1 jiemei only, not good enough?

ccc

Is one jiemei for gate crashing too few...? I am only having one and my jiemei says no power...

mrs_woofie

I feel that the gate crashing thing is to make the wedding more lively, more fun. I don't think the number of jiemeis really matter. If you are worried, maybe rope in another 2 or 3 more female friends, cousins, etc.,

rinnie

Hiya, I tink 1 Jie Mei will nt be enuf..you'll need at least 3 to have that fun atmosphere...alternatively, like wat mrs_woofie said, you can rope in your cousins or other friends so that there'll be more ppl around..=)

julietrulez

yeah, i think can ask your cousins in too... they will be glad to join in the fun and your FH cannot "joke" with your cousins and have to listen to wat cousins say because afterall they have to see each other (during festivals i mean) for the rest of their lifes... so will so called "give face".. and then bo bians kanna sabo..

ccc

thanks guys!

Finally we have 2 jiemeis, both cousins, and everyone had lots of fun and they had (lots of big red packets!!) Guessed it was all worth it.. lol

musjan

hi ladies, how advance do u check with frens/cousins whether they can be ur jiemeis? according to mum, there are some zodiac signs who cant be my jiemeis, and i happen to have quite a number of frens who are on this list. so i thot better check with my frens/cousins earlier, just in case. my wedding is in jan 08. now too early to ask??

ccc

janet,

Actually its all about superstitious, if you worry too much into the small matters, you will have a lot of stress and headache during the actual day.

I just did what I felt, of cos observed about 2-3 rules about timing and all, other than that, everything went on smoothly, as I didn't have to stress myself about all the nitty gritty matters.

Trust me, you will want to keep it as little superstitious as possible otherwise u will be extremely stress not only on the wedding event of the day but also about parents' supertitiousness.

I am glad both my parents and in laws were more modern people.

ccc

I know a lot of people have like 24 items of pigs, wine, etc etc..we went on without all these and it felt really good, save us money, time and best of all, no stress.

I had 2 jiemeis in the end, I am pleased was good fun the day.

pinpong

Hi Yvonne

no Xiong di? paiseh, nv come across.
hmm.. den u will b doing d negotiation (ang bao) with d groom.

jan4january

if got not enough brothers n sister at the door crashing, can ask whoever relatives at the house to do, since this door crashing is jz to make some noise n make the day more fun.

oveydovey

ya lor .. but i duno her relatives leh .. acTually i am a little duno what to do that day as well .. the guy is not that acceptable to "weird" drinks then only him what is there to sabo? haa ... i think if i ask him to shout loud I LOVE U to his wife to be he would hate me until 2008 :p Maybe i can write a mushy letter and ask him to write out ? AI DE XUAN YAN or ask him to sing a love song ..

i really dun wish to let my friend of a decade + to have a quiet wedding leh haa ..

pinpong

Hi OveyDovey

hmm... suggest u discuss with d bride & groom to be. whether they prefer an "noisy" or "quiet" way of gate crashing.

HB did shouted d 3 words too... feeling touched & shy @ dat moment. hehee...

jamiec

Is it also necessary to have the same number of xiongdis or jiemeis then?
Those who are married can also join in right?

cactus_79

Some traditional pple dun like married people to join in, esp married women incase they are pregnant, or newly married women (cos they believe will "cong xi").

As for same number, I would prefer to have same number.. because it looks nice and so that everything's equal.. cos marriage is an equal union right?!

choclava

and just in case when the jiemei gets distracted .. i witnessed a negligent jiemei in my friend's wedding and she was looking distraught trying to get all the stuff she need while her jiemei was distracted by friends.

sentosa

Err... actually my JMs and the brothers super no balanced. The brothers plus my HB was 8 ppl, but I only have 4 JMs.

I stay in HDB flat, not along the corridor, so I didn't see a point to have so many JMs - no one can see them thr the gate if too many. But think my HB was quite scared of the 'power' of my JMs, so he had to get reinforcement.

vysweetapple

It is not a must. My sis & aunty did not practise that. But hubby want, as more fun. Thus I will be hving 4 jie mei & 4 bros

eowyn_1711

Sigh... i have 3 jie meis but they are not on good terms with each other now. They can't even settle the dress code issue amiably and everyone is feeling sian. Sigh.. and i thought that jie meis are supposed to help u, not give u more trouble.

ene

Mandy - You can always get your guy friends to be your jie mei! Whoever said jie mei MUST be females, right?? It'd be fun!

My HTB also have LOADS of brothers and I probably only have 3 jie meis and they're not very noisy type. LOL! May have to get more jie meis then.

w3ngal

LOL i also dont have alot of female friends. close friends only afew. ermmmm is it a must to have jie meis?

winniefang83

hi w3n, i think its not a must to have jie mei, but its still good to have some, cause you may need their help on your big day

w3ngal

ok true. hee. i think those noisy or more open jie mei can help to create the atmosphere at times also.

gifty

You may want a green gemstone because you are a May Baby, or you are looking for a unique engagement ring. It may shock you just how expensive it is to buy a quality emerald. It may even be worth more than your car. Here is how to find an affordable green Peridot gem.http://www.peridotlovers.com

snowysun

I had 4 sisters on my AD. Got a gf who had 7 of us, but hor, the more jie meis you have, the more AP budget u muz prepare...hehehe...So best to strike a balance but 1 is abit little tho, coz u got many little tings for them to help u do.

charismaticv

: Unlike high quality natural diamonds, enhanced diamonds are inferior stones that have been artificially treated to hide cracks, repair ugly inclusions and improve their color. These treatments are unnerving by any standard and include laser drilling and boiling in sulfuric acid to remove black or dirty inclusions, exposure to radiation to enhance or change the stone’s color, placing the diamond in extreme heat and pressure to improve clarity, using a sealant to hid cracks and pits in the diamond, and being coated with a substance to add a reflective effect. Peridot GemStone ‘too good to be true’ can be applied to everything in life, including diamond jewelry. If you find a cheap engagement ring or bridal ring, or see signs for wholesale diamond rings, be sure that the seller isn’t cutting their price by cutting quality. While there are excusive retailers who can offer you genuine designer diamond rings and other natural diamond jewelry at a great price, many offer low prices because they are using enhanced diamonds.

fetus

so far, i been a jiemei more then 6times but we didn't negotiate for any amount before hand. Of course, for fun.. we will asked for 9999... for the effect to be taken down on video.. of course in the end.. is usually 188/288 or so...

end up... its only maybe 20 or 30 per jiemei.. but its ok... we even paid for our own dress, the stuffs to tekan the grooms & brothers...

TO us, its a happy occasion and the amount is just a number to us... We are not trying to sell our friends off to the guy's side.. the $$$... usually we will arranged to be shared after the tea session while we are having our lunch. If closer friends, usually we will dated everyone out including the couple for a good meal after that.

Its just my point of view.. prehaps some do make arrangement and stuffs..

dixie08

I personally feel that gate-crash ang pao is something more for 'yi si' will do. Do not go beyond what the groom can afford.

Let's say if the groom only budget or can only allocate $500 for this gate-crash, then the bride can roughly tell the sisters. Afterall, the sisters should be there to join and witness the happy moment but not EARNING extra income (by being sisters) and make everything so hard for others.

Yes, normally sisters will split the ang pao. Well, I think there's no fixed rules when the money should be given out. But a little tips to share, if you foreseen your htb will drink a lot during the dinner later, it's better to give away ang pao before dinner. Else, you might be busy with ur htb who is drunk and forgot abt the ang pao later.

Just some humble thought...

karenluva

I believe that it totally depends on individual's beliefs.. i've heard that some bride only want single lady to be jiemei, and some are fine with either married or single.. just wanted their good friends.. for me personally.. i dun mind single/married..

keiyar

One jiemei is definitely not enough.. it would be better if it's an even number.

My first time as a jiemei was for one of my friends. Just me and another girl. My friend want us to dress in a mandrain orange tube dress.

Well,true enough, me and the other girl look so much like two mandrain orange standing beside them.. very auspicious=D

Tingzcrown

I know a lot of people have like 24 items of pigs, wine, etc etc..we went on without all these and it felt really good, save us money, time and best of all, no stress.

I had 2 jiemeis in the end, I am pleased was good fun the day.
hihi, how was your morning video like ? Bcox i might also only have two ><