Resize of ring? Does it have any effect on the ring?

sorju

My FH just propse to me, but i wore the proposal ring and find it a bit too big for me. it's size 12. And want to resize it to size 11 ibstead as i tried siza 11 & find it quite comfortable.

But does anyone know if resize of the ring will cause any effect to the ring? eg, will turn colour fast? or the diamond might turn colour?

Hope can get some advise, cos i nv wear ring de, other than this proposal ring, so is totally unsure of all these.. Thanks.

happinessbliss

can bring back to the jeweller and ask them to resize. Usually for a size smaller is ok. Mine proposal ring was resize from size 12 to size 9...kekeke.

sorju

ok.. I see.. haha..
Thanks lots.

So your ring is from which jewel shop? so far you still satisfy with their 'resize skill'?

My ring is from SK, think i'll bring for resize today or tmr..

some rings cannot be resize due to the design.

i think the sales person is also quite lousy. or your bf did not describe your hand/body size well to the sales person.

most ladies, their finger size range from size 7 to 10. unless those really big size one then will be size 12 onwards. size 12 is normally for middle fingers.

sorju

actually i nv wear ring one. but i remember i got try a ring before of size 12 and quite ok, so all along i thought my size is 12, so i told my bf my ring size is 12.

But donno why size 12 turn out too big for me, and like you say the ring actually fit perfectly in my left hand middle finger instead.. haha..

So now no choice, have to resize it.

happinessbliss

mine is from citigem... my proposal ring is with some design, luckily to resize to size 9 is still ok.. u can go to the shop and and try on the sizes of the ring... the experience staff will advise you how to choose the size.. my proposal ring from Citigem is a size 9, but wedding band from Soo Kee is a size 10 thou it sits on the same finger... dun worry abt it, most rings can be resize...

sorju

thanks. haven decide yet. just started to research only..

planned to go see 'feng shui' master then decide the date.. haha..

How abt you?

happinessbliss

Hi Sheryl,

ROM on 1st Oct. I am having it at the registry itself, after that then will have a small dinner with my friends and relatives who attend. I did not see a feng shui master for ROM date. But was lucky that the date we choose was a auspicious date (we later check against tong shu)...hahaha... Will seek a master when choosing AD date...

crystal_cloud

Hey gals, i have also received my proposal ring..going to resize it to a smaller size this sat

**once again, will it affect the design? mine was from Lee Hwa

Headache, duno whr to find good, cheal and affordable feng shui master. Any thing to share :p

Happiness & Bliss, whr is your ROM venue?

bethany

Hi pink_cloud,

No worries, it will not affect anything if you alter for +3 size.. Say if you want to alter from size 12 to 10, or from size 10 to 12, it will not affect anything.. unless you want to alter from size 10 to 14, then yes maybe it will affect a bit, not really the design, but the ring itself will get thinner, and sometimes depends on the design, certain rings cannot alter for more than +3 sizes.

crystal_cloud

wow Felicia, u seems to know alot :p
mine is plain design with 4 plongs..

wonder how much do they charge for alteration / can we ask for free alteration?

bethany

Hi pink_cloud,

haha no lah i dunno much about it, just that my sister is a regular customer of Lee Hwa, haha so I learnt a bit from her..

yes they do provide free alteration, no problem at all.. not sure is it a must to provide receipt but even if you don't have it, I am sure they can tell from the ring itself that it is from Lee Hwa..

winter27

actually if ur alteration is +- 4 size they will change a new shank for you... the shank(duno rite spelling mah) is the bottom half of ur ring.

Wat they do is cut away the bottom half the get a size of ur finger shank and then join the ring back...

i resize my ring using tis method b4...fr 13 to 9 coz the diamond my SO choose is oni in that ring size so gotta resize. This is wat the sale person told me...well the ring came bck to me in perfect shape...din even have a trace of being resize at all...

crystal_cloud

Thanks all for your info!!
wow, winter, so good worksmanship ah...alright, i shall ask for a free alteration with receipt from leehwa

managed to buy our wedding bands yest at citigems..it was the last pair, but not sure if they will repeat the shipment or not..let me share with you all http://www.citigems.com.sg/WTrucia.asp (it's the 1st pair) With additional 20% from what you see online. Love it! coz the band for me compliments my solitaire when worn together.. so happy *grin*

right now, it's actually guest list, venue, rom date and rom package...sian!

ayukie

i think there is a miminal charge for the gold/platinum no meh ?
i asked if i can resize one of my rings from lee hwa and was told to resize smaller somemore i had to pay $20 for the gold plating because they will need to cut the rings then join back then replate with gold ..

ayukie

so i left the solitare the way it is hahahaa can wear on thumb tho feels kinda werid but unqiue lolz ...

winter27

hi pink cloud...

ur wedding band is the one im eyeing for too...saw it mths ago on the web bt cant find in in stores...

hw cum u got 20% disc??? btw hw ur solitaire look like? mine is 4 claw pefect bloom fr leehwa, wonder does it mathch with the wedding band anot...

crystal_cloud

hi Winter,
we saw it online too..initially dun want citigems, duno y found it like abit LC..but hey, after i saw this pair on its site, i like it immediately!
price is cheap as what we see on website. both FH and me went to bugis branch to see, but they said they dont have it, went to vivocity branch (more selection of bands there) and sales person said that one is hot favourite and is sold out! she checked the PC and found the last pair, have it tranf to vivo for our viewing scheduled one week later..

When we went down to view the actual piece again, we like it immediately, good news is the sales girl even told us there is a free ring pillow and additional 20% discount not display on website..its a steal..only $932 for a pair.

My solitaire is also from leehwa, 4 claws in position of 12pm, 3pm, 6pm and 9pm..hehehe i realli duno how to describe this setting lah.. *blush*

crystal_cloud

hey Winter, if you realli like it, can go Vivocity branch and look for Esther Lau..she is damn funny and good in explaining the designs of bands to fit your own taste. both FH and me find her very honest, she dont recommend you those expensive range and even when we were considering a much more expensive pair she told us the design actually not so suitable for us etc..

you can call her and check if she is there before you proceed to view the bands..her service is really good and humble compared to her colleagues.

crystal_cloud

Also hor, (pardon me! so many missing points i forgot to list out), when i wore the band with the solitaire, the band's design compliment the solitaire coz of the criss-cross design that leaves a 'v' shape in the middle of the band to fit the solitaire..

when worn together, its like a polished pc of jewellery on your finger, more emphasized on the sparkles (becoz of the diamonds on the band)

pammy

i have $100 Lee Hwa vouchers up and selling off at $50 only!!!

Voucher is only valid on a pair of wedding bands (including sale items).

No minimum spend is required.

The voucher is valid till end of next year so not to worry.

I intend to let go this voucher as I have already bought my wedding bands. It is a great deal for those who wants to buy wedding bands.

For those who are interested, please do let me know.

w0nd3r

My bf bought a size 12 proposal ring at love & co.
Apparently there is a clause tt says that resize is free for up to +/-3 sizes, within 1 mth.
My ring size is 5.5...
To resize it costs $30 and to custom made the right size costs $100

So lugi... Need less gold and still need top up to make it smaller. Anyone encounter that?

Jings

Hi girls, I would appreciate some advice regarding resizing of engagement ring. I would like to make my ring small without resizing (i.e. without cutting). My ring came from my fiance's family stash of jewellery so it wasn't bought from a jeweller in Singapore. I was told that you can add a ring guard like this:

https://static2.artfire.com/uploads...-14k_g_f_-make_your_ring_smaller_bf291fe7.jpg

or solder beads to the inside of the ring like this:

http://www-static.weddingbee.com/pics/98050/ring_sizing_balls.jpg

Has anyone any experience with this and which jeweller would you recommend in Singapore?

xrissy

I resized (made it smaller by cutting) my ring at this shop. Im not sure if they resize using the method u want but you may check with them.

DA KWONG JEWELLERY

Blk 629 Ang Mo Kio Ave 4 #01-998 S(560629)
Tel:6752 2050