(2015/09) September 2015 BTBs

RS_

hi @RS_ may i know the rough cost of the customise bands?? thanks
Hi marilyn, ours is platinum (not matching pair), was quoted 3k plus with some discount as we got them during BOWS. Can let Gin know your budget if it's a concern to you :)

Using SingaporeBrides app

Sher1234

Hi RS, I am also going to hold my AD on 26 Sept 2015, am still looking for a venue! Went to a few wedding shows to check the ballrooms out.. Lol... It's very tiring! Where is your wedding banquet?

xueyu

Hi RS, I am also going to hold my AD on 26 Sept 2015, am still looking for a venue! Went to a few wedding shows to check the ballrooms out.. Lol... It's very tiring! Where is your wedding banquet?

that's the most fun part of the wedding preparation....after hotel hunting, me and my SO were lost and didn't know what to do with our weekends.

RS_

Hi 5 @Sher1234 :) ours will be at GCW, started hotel hunting back in sept 2013 until we finally confirmed our venue in mar this year as we are both very satisfied with their package they offered :) agreed with xueyu that this is fun as me and htb spent most of our weekends scouting wedding venues, get to view many ballrooms as well as bridal suites :)

that's the most fun part of the wedding preparation....after hotel hunting, me and my SO were lost and didn't know what to do with our weekends.

Hee...@xueyu, you did your ps already? If not, you and your SO can start searching for ps idea via pinterest, or maybe design your save the date, diy stuff, guest list, etc :)

Sher1234

hi @RS, wow. that was really early searching for hotels. I just started my list of hotels hunting... It's fun sometimes but not most of the time when we both need to work on weekends.

xueyu

Hee...@xueyu, you did your ps already? If not, you and your SO can start searching for ps idea via pinterest, or maybe design your save the date, diy stuff, guest list, etc :)

PS will be in march next yr. the rest...all done! hahahahaha kiasu bride.

Reactions: RS_

s3r3n3

Hi all, finally a thread for sept 2015 btbs! AD is 26 sept 2015! Haha! Am one of those kiasu bride, already booked banquet, did PS and confirmed AD PG and VG too :)
Hi my dear, may I know which venue did you booked? I am also 26 Sept 2015 but many of the venues are not available anymore. Super stressed now.
T_T

nica

Hi s3r3n3, i intend to have my AD on 26 Sep'15 too but in the end change to 25 Sep'15 as all the venue i checked all taken up.

RS_

hi @RS, wow. that was really early searching for hotels. I just started my list of hotels hunting... It's fun sometimes but not most of the time when we both need to work on weekends.

Haha! We kiasu lor...I see...hope you will find ur dream venue soon. Good luck :)

Sher1234

Hi all, I am still searching for my venue. I have tentatively booked GoodWood Park but am still searching around for cheaper banquet.. Lol...

s3r3n3

Hi s3r3n3, i intend to have my AD on 26 Sep'15 too but in the end change to 25 Sep'15 as all the venue i checked all taken up.
Hi Nica, all the hotels that my fiance and i shortlisted are all taken up and we have got no choice but to source for alternative dates again after the past few days of calling up and viewing of ballrooms.

Hi RS_, that is one of my shortlisted hotels but as most of my relatives don't drive, in the end have to give it a miss.

stephiey

@s3r3n3 u can try to be on waiting list? I heard that some couples book the venue but didn't place deposit yet. so u can ask your coordinator if u can be on waitlist. then coordinator will check with the couple who booked whether they will place deposit or they wanna get another ballroom.

Holiday Inn (orchard is not bad, minus the weird configuration of 9 tables at the side of the ballroom though)
their perks and price is quite good. free flow beer n wine. so more or less no hidden charge liao.

s3r3n3

@s3r3n3 u can try to be on waiting list? I heard that some couples book the venue but didn't place deposit yet. so u can ask your coordinator if u can be on waitlist. then coordinator will check with the couple who booked whether they will place deposit or they wanna get another ballroom.

Holiday Inn (orchard is not bad, minus the weird configuration of 9 tables at the side of the ballroom though)
their perks and price is quite good. free flow beer n wine. so more or less no hidden charge liao.
Hi stephiey,

haha.. the problem is those that I have shortlisted, couples have paid.. sigh~~~
my fiance quite fussy.. he don't like ballrooms with weird weird configuration and pillars.. and the problem is we have less than 20 tables..

Hi S3r3n3,

Maybe you wanna try Fairmont? As their new package are just out, minimum tables is 20...

Maybe you wanna check with them can trade in with other things to make up the shortfall of less than 20 tables?

That was my first choice initially.. :)

xueyu

Hi S3r3n3,

Maybe you wanna try Fairmont? As their new package are just out, minimum tables is 20...

Maybe you wanna check with them can trade in with other things to make up the shortfall of less than 20 tables?

Min 20 tables is Fairmont's smallest ballroom with pillars. The ones without pillars min is 32 tables. I would have booked there but my max table was 28 and they are not willing to give me the pillar-less ballroom. They do not accept you paying the shortfall as well...

You can try Riverview Hotel. Pillar-less. Cheap lodging for your overseas friends/relatives.

s3r3n3

Hi S3r3n3,

hi cherrieseason, actually I went to view their ballroom over the weekend. But there are quite a few things that we don't really like.. the food tasting is chargeable.. n their smallest ballroom has 2 huge pillars and very low ceiling..

RS_

Hi Nica, all the hotels that my fiance and i shortlisted are all taken up and we have got no choice but to source for alternative dates again after the past few days of calling up and viewing of ballrooms.

Hi RS_, that is one of my shortlisted hotels but as most of my relatives don't drive, in the end have to give it a miss.

That's our concern too as some of our friends don't drive but after considering the pros and cons, we decided to have it there... no regrets till now :)
RS when yr AD?
Hi nica, is 26 Sept

Sher1234

Hi S3r3n3,
My date is 26 Sept! I booked with GWP this date. I went up see the ballroom, it's very nice. Will be signing up with them soon next week if I can't find any cheaper venue.. Lol..

RS_

Hi RS, which ballroom did you booked at GCW?

Sorry, booked in Mar and contract is with htb, forgot liao :p definitely not the grand one as ours only a small wedding :) We saw how it looked like during wedding show, just the kind of decor that we wanted for our wedding.

RS mine is on 25sept at GCW too.. As 26sep has been taken up...;)

Ha! Din know 26 sept is popular, I heard 27 sept is a hot date as it's mid-autumn festival :) hope you got a good deal nica :)

Sher1234

Wow! Two brides having wedding at the same hotel, one day apart from each other. I thought of holding it at GCW too but I think the date not available for the smaller ballrooms..

Sheryljie

My venue is at mandarin orchard. Booked in early 2014. Booked my ps with Ido wedding. Photographer also settled. Now left only BS. Another kiasu bride. Heee

s3r3n3

Hi s3r3n3, when is your AD?

Morning Sher1234, by right is 26 Sept.. Had a discussion with my fiance and his parents. Looks like I might become Oct / Nov'15 btb.. lol.

Oh did you view Fairmont if you are looking for cheaper venue. Becoz fiance is fussy that y still considering Fairmont. If not will also give it a miss.

Sher1234

Hi s3r3n3,
You looking at lunch or dinner? How many tables? Mine is lunch and 15-18 tables. I have seen a lot of hotels.. I have shortlisted a few. But still considering. I think Fairmont minimum tables is 20.

s3r3n3

Hi s3r3n3,
You looking at lunch or dinner? How many tables? Mine is lunch and 15-18 tables. I have seen a lot of hotels.. I have shortlisted a few. But still considering. I think Fairmont minimum tables is 20.

Hi Sher1234, we have not decide on lunch or dinner. ya fairmont is 20 tables minimum.. ours is ard 20-25 tables. a few hotels that I shortlisted are Parkroyal, MBS and Mandarin Orchard. coz all tall buildings.. fiance like tall buildings.. lol..

tried to nego for fairmont for bigger ballroom (coz they have tall ceiling and no weird pillars in the middle of the ballroom) but they couldn't let us have it.
sigh..

Sher1234

Hi s3r3n3,
Oh.. I see.. Yah, your choice of hotels will be limited.. Cos not many have high ceiling and pillarless. You can try Orchard Hotel, their ballroom are huge with minimum 25 tables, the price is good! Think they still have a lot of dates as I just went down 2 weeks ago. You can contact Mr Mon. He is very nice and helpful. I like ParkRoyal Pickering but can't meet their minimum tables, their perks are good, I was at their showcase.. However most of the dates are taken up when I was there. Haiz... The price was reasonable for lunch, 988++..

Sher1234

Hi Nica,
Is yours dinner banquet, may I know which ballroom did you take? How are the smaller ballrooms at GCW? Like Waterfront ballroom, Riverfront ballroom and Galleria ballroom? Are they nice? Thanks.

nica

Hi Sher1234 mine is dinner n i took the grand ballroom as I've ard 32 tables. I did not went to have a look at other ballroom.
If you are interested, you can go to their showcase this 28 sep.

Sher1234

Hi Nica,
Thanks for the info. I am holding a small intimate wedding, okay, will go down to their wedding show bad take a look. Hope that I can find a ballroom that me and my SO like. However, he will be on duty and won't be able to go. I will go alone.

RS_

Hi RS,
Is yours luncheon at GCW?

Yesss! Can't remember the name of the ballroom but it should be the one at L2, pillar less with huge windows which we both love. Initially we are also looking for high ceiling but after viewing so many hotels, we realised that's not what we wanted. Btw, if you intend to sign this weekend with them during the wedding show, your htb must go down together as they will need both of your signatories on the contract. You might want to give them a call to confirm :)

aapricott

Heard the wedding show discount is only applicable for min 15 tables.. Wonder of they can reduce the min on that day...

Sher1234

Hi RS,
Thanks for informing me! But he will be on duty, he can't change it. Sigh..will call up to check. Thanks.

s3r3n3

Hi s3r3n3,
Oh.. I see.. Yah, your choice of hotels will be limited.. Cos not many have high ceiling and pillarless. You can try Orchard Hotel, their ballroom are huge with minimum 25 tables, the price is good! Think they still have a lot of dates as I just went down 2 weeks ago. You can contact Mr Mon. He is very nice and helpful. I like ParkRoyal Pickering but can't meet their minimum tables, their perks are good, I was at their showcase.. However most of the dates are taken up when I was there. Haiz... The price was reasonable for lunch, 988++..

Hi Sher1234, thanks! Will discuss with fiance.. see if he is keen.. ya PRP is like so popular but reading the reviews in SingaporeBrides makes me wanna think twice coz their service n response not good.

Sher1234

Hi s3r3n3,
Btw, I gave up my booking for GWPH as I was rather disappointed with the catering director.. didn't have any proper discussion on the wedding packages during meeting up and was pressure to sign.. and also they are very strict on the perks. Basically nothing out of the usual package.

s3r3n3

Hi s3r3n3,
Btw, I gave up my booking for GWPH as I was rather disappointed with the catering director.. didn't have any proper discussion on the wedding packages during meeting up and was pressure to sign.. and also they are very strict on the perks. Basically nothing out of the usual package.

Hi Sher1234, oh no.. i thought they will always give us some "cooling time" to decide whether we wana sign the package instead of pressuring couples to sign immediately..

Sher1234

Hi s3r3n3,
Yes, you are right. They did give us a cooling time, which was 3 days after viewing the ballroom. I feel that the disappointment part was that there was no seat down discussion or at least go through the wedding perks or answering some questions ie.. is there any additional charges if we were to bring in our own candy bar.. or even bring us to the bridal suite to see how it looks like. Sigh.. anyway, it's over, me and my SO will move on to look at other venues. Stay positive, there are many hotels around, I believe there will be something suitable for us. I hope that you can find one too. Do you want to consider waterfront ballroom at GCW? It's minimum tables is 22-28? I think good for you. There is a wedding show soon. I will be there.

s3r3n3

Hi s3r3n3,
Yes, you are right. They did give us a cooling time, which was 3 days after viewing the ballroom. I feel that the disappointment part was that there was no seat down discussion or at least go through the wedding perks or answering some questions ie.. is there any additional charges if we were to bring in our own candy bar.. or even bring us to the bridal suite to see how it looks like. Sigh.. anyway, it's over, me and my SO will move on to look at other venues. Stay positive, there are many hotels around, I believe there will be something suitable for us. I hope that you can find one too. Do you want to consider waterfront ballroom at GCW? It's minimum tables is 22-28? I think good for you. There is a wedding show soon. I will be there.

Hi Sher1234, thanks for the info.. GCW was my first choice initially but due to location i had to drop the idea.. so the next option is PRP.. haha.. anyway, high possibility we will be changing to another date.. haha..

Sher1234

Hi s3r3n3,
PRP is park royal plaza? I think they are having a wedding showcase soon too. Ok, hope that you can get your date in Nov or Dec and a suitable venue too.