07/07/2007 - hot date for ROM?

sillycouple

LOL we didnt get any samples. We went to their showroom choose and decide on the spot.

Today reno start already. Yest hubby went up to the house, he says the ID have already started doing the markings in the house. So jittery... plus I cant go inside and see for myself until mid Oct.

snowypooh

Hi de_princess & paradise, so excited for both of u. So exciting to see own house done up "brick-by-brick" (step by step)... All the best to u all...

ayukie

i feel so left out

Oh yeah i went beo resale for 1st time ... its totally too grosss ....

snowypooh

Yah, paradise I'm looking forward to my turn but it's gonna be a long wait, still got 6 months to go. By then, it's "bleeding" (money) time, everything in the house needs money... Haha...

qianqian

ayukie,
u still got me.. homeless... as mine still building... dun worried too much just go see more flats maybe u can telll your agent that how u prefer... eg.. u wan unit that is from chinese owner, high lvl and also which facing...
then u won't waste time seeing flat that is not u wan

snowypooh

Ayukie, last time we also went to view a few resale units, all cannot make it that's why we wait for HDB's launch. Then unable to get any numbers during balloting so we chose WIS.

shice

princess, i shortlisted homely image, home guide, square rooms, design sense, ko Hong and orange cube..

btw the first quotation was 36k, second quotation 39k... sigh... still have to cater 10-12k for the misc stuff like curtain, toilet/kitchen accessories, air con, etc.. =(

de_princess

Shice, think home guide and orange cube not bad. If want to keep cost down then cut down on carpentary. Ya and lights, furniture etc oredi abt 12-15k ... now its like money keep flowing out

qianqian

hi all, care to help me in choosing og AD venue... me now shortlisted the following, which one do u think is better

parkroyal beach road
le meridien
park hotel

millh

Parkroyal has nice food as I heard.
Have you view their bridal suite? Which one u prefer?
Choose the pillarless one. Guests will complain if they sit behind pillar

millh

I found a good & cheap curtain guy. He also not very calculative, do a bit here & there for free he doesn't mind. Interested pls PM me

qianqian

parkroyal have pillar, but the guest won't be block by pillar... le meridien is pillarless.. but hear that the food is not gd.. different of $30 per table.. but le meridien give 2 nite at bridal suite whereas parkroyal only 1

millh

that means the $30 difference per table is used to pay for another nite at bridal suite. Go for food and nice decor ba...

how abt freebies? corkage charges?

sillycouple

How's everyone?!

Qianqian: i've tried the food at parkroyal beach road. not too bad!

i think food and ambience is more impt ba. maybe can try nego for another nite at the bridal suite if they only provide one nite?

I still hv no plans for AD cos all monies dump into house reno already. In the midst of the resale reno... whole reno + furnishing will come up to about 60k! SObs... pauper...

shice

hi paradise.. same like u, my reno + furnishing will come up to 60k too.. sigh..

AD stuffs i guess will have to budget alot le... only gg to find BS next yr march when got more money..

qianqian

so u all think parkroyal better? paradise how is the ambience nice or not...

lemeridien, i like the location and ballroom...
parkroyal, i like the food and bridal suite and price.. hee..

headache... my house still buliding leh... so sainz... after AD need to move with in law for a while

sillycouple

Shice.. ya lor no choice. Slowly save up again. We also most likely can only start saving up next year for AD. So maybe 2009 then do AD ba.

Qian, I only went to parkroyal b4 n not le meridien so without any basis its hard for me to compare. Haha since u have so many things u like about parkroyal then y not choose parkroyal? ;)

shice

qianqian.. very fast one.. very soon u will go through the headache that we all having.. haha..

paradise, yah loh.. should be starting to start saving next year feb for AD.. u can still delay AD, but i booked my hotel on 3 Jan 09 le.. hope will have enough savings by then.. haha..

snowypooh

Qianqian, long time no see.

In my opinion, Park Hotel (previously know as Crown Prince Hotel) is the best choice cos the other 2 are more inaccessible & Le Meridien is so old...

Just my 2 cents worth... hehe...

snowypooh

HL, I'd received your PM. Nice design u got there. Looking forward to more photos from u, u'll be uploading somemore, right?

Wow, all you gals are so rich, S$60K for reno. I already find S$20K for my executive flat unbearable liao leh. Furthermore, AD next year, cannot afford to spend too much wor...

sillycouple

60k is inclusive of reno, buying furnishings, bathroom n kitchen accessories, elecitrical stuff, curtains, furnitures etc leh.

Its about there mah.

snowy ... urs 20k? No reno at all? Only furnishing?

qianqian

snowypooh, as most of my fren are driving so i think location is not a problem... and mine in on weekend.. its so pack in orchard area... dun wan my guest to be stuck in traffic... so finally i decide to hold it in parkroyal... although the ballroom not as nice as lemeridien.. but at least the feedback for food is better...

qianqian

wow paradise, 60k for reno is alot leh... wow.. think have to really save up now... aiyo getting married really need lots of money..

snowypooh

Paradise, me not planning any reno. S$20K for furniture & accessories lor.

Ayukie, bi-monthly sale out liao mah, can apply. Got Sembawang. But hor, the prices increased from when I last bought it in Aug leh. I remember the price for one unit was about 280K when I was choosing flats then, now it'd gone up to 361K+. It's gone up 80K+ in a mere 2 months! Furthermore, it's only on the 3rd floor leh. Looks like even HDB flat prices also sky-rocketed.

ayukie

snowy: yeahlor haiz ...
anyway gt apply but balloting lor .. im quite keen on 38wang green only fault is its available only in 2011 haiz ... Im oldddddddd

snowypooh

Qianqian, congrats on deciding on the venue. When's your AD? Gotta book early wor cos I know alot of hotels are already fully booked for hot dates such as 18 Oct.

shice

hey, remember we got mention abt browhuas at The Cathay? who went for it? Actually is it good? Was thinking of shaping my brows there this weekend, then after that maintain myself. Possible anot?

How much will it be ah?

snowypooh

Actually for simple eyebrow shaping (tweezing or shaving) can go to any cosmetic counters. If u go for facials, the beautician will shape for u too. Browhaus is specialise in those brow restructuring but it's not cheap lor.

dreamiez

is Browhaus really good? i find like overhyped ley. I get mine done at FEP. can't remember if its $8 or $10 dollars. but good. always get compliments when i just get it done. :D

snowypooh

Mal, paradise & Shice, will u be planning housewarming huh? I roughly plan the guestlist & it "smelly smelly" come up to about 100 people liao leh. & that's only both families' close relatives, some close friends & colleagues leh.
If cater buffet at S$10 per head, that'll burn 1K from our pockets liao leh. Hahaha... think I'm too kiasu to plan for it now cos I haven't even gotten my keys yet. Haha…

shice

snowypooh, what's the difference btw simple brow shaping and brow restructuring??

Lynn, where's FEP?

For house warming, not sure.. must see if got money for reno first, then left over enough for AD first, then can consider house warming.. 1 house warming i can buy a new 600L fridge le.. hahaha..

snowypooh

Lynn, it's true lor, it's the branding that adds to the price. So long as u're comfortable with where u'll doing it & they're hygienic & safe, it's fine.