Catholic Brides

babyPiya_

Anyone in St Peter & Paul? I havent engaged the choir, may i know which choir should i contact? Or can ask outside the church choir?

Chubbbs

Anyone in St Peter & Paul? I havent engaged the choir, may i know which choir should i contact? Or can ask outside the church choir?

Congrats on being able to book spp! :)
I didn't manage to get my preferred date hence I booked st Teresa church in the end!

Maybe u can ask the church secretary for advice?

How early do u think we have to start sourcing for choir/florists/wedding mass readings etc? I'm more excited abt my church wedding more than my banquet dinner lol! :)

babyPiya_

Congrats on being able to book spp! :)
I didn't manage to get my preferred date hence I booked st Teresa church in the end!

Maybe u can ask the church secretary for advice?

How early do u think we have to start sourcing for choir/florists/wedding mass readings etc? I'm more excited abt my church wedding more than my banquet dinner lol! :)

Hi Chubb!

I think i managed to get bcoz during lent.. haha but Teresa nice too..!

Ya, i confuse wanna book from church's choirs or outside.. there are 2 choirs there, but i forgot liao which one nicer haha...

For high altar, SPP will arrange and pews maybe my friend can help do the deco..

For mass reading, my celebrant gave me a book include all the available reading, if you want you can buy in SPP..

To be honest, church need so much effort than banquet coz very details.. :(

When is ur AD? I try to finalize 3months bfore AD.. hopefully can.. jiayou for us!

Chubbbs

Hello! My AD is in 4Q 2018....I thought I was a kiasu bride booking the Venue more than 1 year in advance and I was very surprised that the date was alr taken up at spp! Haha

I Guess there's probably more preparations needed for church wedding than banquet coz most hotel banquets have a wedding coordinator who oversees the entire wedding!
But I've always placed greater emphasis on church wedding coz it's important to me that my wedding is blessed by God :) The wedding banquet is more for our families instead

Enjoy the process :) maybe u should attend masses at spp to see which choir is nicer :) that will make ur decision easier!

misssellysmiles

Hi babypiya!

When's your wedding? As we are looking at 3Q2018, we were told that the reception area won't be available due to renovation works. Would yours be affected? If yes, how do you intend to hold your reception after mass?

babyPiya_

Hi babypiya!

When's your wedding? As we are looking at 3Q2018, we were told that the reception area won't be available due to renovation works. Would yours be affected? If yes, how do you intend to hold your reception after mass?

Hello misssellysmiles.. mine march 2018 and after solemnization will be followed by luncheon in hotel..
Btw do u engage their choir?

zonda

Hi babypiya!

Hi there, Im having a similar problem. My and my HTB also shortlisted SPP for our church wedding in Q2 2019. But when we called up Jannie yesterday, she told us the parish building and canteen will be undergoing 2 years renovation after Easter 2018.

Read somewhere in earlier post that can consider holding the lunch reception at some cafe nearby, but not sure if its strange to have a wedding there when theres renovation on going on the side.

We are very depressed now because we really love SPP. So now dont know where else is similar. Was thinking of St Joseph but not sure if their renovation will be completed by then also :(

Bexavenna

Hello ladies!

My FH and I are planning to host our wedding in Holy Trinity. May I know the following (if any of you have the answers to them :) ) -
  • Can the wedding be held in the main church or chapel?
  • Is it possible to host the lunch reception in the dining area in the church?
  • What will the wedding service be like? My FH is non-Catholic so I understand Holy Communion will not be given.
Rebecca

misssellysmiles

Hi babypiya!

We went to our parish choir and ask if they could help. I understand we can bring external choir but they won't be able to use some of their music equipment

mojojojoweds

Hi, just curious, anybody knows when St. Joseph's Church (Victoria Street) restoration works will be completed and whether they are open for church weddings?

coldjade

Hi all! I don't have an AD yet but planning to hold ceremony next June.
But just realised CEE are fully booked until next May...
And MPC until next Feb.

Is it too late to attend the May CEE?

cyer17

I know this forum has been inactive but I thought to try my luck :) Is there anyone on the forum going for EE in the near future? Also, do any of you think it is okay to to for EE with no concrete plans to get married in the near future? Thanks!!

coldjade

I know this forum has been inactive but I thought to try my luck :) Is there anyone on the forum going for EE in the near future? Also, do any of you think it is okay to to for EE with no concrete plans to get married in the near future? Thanks!!

I'm not sure about EE as I attended MPC. But at MPC there were a few couples who did not have plans to get married yet. Just note that most topics will be on marriage etc so at some parts you might feel left out.

cyer17

I'm not sure about EE as I attended MPC. But at MPC there were a few couples who did not have plans to get married yet. Just note that most topics will be on marriage etc so at some parts you might feel left out.

Hi! Thanks for the helpful response We are taking this as discernment as well but we have already talked about marriage etc. We just haven’t set anything in stone.

coldjade

Hi! Thanks for the helpful response We are taking this as discernment as well but we have already talked about marriage etc. We just haven’t set anything in stone.

Sorry for the late replies. Just finished my wedding last weekend!

Then I think you are at a good place/time to attend EE/MPC. Most couples (including me) attend when they have already decide to get married and there is no way (there is lah but hard) to think twice. So I think it's actually good to attend before all the actual preparations. :))

cyer17

Sorry for the late replies. Just finished my wedding last weekend!

Then I think you are at a good place/time to attend EE/MPC. Most couples (including me) attend when they have already decide to get married and there is no way (there is lah but hard) to think twice. So I think it's actually good to attend before all the actual preparations. :))

congratulations!
thank you for your perspective and sharing :) looking forward to it.

Charmainez

I guess I'm trying my luck as well since this chat is relatively inactive. Any brides had their wedding at the Church of Sacred Heart? I know they have up to 3 weddings in a day, how long does the florist have to decorate the venue for the 2nd or 3rd wedding?

coldjade

I guess I'm trying my luck as well since this chat is relatively inactive. Any brides had their wedding at the Church of Sacred Heart? I know they have up to 3 weddings in a day, how long does the florist have to decorate the venue for the 2nd or 3rd wedding?

Can't help you on this but if it serves as a reference, my florist (Olive3) did up my floral deco within an hour. It also depends if the wedding before you is a full mass or not. Best is to check with the church and get into contact with the couple before you. You guys can even share deco so save time and $$! :)

One thing though, just don't expect the wedding couple before you to pack up early and go so you can set up. My wedding was the first wedding of the day at my church and there was another couple after us. The couple kept messaging my husband before the wedding and even contacted my florist (who they did not engage) to demand that we remove our deco and leave earlier than the stipulated time. They entered the hall when our Mass was still on, kept harassing my bridesmaids and groomsmen to take down our deco. They even sent their friends to stare at my guests at the reception while they eat so my guests are pressured to leave even though it was before their Mass timing! It was awful.

I understand that all brides want their wedding to be perfect in their way but don't over do things yah. And it was just my luck that I met a Bridezilla but just remember to have mutual respect, talk things out nicely. Some more yours got 3 weddings, even higher chance for conflicts.

All the best! And enjoy wedding prep!

peekturegrapher

I went for EE in Sydney some time in September as the slots in Singapore were all fully booked. Didn’t set a date for wedding too. Trying to do so now cos my partner will be away for 6 months. Just called SPP and they said they are fully booked next year. Might be the same with cathedral as well. Will probably have to go for Qop or some other church in the heartlands.

Yeah churches in the city are very popular. Mine was at OLPS. Finally got a slot after asking many churches. Better asks early!

prettycameras

Hello, I'm looking to hold my wedding at Cathedral of the Good Shepherd in mid 2024. Does anyone know of a contact for a Catholic pianist / choir that can help? Any idea what would be the cost or love offering required?