in_the_attic

Wah Dearie...

You are so smart!! How come I didn't think of it?? Tsk... ok will check when I get back to Singapore next week... 2 weeks to go... butterflies in the stomach...

geri

me getting ROM-ed on sept 20. So we just give the JP an angpao will do? how much do u all give?

sorry ah, very blur.. need help

i guess everyone has her first time. hehe

dearie

Dear Geri,

May I know where are you getting ROM?

If you are having your solenmisation at ROM, you oni need to pay the normal Administrative charges.

If you are having your solenmisation outside ROM, on top of the normal admin charges for ROM you have to pay the recommended amount of $28.00 to JP.

geri

hihi~

we are most prob doing it at alkaff.

thanks for ur advice! but i think might give him more.. hee so poorthing come all the way..

madwoman_in_the_attic

Big thanks Dearie! Just got back to Singapore and got my wedding bands yesterday! Imagine all the shops no size. Finally settled at Lee Hwa Jewellery. Desperate already becos the big day is next Sat... and my dress doesn't fit anymore! Duh! My last fitting was in 1st week of April. Have to scout new dress again probably at IMM (more choices). So sian...

green leaf

I am also getting ROM on 20 Sept. Wondering is there a good and reasonably priced hotel that cater to ROM and a simple tea reception or lunch buffet? Cos don't really like that idea of restricting the guests to ROM to only 12 due to the SARS.

Anyone can help?

dearie

hi Green Leaf,

There are several threads on this... maybe you can search for the threads under "Wedding Banquet" topic.

ana

hey green leaf,

Have u got ur photographer yet? I know this guy called Kelvin who's a freelance photographer. his works are pretty good and his prices are reasonable.. u might wan to call him at 98468640

skank_jenna

hi Madwoman and Dearie

was going thru the forum, u guys seem so knowleagable!! anyways, my wedding is slated to be in Nov 18 2003. i'm really getting extremely nervous abt it as i am still currently in the states!!! can't do much planning here!!! sign ...

i'm also having my solemnisation done outside, just before my wedding dinner. do u have any idea abt the solemnisation procedure? please advise!

anilrej

halo,
me looking for a Jp... any one know someone to recommend? i actually called a few but kana rejected...

karen

Hi anilrej,

There are a few celebs JP...like David Low...he's book at least 3 mth b4 hand...I tried to call him last week for my ROM in Sept & he's fully booked already.

When is ur ROM?

Go to:
http://www.familytown.gov.sg/184_gm_civil_solemnisation.htm

just click on Justice of Peace, you will be able to download a while list of JP...

My JP whom I book last week was a JP used by my god-sis....he's bilingual which is why I choose him....
you want me to give u his contact?

Congrates, Karen

skank_jenna

hey karen

Congratulations to you!

thanks for help! i can't seem to click on the link. anyways, i've managed to look into the family town website. i'll source from there! otherwise i'll get help frm you again.

btw, where are you holding your outdoor solemnisation?

i'm also looking for a JP tp solemnise my wedding, and since i'm in the states, am getting my brother to check on his friend who's also a JP. don't know what's the status. do u mind sharing the contact of David low as well as ur JP? many thanks!

so, how's the planning coming along??? i'm getting alittle nervous as i've not done much planning yet!

you can also email me @ [email protected]

skank

tania

I am also using David Low as JP. I am very lucky. He will be rushing down to solemnize my marriage after another one at ROM. But I have to delay my lunch a bit lah. I dun mind, man.

Skank. I go dig out the card and pass you the David Low contact.

dearie

Dear skank_jenna,

Sorry I did not notice your msg until today.
U check my fh's website for the detail's on the solemnisation procedure.

skank_jenna

thanks a mill Tania!!! you can either post it or email me okie!?? u lucky gal, when's ur solemnisation?

hey dearie, i did went to ur fh's website. thanks! it was very sweet of him and was really useful too!

hey ladies, do u have icq? we chat online! my icq no. is 122481814

dearie

Dear Hachoo,

U can have it in a church (if you are a christian or catholic).

Or Alkaff Mansion, or GoodWood Park Hotel or at your wedding dinner.

I think u can arrange to have the solemnisation anywhere as long as it is reasonable.

karen

Hello skank,

I have reply u on a separate email already, let me know if you did not rec'd it ok.

The most important thing I hv included here...
David Low's 9742-5005
My Jp's ctc 's send to ur email @ hotmail.

Keep in touch alrite.

Cheers & more cheers, Karen

karen

Hi anilrej,

Congrates! good to know that you got ur JP, is it David Low?

My ROM is 6th Sept
kinda last minute work...very rush as alot of places that I like taken up.

So how's ur planning so far?

Cheerios, Karen

jenn

hey Karen

got ur email!!! thanks!!! we keep in touch frm there!!!

hi Hachoo, venue for ur solemnisation i guess also depends wat sort of setting u have in mind! if u are the sun, sand and sea couple, go for Rasa Sentosa or the Old Beaufort! if u're looking for garden setting, perhaps the lawn @ raffles hotel? have fun sourcing!!! when's ur solemnisation?

elaine77

Karen, my ROm is also on the 6th sept, i will be ROMing out which will be at Carlton Hotel. I think that its almost booked for that day, when i booked mine during April, the very early 9am is already book, left afternoon and evening timing, so i took the 11am timing and right after the solemnisation i will proceed to the lunch buffet.
But maybe u can try called them to ask if theres any other timing thats available. From other threads, theres other location like Amara, Merchant Court and Park Royal Hotel at Colemen Street.

I dun think its a rush... u still have about 2 months just that because that day is a Hot date, I have difficulty looking for a JP and photographer, alot of them is already booked.

Its ok.. u still have time.

no idea

I'm lost to choose my solemnisation place so need so advices fm u all. As i'm going to have both my solemnisation and wedding dinner on the same day so i'm choosing my dinner at restaurant instead of hotel. I felt no very nice environment to have solemnisation at restaurant.

Right now i have two places in mind, one is at tunglok seafood at east coast and the other maybe at country club. At east coast, i thgt of having a same setup at near the seaside for my solemnisation but every one is saying so crowded in there. No a gd idea. I thgt maybe a setup at a poolside in the country club is better. How?? Better suggestions?

jenn

no idea

how about looking @ raffles marina cc?? they have a beautiful garden lawn. the setting is very beautiful and you can have ur solemnisation done in the evening with the sun setting! the only thing i'm not sure abt is ... the food there!!! nevertheless, you may still want to check it out!

karen, check ur email when u have time okei!

no idea

Hi Jenn,

Thanks for your suggestion but my in law felt Raffles marina too far away. They also found my east coast is far and wanted us to provide shuttle bus for those relatives.

binbin

hi hi karen! finally found u here lah. hehhehee....searching all over using "angeljiru" but can't find...now i know why. Enjoy yar!

Hi No Idea, is urs a weekday or weekend? just thinking that if it's weekend shouldn't have problem for ur guests to travel. i am sure they wun mind. somemore providing for transport for them should be not be difficult.

when u say country club, do u mean your own? or places like orchid country club that provides such service. be it at country club or east coast, i think it's gonna be so romantic..
but u gotta keep in mind the weather contingency yar? country club should be no prob, but east coast i am not sure.

i did saw before someone's solemnisation at sunset facing the waters of sentosa, on sentosa island itself. it was so beautiful. i think it was rasa sentosa if i am not wrong. did u consider that?

sorry girls for my kay poh-ing...hehhehe...just popping in to disturb karen(angeljiru). ;)

tania

Hullo skank,

Karen already replied you liao

Hiaks. Already dig out his card ...
Then I saw Karen's reply. *faint*

sihui_jing

Devon: Solem on Sun can be done, no prob for that as long as you are able to get a JP or Grassroot to solem for your ROM.

I'm having my ROM outside too ....

madwomaninattic

Blimey!! This website changed so much since I last started this discussion. Now just my 2-cent worth from my experience - 5 star hotel doesn't necessary mean good food and services leh. So choose wisely and decide what you want from there. You are ultimately the one paying for the "memories". Heh heh!!