How did your SO propose to you?

xueyu

I have yet to be proposed to, but would like to read about your dreamy proposal. I love reading about proposal, and hopefully can soon update this space with my proposal. :)

traciee

My SO didnt give me a romantic proposal and i didn't want a grand one either. He knew im someone who doesnt like public attention etc but more of an intimate affair.
So, while we were collecting my engagement ring, i was busy looking around at other stuffs when he suddenly held my hand and when i turned around, he asked the golden question. :p
Hahahah sounds v simple and unromantic to alot ppl but what matters to me is not the effort and stuffs for all the deco and secret planning... its more of him deciding that he too wanna spend the rest of his life with me.
Hehehehe.

BerryDreamy

I have an unforgettable one...and till date i was still smiling whenever i thought of it...

My SO bought me for a brunch date and claims that he need to go to loo due to a tummy pain.
He left his tablet & stuffs on the seat and while i was sipping my coffee, the restaurant manager came to me and ask me to look at the tablet...

I was getting highly suspicious at tat moment..

SO made a video of himself telling me his deepest feelings and i got a shock and cried....suddenly my best pal came to me to invite me out to the restaurant outdoor area...and again...i was thinking to myself WTF with those shock eyes on me looking at my best pal! Lol!

And when i went out with my best pal...i see all my close friends came together which he had pre-arranged earlier, i was so happy and moved till my tears were flowing non-stop....tats when my SO sang to me, kneel and propose...

Gosh...it left us such a deep impression and till now i am still smiling whenever i tot of it!

Enjoy ya moment yea?

Using SingaporeBrides app

judi28

Mine was a simple one. I was having my usual advanced birthday celebration at dempsey with 2 of my close friends, till they gave me a pandora bracelet with a ring in it. Was getting suspicious But they told me that's because I'm getting married and it's their well wishes to me. However, coincidentally, I found out another close Fren was in the same restaurant with me, claiming to celebrate her bf birthday... so I didn't think so much either. It was till we ended our dinner, and wanted to go outdoor for a walk, and this pair of friend happened to be leaving with us. While walking along the way, my SO suddenly popped up Which gave me a big shock as he told me he's back home. And that's where he gave flowers, Balloons, kneeled with one knee and popped the question: ) only then I know he collaborated with my frens while I was away for overseas trip the month before:) to me, I Don't need a fanciful proposal. what's important is who you are with, and having your best friends to share your happiness with you. :D

Don't make the same mistake as me... I was getting edgy, and was also getting questions from frens and family abt how everything was being planned but still no proposal. It was embarrassing for me.
So I pressured my guy constantly. I hadn't realized at the time that my ring was customized and he was buying all the stones separately, getting a craftsman to design it and that was what was taking so long.
We got into fights about it. Totally took all the romance out of the whole thing. Eventually he rushed the proposal almost immediately after he received the ring. That means there was no fancy proposal for me. Just had the waiter put it in the dessert during a meal at a nice restaurant. No flowers, music or frens popping out or anything.
He blames me for bring impatient. The only saving grace is that it is a gorgeous, stunning ring.
But unfortunately I will always associate unhappy memories with my proposal becoz of how hard I pushed him for it and how uneventful it was. Not pleasant at all.

stephiey

For me, knowing my bf as a quiet, held back person my proposal really exceeded what I would have expected.

we went ring shopping together, so we got a ring and I had to get it re-sized, the SA told me it would be a 1wk wait.
but one week later, the SA called me and inform that it will take another week because the ring master was busy.
I was like ok, im getting the ring on a Saturday. so I have never expected that this was one of the bf's plan too. becos he actually plan the proposal on a Friday night.
which in my mind is that the ring is still not ready for collection.

So my best fren asking for a ktv night, which was quite normal as we have K sessions once or twice a month.
I asked whether bf wanted to join he said he will join later in the evening ard 10pm becos he have company gathering.
so I met my gfs, went to vivo for dinner and slowly we took bus to Kbox at safra mt faber (we girls really never taken a bus tgt before)
so we walked quite a distance from bus stop to mt faber, I was msging my bf saying that I reached my destination and see him later after his company event ends.
so we checked-in at the counter, my bf whom used to work at kbox therefore the manager there knows me and I actually tell my bf to help me book rm in advance.
the manager show me my way to the ktv room, but instead of opening the door for me, he walked me to the door and walked away.
I was thinking, well, that's kinda rude, oh well....
so I automatically open the room door, all I rem was that a lot of flash lights, cheers and applause...
I was so shocked that I actually step back and close the door and turning back to my gf and gave her the "WTF" expression.
she urged me to go ahead and go in. it was then I saw my bf, my diff groups of frens, all cameras up and shooting away.
so I walked over and he said a bunch of stuffs which I don't rem/cant hear becos my heart was pounding soooo loudly.

so he went on his kneels (which I tried to stop him, I don't know why but I tell him no need to kneel la) and of cos I said YES!

tulipkiss

Don't make the same mistake as me... I was getting edgy, and was also getting questions from frens and family abt how everything was being planned but still no proposal. It was embarrassing for me.
So I pressured my guy constantly. I hadn't realized at the time that my ring was customized and he was buying all the stones separately, getting a craftsman to design it and that was what was taking so long.
We got into fights about it. Totally took all the romance out of the whole thing. Eventually he rushed the proposal almost immediately after he received the ring. That means there was no fancy proposal for me. Just had the waiter put it in the dessert during a meal at a nice restaurant. No flowers, music or frens popping out or anything.
He blames me for bring impatient. The only saving grace is that it is a gorgeous, stunning ring.
But unfortunately I will always associate unhappy memories with my proposal becoz of how hard I pushed him for it and how uneventful it was. Not pleasant at all.

Dont think of it that way babe! Though I can understand how you felt babe, cos I was worried that my proposal won't come "in time" too and kept rushing my SO during a period of time too.

But I think you shouldn’t keep thinking about the unhappy moments. The proposal is simply a formality. The real proposal is actually the stage whereby you guys decide to get a house together, or that very moment where he decided to marry you. I’m sure you guys have happy moments when you finally got your choice of housing or paid the down-payment or something :) And it's really sweet of him to customise your ring on his own (if it's the one in your DP, it's really sparkly and GORGEOUS).

I’m not sure if all guys do something similar somewhat, but my SO had very seriously told “I really want to marry you” in the car, one evening after supper and heart-to-heat talk. At that moment, my heart melted. To me, that came from the bottom of his heart and that was the very moment he really decided to marry me - hence that is the sweetest moment in my life. He did come up with a surprise proposal (two, in fact) with flowers, balloons, macarons, etc eventually. However, that split second of “confession” in the car, to me is sweeter than anything else.

traciee

Dont think of it that way babe! Though I can understand how you felt babe, cos I was worried that my proposal won't come "in time" too and kept rushing my SO during a period of time too.

But I think you shouldn’t keep thinking about the unhappy moments. The proposal is simply a formality. The real proposal is actually the stage whereby you guys decide to get a house together, or that very moment where he decided to marry you. I’m sure you guys have happy moments when you finally got your choice of housing or paid the down-payment or something :) And it's really sweet of him to customise your ring on his own (if it's the one in your DP, it's really sparkly and GORGEOUS).

I’m not sure if all guys do something similar somewhat, but my SO had very seriously told “I really want to marry you” in the car, one evening after supper and heart-to-heat talk. At that moment, my heart melted. To me, that came from the bottom of his heart and that was the very moment he really decided to marry me - hence that is the sweetest moment in my life. He did come up with a surprise proposal (two, in fact) with flowers, balloons, macarons, etc eventually. However, that split second of “confession” in the car, to me is sweeter than anything else.

I agree!!! Before the official proposal, my SO has a few times asked whether i wanna marry him. And it was those unexpected kind.. so to me it was really from his heart. He can even just suddenly hold my hand when we're watching tv and ask whether i wanna marry him n that he's serious cause i laughed. Hahahaha.

xueyu

oh my SO was a little....unromantic. I had to bring him to the jeweler and find the diamond and the settings. but he paid for it and has since gotten the ring. but he won't propose to me! so irritated...i wana see the ring...

stephiey

@xueyu so ur ring is ready? proposal can be anytime! heed my advice. always doll up. LOL.

I made a mistake of wearing like a dork for my KTV/proposal night. e photos were... sigh....

xueyu

@xueyu so ur ring is ready? proposal can be anytime! heed my advice. always doll up. LOL.

I made a mistake of wearing like a dork for my KTV/proposal night. e photos were... sigh....

prob is i don't doll up one. hahahaha...we always wear shorts and tee go out. if i start dolling up he'll be suspicious. hahahhahaa

stephiey

Hahaha ! Same here, no make-up/dress nice nice.

also if u doll out then if he didn't propose, I think quite malu!. LOL!

when u taking ur pre-wed photos?

xueyu

taking in march. i'm trying very very VERY hard to lose 8 - 10kg before then...omg it's such a diff task!

mehhh1501

Wah. All so sweet. Mine was. We were watching tv at home. And my bf sat beside me, jus took out the ring and say "nah". Take or or not. Buy le, no choice. U have to take". Thn google to see which finger to put it in. And he jus put it in. So zzz lor. I was complaining to him all day long

hee! he must be cracking his head trying to plan one for you, especially you already know the ring is ready~

My bf proposed when we were in taiwan for pre wedding shoot. I was complaining why do i have to take the pre wedding shoot when he have not proposed yet! Was getting grumpy and he was so apologetic…

Ended up, the ring was ready long ago and he already started planning way ahead.

he went to taiwan to wacky the place first and got his 3 friends to fly over to taiwan earlier before us.
2 suit up as panda waiting for us at yang ming shan with all the sakura & he popped the question when we were there.

Totally surprise!

Guess taiwan will always be a pleasant place for us! :)

G&Z

I'm sure it will be soon.... My SO has not proposed too and I don't even know if the ring is ready... oh well :)

naiyoucreamy

I am also waiting for my proposal! The ring is ready, I have seen, touched, bought together with him! But it's beyond my touch still as the day has not yet come... :(

haha u r not alone... n my wedding is on 20 dec... ZZZzzzz wait till sian.. still no action... been hinting to him dat frens are asking hw he propose.. he jus say ya ya.. the proposal will come... ZZzzzzz boring... lol

xueyu

haha u r not alone... n my wedding is on 20 dec... ZZZzzzz wait till sian.. still no action... been hinting to him dat frens are asking hw he propose.. he jus say ya ya.. the proposal will come... ZZzzzzz boring... lol

hahah same answer from my SO. he says when the time is right he will give. duno when sia..

jkwedding308

Please bear with me on this one - it's a rather long proposal story... ;) It was a Saturday (16th June 2012) and I was working in the hospital. Few weeks prior to that, we were originally planning for Klement (my hubby) to come visit me in KL (I'm Malaysian) on that same fateful weekend but that plan was eventually cancelled. God must have been trying to hint me something via the dreams I had that morning just before I got up to head to work that Saturday. I dreamt that I was waiting for the lift outside the ward when the lift doors opened and Klement appeared and surprised me with a proposal. Meanwhile, Klement was flying from Singapore to KL where my parents were waiting to pick him up (he had much earlier on spoken to my parents on the phone to get their blessings). Klement later confessed how freaked out he was reading our exchange on WhatsApp. He had apologized for replying my message late as he was in a place with poor reception (this was when he was actually flying over) and I asked him if that place he was in was Changi (as I remembered how he had once mentioned he had poor reception in a resort in Changi for church camp). This initially spooked him out as he was thinking how I could possibly guess he was in Changi (where the airport is situated as well). Back to the hospital, my colleague got tied up with her work and requested my favour to help accompany a patient from ED (Emergency Department) on the 1st floor to the ICU on the 2nd floor. As I waited for the lift outside my ward, I conveniently fantasized about the dream I had but of course, Klement did not appear when the lift doors opened. I told myself to be realistic as I knew that plan for Klement to come visit me that weekend was cancelled anyway. As I walked across the main lobby to ED, I glanced around with anticipation and could not help fantasizing if I would suddenly bump into Klement. It must have been fated in such a way that I should help my colleague accompany that patient for it was actually during those brief 10 minutes that Klement conveniently got up to the ward without somehow bumping into me. He even surprised that same colleague of mine who had requested my favour earlier by asking her to help find a remote area where he could surprise me with a proposal. Just as she hid him in the MO (Medical Officer) room, I returned to the ward. I proceeded to arrange the discharge of a ward patient when that same colleague came to me and said she had something to tell me. I told her she could just tell me there and then as I really wanted to finish the discharge procedure for the patient so I could log off work on time (it's not often that we can log off work on time) but she grew quite insistent that I followed her elsewhere. I suspected that she wanted to confide something in me as that would explain why she did not want to share with me in public with other staff around. Her demeanour was so typical of her usual self that I did not suspect anything amiss as she led me to the MO room. As she opened the door of the MO room to reveal a hidden Klement, she whispered "Enjoy!", pushed me into the room and closed the door. Klement had prepared a series of large written signs and began to slowly flip through them as I teared up reading them, knowing what was coming. Through his signs, he "apologized" for being yet another new patient but he had come down with "Acute Missindarlingitis" (anything with the suffix "-itis" refers to an inflammation e.g. hepatitis is inflammation of the liver and conjunctivitis is inflammation of the conjunctiva) and "Shihyingles" (Klement was attempting a wordplay with the word "shingles"). He acknowledged that while I had prescribed to many patients before, he asked if I could prescribe him the cure to his conditions that only I can provide. At this point, he got down on one knee, revealed a ring and proposed to me. Naturally, I said yes! Not logging off work on time that day was definitely worth it!! ;)

Ps. A reenactment of the proposal scene with the actual signs used can be found in our childhood montage (Love Through The Years) in our YouTube channel (link in my signature below)...

PPs. Be patient while you wait to be proposed to. It means so much more when it happens when you least expect it. And don't worry about putting on make-up or dressing nicely - when my proposal happened, I was in work clothes (obviously haha) and my hair was frazzled from running around doing my work haha...

Reactions: G&Z

Valerie87

He hasn't proposed yet! Until recently when friends started getting their proposals and my sister just got married last week, I was getting so many questions from friends and family about our weddings plans and why hasn't he proposed. So embarrassing to be questioned. Well, I too kept pushing and nagging at him about my empty finger and we fought about it a couple of times. honestly unpleasant. Well he said I'm just ruining my own surprise and it got to a point where he told me to "stop asking".

After that I just got paranoid avoided the topic all together. Oh wells now that we are going for bridal exhibitions and looking around for banquet venues, I'm getting all hyped up about the whole process!

After all, proposal is just a formality ain't it? He has already asked to marry me the day we bought our EC aka dream house. =)

jkwedding308

He hasn't proposed yet! Until recently when friends started getting their proposals and my sister just got married last week, I was getting so many questions from friends and family about our weddings plans and why hasn't he proposed. So embarrassing to be questioned. Well, I too kept pushing and nagging at him about my empty finger and we fought about it a couple of times. honestly unpleasant. Well he said I'm just ruining my own surprise and it got to a point where he told me to "stop asking".

After that I just got paranoid avoided the topic all together. Oh wells now that we are going for bridal exhibitions and looking around for banquet venues, I'm getting all hyped up about the whole process!

After all, proposal is just a formality ain't it? He has already asked to marry me the day we bought our EC aka dream house. =)

Sorry if I'm being a killjoy here but when he asked you to marry him the day you guys bought your EC (congrats on getting your dream house!), that in itself is a form of proposal. The very question of "will you marry me?" or "let's get married!" is a form of proposal. After all, that was how generations before us proposed to their SO, sometimes without even ring nor getting down on a knee.. Definitely no fancy prep unlike today's proposals. It's just that time and culture has evolved in such a way that proposals today seem to warrant a ring and some fancy prep. Yes, I know, we love to be swooned off our feet in the most romantic way of being proposed to by our SO but don't let it upset you if the proposal doesn't happen the way you want it or if it takes forever for him to propose. Many guys are actually quite stressed prepping for the proposal as many (not all) women today expect more and more of the proposal and guys feel like they need to live up to such expectations or outdo how other guys have been proposing to their SOs. Some would have even heard stories from their other guy friends who got rejected the first time round because the girl didn't like the proposal and they had to prep all over again for a second time proposal. So give them some space and time to prep for it that it'll actually mean to you something. No need to rush through things nor get into fights over it. Yes, I know family and friends will be questioning. Some may mean well while others may just be busybodies (no offense). If they ever ask again, just tell them that proposals aren't meant to be rushed otherwise it'll lose its meaning and when you're finally proposed to, you'll let them know so they don't need to ask you. That will give them something to think about and stop them from asking you again. If some thick-skinned person still doesn't get the hint after that and asked you again, just ask them, "Didn't I tell you the last time that I'll let you know when it happens so you don't need to ask me again? You forgot d ar?" - that will keep them silent, hahaha... ;)